Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXIII-33,444 in ROI(1,792 deaths) 9,541 in NI(577 deaths)(22/09)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,600 ✭✭✭crossman47

crossman47 wrote: »
    The Tipp county final was a great game yesterday but the scenes afterwards make me worry we won't see much more games this year. I know a first county means so much but fellas hugging, back slapping, etc as if social distancing doesn't matter at a match can only lead to problems.

Just saw this https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-northern-ireland-54233073. GAA games will be halted soon if they don't cop on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭theballz

How many more would you like to see infected to find your answer?

Never has a username been so fitting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

GooglePlus wrote: »
    We may have a vaccine next year but the chances are most of us won't have it available to us until the later years. It would be a logistical feat that would outshine any seen in anyone's lifetime if they managed to produce and distribute a vaccine to the levels needed for global herd immunity in such short notice. Even creating that many glass vials to contain the vaccine is a feat in itself!

This from Sky News about a vaccine.

https://news.sky.com/story/coronavirus-only-one-in-10-to-be-protected-from-covid-19-in-first-year-of-vaccine-use-12072473

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

Again how many of the 33,000 infected in Ireland have required a double lung transplant?
    If you have trouble understanding the question let me know and I'll try to phrase it more clearly for you.

Ok, let's not talk about 20 year olds needing lung transplants. What about the long haulers. Or are you going to come back and write about your list of friends all ok. Let's not dismiss the long haulers in this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭GeorgeBailey

ixoy wrote: »
    Nobody wants to take on the incredible inefficiency in the HSE. It'd require likely a lot of lay offs to start with as part of a structural reform and nobody can stomach that battle as the HSE would grind to a halt. At best a plan could be put in place to not re-fill some bureaucratic posts as retirements and so on come up but that'll take a long time.

They'd be even more uncomfortable getting rid of ineffective frontline workers. Even making the suggestion that they might exist is likely to cause grief.

Ok, let's not talk about 20 year olds needing lung transplants. What about the long haulers. Or are you going to come back and write about your list of friends all ok. Let's not dismiss the long haulers in this.

How many Irish 20 year olds need a double lung transplant, thats a very simple question which for some reason you refuse to answer.

I only know one person that contracted the virus. 62 year old neighbour. She was off work for 2 weeks a few months ago. Back working away no issues.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭Non solum non ambulabit

When all this is over, we seriously need to look at how unhealthy we are as a nation.

Totally. So many Irish people have chosen to live a very unhealthy lifestyle. These people don't care about any one else but themselves. Everyone else needs to pick up the pieces including elderly and genuinely sick people who have to wait months for procedures because hospitals are full of people that shouldn't be there if they followed a healthy lifestyle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

How many Irish 20 year olds need a double lung transplant, thats a very simple question which for some reason you refuse to answer.

I only know one person that contracted the virus. 62 year old neighbour. She was off work for 2 weeks a few months ago. Back working away no issues.

Listening to your man Brendan on RTÉ yesterday was an eye opener. Clear agenda to make things out to be worse than they are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭Non solum non ambulabit

Our spend per capita on health:

All we hear is that there is chronic under investment.

We need reform but FF FG Greens wont do it.

The opposition tell us we need to spend more and don't mention reform.

So this government or any potential left wing government wont reform.

Shows how unhealthy this nation is that we have to spend so much on Health compared to other OECD countries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Jesus ... so I won't get back to Ireland or travel anywhere for years ... ****n hell ..

Listening to your man Brendan on RTÉ yesterday was an eye opener. Clear agenda to make things out to be worse than they are.

Several here at the same carry on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,562 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Have we any proof yet that immunity lasts more than three months for those who have had the virus?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

Jesus ... so I won't get back to Ireland or travel anywhere for years ... ****n hell ..

I’d trust Trump before I’d trust Sky News, to be honest

One the vulnerable and healthcare workers are vaccinated, the approach will definitely be to let it ride

• Closed Accounts Posts: 544 ✭✭✭Hawthorn Tree

When this is all over we need to look at how dilapidated our health service is and do something about it

It will be way worse. Decades of mismanagement and financial waste have ruined it beyond repair.
    So many vested interests will block progress (e.g. bloated management and unions).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Paddygreen

Now that the pubs are open outside Dublin I think it will be only a few weeks before we run out of body bags. Seriously terrified right now, shaking, I haven’t even been to the shop today. Those bog monkeys outside the M50 are just going to go into an alcoholic stupor as they spread the virus in dark corners of pubs that smell slightly like wee with grubby barren that look like Barry Cowan.

eagle eye wrote: »
    Have we any proof yet that immunity lasts more than three months for those who have had the virus?

Have we any proof it doesn't?

https://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/health-family/studies-show-positive-signs-of-strong-lasting-covid-19-immunity-1.4332233

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

Paddygreen wrote: »
    Now that the pubs are open outside Dublin I think it will be only a few weeks before we run out of body bags. Seriously terrified right now, shaking, I haven’t even been to the shop today. Those bog monkeys outside the M50 are just going to go into an alcoholic stupor as they spread the virus in dark corners of pubs that smell slightly like wee.

Bog monkeys, Paddy, for feck sake. Surely on a wind up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Now that the pubs are open outside Dublin I think it will be only a few weeks before we run out of body bags. Seriously terrified right now, shaking, I haven’t even been to the shop today. Those bog monkeys outside the M50 are just going to go into an alcoholic stupor as they spread the virus in dark corners of pubs that smell slightly like wee with grubby barren that look like Barry Cowan.

See a therapist. Unhinged.

Bog monkeys, Paddy, for feck sake. Surely on a wind up?

ACE Paddy has been consistent in all his posts. Very entertaining but advisable not to take him seriously.

I'll stop in my local for a drink tonight after work. I'll raise a toast for you. Keep them coming.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

Considering this talk about herd immunity, I gave my reasons to why it's not a good reason.

Please don't ignore what's happening in the world with this virus because it's hasn't happened here just yet. There's still no end in sight and can very much happen here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭Polar101

Those bog monkeys outside the M50 are just going to go into an alcoholic stupor as they spread the virus in dark corners of pubs that smell slightly like wee with grubby barren that look like Barry Cowan.

I'm outside the M50, but all the pubs are closed. I feel like I'm missing out on something spectacular now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,546 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

eagle eye wrote: »

Sweden seems to be doing well, without masks etc, it must be 6 months since many of their people got covid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Considering this talk about herd immunity, I gave my reasons to why it's not a good reason.

Please don't ignore what's happening in the world with this virus because it's hasn't happened here just yet. There's still no end in sight and can very much happen here.

Are you actually going to answer the question that poster posed to you? Twice!

So still unable to answer the question . Prehaps it would be better just to ignore you and the nonsense you post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Paddygreen

Polar101 wrote: »
    I'm outside the M50, but all the pubs are closed. I feel like I'm missing out on something spectacular now.

People inside the m50 are less likely go on a booze tour of neighboring counties.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 466 ✭✭DangerScouse

High risk groups
    The list of people in high risk groups includes people who:
    • are over 60 years of age
    • have a learning disability
    • have a lung condition that's not severe (such as asthma, COPD, emphysema or bronchitis)
    • have heart disease (such as heart failure)
    • have high blood pressure (hypertension)
    • have diabetes
    • have chronic kidney disease
    • have liver disease (such as hepatitis)
    • have a medical condition that can affect your breathing
    • have cancer
    • have clinically stable cystic fibrosis
    • have a weak immune system (immunosuppressed)
    • have cerebrovascular disease
    • have a condition affecting your brain or nerves (such as Parkinson's disease, motor neurone disease, multiple sclerosis, or cerebral palsy)
    • have a problem with your spleen or have had your spleen removed
    • have a condition that means you have a high risk of getting infections (such as HIV, lupus or scleroderma)
    • are taking medicine that can affect your immune system (such as low doses of steroids)
    • have obesity
    • are residents of nursing homes and other long-stay settings
    • are in specialist disability care and are over 50 years of age or have an underlying health problem.

I have none of the above yet the virus floored me for the guts of two weeks and i mean can't get out of bed, hard to walk up the stairs floored. It then took me about another 2 months to be able to walk my dog for more than 30 minutes at my usual pace. I've only in the last few weeks began running and getting back to my usual self 100%. Okay i more than likely got a high viral load of the virus but still you don't want this thing in your life believe me it's no joke.

People who think "im young and fit so i'll be grand" will be right 99% of the time but there are some who will not be grand and may suffer complications that they don't envisage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Prospect of early beers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭Blondini

Oranage2 wrote: »
    Prospect of early beers?

I'd say the bog monkeys have had a few early beers already with their reopened pubs..