Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXVII- 62,002 ROI (1,915 deaths) 39,609 NI (724 deaths) (02/11) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,450 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Eod100 wrote: »
    Early days yet but hopefully a hopefully sign https://twitter.com/RTENewsPaulC/status/1318636744473010177?s=19

Don't know why he says we have deals, EU have done the deals, EU also have an agreement with Pfizer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 443 ✭✭Kh1993

If we’re thinking about a way forward and hope, I think we need to hear some more of NPHET’s voices.

Have to say I have decent confidence in Glynn and De Gascun. Glynn as acting CMO and deputy comes across as affable and crucially, compassionate. He’s taken part in a few 1 on 1 interviews with News2Day for kids as well. De Gascun, for his part, seems to be the actual expert figure on testing, vaccines etc. We haven’t heard much from him recently.

Nolan comes across as an academic looking for a fight. Calling out doctors over twitter, thinking kids don’t have social interactions in schools because he didn’t. And as for Tony, it makes me sick to the stomach to hear the lionising of him, the hero status since this. https://extra.ie/2018/05/16/news/irish-news/tony-holohan-knew-of-cervical-check-memo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,653 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

Jim_Hodge wrote: »
    Rubbish. The new year starts immediately 00:00 or midnight has past.

How is the basic concept of midnight on a particular day so difficult for you to understand? Midnight end a Calander day.

Is there even such thing as an instant in time anyway? Time is constantly moving, who can say where the line between 24:00:00.00000000.... and 00:00:00.00000000.... lies?

But 12 am is midnight, so ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭theguzman

JimToken wrote: »
    This is horsesh1t

House parties, drink and selfish college students and GAA teams celebrations are what put is back on this lockdown, plus every idiot who ever queued up in Ikea, Pennys or Smiths toys they don't care if life is upended or someones parents or grandparents die once they get their next few cans and naggins or some piece of thrash disposable clothing etc. After 6 weeks we reopen and lockdown ad-infinitum until the country is bankrupt with the IMF again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,439 ✭✭✭sideswipe

122029437_208939627245259_2040437529533236774_n.jpg?_nc_cat=103&_nc_sid=8024bb&efg=eyJpIjoidCJ9&_nc_ohc=g4R9fsS0o9AAX9ElGSI&_nc_ht=scontent.fdub5-1.fna&tp=14&oh=6f4fb87d08ebfeda81522f15beb6b39e&oe=5FB488DB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,165 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

But most parents are going to be at home now

They often still have to work from home. It was ridiculously difficult for many last time round when the schools were off.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

sideswipe wrote: »
    122029437_208939627245259_2040437529533236774_n.jpg?_nc_cat=103&_nc_sid=8024bb&efg=eyJpIjoidCJ9&_nc_ohc=g4R9fsS0o9AAX9ElGSI&_nc_ht=scontent.fdub5-1.fna&tp=14&oh=6f4fb87d08ebfeda81522f15beb6b39e&oe=5FB488DB
    I lolled

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,805 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

I dont see North Pole on the Green List!

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,215 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Don't know why he says we have deals, EU have done the deals, EU also have an agreement with Pfizer
    That is what i thought he was saying?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭Curious_Case

odyssey06 wrote: »
    I dont see North Pole on the Green List!

Is that a new Christmas song ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Can you rent a trampoline in Level 5?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,215 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

sideswipe wrote: »

Santy doesn't come to every house. He ain't the king of me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 225 ✭✭JimToken

There's 2 big things going on here:

We don't want to let anyone die

The government is making a mess of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Is that a new Christmas song ?

'Driving 5km for Christmas'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,129 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

The news regarding a vaccine is quite positive.

However, I wonder... since it may arrive very quickly will people be confident about taking it?

I'm guessing that many will wait and see how effective it is and what side effects may or may not happen. It might not be the immediate panacea. And I am NOT an anti vaxxer by any means.

Can you rent a trampoline in Level 5?

Only the big ones to allow for social distancing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

https://www.rte.ie/news/world/2020/1020/1172827-us-excess-deaths/

Excess deaths in the US now exceed over 300,000 as of a fortnight ago.. almost 100,000 more than the official covid death toll, indicating serious and widespread underreporting of COVID deaths in the states. It is at least the fifth country in the Americas to report excess deaths exceeding more than 0.1% of the population since April

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,151 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

Stheno wrote: »
    50/50 id say

How is it to be enforced on Christmas Day.

The government won’t want those restrictions on their own lives at Christmas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,129 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

bb1234567 wrote: »

Excess deaths in the US now exceed over 300,000 as of a fortnight ago.. almost 100,000 more than the official covid death toll, indicating serious and widespread underreporting of COVID deaths in the states

Doesn't surprise me at all, especially in an election year. God love them all.

Excess deaths in the US now exceed over 300,000 as of a fortnight ago.. almost 100,000 more than the official covid death toll, indicating serious and widespread underreporting of COVID deaths in the states

How people have died from missed cancer appointments, suicide etc. The increase is not all covid related I'm sure.

The news regarding a vaccine is quite positive.

However, I wonder... since it may arrive very quickly will people be confident about taking it?

I'm guessing that many will wait and see how effective it is and what side effects may or may not happen. It might not be the immediate panacea. And I am NOT an anti vaxxer by any means.

That's the elephant in the room

Low uptake of vaccine/ antidote and what the consequences will be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,548 ✭✭✭Martina1991

Danno wrote: »
    Sometimes I wish Boards had a puke emoji.

There isn't rapid testing in Ireland for the most part. And there is feck all contract tracing. If contract tracing was anyway up to scratch we wouldn't be at level 5, 4 or even 3.

We were promised South Korean testing and tracing, we got South Sudan - like almost every god damn thing with the HSE.
    When it comes to diagnostic testing the term "gold standard" means it is the most accurate method of testing for the particular analyte, ie the virus. It is the method every other platform is compared to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

theguzman wrote: »
    How people have died from missed cancer appointments, suicide etc. The increase is not all covid related I'm sure.

Why are our excess deaths lower than our covid death toll then? We have harsher restrictions and rules almost acorss the board,we also have much lower hospital capacity so our covid growth will also have much large impact on things like other health trreatments, by all accounts we should far higher excess deaths than America if missed cancer appointments and suicides and such things were having large impacts on excess deaths. And yet our excess deaths are about 20% of theirs per capita

Anyway I didnt say they were all covid deaths, but 100,000 unexplained deaths obviously at the very least indicates significant undercounting of covid deaths

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭Curious_Case

Micheal Martin could save us all a mountain of bother by having a press conference after Halloween to explain to the nation (preferably with a tear rolling down his cheek) that Santa isn't an essential worker . . .

Is paintball still open ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭syngindub

Micheal Martin could save us all a mountain of bother by having a press conference after Halloween to explain to the nation (preferably with a tear rolling down his cheek) that Santa isn't an essential worker . . .

or that little fecker "The Elf on the bleedin shelf"

Why are our excess deaths lower than our covid death toll then? We have harsher rules, we should have higher excess deaths than America if missed cancer appointments and suicides were having large impacts on excess deaths. And yet our excess deaths are about 20% of theirs per capita

Anyway I didnt say they were all covid deaths, but 100,000 unexplained deaths obviously at the very least indicates significant undercounting of covid deaths

The boomer generation isn't getting younger and the of deaths across the Western World is going to accelerate this decade sharply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭majcos

niallo27 wrote: »
    Nobody is reporting the age of the people that died, we all know they are in their 80s but you can be guaranteed when the first young person dies of this it will all over the media.
    First young person in Ireland? Sadly, that has already happened. I accept that the percentage of deaths under 65 is small but deaths have occurred.

A 17 year old died in Mayo in May. She had an underlying health condition but her family did not expect her to die when she did. She was studying for her Leaving Cert.

A 36 year retail worker in Donegal with no documented underlying health conditions also died in May.

A man from Dublin aged 33 died in April.

Eight healthcare workers who were hardly in their 80s living in nursing homes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭robbiezero

?
    And this matters why it is 13 people who have died early due to Covid. Have some respect

How do you know they died early due to Covid? Is that known now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭frank8211

odyssey06 wrote: »
    Plus ask the Guards where were they on GAA county final day...

Didn't hear the gardai were there but I know there were mad parties in the parishes where the winning teams are based. And allegedly some went to a night club across the border afterwards. The school in one of those villages now is in trouble