Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part VI - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,078 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

sabat wrote: »
    So when do people think we'll see the first criminal trials rolling out? NPHET show great promise for early results but if we're lucky we could reach cabinet level by the summer.

What a channel :pac: how do you guys keep unearthing these lads :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

SusieBlue wrote: »
    You’re the one who said that elderly are more important than jobs, when I explained why employment is important you then started harping on about thousands dead from covid as justification for destroying all those people’s futures.
    Even though even more people will die in the coming years indirectly from the lockdowns.

So seeing as you were the one who raised the issues of the lockdowns being necessary to stop ‘thousands of covid deaths’, I’m asking you to acknowledge that as many if not more will die as a result of the lockdowns.
    And I’d like to hear your thoughts on why those lives aren’t as important or as worthy of consideration.

you asked me to acknowledge numbers of potential indirect covid lockdown deaths but without giving me an actual number, estimate or any evidence it will be "many if not more" than actual covid deaths.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

RobitTV wrote: »
    Reduce the hysterical NPHET televised broadcasts at 6pm to once a week and stop announcing the new case figures every single day!

Why do they have them at all? No other govt advisory committee have televised conferences. Let them advise the govt and the govt can let us know what’s happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,870 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Poverty kills people.

That is a simple fact but unfortunately it is a fact that far too many cannot comprehend.

Poverty doesn’t effect them so they can’t empathise with the obvious message

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,946 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Let them advise the govt and the govt can let us know what’s happening.

Seriously though, is there anybody local that could call around to Micheal Martins house and check that he is ok, or at least look for any clues where he might have gone to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,939 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

kippy wrote: »

Thanks .

I have recent data from last year that shows 67% of nurses received the vaccine .
    78% doctors and dentists . .
    Mainly in the North/ East region where a large number of major general hospitals concentrated .
    Major hospitals have a better uptake due to having large occupational health departments available .
    Uptake amongst community healthcare and long stay residential homes and nursing homes is lower but much improved as Ginger's article states , thanks GnL!
    Peer vaccine training among healthcare workers / assistants in nursing homes and long stay residential is improving vaccine uptake and availability , once stocks available from HSE , this year .
    I published this data when someone was going on about it here a few months ago so back the threads somewhere, maybe August ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

Why do they have them at all? No other govt advisory committee have televised conferences. Let them advise the govt and the govt can let us know what’s happening.

Imagine moaning about something that has no impact on you whatsoever. Not to mention the fact that I'm certain if they didn't hold them you would be cribbing and claiming they were hiding something from you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

froog wrote: »
    you asked me to acknowledge numbers of potential indirect covid lockdown deaths but without giving me an actual number, estimate or any evidence it will be "many if not more" than actual covid deaths.

But I thought you were all about saving lives? We don’t know yet how many people will die indirectly, though it’s projected to be quite a lot given how far behind we are with cancer screening backlogs and the delays in elective surgeries.

But even if it was just one indirect life lost, surely we should be trying to save it? As we are trying to save lives from covid at an astronomical social and financial cost?

Why is it worth it to save just one life from covid but not one life from an indirect death from the restrictions.
    I have to say your arguments just aren’t stacking up here at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,447 ✭✭✭Ginger n Lemon

Goldengirl wrote: »
    Thanks .

I have recent data from last year that shows 67% of nurses received the vaccine .
    78% doctors and dentists . .
    Mainly in the North/ East region where a large number of major general hospitals concentrated .
    Major hospitals have a better uptake due to having large occupational health departments available .
    Uptake amongst community healthcare and long stay residential homes and nursing homes is lower but much improved as Ginger's article states , thanks GnL!
    Peer vaccine training among healthcare workers / assistants in nursing homes and long stay residential is improving vaccine uptake and availability , once stocks available from HSE , this year .
    I published this data when someone was going on about it here a few months ago so back the threads somewhere, maybe August ?

Less than 50% is much improved? Boy do you have low standards.

Considering how well the Japanese authorities have coped so far I'll take their word for it, this shower here deserve no such thing

Culture = social distancing , obeying guidelines , mask wearing from start of this .
    Also closed borders to strictly essential traffic from beginning .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 547 ✭✭✭BeefeaterHat

Culture = social distancing , obeying guidelines , mask wearing from start of this .
    Also closed borders to strictly essential traffic from beginning .

The thing that caused so many deaths here though are the outbreaks in the nursing homes. Doesn't matter how many flights you stop coming in if the domestic authorities can't handle the nursing homes that's on them and no one else.

Less than 50% is much improved? Boy do you have low standards.

It would ideally be higher , but do you know how high the levels need to be for herd immunity ?
    Also what percentage if the population are vaccinated every single year ?
    If most of nurses and doctors are vaccinated it just leaves improvement in other grades, so this is where the training and accessibility comes in .
    There is a lot of work going on to try to ensure every healthcare worker that wants the vaccine is vaccinated .
    Still some ignorance and resistance with some about it as is evidenced by some posts here today .

The thing that caused so many deaths here though are the outbreaks in the nursing homes. Doesn't matter how many flights you stop coming in if the domestic authorities can't handle the nursing homes that's on them and no one else.

Stop - you are speaking too much sense.

Problem is much more complicated, it goes to the culture and the equinox and the moon phase all of the good stuff that can explain how covid deaths arose :rolleyes:

Stop - you are speaking too much sense.

Problem is much more complicated, it goes to the culture and the equinox and the moon phase all of the good stuff that can explain how covid deaths arose :rolleyes:

It's those bloody pubs moving patients to care homes without testing them beforehand. Bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

I just went on the RTÉ website and saw the headline:
    “Virus deaths top 2000 with 379 new cases”.

Do you see what they did there? Before the cases always came before the deaths because the deaths are so low but now that we’ve reached a milestone they’ve switched it so it sounds worse. Subtle but very telling. Also they almost sound happy that we’ve finally reached 2000 deaths!

kippy wrote: »
    Yep,
    there's a balance.
    Which is why as we move through time, the restrictions applied are lesser thant they were last time out......

Also treatment for other illnesses and cancer treatment has continued throughout .
    That poster was concerned previously about Cervical screening which was halted until June .
    Since June however , 90% of people offered appointments for Cervical screening HAVE NOT ATTENDED, probably more worried about catching the virus.
    Suicide according to Samaritans may not be more this year than average , a representative said , while calls are up about mental health.

Do you see what they did there? Before the cases always came before the deaths because the deaths are so low but now that we’ve reached a milestone they’ve switched it so it sounds worse. Subtle but very telling. Also they almost sound happy that we’ve finally reached 2000 deaths!

George Lee feeds off the souls of those lost to covid. That's why it's such a source of joy for him

Yes. They will ofcourse be sweeping under the rug the fact that there are NO excess deaths in Ireland in 2020, in the deadly disease pandemic year :rolleyes:

30 k people died in 2019. 30 k people will die in 2020. But in addition, 2020 will have 20%+ unemployment, people wearing face masks while driving a car alone and of course very concerned doctors with no epidemiology background announcing every day to us of how concerned they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,219 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

RobitTV wrote: »
    Why is Holohan being allowed to dictate government policy? rapid antigen testing is needed just in time for Christmas travel.

NPHET have some sort of vendetta against the travel and pub industry. FG and FF are truly pathetic, they listen day in and day out to his finger pointing nonsense. He has done nothing but sow division and create panic across the country.

He should resign.

Resign?

He comes in there every evening like the king on the iron throne laying down the law to his minions and the Government are spinless dogs afraid to say a word against him.

I'd bet the house next year even with a vaccine we will be the last European country to lift restrictions.

It's those bloody pubs moving patients to care homes without testing them beforehand. Bastards.

Nobody here denying that was a shxxshow , but those going on about it now are often condoning " the let it RIP through society and tough shxx on the elderly because sure they are nearly dead anyway " .
    So not to be taken seriously then ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

Also treatment for other illnesses and cancer treatment has continued throughout .
    That poster was concerned previously about Cervical screening which was halted until June .
    Since June however , 90% of people offered appointments for Cervical screening HAVE NOT ATTENDED, probably more worried about catching the virus.
    Suicide according to Samaritans may not be more this year than average , a representative said , while calls are up about mental health.

They have not continued throughout as normal and it was not always due to patient choices. I know people who had certain treatments deferred because of advice that post op they would be more vulnerable.

Fear is powerful and that fear came from the public health professionals.

Resign?

He comes in there every evening like the king on the iron throne laying down the law to his minions and the Government are spinless dogs afraid to say a word against him.

I'd bet the house next year even with a vaccine we will be the last European country to lift restrictions.

Damn that in bold hurts so much because deep inside of me I agree. We have replaced catholic church worshipping weekly, with covid numbers worshipping daily at 6.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,109 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Jesus George was in some form on the news with the negativity, he was hiding a smile.The overlords NPHET meeting tomorrow who will not happy with the lack of progress made.

Think this kills off Level 2 and the pubs been open

Always tough when the facts are actually reported. The narrative may not suit some, clearly the truth either

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,678 ✭✭✭✭rob316

And the first line is always the total number of positive case we have had. Who gives a **** about a number from February?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,590 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

GPs disappointed at low uptake of free children’s flu vaccine

https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/gps-disappointed-at-low-uptake-of-free-childrens-flu-vaccine-1036333.html

Parents arent vaccinating their children vs Flu.

Here we are being hysterical and hopeful of a covid vaccine for mass population to continue living :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Either most parents are antivaxx, or most parents feel uneasy at vaccine concept in general given that all the trash about swine flu hiccups uncovered lately (where co incidentally big Tony was also involved) or parents dont think flu is a serious disease.

Open the f*ing country for f*cks sakes.

In the USA the CDC average yearly deaths due to flu for the 9 years 2019 2019 are less than 50,000.
    Covid-19 for just 8 months, over 250,000.

We should open the country up when the country you spent so much time championing has over 4,000 news cases daily are now locking down.:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Dempo1 wrote: »
    Always tough when the facts are actually reported. The narrative may not suit some, clearly the truth either

Do the facts include him asking aloud if concerned business owners are living on the moon as he did in the past?

charlie14 wrote: »
    In the USA the CDC average yearly deaths due to flu for the 9 years 2019 2019 are less than 50,000.
    Covid-19 for just 8 months, over 250,000.

We should open the country up when the country you spent so much time championing has over 4,000 news cases daily are now locking down.:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Gun shot victims counted as Washington coronavirus deaths

https://mynorthwest.com/1889564/rantz-gun-shot-victims-washington-coronavirus-deaths/?

Charlie you do come out with some classics let me tell you. USA? Where hospitals get $12,000 if they count death as covid?

You could be the comedian of this thread :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,109 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Fascinating some of the views here, it got me wondering, what if government turned around tommorow and said, feck it, lift all restrictions, abandon all levels, open up everything, disband NPHET and put Lobby groups in charge, let's all party.

Perhaps the experts here might give us a time line when it all goes pear shapped, whilst their at it, look across the irish sea, about 57 miles to Wales, UK, 19,000 New cases and over 550 deaths today, sure it wlll be grand......, and just for comparison, Scotland reached 5000 Deaths today

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

Gun shot victims counted as Washington coronavirus deaths

https://mynorthwest.com/1889564/rantz-gun-shot-victims-washington-coronavirus-deaths/?

Charlie you do come out with some classics let me tell you. USA? Where hospitals get $12,000 if they count death as covid?

You could be the comedian of this thread :)

Him gloating about Sweden's case numbers increasing is also a class act

Its all about the cases. Religion of covid states that cases are much more important than any other variables. You have a lot of cases? you are f*ed. :rolleyes: