Opening of "No-Food" pubs pushed out again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,885 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

showpony1 wrote: »
    from what i gather the ministers read on here that lads are inhaling 7 pints in 105 minutes and are now bringing in legislations

Were they creamy tasty and delicious pints or normal pints?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,840 ✭✭✭hetuzozaho

You keep mentioning this, so many flouting the regulations. Where are the so many you describe??

From being out and about I've not seen widespread flouting. You may have a different experience in your area perhaps but let's not tar everyone with the same brush.

The vast vast majority are compliant with the regulations set down to them as has been proven with the lack of clusters and cases requiring establishments to close.

I may have the wrong poster but have you not stated you've stayed over time and not had food in multiple places?

I haven't been asked to leave anywhere after 105mins. And that's a range of places around the country.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

hetuzozaho wrote: »
    I may have the wrong poster but have you not stated you've stayed over time and not had food in multiple places?

I haven't been asked to leave anywhere after 105mins. And that's a range of places around the country.

The 105 mins is a guideline and completely unenforceable by law.

What are you getting at exactly?

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    The 105 mins is a guideline and completely unenforceable by law.

What are you getting at exactly?

Just that pubs are flouting the rules is all.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

Just that pubs are flouting the rules is all.

They may as well.

The " rules " are completely unenforceable. They are PR pieball dreamt up willy nilly by some civil servant about 4 months ago. A Gard couldn't enforce them if he tried.

They may as well.

The " rules " are completely unenforceable.

Indeed.

I was just responding to "You keep mentioning this, so many flouting the regulations. Where are the so many you describe??"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

Not saying it applies to everywhere you've been but if the tables are two metres apart there is no time limit, only the stated closing time to be observed.

Also there should be no more than 50 people in there with a minimum of 1 metre social distancing between tables (and time limits of less than two).

I know people complain about all of us giving out about the food requirements, but it's amazing how legislators have made it such a focus while neglecting far more important measures.

Donnelly talking about how communication can be difficult when they've to act so quickly...well why is it then that pubs serving food could open for over 2 months and yet only now are they giving Gardai additional powers of enforcement to tackle the problem pubs? They actually couldn't even fine Berlin Bar or send the dreaded file to the DPP, because they observed the meal requirement which was the only thing there was a legal provision for up to now.

As someone said, it would be laughable if it wasn't so serious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

Indeed.

I was just responding to "You keep mentioning this, so many flouting the regulations. Where are the so many you describe??"

We were out down the country in a fairly busy and well known spot - gave details, contacts, kept 2m apart, washed hands after handling the menu , staff all masked etc but having paid for a night out, meals, taxis both ways and babysitter back home there is no way we wete shoving on after an hour and a half - staff kept mentioning that we should go but our money was as good as the nexts and as we hd booked in there was not much poiny taking a e25 taxi home, incurring all those costs aNd letting the taBle sit idle.

And now the data ‘ scientists’ want to keep a list of what I ordered aNd what I ate - why are the paid civil libertiescrowd not gone mad - they trigger at the spin of a coin nowadays - or maybe thats whats wring - no obscure lobbyist group waving a chequebook prompting them on.

I’ve hust come up from the shop & there must be a queue or 35 people buying wine & beer for the weekend - God help any publican with overheads, taxbill & a big mortgage to pay - this will be the death blow for pubs.

The pubs should just tell the government people have been drinking for hours no bother. Some people haven't been ordering food. No covid breakouts so we're all good to go :) Instead they are on the radio everyday like butter wouldn't melt haha

Martin mentioning them opening again today, so sounds good to me, sounds like they have the regs ready so maybe we'll have lift off 13/14th. Here's hoping!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Steve012

Even easier.

Tom, Dick or Harry 0868956347

What's the special tonight please?

And if they say well we will have to confirm your number... "Didn't bring my phone" ?!?

Oh there'll be great boll*xolgy :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,771 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

The pubs should just tell the government people have been drinking for hours no bother. Some people haven't been ordering food. No covid breakouts so we're all good to go Instead they are on the radio everyday like butter wouldn't melt haha

Martin mentioning them opening again today, so sounds good to me, sounds like they have the regs ready so maybe we'll have lift off 13/14th. Here's hoping!

if the pubs were to tell the government whatever there would be one winner from that and it wouldn't be the pubs.
    the only option they have is to comply with the rules.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

if the pubs were to tell the government whatever there would be one winner from that and it wouldn't be the pubs.
    the only option they have is to comply with the rules.
    It is not the only option. We are not lemmings.
    If the government orders us to walk off cliffs, do we have to comply?

Ireland is the only country in Europe where pubs are still closed. There is only one reason for this: the government knew that the citizens' response would be weak. Anywhere else in Europe if this was the case, the citizens displeasure would be known and felt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,961 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Kivaro wrote: »

Ireland is the only country in Europe where pubs are still closed. There is only one reason for this: the government knew that the citizens' response would be weak. Anywhere else in Europe if this was the case, the citizens displeasure would be known and felt.

Maybe factually the case but apart from a few countries most European countries dont have a pub culture like ours, its not comparing like with like and i say that as someone who thinks they should be allowed open

Kivaro wrote: »

The only time I can ever think of in my lifetime where the Irish stood up for ourselves was the water protests, for the most part absolutely spinless and pathetic. We all know how hard the gov fcuks us and we sit on our hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

Even easier.

Tom, Dick or Harry 0868956347

What's the special tonight please?

You realise you're asked your details for contact tracing purposes and the way we keep pubs open when they do and the rest of the country is by keeping the virus suppressed, the best way other than a lockdown being contact tracing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,341 ✭✭✭joeguevara

ShooterSF wrote: »
    You realise you're asked your details for contact tracing purposes and the way we keep pubs open when they do and the rest of the country is by keeping the virus suppressed, the best way other than a lockdown being contact tracing.

You are completely correct. One thing though, as part of this do bars keep the time you arrived, what table you sat at and all tables around you at the same time, as these people are at risk of infection. Not one pub I know is doing this and saying that they are relying on the sign in sheet for the mobile, and the receipt for the food but have no clue about what table sat near other tables (apart from the night).

It's bad when the Daily Mail know what's going on and everyone else doesn't.

Link

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,595 ✭✭✭showpony1

Micheál said that guidelines were ready for "wet" pubs to reopen which i thought meant should be ready to go shortly, then said something about a 6-9 month plan with dealing with the virus?

I imagine its most likely to be something along the lines of a time limit anyway in these wet pubs?

The main thing i want to be able to do is watch all the matches on a Sunday etc in the pub not go all the way there for one
    match then home or try find some where else to watch.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 253 ✭✭Xtrail14

Let the schools settle in and get things moist and drive on then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,144 ✭✭✭Dickie10

there would be very little to no talk of pubs opening from leo if it wasnt imenent. they would just ignore the wails of publicans. definitley wouldnt be talking about pubs opening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,155 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

About time the Vintners got a kicking. And I do realise it is hard for many punters.

But realistically when was the the last time a pub gave you a sandwich or a plate of chips or a packet of Tayto for free pre Covid? Tight assed fecers.

If they ever open again I do hope they will put a plate of Tayto or peanuts or something down to say thanks. But it never happened before so why now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,553 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

About time the Vintners got a kicking. And I do realise it is hard for many punters.

But realistically when was the the last time a pub gave you a sandwich or a plate of chips or a packet of Tayto for free pre Covid? Tight assed fecers.

If they ever open again I do hope they will put a plate of Tayto or peanuts or something down to say thanks. But it never happened before so why now?

Every single post you give out about not getting some free crisps or peanuts. Is that really all you have to complain about ? The pub didn't give you some free snacks so best they get a kicking ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,677 ✭✭✭giveitholly

Every single post you give out about not getting some free crisps or peanuts. Is that really all you have to complain about ? The pub didn't give you some free snacks

They are only trolling at this stage,best ignore

I have to agree with you on the vintners, they've been particularly scummy all through this but c'mon now, free peanuts and taytos? A lot of bars literally sell three things, alcohol, peanuts and taytos and you expect them to give away 2/3 of what they sell...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

joeguevara wrote: »
    You are completely correct. One thing though, as part of this do bars keep the time you arrived, what table you sat at and all tables around you at the same time, as these people are at risk of infection. Not one pub I know is doing this and saying that they are relying on the sign in sheet for the mobile, and the receipt for the food but have no clue about what table sat near other tables (apart from the night).

Fair I haven't been to many bars since they reopened as restaurants but the few I have have taken numbers and names but not sure how organised they are after the fact.

I've given many a pack of crisps or peanuts out at the end of a night to regulars without charging. It is usually one of the few things not stocktaked in most bars and owners don't usually mind. Maybe you rub the staff up the wrong way ;) Then again I never get the expectation. I don't go into tesco and buy a crate of beer and throw a pack a crisps on top and expect the cashier to give them to me for nothing and Tesco's margins are better than any bar...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,577 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Remember those blue King pub crisps? Jaysus they were the business!

If I could have a €9 substantial meal of those with some tasty pints I'd be a happy man!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,553 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

They are only trolling at this stage,best ignore

Few of them on this thread. One loves delicious tasty pints

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,677 ✭✭✭giveitholly

Few of them on this thread. One loves delicious tasty pints

That he drinks in a restaurant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

The first day our pubs open im going to go the pub for 11am and drink until I cannot stand up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

The first day our pubs open im going to go the pub for 11am and drink until I cannot stand up.

You'll be home in time for Tipping Point and The Chase I'd say.