Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Opening of "No-Food" pubs pushed out again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,844 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

sporina wrote: »
    So was in the city earlier (Cork) and saw people drinking beer out of plastic pint glasses on the street.. assumed they had their own cans or what ever... but then saw a few pubs selling alcohol for take away - is this legal? just wondering.. like how does that bode with "no drinking on the street laws" etc?

OFF WITH THEIR HEADS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

TOTTALY ILLEGAL for pubs to sell beer thats then drunk outside on the road.

Takeaway and delivery fine. Drinking on the streets could affect the pubs license afaik.

Not an issue for the pub if it is further than 100 metres away. Also no national law against drinking in public, it would depend on any local by-laws.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 597 ✭✭✭vafankillar

Takeaway and delivery fine. Drinking on the streets could affect the pubs license afaik.

pubs were doing this all over the places sine march, as long as they advertise or advise people to not be within 100m it's not on then unless the government change the law/guidelines

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,074 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

MrStuffins wrote: »
    Pfft! If this happens you'll still have people here completely ignoring it and pretending the pubs aren't actually open, like they were back in Aug/Sept.

Calling for support for publicans, but then not going for a pint because, for some reason, they pretend all the pubs are still closed. Crazy!
    So are you saying that just because pubs are open, the people who called for them to be opened should be forced to go to them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Let people enjoy themselves stop being a vigilante

What do you think the word vigilante means? same to those who thanked it -dominatinMC, Hunky Monster, Risteard81, TheValeyard

Some really odd dictionaries seem to be doing the rounds, weird notions of what a loophole is too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,524 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Eh no its not totally illegal and no it wouldn't affect the pubs licence.

There's also no national law regarding public drinking, its based on if the area has any bye laws.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,188 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

take away pints seem a good idea but where can people go to the toilets if they cant enter the premises

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

So was in the city earlier (Cork) and saw people drinking beer out of plastic pint glasses on the street.. assumed they had their own cans or what ever... but then saw a few pubs selling alcohol for take away - is this legal? just wondering.. like how does that bode with "no drinking on the street laws" etc?
    Yes it is legal, there was an article on CorkBeo telling u what places were offering this services.

PTH2009 wrote: »
    take away pints seem a good idea but where can people go to the toilets if they cant enter the premises

Go into Tesco Paul street toilets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,190 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

rubadub wrote: »
    What do you think the word vigilante means? same to those who thanked it -dominatinMC, Hunky Monster, Risteard81, TheValeyard

Some really odd dictionaries seem to be doing the rounds, weird notions of what a loophole is too.

You're right. A better description would have been a curtain twitching busybody. Get on with life and give up the moral crusade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 597 ✭✭✭vafankillar

not sure about elsewhere but in dublin city there's two public toilet prefab things since april/may, graften street and wolftone square

You're right. A better description would have been a curtain twitching busybody..
    I don't see how they are a curtain twitcher or busybody, again people seem to have very different understandings of the terms than me, or any dictionary definitions I see.

I presume you are trying to say they are overly concerned, but struggling to find a suitable derogatory term. I can't think of one myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,207 ✭✭✭sporina

as far as I know, level 5 allows take away pints, there is no national public drinking law in ireland but you must be 100m away from where you bought it and you can be done for being dangerously drunk. I think many places have local by laws about public drinking though and no idea about cork

I always thought that drinking alcohol on the streets in Ireland was illegal??

In any event, I personally don't have a prob with it - but there wer 2 lads being quiet lively close to the footpath (pints in hand) as I was driving by - if I wer to hit one of them, would I be in the wrong? Just made me wonder about the safety aspect of it..

I always thought that drinking alcohol on the streets in Ireland was illegal??
    It is illegal to be drunk in a public place, I am not sure of the definition, I have never heard of people being breathalyzed to be done for it. Leo came out and said knacker drinking (not his term!) was OK/acceptable which was surprising, and he was talking drinking an amount that the govenment and the WHO would class as "binge drinking", but that nobody I know of would describe as binge drinking.

Nothing surprising about it ,he partakes in knacker drinking himself or have u forgotten the topless photos of him necking cans in the park.

I wouldn’t listen to a word that pr*ck has to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,214 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

They’re probably being a lot more relaxed about drinking in the street as long as people aren’t causing trouble. Seems like a good approach as long as people aren’t taking the p1ss.

But speaking of taking the p1ss, where will people take a p1ss? And where will they wash their hands etc?

A good approach would be to set up designated outdoor areas, Distanced tables of 4 seats, toilets, shelter from rain and so on.

Have you seen those pub areas made from shipping containers? They’re very cheap to set up on an unused bit of urban land.

https://www.google.com/search?q=the+stack+newcastle&tbm=isch&ved=2ahUKEwiP95rUxNDsAhVH-YUKHUJxCnUQ2-cCegQIABAC&oq=the+stack+newcastle&gs_lcp=ChJtb2JpbGUtZ3dzLXdpei1pbWcQAzIECCMQJzICCAAyAggAMgQIABAYMgQIABAYOgQIABAeULIOWIETYK0baABwAHgAgAGnAogB1wWSAQUzLjIuMZgBAKABAcABAQ&sclient=mobile-gws-wiz-img&ei=y9mVX8_lE8fylwTC4qmoBw&bih=454&biw=320&prmd=mniv&rlz=1CDGOYI_enGB736GB737&hl=en-GB

Xmas drinks outdoors will be insane

No doubt pubs will be open around Europe/UK in December with restrictions and ours fully shut

Reckon they could be a lot of local hotel bookings for Dec when/if we go back to level 3. That will replace 12 pubs/xmas parties

No doubt pubs will be open around Europe/UK in December with restrictions and ours fully shut

Reckon they could be a lot of local hotel bookings for Dec when/if we go back to level 3. That will replace 12 pubs/xmas parties

In fairness, some pub outdoor/smoking areas are like ur indoors anyway. Covered, heated, comfortable seating. If it is going to be level 3 plenty will still head out. A few hot toddy’s and u won’t feel the cold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,486 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

So are you saying that just because pubs are open, the people who called for them to be opened should be forced to go to them?

Yes, that's exactly what I'm saying.

Bands of hired-goons should be employed to beat down the doors of those posters and at gun or knife-point should be dragged to their local pub and forced to drink some tasty pints of Guinness!

And they better enjoy them or there will be consequences!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 Faridaweeda

a member of a self-appointed group of citizens who undertake law enforcement in their community without legal authority, people with too much time on their hands worrying about what other people are doing , nosey bastards is another term for them

fin12 wrote: »
    In fairness, some pub outdoor/smoking areas are like ur indoors anyway. Covered, heated, comfortable seating. If it is going to be level 3 plenty will still head out. A few hot toddy’s and u won’t feel the cold.

more of a hassle trying to get a table/seat in those areas

Booking system a bit hard for lone drinkers, no way will a pub take a lone drinker over a couple/group

Depends on how they're regulated. If they're limited on numbers, Seated at al times except going to the toilet and table service, then it could work fine. Oh, it would require customers to buy into the new regime, but that's up to them. If customers don't comply they'd be an easy target to be shut down so it would be up to themselves.

I've been to The Stack in Newcastle, to which I posted a link in the last post, just before Christmas last year and it was great. It was sheltered on all sides from the wind and the canopy overhead protected from rain and heaters and fire pits kept us warm. That kind of thing can be done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,110 ✭✭✭Dickie10

will pubs open in january at all or sometime next summer?

Dickie10 wrote: »

Ever dangling carrot. 2022 is my guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,110 ✭✭✭Dickie10

thats mad just thinking about it is a but surreal. So are they planning to have any crowds gathering next year/? IRFU you will be no more, maybe FAI too.

Dickie10, you keep asking these questions about pubs or sports events, people keep saying that nothing will change without a vaccine. Then you wait a few days and ask the same questions again.

What do you think yourself?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

I know it seems pretty dire at the moment, but this virus will not be around forever. SARS 1 ran out in under 2 years. The longer time goes on the more immunity which will be developed.

I cannot tell you when the pubs will re-open but I do think we will be seeing the back of this, or certainly the beginning of the back of this, towards the summer, if not earlier, it cannot last forever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 983 ✭✭✭alentejo

I suspect pubs to reopen in April 2021 with a focus on outdoors. Would be Sept 2021 before pubs open indoors with graduated relaxations up to Summer 2022

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭doublejobbing 2

This January we will be in lockdown III, our government being daft enough to retuning Irish emigrants into the country and doing nothing to stop Romanian etc workers from going home for Christmas and returning. Exact same way the virus was reintroduced in August, but the media won't highlight that one, they seem happy to pretend that our jump from circa 5 cases per day to over 2000 (incuding N.I) was purely organic.

The only country in Europe with a blanket ban on pubs to my knowledge. And prior to that the only country coming up with these ludicrous food rules and time limits.

It isn't about public safety. It's a war on pubs by health Nazis like Holohan and nerds who hate the thought of young people having craic they never had like Simon Harris.

The saddest part is, they've broken us. We took the 2nd round of pub closures on the chin, they've beaten us, they have us exactly where they want us- demoralised, depressed and expecting nothing good to happen.

Was chatting to a fella yesterday who came to Ireland from the UK during the week. No checks in the UK airport, no checks in Ireland. Meanwhile we’re all in lockdown for no other reason than the gov have no idea what to do. Fücking clown world.