Covid 19 Part XXV-44,159 ROI (1,830 deaths) 21,898 NI (598 deaths) (13/10) Read OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

GazzaL wrote: »
    Nobody said they are. They're failing miserably at what they're supposed to be doing though.

Their advice is being dismissed. Not sure they are the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭rockatansky

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    Their advice is being dismissed. Not sure they are the problem.

Of course they are not, but a certain level of people need a target to point and blame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 58,679 ✭✭✭✭Necro

DeanAustin wrote: »
    They rejected NPHETs advice. They were getting criticised for it from some quarters all week for refusing it. They were obliged, for everyone’s sake, to come out and explain their decision making.

As Leo explained it, the government had every right to be pissed at NPHET.

I agree, damned if they do, damned if they don't.

But - and I say this through gritted teeth as I can't stand FF - I thought Martin and Donnelly explained it better, rather than Leo going in with a couple of low blows like NPHET not having to worry about the PUP and things like that.

Damn sure they don't have to, that's the governments job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,657 ✭✭✭Marty Bird

Well, my Liveline conversation from last week is on track

Liveline 5th Oct, 2020

Joe: On line one we have Jacinta, Jacinta how are you? Now you don't want the new restrictions? Tell me why...

Jacinta: Howiyeh Adrian...

Joe: It's Joe here

Jacinta: Howiyeh Joe, Joe come here listen to me, i'm not accepting another lockdown Joe no way, da gubberment are killing us Joe, we have to stand up for our rights...

Liveline 5th Nov, 2020

Joe: On line one we have Jacinta, Jacinta how are you?

Jacinta: Howiyeh Adrian...

Joe: It's Joe here

Jacinta: Howiyeh Joe, come here me 50 year old granny is in the hospital with da COVID, the government are granny killers Joe, they should have had the place closed down...

Yawn..That is just so cringe why so many boards users use these type of comments is beyond me. I’m genuinely embarrassed for you.

🌞6.02kWp⚡️3.01kWp South/East⚡️3.01kWp West

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,284 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

I’m glad ppl are realizing what a pompous nasty bollox veradkar is

His little attention seeking tantrum last Monday night was short sighted in the extreme and damaged public confidence in nphet even further

Well done Leo. 1000 + new cases today but hey At least your popularity rating is higher, eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭bettyoleary

Does anyone have any insight into why the North has 'lost control'?
    Probably University same as UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭lbj666

Arghus wrote: »
    Twice a day isn't bad going.

There are 1440 minutes in a day :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,445 ✭✭✭mloc123

GazzaL wrote: »
    Nobody said they are. They're failing miserably at what they're supposed to be doing though.

Literally 8 days ago NPHET said everything was grand... Not even Cork needed to move to level 3... I know things change quickly etc.. but surely that had SOME insight into growth?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,663 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Thierry12 wrote: »
    He needs to go

The mans gone rogue

Did he have a psych evaluation on his comeback? Fit to work?

Alot happened him recently

Needs to take a back seat, but will he?
    What a load of nonsense.
    He made recommendations that is part of his role.
    It was up to the government to take it on board or not, we are gonna end up at level 5 at some stage no matter what I would guess at this stage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,803 ✭✭✭tigger123

He needs to go

The mans gone rogue

Have you seen the numbers today?

NPHET are out ahead of everyone else trying to get people to take this seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

He needs to go

The mans gone rogue

Why do you say that? Pretty nasty accusation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭Blondini

The_Brood wrote: »
    The virus spreads by close contact, especially in indoor places, especially by people from many different households. That is the #1 criteria for the virus spread. That is exactly what schools are. Next to no social distancing, kids on top of each other, going home to infect households, who then infect the rest of society. This is 100% the trajectory.

Schools have not been closed because the government is afraid of angry parents.

That's a very unpopular opinion around here, even though the link is obvious to a blind man on a dark night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 713 ✭✭✭manniot2

He needs to go

The mans gone rogue

Nope he’s an egomaniac. Won’t give up this spotlight again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

They need to close the pubs in Dublin again....oh wait...we’ll definitely it’s not the schools. The schools are made of pixie dust and covidproof.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭blowitupref

No info given by Gov.ie, I'd wonder how many German lab positive swabs are included in this week's case total?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭BringBackMick

I’m glad ppl are realizing what a pompous nasty bollox veradkar is

His little attention seeking tantrum last Monday night was short sighted in the extreme and damaged public confidence in nphet even further

Well done Leo. 1000 + new cases today but hey At least your popularity rating is higher, eh?

You taking the proverbial?

These cases were already build in, whatever the decision made on Monday these cases we have now were going to happen!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 917 ✭✭✭Thierry12

tigger123 wrote: »
    Have you seen the numbers today?

NPHET are out ahead of everyone else trying to get people to take this seriously.

TPHET are

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭Blondini

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    They need to close the pubs in Dublin again....oh wait...we’ll definitely it’s not the schools. The schools are made of pixie dust and covidproof.

Nothing to do with schools. Coincidence. Fake news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,306 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

niallo27 wrote: »
    Who is going pay for it all though, half a million out of work and no mortgage breaks

It's not an easy choice. It's not a clear answer. But this virus can kill and we've all heard how some people have gotten messed up over this. Health Vs economy.

There's going to be another lockdown at some point. Do you really think the only lockdown we will have was march? Highly unlikely.

We're coming into the coldest winter months, the numbers are going up. Why not just lockdown now rather than later. Have a some what normal Christmas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭Cilldara_2000

manniot2 wrote: »
    Nope he’s an egomaniac. Won’t give up this spotlight again.

Oh yeah, this career civil servant loves the spotlight and wants to lock down the whole country for the craic. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,288 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

No info given by Gov.ie, I'd wonder how many German lab positive swabs are included in this week's case total?

Tony Holohan says all cases notified in last 24 hours. Have to take his word for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,909 ✭✭✭✭iguana

Necro wrote: »
    If it continues past tomorrow I'll be calling my GP Monday morning tbh.

Really do get as much rest as you can. If you are short of breath try lying down and practicing deep belly breathing that should help with the sensation of not getting enough air. Keep an eye on your bpm and blood oxygen levels if the shortness of breath continues. (There are phone apps for this.) And call for medical advice/help if you need it. Make sure you are eating regularly, if you have no appetite just eat at the times you normally would. Stay hydrated. You will almost certainly be fine and recover with rest but don't try to push on or ignore any signs that you do need help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,643 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Shocking figures. They were warning a week or so ago about over a thousand cases in late October and yet we have passed that already. The government should be listening to the experts. I trust in Dr. Holohan, not Dr. Varadkar.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭Limpy

Open up ta Feck. Its flu season it's inevitable its going to spread. Isolate the vunerable and let the rest of us live.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Of course they are not, but a certain level of people need a target to point and blame.

Yeah, tbh I think everyone is split on how to handle this. It's disheartening, there will never be a majority consensus like there was in March/April. Society has been almost split into factions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭DrSpongeBobz

No backlog for today if true is scary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,336 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

What's going on in Dublin?

That number shouldn't really have happened.

Is testing and tracing bollixed up there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,960 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

Necro wrote: »
    I agree, damned if they do, damned if they don't.

But - and I say this through gritted teeth as I can't stand FF - I thought Martin and Donnelly explained it better, rather than Leo going in with a couple of low blows like NPHET not having to worry about the PUP and things like that.

Damn sure they don't have to, that's the governments job.

I thought Leo came across better than the other two. I’m not an FG voter by the way but I’d have Leo leading the country before any of the rest. People accuse him of spin and double speak, he was the only one speaking plainly this week for me but we can agree to disagree.

On Donnelly, I’d have no confidence in him to be honest. When asked this week who was responsible if cases and deaths surge he said...

“The virus is responsible.”

A spoofer and spin merchant IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭Cilldara_2000

Limpy wrote: »
    Open up ta Feck. Its flu season it's inevitable its going to spread. Isolate the vunerable and let the rest of us live.

The flu has barely spread anywhere in the southern hemisphere throughout their winter so, no it's not at all inevitable it's going to spread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,080 ✭✭✭✭titan18

So what the solution?

Close construction,retail,barbers etc which have a very low impact on numbers?

Imo, close pubs and restaurants fully and put laws in place to clamp down properly on house parties. No more of this civil liberties sh1te as a defence.