Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part V - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭robbiezero

road_high wrote: »
    And every decision should be published and justified precisely on the data- I’ve long since tired of vague crap from Nphet and Co like “to prevent people gathering”- show me the exact evidence that that is what is spreading the virus and why this decision will prevent cases.

They havent a rashers.
    Blocked people going to outdoors sports with their last brainfart guess which has been quickly reversed even thougj cases are up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭3xh

JRant wrote: »
    RTE stating that travel is banned, so as clear as mud again.

There will be zero Garda presence on the roads in and out of Dublin during this newly announced period as there is no law banning travel in and out of Dublin. That’s all people need to understand here.

Once you’ve copped that, you can turn your attention to the whys of RTE continuing to deliberately report misleading info on all this Covid stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭dalyboy

Zebra3 wrote: »
    So An Taoiseach is now deliberately deceiving the people? :rolleyes:

Yes. He is.

dalyboy wrote: »
    Yeah , the mask thing in shops is a gripe of mine but I’ll make do to keep the peace on that one. But defo , you are correct , it’s about the only rule that you can get an actual legal penalty on.

This latest travel “ban” is a toothless chihuahua rule though.

The Passenger Locator Form is the only other legally sound rule. Unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,863 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Advise all dubs to continue to travel in and out as you see fit. Businesses around Leinster need that in particular - once traffic levels continue as they should on the main arterial routes in and out there’s not a snowballs the idiots can enforce anything

3xh wrote: »
    There will be zero Garda presence on the roads in and out of Dublin during this newly announced period as there is no law banning travel in and out of Dublin. That’s all people need to understand here.

Once you’ve copped that, you can turn your attention to the whys of RTE continuing to deliberately report misleading info on all this Covid stuff.

Because they are at least trying to force people to stay at home. The level of ignorance is massive though among anyone who travels outside of Dublin going against the government and spreading the virus. Absolutely pathetic behaviour.

What should be happening is Gardaí and army roadblocks with massive fines for anyone who can’t give document proof of why their travel is essential.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

The Passenger Locator Form is the only other legally sound rule. Unfortunately.
    No, it's not.

Not worth the paper it's written on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,253 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Because they are at least trying to force people to stay at home. The level of ignorance is massive though among anyone who travels outside of Dublin going against the government and spreading the virus. Absolutely pathetic behaviour.

What should be happening is Gardaí and army roadblocks with massive fines for anyone who can’t give document proof of why their travel is essential.

Why?

I'm serious.. Why?

What are you so fearful of? There's a handful in hospital despite weeks of increasing cases and single digit deaths.

Are you familiar with the term proportional response?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭RoryMac

Advise all dubs to continue to travel in and out as you see fit. Businesses around Leinster need that in particular - once traffic levels continue as they should on the main arterial routes in and out there’s not a snowballs the idiots can enforce anything

Yeah there's nothing to enforce, it's just guidance. MM tried to side step that point in the conference just now when asked about Garda checkpoints and tried to move it to the Guards shutting down house parties(which they also can't do)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

New world order shur. They're all in on it and have been paid off, as have the government, NPHET, WHO, worldwide media and most of the worlds scientists and medical bodies. Simple enough really. You couldn't make it up, as they regularly say in this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭bloopy

Dampsquid wrote: »
    The 5 level plan is a joke, it was supposed to give certainty to the public of what the restrictions would be, but that's been throw out the window twice in 4 days for level 2 and now level 3.

The plan is a joke because they are being undermined. Policy now appears to be made through NPHET statements to RTE and other large media outfits.

Ah yes. It’s you.

Tell us, what do you suggest is ‘massive’ enough?

Also, you’re aware of the ‘exemptions’ to the ‘advice’ not to travel, yes? They basically permit anyone to travel.

You stay in your home, nox and be the hero. You won’t be thanked by the state for it.

deisedevil wrote: »
    New world order shur. They're all in on it and have been paid off, as have the government, NPHET, WHO, worldwide media and most of the worlds scientists and medical bodies. Simple enough really. You couldn't make it up, as they regularly say in this thread.

There's an awful lot of money invested into the search for a vaccine. Wouldn't be much return on that if Covid wasn't an issue by the time they find one.

Also politicians here and elsewhere have staked their political futures on the measures taken. If it turns out they've ruined economies, people's jobs and businesses, and mental health for nothing, how many votes do you think they'll get in the next elections?

Then there's the experts and commentators who are making a fortune from media interviews and providing their opinions.

It's no conspiracy to recognise there's an whole industry around this now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,636 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

Thank God there's no 5G around me.

Lol. You people still don’t get it do you? There’s fcuk all that can be done to prevent the spread of this now endemic virus- prove us all wrong. Come back here in a month or two- this virus will still there at the levels it is now or higher. More more lockdowns will make fcuk all difference. This is insanity

I mentioned nothing of new world order. Nor paying off various bodies like scientists etc.
    But you just keep swinging that broad brush around.

Where does RTE get its funding from?

Micheal again dodging the Garda enforcement question and saying he trusts them to manage their response.

No new legal authority in other words

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Micheal again dodging the Garda enforcement question and saying he trusts them to manage their response.

No new legal authority in other words

So purely advisory bull****e. People continue as normal. Pity the poor hospitality sector had to be hammered again by these lunatics

Lundstram wrote: »
    No, it's not.

Not worth the paper it's written on.

How so? Genuinely.

I’d say it’s more to do with apathy from the government about having to chase someone through the courts for giving a wrong address etc that the number of prosecutions is basically zero on it.

But if they wanted to go all the way on someone not filling it in/giving false info, I’d say the wording would allow them to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 487 ✭✭Jim Root

alentejo wrote: »
    I work in central Dublin. There are lots of construction workers near where I work. They go into cafes and eat. Next week, they will be eating literally on the street come all weathers.

Should cafes be allowed to open during office work hours!

Can they not bring some lunch in with them no?

Jim Root wrote: »
    Can they not bring some lunch in with them no?

May not have facilities to eat etc on site.
    But let them have cake I suppose?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭dalyboy

Lol. You people still don’t get it do you? There’s fcuk all that can be done to prevent the spread of this now endemic virus- price is all wrong. Come back here in a mont or two- this virus will still there at the levels it is now it higher. More more lockdowns will make fcuk all difference. This is insanity

Exactly. I wouldn’t be surprised if we are at 4 figure numbers in 3 weeks time.

1000-2000 cases per day and numbers still rising AND this will be with this virtual Dublin lockdown .

Problem is NPHET etc still won’t accept that lockdowns are beyond useless and even with all the egg on their face will probably seek a country wide lockdown by then .

As one of the worlds historically smartest men once said “ Insanity Is Doing the Same Thing Over and Over Again and Expecting Different Results”.... Albert Einstein

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭JRant

There is very good reasons for this, Dublin should have been locked down last week never mind today. The virus is running wild.

Running wild?
    The only thing running wild is your imagination.
    If 100 cases (not deaths, cases) in a city of 1.2/1.4 million people warrants a lockdown Then we are never going to be out of this ridiculous Helter skelter.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,625 ✭✭✭Micky 32

I hear there’s a mass exodus out of Dublin, friend saying never seen the M4 as busy out of Dublin

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 396 ✭✭Open the Pubs

https://twitter.com/oconnellhugh/status/1307019225291251713

I believe the Taoiseach has just made this up. This government is in a sorry state.

dalyboy wrote: »
    Exactly. I wouldn’t be surprised if we are at 4 figure numbers in 3 weeks time.

1000-2000 cases per day and numbers still rising AND this will be with this virtual Dublin lockdown .

Problem is NPHET etc still won’t accept that lockdowns are beyond useless and even with all the egg on their face will probably seek a country wide lockdown by then .

As one of the worlds historically smartest men once said “ Insanity Is Doing the Same Thing Over and Over Again and Expecting Different Results”.... Albert Einstein

Cases will continue as is that is guaranteed. The ONLY thing that will reduce the figures is if people cut off all private social interactions...which these measures will likely increase. We did a full lockdown once. People did obey it. A once off sacrifice. But that won’t Be repeated again, the public aren’t interested or indeed scared anymore

Micky 32 wrote: »
    I hear there’s a mass exodus out of Dublin, friend saying never seen the M4 as busy out of Dublin

You know what, let them. Idiots. They probably have RTE on the radio for the ‘latest updates’ smh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    There's an awful lot of money invested into the search for a vaccine. Wouldn't be much return on that if Covid wasn't an issue by the time they find one.

Also politicians here and elsewhere have staked their political futures on the measures taken. If it turns out they've ruined economies, people's jobs and businesses, and mental health for nothing, how many votes do you think they'll get in the next elections?

Then there's the experts and commentators who are making a fortune from media interviews and providing their opinions.

It's no conspiracy to recognise there's an whole industry around this now.

Time to put on the tin foil hat, head for the capital and chant ole ole!

Your pure deluded if you think those imposing the restrictions are all in it for the sake of financial gain or shame at having gotten it wrong. Complete and utter shíte.

Time to put on the tin foil hat, head for the capital and chant ole ole!

Your pure deluded if you think those imposing the restrictions are all in it for the sake of financial gain or shame at having gotten it wrong. Complete and utter shíte.

That’s not Kaiser’s point, tbh.

You know what, let them. Idiots. They probably have RTE on the radio for the ‘latest updates’ smh.

I was in Kildare today and the M7/9 was noticeably busier even for a Friday lunchtime. The traffic barely thinned out to Kilkenny. Lots of caravans and campers headed for the Waterford Wexford coast. If I was a dub and had the option I’d do the very same thing too