Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part VI - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Level 3 looks like it did the job, we should be moved back down to it this week if there was any real acknowledgement of the plan for us to "live with covid".

Do you think Nphet or government is going to hold up their hands and say we over reacted?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭funnydoggy

NPHET and the government are sticking to the "flatten the curve until a vaccine" idea aren't they?

I don't think cases decreasing will change their minds. They'll kill the economy and force untold amount of people into unemployment, meanwhile they'll all get paid and a lovely pension of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭walus

Wow!!! Look at the last 2 pages of discussion over on the main thread.

Suggestions that 45% of hospitalisations are in hospital WITH Covid. In other words, are not in hospital because of Covid.

I need to look into this some more and see what information is available.

I am not normally one for conspiracy theories but it’s so clear that we are not getting the full picture. Figures are completely manipulated to show the situation as much worse than it is.

I was suspecting that HSE were sandbagging for about 6 weeks now. Or some other forces for that matter. This just does not surprise me. Motivated reasoning continues.

”Where’s the revolution? Come on, people you’re letting me down!”

8k71ps wrote: »
    Considering the state all the economies of Europe are in (including the Swedes) I don't think that they're really comparable. NZ has clearly had less lasting economic damage than any EU country. Really from what we can see the only workable model in the long run to return consumer and business confidence is something akin to South Korea, China or NZ / Australia. Compared to the apocalyptic economic damage that would result from letting it rip through the population, spending a large portion of the budget on health with small budget cuts elsewhere is really the only option.

A "ah sure **** it" covid policy will lead to long term health repercussions which we won't be able to afford, deaths, and a lock-down in effect due to people being afraid of the rate of infection, permanently closing more sectors via taxes/huge drops in aggregate demand compared to controlling the pandemic properly.

How did you conclude that. Can you take me through the facts? Last time I checked GDP of New Zealand contracted by roughly 13% percent. They are in the dire straits so to speak, or I’m missing something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,336 ✭✭✭CruelSummer

I took a few notes for anyone who’s interested in the press briefing this evening. Apologies for the long post!

Tony Holohan saying they use Amárach polls for the baseline of their information... Saying that 81% of people were reporting staying at home rather than going out for the month of Oct...

1. Zara King - cases question. Dr Holohan - (paraphrasing) too early to jump to any conclusions. We need to ‘keep this up’ and look at other indicators.
    Contact tracing - Dr Holohan dismissing it as a possible reason for cases dropping.
    Schools - keeping them open remains a priority. Speed of testing for schools question not really answered.

2. Didn’t get this reporters name...
    Infection fatality rate question - doesn’t answer today & says they’ll have the information later in the week. Holohan states the death rate is lower than thought.
    Was level 5 needed - Dr Holohan doesn’t like the question...states it’s too early to draw conclusions although he hopes there’s a stabilisation or decrease in cases. States Level 3 could be an option to stabilise cases at a particular level. ECDC quoted by him - as recommending stricter ‘non-pharmaceutical’ measures, eg higher levels of restrictions...

3. Fergal Bowers - is it too early to be positive re case numbers? Any signs for optimism...
    Dr Holohan - (paraphrasing) compliance data, pre emptive behaviour by threat of level 5 may be helped...People’s individual behaviour is important, goes into the usual steps they can take.
    Contact tracing question, Dr Holohan sounding defensive saying it’s robust...
    3,500 applications for swabbers, currently being trained in.

4. Stephen Murphy - Newstalk. Will level 5 be extended if criteria isn’t met to reduce?
    Dr Holohan - is hopeful it won’t have to be. Need a high level compliance for level 5 now.
    Interesting point from Holohan, doesn’t agree with Penal provisions as it might discourage people coming forward for testing. Refers to ICU capacity level in major European cities, that they’re currently coming under pressure.
    Question re North - they haven’t been approached for helping with ICU.
    Retail - looking for a quote from Dr Holohan here. Solidarity needed, urges retailers to play fair...

5. Irish Examiner question - positivity rate in Primary Schools + Secondary. Slightly higher positivity level for Primary, question as to why. Gives pods, groups, etc as possible reason. States it’s still far lower than 10% positivity rate in the Community.
    Should schools reopen - they don’t anticipate that schools should close.
    Teacher Unions - safety of staff: States there are Public Health teams on site to deal with issues..not a great answer.
    R rate question - NPHET wanted 0.5. Government wanted 1. Holohan states why they wanted 0.5, re case numbers and reopening.

Traffic light system question - Dr Holohan is completely against it. Doesn’t want International travel.

6. TheJournal.ie journalist - Can people travel home for Christmas...
    He doesn’t really answer this question. But clearly doesn’t support it.
    Halloween - can we celebrate it. Short answer from Dr Holohan, not with others.

Vaccines - people in the HSE are working on plans of a rollout. Depends on what vaccine & data comes through.
    Question re poll showing just 55% of uptake possible with a vaccine. Dr Holohan, would be a concern if uptake was low.
    Need to have vaccine uptake high to lessen transmission.

3xh wrote: »
    ......and regarding this 45% Covid figure in hospitals, let’s not forget, as more and more people get it in the community and assuming this 78-day figure for Covid to continue to show up in PCR tests, ‘hospital numbers with Covid’ will naturally rise also!

It was always bound to happen. Statistics are a curse.

NPHET are a disgrace. And I mean all of them. Both the quiet, behind-the-scenes complicit ones as well as the limelight craving ones we all know so well as this stage.

Nphet should be disbanded ASAP. They are dysfunctional. Completely.

rob316 wrote: »
    I was talking to my neighbour yesterday and he was giving out mad about the virus. He said I can imagine the conversation I'll have with my kid when she's older about this.

Daddy we learned about COVID-19 today in school, what was it like living through it? Terrible, everything was closed, couldn't travel, loads out of work.

But it was a pandemic daddy, so lots of people died? No not really about 2000 people.

There must of been loads of people in hospital sick daddy? No about 300 people at once.

But there is over 5 million people in the country, why did we close everything for 300 sick people daddy? I'm still trying to figure it out love.

At that stage, hopefully, someone like Bethany McLean, will pick this topic up and explain how it went down. There be plenty of work in the literature reflecting on this disaster caused not by the virus but by the human kind.

Not to mention this being a gold mine for researchers in cognitive science, psychology, behavioural economics and decision making. These guys must be just beaming with joy as there is a pile of interesting work for them ahead.

funnydoggy wrote: »
    NPHET and the government are sticking to the "flatten the curve until a vaccine" idea aren't they?

I don't think cases decreasing will change their minds. They'll kill the economy and force untold amount of people into unemployment, meanwhile they'll all get paid and a lovely pension of course.

And they can pat themselves on the back while doing so. Meanwhile there are hundreds of thousands out of work through no choice of their own, trying to endure a dark and depressing winter. Tony Holohan, Leo and company are smug gobsh1tes, the great untouchables.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,200 ✭✭✭✭JRant

I took a few notes for anyone who’s interested in the press briefing this evening. Apologies for the long post!

Tony Holohan saying they use Amárach polls for the baseline of their information... Saying that 81% of people were reporting staying at home rather than going out for the month of Oct...

1. Zara King - cases question. Dr Holohan - (paraphrasing) too early to jump to any conclusions. We need to ‘keep this up’ and look at other indicators.
    Contact tracing - Dr Holohan dismissing it as a possible reason for cases dropping.
    Schools - keeping them open remains a priority. Speed of testing for schools question not really answered.

2. Didn’t get this reporters name...
    Infection fatality rate question - doesn’t answer today & says they’ll have the information later in the week. Holohan states the death rate is lower than thought.
    Was level 5 needed - Dr Holohan doesn’t like the question...states it’s too early to draw conclusions although he hopes there’s a stabilisation or decrease in cases. States Level 3 could be an option to stabilise cases at a particular level. ECDC quoted by him - as recommending stricter ‘non-pharmaceutical’ measures, eg higher levels of restrictions...

3. Fergal Bowers - is it too early to be positive re case numbers? Any signs for optimism...
    Dr Holohan - (paraphrasing) compliance data, pre emptive behaviour by threat of level 5 may be helped...People’s individual behaviour is important, goes into the usual steps they can take.
    Contact tracing question, Dr Holohan sounding defensive saying it’s robust...
    3,500 applications for swabbers, currently being trained in.

4. Stephen Murphy - Newstalk. Will level 5 be extended if criteria isn’t met to reduce?
    Dr Holohan - is hopeful it won’t have to be. Need a high level compliance for level 5 now.
    Interesting point from Holohan, doesn’t agree with Penal provisions as it might discourage people coming forward for testing. Refers to ICU capacity level in major European cities, that they’re currently coming under pressure.
    Question re North - they haven’t been approached for helping with ICU.
    Retail - looking for a quote from Dr Holohan here. Solidarity needed, urges retailers to play fair...

5. Irish Examiner question - positivity rate in Primary Schools + Secondary. Slightly higher positivity level for Primary, question as to why. Gives pods, groups, etc as possible reason. States it’s still far lower than 10% positivity rate in the Community.
    Should schools reopen - they don’t anticipate that schools should close.
    Teacher Unions - safety of staff: States there are Public Health teams on site to deal with issues..not a great answer.
    R rate question - NPHET wanted 0.5. Government wanted 1. Holohan states why they wanted 0.5, re case numbers and reopening.

Traffic light system question - Dr Holohan is completely against it. Doesn’t want International travel.

6. TheJournal.ie journalist - Can people travel home for Christmas...
    He doesn’t really answer this question. But clearly doesn’t support it.
    Halloween - can we celebrate it. Short answer from Dr Holohan, not with others.

Vaccines - people in the HSE are working on plans of a rollout. Depends on what vaccine & data comes through.
    Question re poll showing just 55% of uptake possible with a vaccine. Dr Holohan, would be a concern if uptake was low.
    Need to have vaccine uptake high to lessen transmission.

With respect to the traffic light system, as soon as that comes in I'll be booking a few trips. Tony can go for a long walk off a short plank as far as I'm concerned.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

Fergal bowers said NEPHET will have a meeting this week regards compliance. He said theyll be using mobile phoness etc to determine if people are staying put...surely this is a breach of privacy for anyone to have access to your whereabouts...i dont get this. COMPUTERS and all things algorythmical are alien to me but i dont like where that's going really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,187 ✭✭✭✭Ha Long Bay

rusty cole wrote: »
    Fergal bowers said NEPHET will have a meeting this week regards compliance. He said theyll be using mobile phoness etc to determine if people are staying put...surely this is a breach of privacy for anyone to have access to your whereabouts...i dont get this. COMPUTERS and all things algorythmical are alien to me but i dont like where that's going really.

All data is publicly available here.

https://www.google.com/covid19/mobility/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,627 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Tony is out of control at this stage.

Where will this stop?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,956 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Fergal bowers said NEPHET will have a meeting this week regards compliance.

Maybe if they ask nicely the government will get to listen in for a few minutes, if they stay quiet down the back.

Why are they even concerned with compliance?
    Their remit is to give advice, not police the regulations.
    Just goes to show how far they have overstepped the mark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭funnydoggy

I wonder does Tony get along with the rest of NPHET..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭dalyboy

The sale of old Nokia phones is going to increase with this warning bell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,231 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

Where will this stop?

I've been saying n this for ages, he sees himself as 'Big Brother'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,382 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Numbers going down thankfully but still cant see there been any movement of restrictions of any big note in December because its christmas and big bad people will gather in crowds to have fun and going by NPHET spreading the virus

Moving to level 2 in December would be so great, loads getting the chance to go back to work (myself included, out of work Level 3-5). Reckon a lot will be more than happy to be on PUP over December and have all the free time. Id prob prefer to be back in work because it would also mean stuff is back open again and you can have a life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭dalyboy

I've been saying n this for ages, he sees himself as 'Big Brother'.

This call to monitoring of people’s mobile phones needs to be blocked as a priority and is a new low even for this shower of numpties.

Do we have a civil liberties protection presence in Ireland or are they just nodding along to their overlords too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,187 ✭✭✭✭Ha Long Bay

dalyboy wrote: »
    This call to monitoring of people’s mobile phones needs to be blocked as a priority and is a new low even for this shower of numpties.

Do we have a civil liberties protection presence in Ireland or are they just nodding along to their overlords too

There is no call to monitor peoples phones. The anonymous data is freely available. The hyperbole on this thread is something else at times.

Apple

https://covid19.apple.com/mobility

Google

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,096 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

john4321 wrote: »
    There is no call to monitor peoples phones. The anonymous data is freely available. The hyperbole on this thread is something else at times.

Apple

https://covid19.apple.com/mobility

Google

I assume those "concerned" dont use any type of smart phone anyway. Otherwise they are in for a nasty shock.

The tracing app idea probably terrified them for life anyway.

Where will this stop?

Fintan, Tony is not out of control, he is in control.
    There is no incentive for him to stop. There is no one around who could make him stop either.
    The sad fact is that majority of population is quite happy with the advice that nphet provides and willing to endure whatever restrictions are necessary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Penfailed

john4321 wrote: »

Yep. This information was used during the first lockdown too. I can't understand why people are getting so worked up about it.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 186 ✭✭KennisWhale

Do you think Nphet or government is going to hold up their hands and say we over reacted?

No way.

I'm firmly a believer that level 5 was forced in to hide the fact the schools were associated with the spread from September. Because mid-term coincides with level 5, those of us who question them won't be able to say, "look how cases dropped with schools closed, therefore businesses should not have been shut and travel should not have been curtailed".

I'd schools are told not to open after this week then we can 100% take it that schools are the cause of the spread in recent weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,109 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

funnydoggy wrote: »
    I wonder does Tony get along with the rest of NPHET..

You're asking the wrong question.

Does the rest of NPHET get along with Tony?!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Penfailed

No way.

I'm firmly a believer that level 5 was forced in to hide the fact the schools were associated with the spread from September. Because mid-term coincides with level 5, those of us who question them won't be able to say, "look how cases dropped with schools closed, therefore businesses should not have been shut and travel should not have been curtailed".

I'd schools are told not to open after this week then we can 100% take it that schools are the cause of the spread in recent weeks.

Schools will be open unless the teaching unions force them to close.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, And So I Watch You From Afar

Tony need not bother is hole checking mobile data. It's very clear from being out and about that this is nowhere like March/April. The roads are busy, loads of people out and about. People are not cowering away this time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,336 ✭✭✭CruelSummer

Prime Time discussing The Great Barrington Declaration & herd immunity strategy:

https://twitter.com/rte_primetime/status/1321206626636996611?s=21

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,316 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

Missed the start. Only switched over when Luke O'Neill and that remote guy were on.
    And it was all vaccines aren't what people think they are. Vaccine is just a tool. Together with the other tools like distancing and masks etc For the foreseeable.

Are we're being softened up for that now? And would people go with that? Only thing I learned over the last 8 moths is that nothing seems impossible anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,627 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Missed the start. Only switched over when Luke O'Neill and that remote guy were on.
    And it was all vaccines aren't what people think they are. Vaccine is just a tool. Together with the other tools like distancing and masks etc For the foreseeable.

Are we're being softened up for that now? And would people go with that? Only thing I learned over the last 8 moths is that nothing seems impossible anymore.

Essentially they are saying on prime time life as it is now for a number of years as a vaccine is unlikely to offer much respite if it is ever approved.