Covid 19 Part XXII-30,360 in ROI(1,781 deaths) 8,035 in NI (568 deaths)(10/09)Read OP

Arghus wrote: »
    And both those figures are going up.

Have you seen the 14day trend based on epidemiological date rather than fate reported. Definite flattening occurring,

https://www.hpsc.ie/a-z/respiratory/coronavirus/novelcoronavirus/casesinireland/epidemiologyofcovid-19inireland/COVID-19_Daily_epidemiology_report_(NPHET)_08092020%20-%20Website.pdf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,287 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

Just heard from a friend who works in a Nursing home that the scheduled testing of Nursing Homevstaff has been cancelled this week as the HSE can't cope with the numbers of tests for school children.
    Apparently they hope to get back testing next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

Good that Matt Cooper actually challenged him on his "lock down or else 10,000 cases a day" nonsense, unlike the sycophantic Pat Kenny

What planet is your man on. That means we have a testing regime At full capacity which is delivering a 90% positive rate. He should be on the PUP.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 466 ✭✭DangerScouse

Just heard from a friend who works in a Nursing home that the scheduled testing of Nursing Homevstaff has been cancelled this week as the HSE can't cope with the numbers of tests for school children.
    Apparently they hope to get back testing next week.

That'll end well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,445 ✭✭✭mloc123

Good that Matt Cooper actually challenged him on his "lock down or else 10,000 cases a day" nonsense, unlike the sycophantic Pat Kenny

10k a day would be grand, heard immunity within a couple of months and then life resumes :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭smellyoldboot

odyssey06 wrote: »
    Not clear if its random house parties of bright young things and/or all ages things like christenings, confirmations etc

Just your average every(dole/pay)day scumfest. Bangers and coke, jawbiting and ignoramuses shouting at each other. Mad lads on the sesh etc. Be no harm if the virus took em out in fairness but that's not how this thing works unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 880 ✭✭✭Scoondal

Following government advice, I removed my son from school as he was showing 2 symptoms. On day 3 we contacted our doctor. This is day six without a response.
    Should we send him back to school or not. His fever is gone and the cough is much less. So, according to public health advice, he is now okay to attend school. Am I right ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

mloc123 wrote: »
    10k a day would be grand, heard immunity within a couple of months and then life resumes :)

Until next September.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

Just your average every(dole/pay)day scumfest. Bangers and coke, jawbiting and ignoramuses shouting at each other. Mad lads on the sesh etc. Be no harm if the virus took em out in fairness but that's not how this thing works unfortunately.

Half of the cases were under 14. Must be some hard cases very concerned for their health getting tested. Fair play to them looking out for the vulnerable.

Scoondal wrote: »
    Following government advice, I removed my son from school as he was showing 2 symptoms. On day 3 we contacted our doctor. This is day six without a response.
    Should we send him back to school or not. His fever is gone and the cough is much less. So, according to public health advice, he is now okay to attend school. Am I right ?

If it’s Covid, I believe the guidance is to keep them home 5 days after fever has gone but would need to check. Has the doc not got back to you? What about the rest of the household?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,506 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Your going to get a few different answers, I'm going to go with check everyones temperature in the morning, any over 38 everyone stay at home and one of you volunteer for a test don't make the kid do it. Possibly just a cold/cough, they'll probably still kick them out with slight cough though if you try sending them in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,192 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

And his supporters (some of them on here) lapped it up that the virus was nothing to be concerned about. Imagine being played by Trump, you'd be mortified.

https://twitter.com/mkraju/status/1303727747899035649

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭smellyoldboot

Half of the cases were under 14. Must be some hard cases very concerned for their health getting tested. Fair play to them looking out for the vulnerable.

I would imagine said hard cases are spreading uninhibited. Think about it, even in the average house party that's on the scummier scale you will have plenty who share normalish social circles away from the scum circle too and also will socialise there. It's started to work its way into the gen pop already at that point. No coincidence it's the wild west Co.Dublin seeing a lot of cases, with some exceptions it's largely Nackeragua.

hmmm wrote: »
    And his supporters (some of them on here) lapped it up that the virus was nothing to be concerned about. Imagine being played by Trump, you'd be mortified.

https://twitter.com/mkraju/status/1303727747899035649

I noticed that earlier fair play to him for telling the truth, Leo and Harris were guilty as hell of playing it down when it came to cheltenham and letting the Italians over. The covid committee meeting today didn't do them any favours either, an Abuse of power when it came to restrictions.
    It's a sad state of affairs when we don't respect someone being honest it's a rare virtue.
    In other news he was nominated for a Nobel Peace Prize today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 880 ✭✭✭Scoondal

If it’s Covid, I believe the guidance is to keep them home 5 days after fever has gone but would need to check. Has the doc not got back to you? What about the rest of the household?

Fever maxed at 38 on Sunday. No energy. Phlegmy cough now almost gone. His sister had it from Thursday but without the cough.
    We called the doctor Monday morning. They took the details and said they would call back. It is probably just a cold and we should keep any children with colds out of school anyway.
    I will send him back to school tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,174 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

Do we know if any cases have been kept back for tomorrow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,801 ✭✭✭Benimar

Gael23 wrote: »
    Do we know if any cases have been kept back for tomorrow?

Potentially 72

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭alentejo

I have a theory about the large instance of under 14 cases in Dublin.

There has been a dose going around in Dublin for the past few weeks. Its mainly a Cold with sneezing and runny nose etc. Most of my daughters class have had this over the past two weeks and I have heard anecdotally that it is in other schools.

I suspect this dose has led to a rather large increase in testing which has identified more children with Covid.

Fever maxed at 38 on Sunday. No energy. Phlegmy cough now almost gone. His sister had it from Thursday but without the cough.
    We called the doctor Monday morning. They took the details and said they would call back. It is probably just a cold and we should keep any children with colds out of school anyway.
    I will send him back to school tomorrow.
    Based on what you say, would be pretty sure it is just a cold. Son had the same except temp peaked at 37.7 and cough was very slight and gp said 48 hours at home( last wednesday), provided there was no fever over 38 and cough cleared they were fine to return. However the guidance has been updated a bit since then and many gps would refer for test with your description of the kids symptoms

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,337 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

There’s barely been any cases linked to pubs or restaurants. Certainly not enough to warrant shutting them down.

Ahhhh. I said community transmission, they wouldn't know. :confused:

Actually I think we can go one better, I haven't seen one case linked to a pub or restaurant, the few I have seen are staff that are brought it in.

Amazing when you think about it, the only real place people can congregate in an environment where the virus is 19 times more likely to infect someone, especially in the only environment indoors that masks don't have to be worn and no real cases of note if any.

If licensed premises have had virtually no infections or transmission (safest place in Ireland) and if it is highly unlikely transmission will occur in schools.

Then why are we waiting to open the rest of the pubs which will be operating under the same restrictions?

Why did schools need to open first, we are being told both places are as safe or safer than large supermarkets, why were / are NPHET so nervous?

Is all this community transmission down to petrol pumps like I suggested?

Of course it isn't, I thought they should have opened all pubs weeks ago, but it would absolute naive in the extreme to pretend that they are not contributing to community spread.

People think we have South Korean'esque, contract tracing. We don't.

They go back 48 hours after symptoms occur, that's it.

The contact log in bars and restaurants is a load of old fanny, box ticking exercise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

What are you even talking about? It’s like people don’t actually care about coronavirus. They’re just looking for an excuse to hate people who do the things that they don’t. A weird post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,174 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

Benimar wrote: »
    Potentially 72

Why do they hold these back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭majcos

niallo27 wrote: »
    Looks like the 3 that died didn't even go to hospital, looks like another case of died with covid rather than of covid.
    Cannot tell from public data if those cases did not go to hospital as far as I know. Dates of deaths were not released but it was mentioned that they occurred over the last few days.

Numbers in hospital have gone up and down by one or two over the last few days. May not have discharged home but deceased. Looking specifically at ICU numbers, there were 7 in ICU on 5/9 and 6 in ICU on 6/9. Same hospital with one less in ICU had one less case confirmed on site next morning. Could one patient have died in ICU?

If number admitted is 50 at start of day and 50 at end of day, it doesn’t mean it’s the same 50. Hospital A has 2 in the morning and 1 in the evening. Hospital B has 2 in the morning and 3 in the evening. Total numbers - morning 4, evening 4.

Also just because a person may not have been admitted, does not necessarily mean he/she did not die because of Covid. That person could have decided that they did want hospital admission but at the same time may have lived for another few years if Covid had not happened so they still died of Covid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,228 ✭✭✭growleaves

What are you even talking about? It’s like people don’t actually care about coronavirus. They’re just looking for an excuse to hate people who do the things that they don’t. A weird post.

This crisis has revealed a hidden Ireland full of Prohibitionists. Never would have dreamed there were so many people with grudges against drinkers and publicans. Eye-opening.

Boggles wrote: »

You learn something every day, I assumed it was 14day before symptoms appeared.
    So we're only going back 48hrs if you have symptoms and if you have no symptoms as a close contact there not even tracing your contacts.
    Am I missing something or asymptomatic people not really a problem and they know it, only thing I can think of to explain the strategy.

Not sure what the rest of your post about, open the pubs now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,541 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

growleaves wrote: »
    This crisis has revealed a hidden Ireland full of Prohibitionists. Never would have dreamed there were so many people with grudges against drinkers and publicans. Eye-opening.

What are you talking about.
    Publicans have had grudges against anyone drinking in restaurants or at home for decades.
    Look at the how they cheered on minimum unit pricing, and fight tooth and nail when Michael Mc Dowell wanted to make it easier to get a drink.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 455 ✭✭Parabellum9

I had no grudge against publicans until they started cheerleading MUP, and most recently wanted off licence sales stopped if they weren’t allowed to open. The lot of the greedy pricks can go **** themselves for all I care now, couldn’t give a **** if they never open again.

Boggles wrote: »
    Ahhhh. I said community transmission, they wouldn't know. :confused:

Actually I think we can go one better, I haven't seen one case linked to a pub or restaurant, the few I have seen are staff that are brought it in.

Amazing when you think about it, the only real place people can congregate in an environment where the virus is 19 times more likely to infect someone, especially in the only environment indoors that masks don't have to be worn and no real cases of note if any.

If licensed premises have had virtually no infections or transmission (safest place in Ireland) and if it is highly unlikely transmission will occur in schools.

Then why are we waiting to open the rest of the pubs which will be operating under the same restrictions?

Why did schools need to open first, we are being told both places are as safe or safer than large supermarkets, why were / are NPHET so nervous?

Is all this community transmission down to petrol pumps like I suggested?

Of course it isn't, I thought they should have opened all pubs weeks ago, but it would absolute naive in the extreme to pretend that they are not contributing to community spread.

People think we have South Korean'esque, contract tracing. We don't.

The contact log in bars and restaurants is a load of old fanny, box ticking exercise.

Arguably schools are far safer than bars and restaurants as we have detailed knowledge of who is where, when, for how long and with whom.

Also we trace to 48 hours before symptoms, or in the case of asymptomatic case, 48 hours before test.
    Based on more recent data we should perhaps go to 72 hours prior to symptoms

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,541 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

You learn something every day, I assumed it was 14day before symptoms appeared.
    So we're only going back 48hrs if you have symptoms and if you have no symptoms as a close contact there not even tracing your contacts.
    Am I missing something or asymptomatic people not really a problem and they know it, only thing I can think of to explain the strategy.
    Not sure what the rest of your post about, open the pubs now?

Presymptomatic people are highly infectious in the days before symptoms appear. I assume thats the basis for the 48 hours.
    They do seem to be betting that totally symptom free = not infectious.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,376 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Would you give over. More nonsense.

That's not the reason why most people are concerned about the reopening of pubs.