If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Mart Price Tracker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,722 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Everything is cheap until you try to buy it imo. There's one farmer in the box selling who reckons the dealer's are claiming his stock and keeping down the prices. There's another farmer on the steps buying reckons the same dealer's are polling him and making the same stock dearer. I see this going on every day of the week, who do you believe?
    A bit of that does go on though, dealers normally work the lots between themselves but will give a farmer a bit of a run if they get the chance. A good auctioneer would have you bidding against yourself too if you hadn't you're head screwed on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,195 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Fr or Hr bullocks at 400kgs. What are they making

Friesians 1.5-1.8/kg, Hex 2+/kg

Slava Ukrainii

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,956 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

A bit of that does go on though, dealers normally work the lots between themselves but will give a farmer a bit of a run if they get the chance. A good auctioneer would have you bidding against yourself too if you hadn't you're head screwed on.

I'm not arguing that it doesn't go on but it's easy enough to suss it out if you make any sort of an effort. Some lads love being the victim and will swallow the poison every time. I encounter lads every day that would be well fit to poll themselves without any dealer or auctioneer because they haven't a notion what they're at. You can be the best farmer going inside your own gate but if you can't establish what your product and inputs are worth you'll be railroaded every time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,402 ✭✭✭amacca

The animals from the farm of Johnny Lynch of Macroom Buffalo went under the hammer at 4pm, with bids placed ringside and online on MartEye.

https://www.thatsfarming.com/news/up-to-5-56-kg-for-buffalo-calves-at-thurles

Why would you pay that much for a castrated male buffalo?....is the meat more valuable or will the animal have a much heavier carcass/killout?

its hardly novelty value and they aint going to be much use if you're getting into mozzarella production??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,242 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

amacca wrote: »
    Why would you pay that much for a castrated male buffalo?....is the meat more valuable or will the animal have a much heavier carcass/killout?

its hardly novelty value and they aint going to be much use if you're getting into mozzarella production??

Novelty, pets, very very docile creatures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,729 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

amacca wrote: »

Great Guard Dog too. Would you go into the field if they were inside the gate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Dunedin

Jjameson wrote: »
    They are very docile, but stubborn as hell. If they don’t want to go, they don’t go.
    The only fence they won’t wreck is electric wire. Wreck drinkers, dig any wet spot into swamps,
    Kill out is 50% on a well fleshed bull. Similar for bullocks or heifers. A bit less on cows. Hard to get anyplace to kill them as their skull is like armor plate, (Sun gun just hops off it)the hide is 4 time thicker than cattle and they are hard work to bone out.
    The markets for the meat would have to be found for yourself.

On this description I think I’ll stick to the limo for another while.......🙂🙂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

Can't you interbreed buffalo & regular cattle. Could be a niche product there. A uniquely bred Leitrim Limalo or Buffousin steak. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

Jjameson wrote: »
    No, bison will cross but water buffalo won’t.

Ah! Those must be what I'm thinking of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,820 ✭✭✭✭Base price

If you are back up on the seats the dealers will poll you away if they think they will get away with it. On line will change that you see less and less really cheap cattle at present. Dealers now have a problem they can no longer control the total market. Before you had to show up at least a second day before they gave up polling you. Now they have to outbid you on line. A computer screen and over fibre is as good as ringside, Mobile phone is a bit unclear. I have bought about 15+ cattle on line at this stage. If its 3-4 I can head off that evening or following morning with the jeep and box. If it more I can get someone to deliver. When you are buying off the euro saver menu there is only so much competition
    We seldom bought in marts but since the marts went online we've bought in a lot of stock that way including a good number of calves. I'll admit that in the beginning a few weren't as good in the flesh as they looked on the screen but your eye gets trained into it. Various marts have different sized rings so you need to spend time watching cattle moving through them to get a gauge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,195 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Base price wrote: »
    We seldom bought in marts but since the marts went online we've bought in a lot of stock that way including a good number of calves. I'll admit that in the beginning a few weren't as good in the flesh as they looked on the screen but your eye gets trained into it. Various marts have different sized rings so you need to spend time watching cattle moving through them to get a gauge.

Ya and if you are in front of a computer screen rather than a mobile phone screen it helps as well. If you have access to good broadband sitting in front of a screen is nearly as good as being at the ringside

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,820 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Ya and if you are in front of a computer screen rather than a mobile phone screen it helps as well. If you have access to good broadband sitting in front of a screen is nearly as good as being at the ringside
    If your using a laptop you can plug it into the telly and get an even better view.

It's better than spending a day at the mart cause I can view the catalogue in advance (most marts) and select potential stock that we maybe interested in. No need to stand around the ring all day waiting for them to come in. Easier to set a predictive timer on your phone whilst out on the farm or road doing other stuff.

When the technology gets going, you might be able to see 3D hologram of the animals in your own house. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭ruwithme

What's the overview on the price of mart cattle all summer and now?when we see where finished beef prices are and have being for a good while now.

What's driving the demand and confidence?is the online element making alot of the difference?

Went with 3 cull cows today to the mart. Nothing exciting about the prices but had a rasher/sausage/egg sandwich in the canteen and it was savage. Had a purple snack afterwards too.

Something special about the mart canteens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭ruwithme

Aah the marts. Bit like what the gaa claim about the game. "Nothing beats being there "

ruwithme wrote: »
    What's the overview on the price of mart cattle all summer and now?when we see where finished beef prices are and have being for a good while now.

What's driving the demand and confidence?is the online element making alot of the difference?

Price is determined by the lads around the ring. Most of these are there fulltime. However with the advent of online they have less control. Now rather than spending an hour each way to and from a mart, as well as trying to time when to be there I can go away and do my bit of farming it work. I can set up LSL or Marteye and watch as the cows and stock bulls go in . Then when the cattle types I am.interested in go in I can start to watch it.

Now instead of going to the mart being a 4-6 hour event I can watch the bullocks, heifers or cows and bid away if interested in them. I no longer need to overbid as it's possible to do 2-3 marts in a week if need be. Dealers taught at the start they could outbid everybody. But now it begining to.level out. Ya you might get caught with the odd wrong one but most cattle are fairly generic in reality.

Dealers can no longer be guaranteed to off load there dear stock onto Johnny who cannot go to the mart, as now Johnny can bid from his own home. Prices have softened over the last ten days, IMO they will soften a bit more.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,242 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

I watch my local mart for an hour every Tuesday on lsl.

I couldn't be on the pulse like that without it.

4 times a year is no training or showcase on price.

Danzy wrote: »
    I watch my local mart for an hour every Tuesday on lsl.

I couldn't be on the pulse like that without it.

4 times a year is no training or showcase on price.

In any system mart price is immaterial in a way. What you need to know is you costs and what you can afford to pay for cattle. I know in my system what will leave the margin you require. It only a matter of waiting for the mart price to arrive at that

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,202 ✭✭✭I says

Sold at the mart today ave €2.09kg what I was expecting average weight just over 600kgs. Happy with the price and thanks to the online bidders who pushed up the price and bought a good few today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,678 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Dunedin wrote: »
    Went with 3 cull cows today to the mart. Nothing exciting about the prices but had a rasher/sausage/egg sandwich in the canteen and it was savage. Had a purple snack afterwards too.

Something special about the mart canteens.

Tullamore?

Reggie. wrote: »
    Tullamore?

Yes indeed.

Yes indeed.

Got a doing there once and couldn't face it ever since

Reggie. wrote: »
    Got a doing there once and couldn't face it ever since

From the ring or the canteen?

Canteen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,900 ✭✭✭mf240

Price is determined by the lads around the ring. Most of these are there fulltime. However with the advent of online they have less control. Now rather than spending an hour each way to and from a mart, as well as trying to time when to be there I can go away and do my bit of farming it work. I can set up LSL or Marteye and watch as the cows and stock bulls go in . Then when the cattle types I am.interested in go in I can start to watch it.

Now instead of going to the mart being a 4-6 hour event I can watch the bullocks, heifers or cows and bid away if interested in them. I no longer need to overbid as it's possible to do 2-3 marts in a week if need be. Dealers taught at the start they could outbid everybody. But now it begining to.level out. Ya you might get caught with the odd wrong one but most cattle are fairly generic in reality.

Dealers can no longer be guaranteed to off load there dear stock onto Johnny who cannot go to the mart, as now Johnny can bid from his own home. Prices have softened over the last ten days, IMO they will soften a bit more.

The lads that used to be holding hands and hugging each other at the ring now have to be two metres apart and they are finding their relationships struggling. And the lads they are used to intimidating are bidding away In the safety of their own homes or workplaces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,229 ✭✭✭straight

mf240 wrote: »
    The lads that used to be holding hands and hugging each other at the ring now have to be two metres apart and they are finding their relationships struggling. And the lads they are used to intimidating are bidding away In the safety of their own homes or workplaces.

They'd sicken your sh1t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭K9

What route would be best to sell some incalf heifers out of done deal, breed society heifer sale or just an ordinary incalf mart sale. 4 simmentals ai bred

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭T0001

Managed to pick up a few store bullocks there last week, first ones after selling the heavy cattle. The absolute convenience of sitting at home on the laptop with a cup of tea, and not having to deal with dealers coming over to you saying they've a few grand lads coming in next and they'd suit ya, or lads [dealers] taggin after ya around the yard to try sell the last one or two they had for a price they couldn't even pretend to get in the ring. No having to go all the way with the trailer in the morning only to come home empty. AND being able to hear the auctioneer tell the seller he hasn't actually got the price and you can just sit back and let him sweat it out whereas if you were there you'd probable stay bidding cause you wouldn't know better.

Been watching online for the last few months but hadn't bought anything. Thought it was a good job and it just proved itself!

I think the auctioneers will cop on to the fact that everything they say online is being heard. They'll soon learn quick enough to turn off the microphone.