Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Possible to get L1a1 or FAL?

• 01-11-2020 9:38pm
    Registered Users Posts: 146 ✭✭

Hello,

Just wondering is there anyone selling L1a1s or FALs in Ireland or are they even legal here?

I did some googling and i couldn't find anyone selling them but then again I could be blind.

Thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭Feisar

When I was in the FCA as it was at the time we were some of the last to be trained up on the FN. God it is some rifle.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Yes they are legal here, a couple of lads have them.
    Just be aware that even though you might get one licensed, there is a good chance that you could lose it under the SI of 2017 that makes any new licenses issued post-2017 null and void. Which would be a bummer if you had invested a couple of grand in one in semi auto... Y
    You would also want to make sure it isn't a former metric pattern FAL which was converted from a former genuine "assault rifle" to semi-auto only,as that is under the EU legislation a CAT A prohibited firearm these days. So you could get a UK surplus "inch pattern"

Now,a smart lad, not wishing that to happen, might consider getting a FAL in a "Straight Pull" version, which makes it an odd-looking repeater, and possibly less of a hassle to license. Not withstanding "looks like"guidelines [Now removed from the most recent AGS guidelines,but some diehards might still try it on] and "Idontlikedelookodatnow!" attitudes from Supersand Cheifs.:P:rolleyes:

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭tudderone

Yes i've seen one licenced here, i did handle it, bloody heavy thing. Someone in the north is selling the straight-pulls.

• Registered Users Posts: 146 ✭✭Bagpipe

Feisar wrote: »
    When I was in the FCA as it was at the time we were some of the last to be trained up on the FN. God it is some rifle.

Are they fairly accurate? I was told by some DF lads that they are woeful after 300m.

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    Yes they are legal here, a couple of lads have them.
    Just be aware that even though you might get one licensed, there is a good chance that you could lose it under the SI of 2017 that makes any new licenses issued post-2017 null and void. Which would be a bummer if you had invested a couple of grand in one in semi auto... Y
    You would also want to make sure it isn't a former metric pattern FAL which was converted from a former genuine "assault rifle" to semi-auto only,as that is under the EU legislation a CAT A prohibited firearm these days. So you could get a UK surplus "inch pattern"

Now,a smart lad, not wishing that to happen, might consider getting a FAL in a "Straight Pull" version, which makes it an odd-looking repeater, and possibly less of a hassle to license. Not withstanding "looks like"guidelines [Now removed from the most recent AGS guidelines,but some diehards might still try it on] and "Idontlikedelookodatnow!" attitudes from Supersand Cheifs.:P:rolleyes:

I'm guessing it would only be feasible to get a semi one licensed for target shooting? Not sure i like the idea of the straight pull one but sure look.

tudderone wrote: »
    Yes i've seen one licenced here, i did handle it, bloody heavy thing. Someone in the north is selling the straight-pulls.

:D I've held a couple of the army's spotter versions and i'd have to agree with you there!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,454 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

........ there is a good chance that you could lose it under the SI of 2017 that makes any new licenses issued post-2017 null and void.:

Say what? Did i miss that or am i forgetting it?
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭Feisar

I thought it was accurate enough, remember yer using iron sights and not precision ones at that. I'd say it was beer mat accurate at 100, maybe a bit worse than that.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,759 ✭✭✭cookimonster

Bagpipe wrote: »
    Are they fairly accurate? I was told by some DF lads that they are woeful after 300m.

I'm guessing it would only be feasible to get a semi one licensed for target shooting? Not sure i like the idea of the straight pull one but sure look.

:D I've held a couple of the army's spotter versions and i'd have to agree with you there!

Don't get confused with the 'new' or up dated spotter rifles, they have had a lot of money spent on them to make make them look that trashy....ahem... good.

The FN was my secound service rifle to be trained on (Enfield 303 in the RDF) and it remains my favourite over the Styer AUG. Although they could be very accurate in proper hands many of those rifles were unofficially modified in various ways in order to up the edge during various competitions.
    On the range they were grand to fire, once kissed by one you tended not to let it happen again. I never had an issue with one failing or miss fireing unlike its successor. They are about as accurate as any other good military rifle out there, but remember they are designed to put holes or the fear of God in people not bullets into neat little clover shapes on paper.
    I'm not up on the current legislation but all our issued FNs were select fire and that AFAIK is now a big issue.
    If it's not a complete infatuation that you have with the old 'Right Arm of the Free World' I can personly recommend the good old 303 Enfield or (but not from experienc) K31
    straight pull.

Feisar wrote: »
    I thought it was accurate enough, remember yer using iron sights and not precision ones at that. I'd say it was beer mat accurate at 100, maybe a bit worse than that.

Thats not too bad i wouldnt say. Thanks for your replies :D

Don't get confused with the 'new' or up dated spotter rifles, they have had a lot of money spent on them to make make them look that trashy....ahem... good.

The FN was my secound service rifle to be trained on (Enfield 303 in the RDF) and it remains my favourite over the Styer AUG. Although they could be very accurate in proper hands many of those rifles were unofficially modified in various ways in order to up the edge during various competitions.
    On the range they were grand to fire, once kissed by one you tended not to let it happen again. I never had an issue with one failing or miss fireing unlike its successor. They are about as accurate as any other good military rifle out there, but remember they are designed to put holes or the fear of God in people not bullets into neat little clover shapes on paper.
    I'm not up on the current legislation but all our issued FNs were select fire and that AFAIK is now a big issue.
    If it's not a complete infatuation that you have with the old 'Right Arm of the Free World' I can personly recommend the good old 303 Enfield or (but not from experienc) K31
    straight pull.

In the future I definitely look into get a MkIII or maybe even an M1 Garand. Ever since I was young I've wanted a FAL just because of how iconic they are. I guess i have a thing for old firearms :D

I wonder is it possible get the likes of an AR-10 or is it too associated with the IRA for a license to be granted?

Thats not too bad i wouldnt say. Thanks for your replies :D

In the future I definitely look into get a MkIII or maybe even an M1 Garand. Ever since I was young I've wanted a FAL just because of how iconic they are. I guess i have a thing for old firearms :D

I wonder is it possible get the likes of an AR-10 or is it too associated with the IRA for a license to be granted?

Your main issues will be with any firearm that is or was select fire . The lesser issue is to convince the powers to be to license a semi automatic centre fire rifle, it's not impossible and many have them here, but it's a little more convoluted then applying for say a bolt action such as the Enfield or K31.

The EU Firearms Directive- revised 2017/853/EC.

The 2017 revision brings substantial improvements to security by making it harder to legally acquire certain high capacity weapons, such as automatic firearms transformed into semi-automatics.

Cass wrote: »
    Say what? Did i miss that or am i forgetting it?

Might have forgotten it,or I may have the date wrong.But it is there,any new lics issued are deemed revoked,but this has never been signed into the statue books...Yet.Was a statement by Frannie Fitzgerald .

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

The AR10 is a modern sporting rifle in 308 that has nothing to do with the IRA or Eugene Stoners original design The RA had the AR18 or the M16 mostly.And yes the AR10 is liscenseable ,I have one.

Whole story about the spotter here and its another utter cluster fuk.
    You can liscense it for both hunting and target shooting.Contary to much misinformation, there is nothing stopping you using a SA for hunting here.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,772 ✭✭✭meathstevie

Whole story about the spotter here and its another utter cluster fuk.
    You can liscense it for both hunting and target shooting.Contary to much misinformation, there is nothing stopping you using a SA for hunting here.

Are they subject to the three round limit like semi auto shotguns for hunting purposes ? L1A1 with a soft point bullet it likes with a 4 or 5 times fixed magnification scope would be a grand deer rifle.

Are they really going a few grand ? Cousin of mine bought one a few years back in Belgium for under a grand, British pattern in great condition. Mainly fires it at an indoor range at 25m, a bit daft if you ask me but his choice and money.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,758 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Just be aware that even though you might get one licensed, there is a good chance that you could lose it under the SI of 2017 that makes any new licenses issued post-2017 null and void. Which would be a bummer if you had :

What SI are you talking about because as far as I was aware the Minister mentioned it in the Dail but didn't write any legislation on the matter?

Are they subject to the three round limit like semi auto shotguns for hunting purposes ? L1A1 with a soft point bullet it likes with a 4 or 5 times fixed magnification scope would be a grand deer rifle.

Are they really going a few grand ? Cousin of mine bought one a few years back in Belgium for under a grand, British pattern in great condition. Mainly fires it at an indoor range at 25m, a bit daft if you ask me but his choice and money.

Nope,you can hang a 10 round on it no bother for hunting.Thats the EU max these days.Most BAs have the same capacity ,and the wildlife act makes no mention of SA rifles mag capacity.
    It depends on what you buy,and what version in the cost.Im sure you can find an old lunker for 500 with a smooth bore barrel from god knows how many rounds thru it.Or a NIB Para FAL for 3k

Might have forgotten it,or I may have the date wrong.But it is there,any new lics issued are deemed revoked,but this has never been signed into the statue books...Yet.Was a statement by Frannie Fitzgerald .

You're referring to her statement in 2015 and the Commissioner's comments on that statement in his updated guidelines in Sept 2018, but it has never been an SI or an amendment to any Act.

Not nit picking but an SI means they are "banned" but her statement, while very doom and gloom, is still only a statement until some legislation is written to enforce it.

There is another issue that i'd love to get a professional opinion on. WHen this was done for centrefire pistols in 2008 (November) and enforced in the new Act in 2009 there was only 7 months which would be the amount of time to get through an entire Act. However its been over 5 years since the then Minister's statement in 2015 and still no legislation so i'm wondering if the retrospective nature of future legislation back to the statement has a time limit.

IOW, as we discussed many times before, you cannot use the threat of legislation as legislation.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

^THIS^^^
    Apologies for any alarm caused, tiredness and some of Mr J Daniels Sunday company at a late hour got me messed with the dates. That's my excuse ....;):D

That's my excuse ....;):D
    You stick to it bud. :D

Unless im misreading or misunderstanding, I CAN get a converted one but it may be a bit dodgy to license?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,772 ✭✭✭meathstevie

Unless im misreading or misunderstanding, I CAN get a converted one but it may be a bit dodgy to license?

L1A1 SLR, yes since it was never a full auto capable rifle. FAL, select fire converted to semi-auto only, no.

“Dodgy” to licence ? Not really if you can convince your local Chief Super that you have sufficient good reason to own it and a non-restricted firearm can’t reasonably be used for the same purpose.

The caliber, 7.62x51 is not a restricted caliber. It’s the semi-auto aspect you’ll have more of a job convincing the issuing CS to grant you the certificate.

What converted to what?

A select fire to semi auto/ straight pull - I belive that mouse hole has been closed.

A semi to a straight pull, yep I think that's ok, but a terrible bastardisation. There are plenty of orginal semi auto military firearms to look at before going that root.

L1A1 SLR, yes since it was never a full auto capable rifle. FAL, select fire converted to semi-auto only, no.

“Dodgy” to licence ? Not really if you can convince your local Chief Super that you have sufficient good reason to own it and a non-restricted firearm can’t reasonably be used for the same purpose.

The caliber, 7.62x51 is not a restricted caliber. It’s the semi-auto aspect you’ll have more of a job convincing the issuing CS to grant you the certificate.

This boils my piss, why cannot owning a restricted firearm be enough in its self ? So i want a slr, but have to give reasons like a child why its an slr i want rather than a lee enfield or something similar ? The calibre thing is another stupid way of "Restricting" firearms. Under the eyes of the ptb, a .38spl lever action is more "dangerous" than a .300 winchester magnum. I was explaining this to a super previously and he simply couldn't get his head around it. Bigger is more dangerous and thats it, was his attitude. Licence the man and not the gun.

DSA arms in the US is probably your best call for FN modern sporting type rifles.
    But it will be fun trying to get it out of the US.

Former FN FAL type rifles [SLR,FAL,G1]aren't as common anymore in Europe. They've been either junked or sold to 3rd world countries for kids to kill people with despite UN embargoes.:rolleyes: Or to the US in kit gun format.

OTOH I still believe it is possible to get a former assault rifle reconverted to a modern sporting rifle. Neidermeyer gunsmiths in Munich are still doing genuine Vietnam era M16s in either straight pull or semi-auto.

Basically they "destroy" the gun dump out all the select-fire parts like fire group, barrel, bolt selector, mag and whats left can be rebuilt on a modern sporting rifle, including a much modified lower receiver with a blocked select fire control group well. They have a BKA clearence to be sold to the public.

So it might be possible to get a FAL converted too by them? But they arent cheap!! Looking at around 3.5k All in for this.And thats putting you in a decent Oberland arms AR10 in 308 ....I know what I'd rather have in that case.

DSA arms in the US is probably your best call for FN modern sporting type rifles.
    But it will be fun trying to get it out of the US.

Wait and see how much more difficult it will be if old hair sniffer Joe gets in.

Very helpful as always guys thanks very much! I guess ill try my hand at the L1A1 and ill share my success or failure. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 549 ✭✭✭Munsterlad102

Nope,you can hang a 10 round on it no bother for hunting.Thats the EU max these days.Most BAs have the same capacity ,and the wildlife act makes no mention of SA rifles mag capacity.
    It depends on what you buy,and what version in the cost.Im sure you can find an old lunker for 500 with a smooth bore barrel from god knows how many rounds thru it.Or a NIB Para FAL for 3k

Yeah, what’s the story with magazine capacity for centrefire rifles? Were all magazines over 10 rounds banned recently or am I imagining things?

Yup,under the EU directive .It varies from country to country as to how it is enforced.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,758 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Yup,under the EU directive .It varies from country to country as to how it is enforced.

Our Government had the option of allowing mag size exemptions for sporting reasons but they didn't take up that option.

BattleCorp wrote: »
    Our Government had the option of allowing mag size exemptions for sporting reasons but they didn't take up that option.

Quelle surprise :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 549 ✭✭✭Munsterlad102

BattleCorp wrote: »

Fecking EU making laws for the sake of them. What does limiting magazine capacity actually achieve? Last time I checked mass shooters don't follow the law. You'd almost want to be leaving like Britain:D