Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part V - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭CruelSummer

Penfailed wrote: »
    You could've just said that you have no idea rather than type all of that. I thought that when you were calling for an election you would've had at least some clue as to who you'd vote for.

Why? We had an election campaign in February and not one word of Covid 19 was mentioned by a single politician. I don’t actually know how all of the parties would approach the current crisis given the opportunity of being in power. Who would you vote for?

I’m neither public sector nor retired and I am massively in favour of restrictions, I’d have no issue with another country wide lockdown as we had in March to June.

Nox would you be happy with a Chinese level of control on the citizens of Ireland? You seem very in favour of heavy handed authoritarian approaches to everything.

pjohnson wrote: »
    So the National Party then?

What a suprise that is.

I don’t support that party in any way, shape or form but stay classy as always.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,253 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Nermal wrote: »
    Out of interest, what’s the legal basis for pub & restaurant closures? Masks/PLF completion are mandated in law for the general public, but everything else is totally advisory. Has legislation actually been passed regarding the various rules businesses face?

Martin said regulations would follow during the press conference this evening. He didn't say WHAT regulations, but he did dodge the "will the Garda get powers to restrict travel" one twice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭rocky1813

Does anyone know are cinemas in Dublin closing tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭sterz

IFI and Lighthouse closed anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 Restrooms

How do this affect suppliers from outside Dublin to dublin building sites?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,681 ✭✭✭Penfailed

uli84 wrote: »
    My friend’s son communion was meant to be this Sunday, guests from abroad arrived yesterday ( communion now cancelled 2nd or 3rd time I believe, people are literally bewildered

The guests from abroad weren't going to self-isolate then?

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,863 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Restrooms wrote: »
    How do this affect suppliers from outside Dublin to dublin building sites?

Be regarded as work purposes I’d imagine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,557 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

They bottled it. Guess all the leaks were as bad as we feared.

Dublin city centre is gonna be a deserted wasteland yet gain for the next few weeks.

Seriously, I haven't been this dismayed towards an Irish Govt since the dying days of Brian Cowen's stint as Taoiseach. This is economic vandalism... :(

100% new government, same shambolic **** !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,623 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

The guests from abroad weren't going to self-isolate then?

Would they have to from a green list country?

Why? We had an election campaign in February and not one word of Covid 19 was mentioned by a single politician. I don’t actually know how all of the parties would approach the current crisis given the opportunity of being in power. Who would you vote for?

I'm not registered to vote.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, And So I Watch You From Afar

No idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

End of society? Oh ffs the hyperbolic bs is getting beyond stupid at this stage.

I notice you did not answer my question though, you must be a politician.
    So I'll ask it again, what exactly do you think they should do about a growing trend?

dalyboy wrote: »

Problem is NPHET etc still won’t accept that lockdowns are beyond useless and even with all the egg on their face will probably seek a country wide lockdown by then .

Why should they accept something that is not true? Lockdowns work fine as various places from Wuhan to New York show.

uli84 wrote: »
    My friend’s son communion was meant to be this Sunday, guests from abroad arrived yesterday ( communion now cancelled 2nd or 3rd time I believe, people are literally bewildered

People travelling from abroad for such gatherings is one of the reasons we are where we are today. I presume these people were coming from a country on the green list or were they just planning to ignore the quarantine?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 Restrooms

road_high wrote: »
    Be regarded as work purposes I’d imagine

Meaning?

Sorry I'm not up to speed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,586 ✭✭✭RoryMac

Restrooms wrote: »
    Meaning?

Sorry I'm not up to speed

Travel for work wasn't affected by today's announcement so deliveries will be fine

No, they wouldn’t

No issue so

I'm not registered to vote.

Ok well if you’re feeling strongly about the current situation, or any issue - you should register if you’re eligible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭3xh

People travelling from abroad for such gatherings is one of the reasons we are where we are today. I presume these people were coming from a country on the green list or were they just planning to ignore the quarantine?

Sigh. You’re NPHET’s dream citizen.

If these people were coming from a non-green list country they could still go straight to the gathering.
    The same way someone returning from Tullamore could attend the same function.

There is no quarantine. There never was. People didn’t get the wordplay by the government and just blindly followed their ‘advice’

In their attempt to humanise the idea of locking one’s self away for 2 weeks, the government changed the wording to ‘restricting your movements’ Soothing.

Are you aware that I could fly to Germany tomorrow for beers and whatnot, return to work Monday and not quarantine. Yet I can’t go to a pub in Dublin. Kildare is fine. But you despair at people not following the ‘advice’, from the people who brought you those^^^ rules, to ‘quarantine’?

Ok well if you’re feeling strongly about the current situation, or any issue - you should register if you’re eligible.

There isn't much point voting really.

Its not a democracy at present, NPHET have assumed power and implemented a nanny state.

The 1947 health act needs to be removed from the constitution at all costs.

Or at least amended that it can only be implemented under genuine causes, not something thats not dangerous for those under 80 and outside nursing home's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,950 ✭✭✭xhomelezz

Its not a democracy at present, NPHET have assumed power and implemented a nanny state.

Or at least amended that it can only be implemented under genuine causes, not something thats not dangerous for those under 80 and outside nursing home's

Right :D

I'm eligible. I voted for years in the north but didn't follow politics down here. When I moved down, I'd no clue what any of the parties stood for (apart from that one all island party) and still tended to take more interest in the politics up north. As there only appeared to be two parties in play and I didn't like either of them, I didn't see the point in registering. I don't feel strongly about the current situation either.

Ryan Tubridy (covid survivor) is very lucky according to himself that he didn't need hospital treatment.

The staggering number of people who don't understand stats is not limited to those not on TV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,097 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Ryan Tubridy (covid survivor) is very lucky according to himself that he didn't need hospital treatment.

The staggering number of people who don't understand stats is not limited to those not on TV.

Most likely saying what he thinks people want to hear.

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Most likely saying what he thinks people want to hear.

I miss Ivan Yates from media.

He was the opposite of populist.

A bolix perhap's, but he was easy listen to in comparison to the current media echo chamber.

He is badly needed heading into Winter

All true, i agree re NPHET. And I think it’s become abundantly clear this week who’s in power - and its not the current Government. This should be setting off alarm bells...
    I still think voting is the one piece of power we have left. Our anonymous casting of our vote at the ballot box. History shows if we let that go, it’s very difficult to get it back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭JRant

I heard that even after extensive testing they still couldn't locate a personality.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,097 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

All true, i agree re NPHET. And I think it’s become abundantly clear this week who’s in power - and its not the current Government. This should be setting off alarm bells...
    I still think voting is the one piece of power we have left. Our anonymous casting of our vote at the ballot box. History shows if we let that go, it’s very difficult to get it back.

Sure look back at just over ten years.

Protect the people or the banks?

We know what choice was made and now both those parties are back in power.

JRant wrote: »
    I heard that even after extensive testing they still couldn't locate a personality.

So he actually has immunity to a personality?