No quitten we're whelan on to chitchat 11

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,042 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

The concern I have
    Lots take up training to become teachers but how many get full time positions

Was also reading on another forum of the lack of secondary school places for first years. Some people have tried 6 schools and all are full up for next year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,672 ✭✭✭tanko

If they got rid of that stupid transition year it would free up space for students that can't get in. Five years is plenty for them to spend in Secondary school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,835 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Haven't priced locally, but that seems mad dear compared to on-line.
    https://www.tyreleader.ie/car-tyres/riken/cargo/6.5r16c-108-107l-508625?utm_source=compare&utm_medium=google-shopping&utm_campaign=tyre&gclid=CjwKCAiA7939BRBMEiwA-hX5JxIKh8KN0rL78iuowo5aEFnOJ-mYycbZxUpwuMS08y-I_Ld2u4CIdhoC1rQQAvD_BwE

That's the traditional "landrover" size.
    I'll be in Cassidays tomorrow, and I'll ask if I remember

That tyre is basically €90, then add a rim, then pay for fitting the tyre.

Then your maybe bringing your business to a local lad who might take you out of a bind when you’ve a flat.

I’m all for buying online but if it’s close to local prices I’ll buy local.

I give near all my business to a local lad. Good lad. Two years ago my mam rang me at work that she was stuck out and her car wouldn’t start. I ran him, he shut the garage for 30mimutes and went off and sorted her out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,042 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

tanko wrote: »
    If they got rid of that stupid transition year it would free up space for students that can't get in. Five years is plenty for them to spend in Secondary school.

I would have had that opinion too until my daughter did ty last year. I think she was very lucky as her school put alot of effort into it. Even though covid cut it short. She also got her part time job out of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,307 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Anyone who watches YouTube may be interested in this channel.
    Irish family who moved to France 15 years ago, to farm.

https://youtu.be/UXWKEbP7A50

whelan2 wrote: »
    I would have had that opinion too until my daughter did ty last year. I think she was very lucky as her school put alot of effort into it. Even though covid cut it short. She also got her part time job out of it

Eldest did it two years ago and got allot out of it. In addition it’s another year older doing LC and going to college and that bit of maturity is useful.

Chap at work his daughter is getting over Covid for second time, had it during first wave also. She works in a nursing home.

No real problems first time but she was very sick second time round and recovery is slow, very fatigued all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,056 ✭✭✭✭Base price

I haven't heard much of the radio discussion about the teachers as I haven't been on the road much lately cause most of the cattle are housed and I'm busy feeding/bedding etc.
    I always reckoned that you would want to have your head examined to choose nursing or teaching/montessori etc as a career especially in this country.

I'd rather pick stones, snig turpnips, pick cabbage on a Winter's morning, pull my fingernails off, skip out 2 ton of feed from a broken diet feeder than teach or nurse.

Thankfully some people choose that vocation but unfortunately I think some diverted into it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 522 ✭✭✭farmersfriend

whelan2 wrote: »
    I think mine are used to the cold and dont feel it :)

Ours wear their coats, don't hear any complaints

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,056 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Be great if some neighbours would mind their own business. Spotted one climbing out over my fence, she saw me before I saw her, walked directly away carrying something in a bag.
    Jeez, did you not go after her and ask her why she was on your property and what explanation did she have ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,572 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

straight wrote: »
    No they're the football association of ireland.

So are the IFA...

Moo Moo Teamoo, all of my dreams come true…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,606 ✭✭✭straight

Ours wear their coats, don't hear any complaints

Sure children never feel the cold. It's the teachers that are cold.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭NcdJd

Base price wrote: »
    I haven't heard much of the radio discussion about the teachers as I haven't been on the road much lately cause most of the cattle are housed and I'm busy feeding/bedding etc.
    I always reckoned that you would want to have your head examined to choose nursing or teaching/montessori etc as a career especially in this country.

I'd rather pick stones, snig turpnips, pick cabbage on a Winter's morning, pull my fingernails off, skip out 2 ton of feed from a broken diet feeder than teach or nurse.

Thankfully some people choose that vocation but unfortunately I think some diverted into it.

Ha you forgot picking circular wire crates of brussels sprouts on a frosty morning .. :) probably as painful as getting your nails pulled. One of the worst jobs ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,934 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Michael J Fox on LLS, supposed to be one of the nicest guys.

Water John wrote: »
    Michael J Fox on LLS, supposed to be one of the nicest guys.

How was he? Got his first book must buy his latest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,934 ✭✭✭✭Water John

He was in good form, takes a little while to tune into his speaking rythm.
    Worth having a listen to.
    New book 'No time like the future'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭green daries

Grueller wrote: »
    It's amazing what a bit of contact can do. Last Thursday evening I phoned a lad that I used to hurl with. This lad is 13 years older than I am so early fifties. He was on the verge of retiring for the few years I hurled with him but we hurled together midfield and struck up a good friendship.
    His parents both passed in the last two years and he never married so is living alone since and farming for a living so I just said I'd give him a shout as I hadn't seen him since the second lockdown started. We had a good chat for about an hour. This evening the phone rang and we chatted away for 20 minutes or so before he went silent for a second and thanked me for last weeks call. He told me hadn't heard from a soul in a fortnight and didn't realise how low he had been until he heard from someone. I was humbled by his honesty. I know that we are not meant to have visitors but I invited him round for the supper and a few drinks this Saturday evening. I think that the isolation is more danger to him than Covid is to either of us to be fair.
    Fair play gruller something everyone should probably just ask themselves is there someone who might need a chat

Base price wrote: »

You hit the nail on the head.
    People need to do what they are natural doing, force yourself to do something and you will never enjoy it or be good at it

_Brian wrote: »
    You hit the nail on the head.
    People need to do what they are natural doing, force yourself to do something and you will never enjoy it or be good at it
    Finance rules the roost and unfortunately that's what makes the world go around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭Gillespy

Chap at work his daughter is getting over Covid for second time, had it during first wave also. She works in a nursing home.

No real problems first time but she was very sick second time round and recovery is slow, very fatigued all the time.

False positive the first time? Great anecdote however, someone who has been all over covid since the start knows someones reinfected. What are the odds?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,968 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

148multi wrote: »
    R16 for trailers seem to be a rare size now. Are the tyres priced c rated

I thought R16 would have been a common enough trailer tyre but perhaps your right. What's C rated mean?

Gillespy wrote: »
    False positive the first time? Great anecdote however, someone who has been all over covid since the start knows someones reinfected. What are the odds?

First time round she and both parents were positive,, now she and sisters are positive. I don’t see any reason why you’d say she was false positive first time. First time would be lng enough ago that they would have no protection from antibodies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭Mossie1975

Wet morning here. Milking done and off to do a neighbour's shopping. The poor fella is cracking up and I don't blame him. He doesn't see a sinner all week. He's asked me to get him "one of those magazines". I don't know whether he just means the Farmers Journal :D Looking forward to the hurling later. Should be a cracker. Have a good one lads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,409 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

Mossie1975 wrote: »
    Wet morning here. Milking done and off to do a neighbour's shopping. The poor fella is cracking up and I don't blame him. He doesn't see a sinner all week. He's asked me to get him "one of those magazines". I don't know whether he just means the Farmers Journal :D Looking forward to the hurling later. Should be a cracker. Have a good one lads!

Playboy I’d say. Or does it’s not sold anymore maybe Ireland’s own. :)

Mossie1975 wrote: »

Even in ordinary times lads like this are isolated. We deal with allot of older bachelor farmers at work and sometimes they just want a chat and a bit of crack. I talk to them on the phone at the moment but it’s not near the same to them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

Even in ordinary times lads like this are isolated. We deal with allot of older bachelor farmers at work and sometimes they just want a chat and a bit of crack. I talk to them on the phone at the moment but it’s not near the same to them

There's some auld fells which are great craic! One beside me is hilarious as he'll curse & swear and be crude in front of myself & Dad but is as polite in front of my Mum :D
    And if he calls into me & Dad isn't here, his first question is usually, "Well lassie, any jiggy-jiggy latey?" :pac::D

These days he sometimes stays in the jeep outside but sure as I'm alone & watching who I interact with etc, he often comes in here, won't go into the parents house though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Playboy I’d say. Or does it’s not sold anymore maybe Ireland’s own. :)

There's very good articles in Playboy.

Apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,421 ✭✭✭orm0nd

I had arranged to meet a guy at Ennis mart during the week. He was in the unloading queue when I arrived and I went walk about to stretch the legs.

Saw an old timer (older than myself 🙄) whom I knew from way back, standing around kinda looking for a chat.

Went over and and chatting away I mentioned he didn't get to lisdoonvara this year. And it was maybe as well as he might pick up the virus

F#&k it he says if I did at least I'd die happy.

Thinking back I think he was semi serious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,992 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

There's very good articles in Playboy.

Apparently.

Afaik they've had a long running series on rabbits or something like that based at the bunnies ranch in Los Angeles ... :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,815 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

My nephew was talking to the surgeon today, he fully expects to have my nephew shearing by the 2022 season, a young fellow that shears with him is taking over for the 2021 year. it's great news, he's nearly like a son here so we're all delighted.
    The bulding/carpentry business will be more difficult to sort I think, himself and his business partner have a huge amount of work on