Covid 19 Part XXV-44,159 ROI (1,830 deaths) 21,898 NI (598 deaths) (13/10) Read OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 436 ✭✭eleventh

The fantasising of Irish citizens civil liberties being stamped all over is more than a little bit pathetic lads and lassies. Tells us a lot about you.
    I doubt most of them are even Irish. Anyone Irish I know who's going along with restrictions is obeying the rules but isn't happy about it, and hopes it will end soon. They wouldn't be coming out with the stuff that poster is promoting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Boggles wrote: »
    No. The briefing scheduled for Monday was cancelled.

Will be interesting to see if Thursdays goes ahead.

But you can be sure the CMO and Acting CMO didn't meet with Donnelly yesterday to discuss how 'good face shields are'.

Right so everyone is saying they leaked it and they havent once denied this damaging claim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,245 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

No. The briefing scheduled for Monday was cancelled.

Will be interesting to see if Thursdays goes ahead.

But you can be sure the CMO and Acting CMO didn't meet with Donnelly yesterday to discuss how 'good face shields are'.

Why can you be sure of that? If it's a case where they are refusing to give their advice then surely they will resign and not play games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,446 ✭✭✭patnor1011

I think one of the greatest things the government has done here is convinced a lot of so called intelligent people that the leak came from NPHET.

But I suppose that's why we keeping getting the governance we have.

I still see no one from cabinet has refuted the science or the data.

Look over there a squirrel.....

Well, data show this virus is nothing we thought it would be. It is no wonder we adjust the response.
    And science keeps changing as we learn new stuff.
    I wonder what would people do if vaccines will not be as efficient as some believe that we are in for some miracle shot which will sort it all out.
    Perpetual lockdowns? Payrise for NPHET?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,336 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

is_that_so wrote: »
    That's a bit of a sideshow now. It was communication failure all round. Government officials would almost invariably have reacted the way the rest of the country did - with a meltdown. They shouldn't but they are human as well.

Muldoon politicians losing there shít isn't the story.

The Tánaiste live on television questioning the professionalism and ability of the emergency task force is.

It's news when Trump does it and certainly news when the bould Leo does it.

And if you think the next briefing if there is one won't be full of questions about it, then you will be disappointed.

I know party HQ is on clean up mode, but the clown needs to reigned in, his Ego is not what is important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭MaccaTacca

Police state

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 284 ✭✭TexasTornado

Covid-19: Donegal nursing home confirms 30 cases

Let it rip, protect the vulnerable, something, something.

Sure they are old, what did you expect. Jeeeeez

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,762 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

pjohnson wrote: »
    Are you now against them? Nice to see you've changed your tune from what you were at the start.

Against what ?? Anti mask protests.

I've never been in favour of them, you must be confusing me with someone else, I've never been on a protest.

I've been posting about how I think the anti mask protests and the yellow vest stuff is utter crap, the Gemma crew are all idiots. Said that since the start.

Would appreciate if you not link me to any of that anti mask protest nonsense thats been going on in Dublin thanks. You can clarify your comment

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭amadangomor

MaccaTacca wrote: »
    Police state

Oh ffs :pac:

Why can you be sure of that? If it's a case where they are refusing to give their advice then surely they will resign and not play games.

You must have missed Donnelly on Prime Time last night?

When asked about it.

He basically said, Tony who, Leo who?

Are those my feet? I'd like to thank the guards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭wadacrack

Few here could do with looking at this.

https://twitter.com/devisridhar/status/1313734124264357888

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

I tend to agree with you, but its hard to know what to do, I already suggested a short sharp shock (level 5 now) for a short term, then ease up restrictions before Christmas, but that didn't go down well either.
    I see on the Sky News website today that they discuss the "Great Barrington Declaration", which sounds very grandiose, but I think it just means herd immunity ???
    North East of England has it very bad.

Link: http://news.sky.com/story/scientists-and-politicians-split-over-how-to-tackle-rising-covid-infections-as-northern-leaders-say-restrictions-are-not-working-12096597

Yes it sounds permanent. It’s translates to let those filthy masses get infected like they always do. We’ll be all right jack. Kinda like when they let us eat potatoes even though there weren’t any. By the time it’s over they will be frightfully sorry.

I think the solution is quite clear although unpalatable as it requires an all of society approach. Might come when the change of government comes. Hopefully trump goes quietly. Would be easier to follow if the leader of the free world is implementing it.

What wadacrack said above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Right so everyone is saying they leaked it and they havent once denied this damaging claim.
    They tend not to get into spats. Like the HSE, their role as the punching bag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

Yeah this whole "protect the vulnerable and let it go through the population for da herd immunity" approach that some people seem to think will work just doesn't make sense. There is zero scientific approach to back it up, in fact the opposite is increasingly true. Plenty of science backing up reinfection and no lasting immunity. That plan is essentially giving up in my opinion.

Level 3 is probably the right level for us now it is up to every individual to play their part and comply with this.

Wear a fecking mask when around people, limit contacts, don't spend time indoors with groups of people from outside you household if possible, observe good hygiene etc.

Do this and we can avoid going to level 4 or 5. It's in our hands now.

Covid-19: Donegal nursing home confirms 30 cases

Let it rip, protect the vulnerable, something, something.

Can they still say ‘how were we to know?’ They’d want to get those advisors twisting reality fairly quickly. When the death rate spikes AGAIN will be interesting how they explain it away.

‘ the true measure of any society can be found in how it treats its most vulnerable members’

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

By the middle of next year, there will be no restrictions and life will be back to normal. People will have run out of patience with any restrictions by then, and will want to lead their lives. And the vaccine will dim the worst effects. The virus is bad, but nowhere near fatal enough to lead to ongoing restrictions for ever.

Just you wait, the govt. is invested in this now, we can see that, they won't back down, and it's not just Ireland , other world govts will do the same and thus will give them the resolve....

Yes it sounds permanent. It’s translates to let those filthy masses get infected like they always do. We’ll be all right jack. Kinda like when they let us eat potatoes even though there weren’t any. By the time it’s over they will be frightfully sorry.

I think the solution is quite clear although unpalatable as it requires an all of society approach. Might come when the change of government comes. Hopefully trump goes quietly. Would be easier to follow if the leader of the free world is implementing it.

https://twitter.com/devisridhar/status/1313734124264357888?s=21
    1,2,3 & 6 are the only ones that can be done practically. Issues with 4 are rolled into 1 anyway. We have no answers to 5 yet.

Can they still say ‘how were we to know?’ They’d want to get those advisors twisting reality fairly quickly. When the death rate spikes AGAIN will be interesting how they explain it away.

‘ the true measure of any society can be found in how it treats its most vulnerable members’

What's the solution to this? Staff coming in and out have to be the major cause.

Maybe staff being tested regularly would be a solution.

Tánaiste tells FG meeting Level 5 'circuit break' is highly possible
    Tánaiste Leo Varadkar has told a meeting of his party that a level 5 ‘circuit break’ is still highly possible, 24 hours after his stinging rebuke of Nphet and Chief Medical Officer Tony Holohan.

You couldn't write it.

I know the FG grass roots and party as a whole prefer Convey, but surely it is time to give a him a crack.

Can anyone set up a checkpoint to give advice? Doesn’t seem unconstitutional? Could warn people about potholes etc.

They tend not to get into spats. Like the HSE, their role as the punching bag.

Ah right, martyrs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

[QUOTE;114849159]Yes it sounds permanent. It’s translates to let those filthy masses get infected like they always do. We’ll be all right jack. Kinda like when they let us eat potatoes even though there weren’t any. By the time it’s over they will be frightfully sorry.

https://twitter.com/devisridhar/stat...264357888?s=21[/QUOTE]

She wants travel restrictions forever basically !! shock horror !!
    Who would think a far leftist marxist would support such a move!!!

Ah right, martyrs.
    No, adults. There's nothing to gain from a blame game squabble. People are going to blame them anyway so they accept it and get on with more important things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,245 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

Tánaiste tells FG meeting Level 5 'circuit break' is highly possible

You couldn't write it.

I know the FG grass roots and party as a whole prefer Convey, but surely it is time to give a him a crack.

He never ruled it out, just said it was not to be rushed into, he is being consistent, unlike nphet.

Some thoughts on virus fatigue and yes it is the much loved WHO.
    The World Health Organization has said European countries will need to “move beyond biomedical science” to overcome Covid-19 as “pandemic fatigue” and new infections rapidly rise across the continent.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2020/oct/06/europe-must-go-beyond-science-to-survive-covid-crisis-says-who

[QUOTE;114849159]Yes it sounds permanent. It’s translates to let those filthy masses get infected like they always do. We’ll be all right jack. Kinda like when they let us eat potatoes even though there weren’t any. By the time it’s over they will be frightfully sorry.

https://twitter.com/devisridhar/stat...264357888?s=21

She wants travel restrictions forever basically !! shock horror !!
    Who would think a far leftist marxist would support such a move!!![/quote]

No commie plot just a professor of public health saying the same thing for the past 8 months.

Yeah this whole "protect the vulnerable and let it go through the population for da herd immunity" approach that some people seem to think will work just doesn't make sense. There is zero scientific approach to back it up, in fact the opposite is increasingly true. Plenty of science backing up reinfection and no lasting immunity. That plan is essentially giving up in my opinion.

No one sensible here is arguing for "Let it rip". By characterising those who don't argue for a zero covid strategy as "let it rip merchants", some are creating a false equivalence, and in fact the are arguing a point that others are making.

On the other hand, if you truly believe there will be no lasting immunity, a vaccine is pointless and "herd immunity", as happened with all previous pandemics, is the only way out as the virus becomes endemic in the population with a level of resistance mitigates the worst effects somewhat

He never ruled it out, just said it was not to be rushed into, he is being consistent, unlike nphet.

Consistent with his ego.

His only problem seems to be they met on a Sunday, imagine an emergency task force meeting on Sunday during a once in a generation pandemic. How dare they.

Leo was probably in the park drinking cans.

No, adults. There's nothing to gain from a blame game squabble. People are going to blame them anyway so they accept it and get on with more important things.

No. Adults set the record straight in the face of slanderous claims in order to maintain their standing.