Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part VI - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

rob316 wrote: »
    I'm not particularly well off but I have enough to cover expenses for over a year. :rolleyes:

tbh when he made that comment I regretted replying to him in the 1st place

I moved backed to this poxy country just shy of 2 years ago, i received a call from my father telling me my mam had 2 weeks to live she was 53. i dropped everything i had in the uk and packed up to come home and be with family with the wife and 3 month year old, that took savings away.

Im not entitled to social welfare, im not entitled to PUP, i work in a school in dublin and 100% of my wages are spent of child minding and im rather not be sponge to state, my wife a nurse has to pay rent, car loans , food bills etc.

We have been told today that our landlord is knocking our house down, so now have to figure out where to live and pay for it all while this ****e virus is freaking people out.

We live week to week as best we can all the while putting a few spare quid in the credit union but its never gonna be enough to own a home or just relax and not worry about it , so you can stick your smug attitude up your hole

I'm very aware that im still in a better position than a lot of people in this country

you really are a very stoical and uncommon individual, fair play to you.
    I really hope you find somewhere that suits you and your family and this ****ty circumstance does not repeat itself again in your life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Penfailed

hynesie08 wrote: »
    How do I report a poster for being a re-reg to get around a ban BTW......

The same way you report a post.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,470 ✭✭✭MOH

RTÉ: "Bars and restaurants have been linked to super-spreader events". Good grief. Like a dog with a bone, they won't let the lie go. Embarrassing from our national broadcaster.

Some more quality reporting from our national broadcaster today:
    RTE wrote:
    Chief Medical Officer Dr Tony Holohan said he is becoming increasingly concerned that the progress made during the first three weeks of the Level 5 restrictions has not been maintained.
    It is not clear why the progress on reducing the incidence of Covid-19 has stalled, but the average number of daily cases has fallen by just eight per day over the past week, compared with reductions averaging between 200 and 300 per day during the first three weeks of Level 5 restrictions.
    It's not clear from the way it's written whether it's all a Saint Tony quote or the second bit is RTE commentary. I really hope it's the latter.

The highest number of daily cases peaked at around 1300, so whichever average they're talking (14-day, 7-day, or 5-day) can't have started higher than that.

I obviously missed the bit where, after the first three weeks of level 5 restrictions, we had on average -4000 cases per day.

Awful shame that didn't continue, a couple more weeks and we'd have reached a point where all 69,000 cases had never actually happened. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 117 ✭✭zf0wqv9oemuasj

rob316 wrote: »
    I'm not particularly well off but I have enough to cover expenses for over a year. :rolleyes:

Hi, that’s not what I would define as well off. It’s money being saved (some from a redundancy and so on) for many years towards our next house so it’s not just sitting there for emergencies but if it has to be used it would be.

I don’t earn very much above the average wage and as I mentioned we are on one salary currently and so on.

I don’t think this would be considered “well off” if I’m honest, comfortable at this time but not well off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭RobitTV

Irish Times - Pandemic fallout offers chance to change work and living for better, says President. More activist State is needed to meet challenges, Michael D Higgins tells trade union conference

“From this demonstrably failed, disconnected model of economy, we must liberate ourselves, replace it by making a new balance between economy, ecology, society and culture.”

“Out of such a crisis we are presented with perhaps a once-in-a-generation opportunity to do things better, to embrace and bring to fruition a new paradigm of existence with each other, in relation to work and living, and with the world itself; a renewed and healthier connection of society, economy and ecology”.

Pure and utter propaganda coming from Higgins, It really makes you question the motives these people have behind the scripted nonsense they sprout to the public. Funny how everything has to "change" moving forward.

Why does everything have to change? I see no reason as to why we can't return back to our normal society.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

It is really difficult to make any sort of point on this thread without some other posters jumping down your throat often with an attempt at some amusing but irrelevant quip. I wasn’t trying to belittle anyone’s situation I was just making a point I feel is a gunuine one.

I feel that in a time where our savings are at an all time high as a nation that it’s a fair point to make. It is not saying people should have to live of savings, not a particularly for/against lockdowns comment either it is more an observation that apparently large numbers of folks are immediately unable to supplement pup/job seekers with savings to tide them over for some time and I personally would find it surprising that at least a very reasonable percentage of those would not be able, in conjugation with pup, possible temp rent reductions/mortgage breaks and so on be able to get through this without major hardship.

Obviously I do not mean everybody by any means which appears to be the immediate reaction of a number of posters.

People who can afford to save are people who already have money. You also stated that young people wouldn't have mortgages. Rent in a lot of cases is higher than a mortgage would be. I'm guessing you are mid 50s-60s, comfortable, no clue about the world today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,260 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

RobitTV wrote: »
    Irish Times - Pandemic fallout offers chance to change work and living for better, says President. More activist State is needed to meet challenges, Michael D Higgins tells trade union conference

“From this demonstrably failed, disconnected model of economy, we must liberate ourselves, replace it by making a new balance between economy, ecology, society and culture.”

“Out of such a crisis we are presented with perhaps a once-in-a-generation opportunity to do things better, to embrace and bring to fruition a new paradigm of existence with each other, in relation to work and living, and with the world itself; a renewed and healthier connection of society, economy and ecology”.

Pure and utter propaganda coming from Higgins, It really makes you question the motives these people have behind the scripted nonsense they sprout to the public. Funny how everything has to "change" moving forward.

Why does everything have to change? I see no reason as to why we can't return back to our normal society.

Don't mind Higgins. He's been living off the fruit of that economy for decades and now has the ultimate retirement plan (and I don't mean the cushy pensions he's acquired along the way). The ultimate champagne socialist

I really don't get what people see in the man myself. Pontificating in Irish and poetry does not a good (or indeed in-touch) President make

Hi, that’s not what I would define as well off. It’s money being saved (some from a redundancy and so on) for many years towards our next house so it’s not just sitting there for emergencies but if it has to be used it would be.

I don’t earn very much above the average wage and as I mentioned we are on one salary currently and so on.

I don’t think this would be considered “well off” if I’m honest, comfortable at this time but not well off.

You're on a hiding to nothing trying to explain yourself in here. Unless you're on the breadline due to Covid your comments are invalid, especially if you agree with restrictions. If you're financially secure, you can only be on the side of removing restrictions for your opinion to be validated by some of the posters populating this thread :rolleyes:

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,104 ✭✭✭I see sheep

He's 100% right (in intention anyway, don't think we will get the changes he wants).

Were we living in paradise before Covid? Must have missed that.

It was a vastly unequal society and the economy was getting more unequal all the time (zero hour contracts etc.)

Why would we not try to do things better?

"a terrible war imposed by the provisional IRA"

Our West Brit Taoiseach

I think he means there should be a better work/life balance and the environment shouldn't suffer at the hands of business...I think. What's wrong with that?

He's 100% right (in intention anyway, don't think we will get the changes he wants).

It was a vastly unequal society and the economy was getting unequal all the time (zero hour contracts etc.)

Exactly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,843 ✭✭✭facehugger99

It was a vastly unequal society and the economy was getting unequal all the time (zero hour contracts etc.)

Higgins has been sucking off the State's tit his entire adult life. He wouldn't have a clue how to live in the real world. He's a typical self-loathing socialist and an embarrassment to this country most of the time he opens his mouth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,238 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Agree.
    Normal society was grand, but could have been much better.
    Healthcare, Housing to name but two. The gap between rich and poor increasing.
    Our impending pensions crisis. Our climate crisis.......

Normal isn't great for everyone.

Higgins has been sucking off the State's tit his entire adult life. He wouldn't have a clue how to live in the real world. He's a typical self-loathing socialist and an embarrassment to this country most of the time he opens his mouth.

So you are entirely happy with "normal" as it was?
    (Look I get that he is pandering but is he wrong?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,991 ✭✭✭growleaves

Penfailed wrote: »
    I think he means there should be a better work/life balance and the environment shouldn't suffer at the hands of business...I think. What's wrong with that?

It depends. Will the connection of society and the economy to 'ecology' mean subordination of the former to environmental statistics (measuring e.g. CO2 emissions)?

I find this government-by-statistics wrong. When we have dethroned R I don't want another pseudo-objective calculus to take its place.

(Granted President Higgins could be talking about anything at all. I'm just saying there are negative possibilities.)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 547 ✭✭✭BeefeaterHat

It was a vastly unequal society and the economy was getting more unequal all the time (zero hour contracts etc.)

Yes knocking people out of low paying retail and hospitality jobs en masse is the perfect way to bring about equality. Lets put Mr Higgins on €350 a week and sweet how well that goes down

:pac: good man

He got elected as a TD fair and square like anyone else could if they wanted to and succeeded.

I've met him a few times, his head is in the clouds a bit alright but he's a sound man, he is a bit of a socialist yes. Pity he was never Taoiseach he might have been able to change things a bit.

Self-loathing? No, not at all.

Our West Brit Taoiseach

growleaves wrote: »
    It depends. Will the connection of society and the economy to 'ecology' mean subordination of the former to environmental statistics (measuring e.g. CO2 emissions)?

I find this government-by-statistics wrong. When we have dethroned R I don't want another pseudo-objective calculus to take its place.

(Granted President Higgins could be talking about anything at all. I'm just saying there are negative possibilities.)

Look, I don't disagree with the absolute use of one statistic over another but the environment is in the toilet and going the wrong way, there's not one figure that supports this viewpoint but many.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Mean Laqueefa

You're on a hiding to nothing trying to explain yourself in here. Unless you're on the breadline due to Covid your comments are invalid, especially if you agree with restrictions. If you're financially secure, you can only be on the side of removing restrictions for your opinion to be validated by some of the posters populating this thread :rolleyes:

Sound so , so ill send you my iban and you can help me out securing a home, paying rent and food etc for y'know the next generation of kids growing up.

The utter arrogance of some people here is shocking on a human level.

Heres a fact for ya, i had around 2 euro left in my pocket on Tuesday, i gave it to man called Tommy outside lidil thats homeless, breathing problems, likes a drink, been doing that for near 2 years whatever way i can, i spend money on extra food so my wife will cook him a Sunday dinner and ill walk up and give to him in person to try help someone. (while wearing a mask)

people with money couldn't give **** about anyone else, it no wonder you type of people agree with the gov

Yes knocking people out of low paying retail and hospitality jobs en masse is the perfect way to bring about equality. Lets put Mr Higgins on €350 a week and sweet how well that goes down

You can use that narrative if you like, but thats not really the point being made.

What are you on about? What businesses did he shut down?

Our West Brit Taoiseach

What are you on about? What businesses did he shut down?

It's easy for him to spout about 'change' when it'll have no affect on his pocket. All these socialist types are starting to crawl out of the woodwork to paint us a portrait of their vision of paradise, never let a good crisis go to waste

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,991 ✭✭✭growleaves

kippy wrote: »
    Look, I don't disagree with the absolute user of one statistic over another but the environment is in the toilet and going the wrong way, there's no one figure that support this viewpoint but many.

Most of the damage is from industrial pollution carried out by mega-corporations.

If the powerful try tying ordinary people's movements and income to some new statistical regime around the environment that would be dishonest, I will never support it and I hope others will object too.

Yeah because that's exactly what he said :rolleyes:

It's easy for him to spout about 'change' when it'll have no affect on his pocket. All these socialist types are starting to crawl out of the woodwork to paint us a portrait of their vision of paradise, never let a good crisis go to waste

Why would he want people to have less money in their pockets:confused:

Where does he say that?

It's easy for you to dismiss 'change' if you were comfortable before Covid.

Your attitude seems to be -

"Sur feck the people who were poor before Covid, that's their own fault. If I'm poor because of Covid/Lockdown though that's an outrage."

Our West Brit Taoiseach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,627 ✭✭✭Micky 32

kippy wrote: »
    Look, I don't disagree with the absolute user of one statistic over another but the environment is in the toilet and going the wrong way, there's no one figure that support this viewpoint but many.

The more i read these posts i convince my myself the lockdown merchants agenda’s are that they think we’re saving the climate/enviroment during lockdowns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Mean Laqueefa

Yeah because that's exactly what he said :rolleyes:

Honestly tho why couldnt they take a pay cut and help people in need, why couldnt all them sacrifice like everyone else, you know the answer cause it seems you are in a place of entitlement

Sound so , so ill send you my iban and you can help me out securing a home, paying rent and food etc for y'know the next generation of kids growing up.

The utter arrogance of some people here is shocking on a human level.

Heres a fact for ya, i had around 2 euro left in my pocket on Tuesday, i gave it to man called Tommy outside lidil thats homeless, breathing problems, likes a drink, been doing that for near 2 years whatever way i can, i spend money on extra food so my wife will cook him a Sunday dinner and ill walk up and give to him in person to try help someone. (while wearing a mask)

people with money couldn't give **** about anyone else, it no wonder you type of people agree with the gov

Y'see. Who's arrogant?

This is exactly what I'm talking about. I'll not regale you with my charitable donations this past while. I don't feel the need to, just to try and justify myself to randomers on the interwebz.

Why would he want people to have less money in their pockets:confused:

Where does he say that?

It's easy for you to dismiss 'change' if you were comfortable before Covid.

Your attitude seems to be -

"Sur feck the people who were poor before Covid, that's their own fault. If I'm poor because of Covid/Lockdown though that's an outrage."

You might want to work on your reading comprehension. I'm working a minimum wage job throughout lockdown so I'm not exactly rich. It's just a simple fact that when these socialist types dream their great dreams for society it tends to bend more than a few noses out of shape. But go ahead and make assumptions about me to defend Miggledee's honour.