Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Drivetime with Mary Wilson

• Registered Users Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

What an awful phrase "wet pubs" is and they keep using it. All it brings to mind is alco's, drunk tanks and swollen livers. Iv no doubt its use on drivetime and the like is deliberate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,886 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

What an awful phrase "wet pubs" is and they keep using it. All it brings to mind is alco's, drunk tanks and swollen livers. Iv no doubt its use on drivetime and the like is deliberate

Yeah

Big pot-bellied tankers up at the bar,opening their throats and gulling back pints like Panda emptying brown bins.

Fcukers would swallow a 330ml. bottle and all.

Big ‘Dublin Fire Brigade’ heads on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

BB - You should be on the "stand up comedy" circuit. :D

Del.Monte wrote: »
    BB - You should be on the "stand up comedy" circuit. :D

Del.... that’s why these handpumps just can’t get the food thing.

It keeps them anchored to a spot and highlights the fact that they can’t eat and swallow dhrink AT THE SAME TIME.

Sophisticated folk like those in most other countries can see that.

Pat wants to wave a pint in one hand and go thru a stale pizza like a fcuking road grader with the other while corking out meaty chorizo farts from the rear end.

Like it or not... there’s the truth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Yeah

Big pot-bellied tankers up at the bar,opening their throats and gulling back pints like Panda emptying brown bins.

Fcukers would swallow a 330ml. bottle and all.

Big ‘Dublin Fire Brigade’ heads on them.

Kieran whelan style?

Not the archetypical type.

Think Anthony Daly lookalike or 90% of bouncers who used to work the doors back in the day.

Big shaved head and a neck like the funnel of an ocean liner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,824 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Kieran whelan style?

Tommy Dowd.

Hunch-backed grunt that played for Meath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,560 ✭✭✭touts

Liam Herrick on now from the so called "Irish Council of Civil Liberties" fighting for the right of criminals to spit at Gardai.

Dr ebun Joseph fast becoming a drivetime favourite, the go-to voice on matters black. heaven help us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,037 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Dr ebun Joseph fast becoming a drivetime favourite, the go-to voice on matters black. heaven help us

I haven't listened to the Rev. Mother (MW) for about a year or so, but that Ebun Joseph should wind her fekkin neck in now. We are all in this together or we are not. Next we'll have Pavee Point and the Roma giving out. Jaysus.

Sick of it. Will never go back to RTE, and now we have the simpering CB on in the mornings. Thank God for Pat Kenny, and whilst he is not perfect he is a professional.

LBC is good now too. Yer man James O'Brien is hit and miss and does monologues a lot, but he gets the audience going when the lights are on. That's how you do talk radio. Same with Sheelagh Fogarty in the pm too. Anything but Joe Duffy.

Sorry for the rant. But as a radio lover I know what I like now and move the dial.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,528 ✭✭✭Cole

I listened to the Ebun Joseph interview and, as usual, it was all a bit meandering and incoherent. It's not that her area of research (Black studies) isn't valid, but I reckon she's doing more damage to its credibility (and UCD) than anything else...she just doesn't know her stuff imo.

The Adele cultural appropriation/Notting Hill Carnival thing has no Irish angle, so why not interview an academic from one of the numerous universities in the UK with well established departments and research in African studies and Black history (a couple of the unis have Notting Hill on their doorstep).

It's like there some contractual obligation that RTE have to only speak to her on matters of race...and nobody else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,037 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Bet she couldn't do a Covid Test just the same despite her Doctor status. Sure I have one of them myself, but if I dared call myself Dr. Spanish, my whole family would crease themselves laughing. It is just research and whilst interesting and enjoyable it's twenty years ago now.

Great to revert to being an idiot again since no one gives a sht.

I am grounded, and I love my mad family too.

• Registered Users Posts: 174 ✭✭deise man

Her style of debating is just to sound hysterical

Bet she couldn't do a Covid Test just the same despite her Doctor status. Sure I have one of them myself, but if I dared call myself Dr. Spanish, my whole family would crease themselves laughing. It is just research and whilst interesting and enjoyable it's twenty years ago now.

Great to revert to being an idiot again since no one gives a sht.

I am grounded, and I love my mad family too.
    Worryingly, I think this was posted in all seriousness.

To anyone who disagreed with Ebun Joseph, just bear in mind that she was arguing that no cultural appropriation occurred. She was the voice of reason.

The above post, with its bizarre reference to Covid testing, doesn't merit a response. I would suggest that people actually listen to the interview.

...she was arguing that no cultural appropriation occurred. She was the voice of reason.

But still incoherent imo. I agree with her that it was more a case of cultural appreciation, but if she is so knowledgeable in her field (as RTE seem to think), I'd expect to hear a clearly presented argument. She was just throwing around random ideas to 'support' her argument...nothing research/evidence based. She just peppers her ideas with her 'go to' academic buzz words and it usually just results in a bit of an embarrassing (for UCD I presume) mess.

• Site Banned Posts: 280 ✭✭CertifiedSimp

She's a very dangerous individual. Giving her any sort of influence will only end badly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

A very dangerous woman. She sees everything through the prism of race.

Sooner she is “cancelled” the better

A very dangerous woman. She sees everything through the prism of race.

Sooner she is “cancelled” the better

Won’t happen, effendi, Where does she operate out of....... UCD.

Where is UCD....... just up the road from Montrose.

Where does Ferreter operate out of......UCD

How long and often does he appear in Montrose

Very long and very often....more than most of ‘lifers’’

So.......:cool:....... better get used to Ebun....wouldn’t you think.

Jesus.

What sort of clown is MW interviewing now.

He's hard to listen too and talking in riddles and going round in circles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Seamai

I gave up Mary Wilson a long time ago, she's ploughed a very arid furrow since the breakup of the Supremes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭draoicht

Jesus.

What sort of clown is MW interviewing now.

He's hard to listen too and talking in riddles and going round in circles.

Lol that was Sammy Wilson and I think Mary just cut him off in mid flow and went to an ad break.

• Registered Users Posts: 670 ✭✭✭steinbock123

Sammy may be a gob **** e, but Mary spent the interview talking over him and all but shouting him down. She should have let him prattle on, he’s well versed in making a fool of himself on his own.
    Very unprofessional from MW.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Pelvis Parsley

Sammy may be a gob **** e, but Mary spent the interview talking over him and all but shouting him down. She should have let him prattle on, he’s well versed in making a fool of himself on his own.

She's an ignoramus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

shes incapable of hiding her left wing politics , her disapproving tone impossible to hide

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

Not defending Mary Wilson here per se, but while having the odd right wing voice on is a fair idea in terms of balance, not sure having the likes of Sammy Wilson spouting obvious gibberish is the answer either. And have a feeling, if he was let just prattle on and on without interruption, you'd have folk criticising her for that. Guess there's always a balance to be struck and it's tricky to get that right sometimes.

The ‘attack dog’ Lenihan coming now with the gloom and doom tone of voice.

The deep breaths and the totally negative output should really make RTE consider advising him to change his delivery style

Chances of that happening out of 100

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

The ‘attack dog’ Lenihan coming now with the gloom and doom tone of voice.

The deep breaths and the totally negative output should really make RTE consider advising him to change his delivery style

Chances of that happening out of 100

You're not a fan BB.:D

Noel Anderson (lemon and duke pub, dublin) must have some friends in rte the amount of time he is on it.
    There should be business people on NPHET was his invaluable contribution.

I understand it is a shocking time for the hospitality industry.

imme wrote: »

Noel Anderson (lemon and duke pub, dublin) must have some friends in rte the amount of time he is on it.

Correct I, heard him.

All he wants is the pubs opened, in my opinion he wouldn’t care if a few hundred people caught the virus and died.

Where would Noel be......nowhere to be found is the probable answer.

“Nothing to do with me guv,gubbermint opened the pubs, their problem-tray of pints for the lads from Montrose over there, comin’ up”

imme wrote: »

I dislike his presentation style I, I make no apologies for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,224 ✭✭✭alaimacerc

All he wants is the pubs opened, in my opinion he wouldn’t care if a few hundred people caught the virus and died.

Lot of that around. Out sector needs special treatment, we're the exception, we'll have what them'uns are having with a cherry on top, stealing the bread out our children's mouths, so they are.

And as soon as the pubs are opened on the basis of being 'controlled' environments, they bleating will start about how it's not their fault they can't force drunk people to socially distance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Radio5

When are the new presenters starting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 915 ✭✭✭3d4life

Radio5 wrote: »
    When are the new presenters starting?

Not soon enough :(

The ‘attack dog’ Lenihan was in full flight ,egged on by PBH when they were dragged down from their ecstasy before the spaffed on the immediate surroundings.

Jaysus..... here’s how it is

Advice...... wear a fcuking mask in confined spaces

Reaction .... not wearing a mask in a confined spaces.

Then blame the government

Do what you are advised to do... FFS

Poor old Roisin Shortall is catching the confusion virus.

I watched Up the Ra Cullinane, Jed Nash and Brid Smith earlier and they were all fierce confused...she must have caught from them.

ByGod they allmost made it out the door till next tuesday, such a parcel of rogues in a nation

Cole wrote: »
    Poor old Roisin Shortall is catching the confusion virus.

I watched Up the Ra Cullinane, Jed Nash and Brid Smith earlier and they were all fierce confused...she must have caught from them.

Yep Cole, but when the State Broadcaster broadcaster seems to be exulting in the bad C 19 news it’s hard to blame them.

Both Lenihan and Hayes had froth on their chins horsing out the bad news.

I reckon if we examined Cullinane ,Nash , and Smith on the rules around de ‘dissabillithy’ they would be word perfect in an eminently more complex arena than ‘wear your face mask’

Uhmmmmm m........

Yep Cole, but when the State Broadcaster broadcaster seems to be exulting in the bad C 19 news it’s hard to blame them.

Bryan Dobson starts off Morning Ireland today with "chaos and confusion"...not that opposition politicians have said this or claims/reports of this, but almost like it's fact.

I wouldn't expect anything less of Cullinane, Nash and Smith but I would blame some of the other politicians who are feeding the twats who just want an excuse to flout the rules.

Bryan Dobson starts off Morning Ireland today with "chaos and confusion"...not that opposition politicians have said this or claims/reports of this, but almost like it's fact.

I wouldn't expect anything less of Cullinane, Nash and Smith but I would blame some of the other politicians who are feeding the twats who just want an excuse to flout the rules.

And I would question the public service broadcaster for pumping out those generalisations and broad brush accusations.

You are correct on some of the other politicians.

The Attack Dog Lenihan the ‘Doomsday Dog‘ is up and running and out of the traps like a greyhound.

The funerial voice, the heavy breathing, the tone of impending disaster, the monotone presentation style like the siren at Dublin Airport, or the old air raid sirens in the blitz.

The Prophet of Doom is wooding up it would seem as he ups the ante with seemingly severe relish.

The mind boggles how Heather Humphreys is a government minister. I think she could cause genuine confusion around anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

The mind boggles how Heather Humphreys is a government minister. I think she could cause genuine confusion around anything.

She ticks a lot of diversity boxes:
    Not a Dublin TD
    Female
    Protestant background
    Border County TD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,739 ✭✭✭Infoanon

PBH gave her enough rope to hang herself , it beggers belief that she has such an important ministry .

• Registered Users Posts: 832 ✭✭✭Nevin Parsnipp

Infoanon wrote: »
    PBH gave her enough rope to hang herself , it beggers belief that she has such an important ministry .

Shallow talent pool in the "Female,Protestant,Border County" Box Tick.

There you has it ...

The ‘Doomsday Dog’ is up an running, like lightning out of the traps as usual, passing the ‘ball’ for the merchants of doom to tap into the open goal.

Cadence rising as the level of forthcoming doom rises..... we are all fuherked, there’s no escape, the deep breaths, the slams of those trying fix things, names mentioned, we might as well all coil up and pack it in.

No point in doing anything, we are beat ...the ‘DoomsdayDog ‘ has thrown the blanket of doom all over the country, all fuherked.

Pure negativity start to finish........

The ‘Doomsday Dog’ is up an running, like lightning out of the traps as usual, passing the ‘ball’ for the merchants of doom to tap into the open goal.

Cadence rising as the level of forthcoming doom rises..... we are all fuherked, there’s no escape, the deep breaths, the slams of those trying fix things, names mentioned, we might as well all coil up and pack it in.

No point in doing anything, we are beat ...the ‘DoomsdayDog ‘ has thrown the blanket of doom all over the country, all fuherked.

Pure negativity start to finish........

So its agreed. We're going to have a second Mass.

• Registered Users Posts: 422 ✭✭john123470

PB Hayes can't say Chief Whip ... keeps referring to him
    (Jack Chambers ?) as Cheap Whiff ...

A pro to his silky baritone radio know-it-all voice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

john123470 wrote: »

PBH should have been told to fuk off 5 minutes ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,739 ✭✭✭Infoanon

john123470 wrote: »

This is interview gold - poor Jack - woeful

Boucher filleting Chambers with complete bias and unfortunately Chambers being ridden ragged.

No balance ....everything is the Govts. fault .. the public have no input at all , nothing to do with us, all to do with the those trying to manage the situation.

Getting to Joe Jacob territory.

Not good when there is no balance and that all the issues have nothing to do with the behaviour of the general public.

What the fcukk is the value of the discussion in the circumstance and the serious situation is in other than to fillet Chambers who is proving he may not be fit for the job.