Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part V - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,864 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    And that many people not turning is not good but yes I agree the government since they came into office and NPHET have given bad/contradictory advice and then the clifden mess which on top of everything else has not helped. The current government have nobody to blame for this mess in having a clear message to the country but themselves. Michael Martin is Taoiseach and the team captain and he’s not helped his team out.

Don’t think it’s the new government though they are pretty poor communicators. People are done with never ending lockdowns and all things Covid. They’re not idiots, people know the facts surrounding the minuscule death rates, ICU figures, effected age and illness cohorts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 Tired332

A lot of people are talking not just about the different approaches but the difference in attitudes.
    Here is the direct quote from RTÉ . I think it sums up in large part the differences between Ireland and other countries. Irish politicians react hysterically, as does the media which in turn influences many in Ireland, quite noticeably here on boards.

“The coronavirus lottery”
    “Summer was not invincible and could not be saved.

August is passing and the autumn winds may blow chilly and cold.

We must wrap up well, to take what the months ahead throw at us.

This virus could visit any of us, at any time, in our homes, or in work.

It does not make an appointment.

Going outside involves a certain roll of the dice.

Inside you may also encounter this intruder.

Like any lottery, there are things people can do to improve their chances.

And hold onto the most valuable prize of all - your life”

😄😄 this made me laugh ... The whole thing is truly blown out of proportion but what do you expect , the irish love a good drama no matter how far fetched. Half the country still watches that crap fair city ,home&away etc and our media have totally overhyped the covid 19 from the beginning.

What a great government we have that allows us and makes us constantly live in fear from a flu. Money talks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭robbiezero

Tired332 wrote: »
    ���� this made me laugh ... The whole thing is truly blown out of proportion but what do you expect , the irish love a good drama no matter how far fetched. Half the country still watches that crap fair city ,home&away etc and our media have totally overhyped the covid 19 from the beginning.

What a great government we have that allows us and makes us constantly live in fear from a flu. Money talks.

That is some maudlin tripe.
    I'd say my probability of dying is probably an order of magnitude lower since this pandemic began.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,942 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

robbiezero wrote: »
    That is some maudlin tripe.
    I'd say my probability of dying is probably an order of magnitude lower since this pandemic began.

And those with cancer have a much higher probability. Sucks to be them I guess, they should have caught covid instead.

Personally I'd say our probability of living is an order of magnitude lower but that isn't important yet I guess.

And those with cancer have a much higher probability. Sucks to be them I guess, they should have caught covid instead.

Personally I'd say our probability of living is an order of magnitude lower but that isn't important yet I guess.

Agreed. My issue is with the generalization that everyone is "rolling the dice" when they go out that door. Most people aren't, any more than they would have been prior to the pandemic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭Glenomra

As a matter of interest is my sibling the only person who doesn't give restaurants his\her correct phone number. In his\her opinion this nonsense has gone on long enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,149 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

Glenomra wrote: »
    As a matter of interest is my sibling the only person who doesn't give restaurants his\her correct phone number. In his\her opinion this nonsense has gone on long enough.

I would say not. I won’t be giving the correct number on the passenger locator form next time I fly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,831 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Gael23 wrote: »
    I would say not. I won’t be giving the correct number on the passenger locator form next time I fly

It is actually illegal to supply incorrect information on this form.

The information I provided is factually correct but they will struggle to decipher my scrawled writing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭Glenomra

It is actually illegal to supply incorrect information on this form.

The information I provided is factually correct but they will struggle to decipher my scrawled writing.
    But maybe the waitress didn't understand my country accent or wrote a digit down incorrectly. Do you think the gardai have so little to be doing as to investigate phone numbers. the practice is becoming more and more widespread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭GocRh

Good to see that momentum is building and the media is finally questioning the constant doom and gloom from the NPHET

Covid-19: Doctors call for ‘utterly meaningless’ daily figures to be dropped
    Daily briefings are causing unnecessary anxiety and should be switched to a weekly basis, number of doctors argue

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/covid-19-doctors-call-for-utterly-meaningless-daily-figures-to-be-dropped-1.4346550?mode=amp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭CruelSummer

#TellStephen on Twitter gave me a laugh while at the same time highlighted what a farce the new rules are. Glad to see people are finally pushing back, it’s taken a shockingly long time for the Irish public to wake up & smell the coffee in relation to what’s happening here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭hamburgham

GocRh wrote: »
    Good to see that momentum is building and the media is finally questioning the constant doom and gloom from the NPHET

Daily briefings are causing unnecessary anxiety and should be switched to a weekly basis, number of doctors argue

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/covid-19-doctors-call-for-utterly-meaningless-daily-figures-to-be-dropped-1.4346550?mode=amp

When the blinkers finally fall away, hopefully there will some analysis on the govt's and media behaviour over the last 6 months. I have been shouted at by friends for calling bull on all this since May.

0 deaths again today...

Government officials are too busy to comment. They've been locked in a room since 9am trying to think of more pedantic ways to enforce the pedantic restrictions.

Ronan Glynn is said to be as excited as a teenage girl at a One Direction concert, he is currently in hair and make up getting ready for his appearance on the late late tonight. Book tour next year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

0 deaths again today...

Government officials are too busy to comment. They've been locked in a room since 9am trying to think of more pedantic ways to enforce the pedantic restrictions.

Ronan Glynn is said to be as excited as a teenage girl at a One Direction concert, he is currently in hair and make up getting ready for his appearance on the late late tonight. Book tour next year.

I wonder will he shoehorn the 'next two weeks are critical' into the interview? Or noone is indestructible?

GocRh wrote: »

The media have been a disgrace throughout. They have fueled the hysteria every step of the way for their own benefit.

I've no doubt they will also fuel the coming outrage when it becomes apparent how much money we've wasted for so little purpose, but I will give them no credit for this.

An utter abdication of any social responsibility from the so-called 4th estate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

0 deaths again today...

The 0 deaths will be glossed over and instead words like concerning, worrying, negative trends, shoulder to the wheel, etc. will be used.

NPHET and government were slow to see negative and then later positive trends.

More younger people getting it is a positive trend as they are much more unlikely to die from it and this has been borne out in deaths recently. How do NPHET approach it? "Worrying trend of younger people being infected".

if you look at TV3 the tonight show last night, Thomas ryan was up first and then in the second half it was about the economic aspect and one of the guests was Luke O Neil. Celebrities in their own mind.

You'll see them on celebrity bake off in a few months!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,236 ✭✭✭lucernarian

The 0 deaths will be glossed over and instead words like concerning, worrying, negative trends, shoulder to the wheel, etc. will be used.

NPHET and government were slow to see negative and then later positive trends.

More younger people getting it is a positive trend as they are much more unlikely to die from it and this has been borne out in deaths recently. How do NPHET approach it? "Worrying trend of younger people being infected".
    More people of any kind getting it... Is a positive thing? What kind of stuff are some of you smoking here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,338 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

road_high wrote: »
    Don’t think it’s the new government though they are pretty poor communicators. People are done with never ending lockdowns and all things Covid. They’re not idiots, people know the facts surrounding the minuscule death rates, ICU figures, effected age and illness cohorts.

Not really. A lot of people think they understand but they don’t. Many examples of that in this thread. You can read any page and you will see posts filled with inaccuracies and falsehoods about current events and also past events. I read this thread sometimes and I wonder if I’m on the same planet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭funnydoggy

More people of any kind getting it... Is a positive thing? What kind of stuff are some of you smoking here

To be fair, you know what OP meant. Better the younger people get it than the older - this virus is circulating in the community so it's not as if we can stop it fully.

MadYaker wrote: »
    Not really. A lot of people think they understand but they don’t. Many examples of that in this thread. You can read any page and you will see posts filled with inaccuracies and falsehoods about current events and also past events. I read this thread sometimes and I wonder if I’m on the same planet.

0 deaths today is the only claim I can see on this page. Is that an inaccuracy or a falsehood?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭JDD

Can someone clear something up for me?

There was an article in the Irish Times yesterday saying that our tax take is nearly exactly the same so far this year, as it was in September 2019. Surprising, as VAT take has clearly plummeted with no shops/pubs/restaurants open for a good proportion of the year for you to spend your money in. However, income tax has remained stable-ish and it seems corporation tax has risen to a point that it has bridged the gap in VAT receipts.

I was surprised with the income tax one, as there were so many people furloughed or on the COVID dole payment. I'm guessing that Revenue are making provision for all this tax that those on the COVID payment were holding back in jar in the kitchen, ready to pay Revenue in January. That'll not be a shock when in fact nobody pays that. But death and taxes and ****e. They'll just dock your pay until you pay it all back - that is if you find yourself in a job in January.

So this €9 billion deficit we have is basically made up of a) COVID dole and furlough payments and b) healthcare spend.

Does anyone know how much of the €9bn relates to each? I mean, the healthcare spend was pretty much unavoidable (though knowing the HSE, they probably paid top dollar for everything). The spend on COVID dole and furlough payments is of course connected to the relative severity of our restrictions. However, if we had looser restrictions from May to date - would we in fact have had higher infection/death rates and therefore healthcare spend would have gone up?

If the general consensus is that looser restrictions would have resulted in higher infection/death rates, would people have shopped/gone to the pub/gone for a meal anyway? I'm not so sure that they would have. I mean, you might have had a few more people, but in general shops etc would have been crippled by the anxiety of catching covid in the general population, and most of those people that got the COVID payment would have been laid off anyway and would have had to be paid the dole?

Or am I totally off the mark here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,942 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Zero deaths from covid today yet again, government officials are reported to be very concerned. In a staggering display of irony a headline on our national broadcaster has Micheal Martin talking about an "overreaction".

Zero daily deaths for weeks on end, how come nobody uses the phrase "the new normal" when it comes to that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭TRANQUILLO

JDD wrote: »
    Can someone clear something up for me?

There was an article in the Irish Times yesterday saying that our tax take is nearly exactly the same so far this year, as it was in September 2019. Surprising, as VAT take has clearly plummeted with no shops/pubs/restaurants open for a good proportion of the year for you to spend your money in. However, income tax has remained stable-ish and it seems corporation tax has risen to a point that it has bridged the gap in VAT receipts.

I was surprised with the income tax one, as there were so many people furloughed or on the COVID dole payment. I'm guessing that Revenue are making provision for all this tax that those on the COVID payment were holding back in jar in the kitchen, ready to pay Revenue in January. That'll not be a shock when in fact nobody pays that. But death and taxes and ****e. They'll just dock your pay until you pay it all back - that is if you find yourself in a job in January.

So this €9 billion deficit we have is basically made up of a) COVID dole and furlough payments and b) healthcare spend.

Does anyone know how much of the €9bn relates to each? I mean, the healthcare spend was pretty much unavoidable (though knowing the HSE, they probably paid top dollar for everything). The spend on COVID dole and furlough payments is of course connected to the relative severity of our restrictions. However, if we had looser restrictions from May to date - would we in fact have had higher infection/death rates and therefore healthcare spend would have gone up?

If the general consensus is that looser restrictions would have resulted in higher infection/death rates, would people have shopped/gone to the pub/gone for a meal anyway? I'm not so sure that they would have. I mean, you might have had a few more people, but in general shops etc would have been crippled by the anxiety of catching covid in the general population, and most of those people that got the COVID payment would have been laid off anyway and would have had to be paid the dole?

Or am I totally off the mark here?

one of the lads on Eamon Dunphys podcast ( Jim Power i think) said that the tax take was almost the same because it was only people at the lower end who lost their jobs. bar staff etc.

Your grand canal dockers are absolutely creaming it in still working from home with no creche fees or transport costs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭JDD

TRANQUILLO wrote: »
    one of the lads on Eamon Dunphys podcast ( Jim Power i think) said that the tax take was almost the same because it was only people at the lower end who lost their jobs. bar staff etc.

Your grand canal dockers are absolutely creaming it in still working from home with no creche fees or transport costs.

True. And I know that losing your job or being put on furlough is a horrendous thing to happen to anyone.

But looking purely at financials here. If income tax isn't significantly down, and corporation tax is bridging the VAT gap, the lockdown has actually
    not cost us anything from a financial perspective - not including, of course, the COVID dole/fulough payments which I understand is a fair old whack of money.

But how much of the €9bn is it?

And how much of the COVID dole/furlough payments would we have avoided paying had we had looser restrictions over the past four months? Would all those people have been re-employed? Would employers still be keeping them on if they had a vastly reduced number of customers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

17 days, 0 deaths.

Kids all back to school, the world didn’t end like some predicted.

Jockeys and MEPs granted exemptions from travel quarantine.

Hospitals practically empty.

All massive positives.

Media today: Negativity, negativity and some more negativity. Food lists for Gardai to check coming into law, what a load of horsesh1t. This confirms that wet pubs will not open anytime soon. You have to feel for them, their staff and their regulars. They’ve been treated like utter sh1t. Both the pubs and the GAA.

Ronan Glynn “we need to double down on our efforts”. No, Ronan, we don’t. How about you answer some questions from the media instead of hiding behind some annoying women shouting down journalists.

Bunch of cowards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Lundstram wrote: »
    17 days, 0 deaths.

Kids all back to school, the world didn’t end like some predicted.

Jockeys and MEPs granted exemptions from travel quarantine.

Hospitals practically empty.

All massive positives.

Media today: Negativity, negativity and some more negativity. Food lists for Gardai to check coming into law, what a load of horsesh1t. This confirms that wet pubs will not open anytime soon. You have to feel for them, their staff and their regulars. They’ve been treated like utter sh1t. Both the pubs and the GAA.

Ronan Glynn “we need to double down on our efforts”. No, Ronan, we don’t. How about you answer some questions from the media instead of hiding behind some annoying women shouting down journalists.

Bunch of cowards.

Ah be nice to Ronan, he has a hard hitting interview with a wet blanket later...sorry I mean Ryan Tubridy.
    Double down our efforts wtf does that even mean, wash my hands twice as often stay 4 metres away , wear two masks instead of one. Utterly nonsensical f**king sound bite.

Ah be nice to Ronan, he has a hard hitting interview with a wet blanket later...sorry I mean Ryan Tubridy.
    Double down our efforts wtf does that even mean, wash my hands twice as often stay 4 metres away , wear two masks instead of one. Utterly nonsensical f**king sound bite.

Run a deficit of €60bn this year?

Don't worry Doctor Ro-Ro doesn't need to worry about such matters with his public service salary and pension that we're all paying for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭funnydoggy

What's the craic with recoveries?

Showing that figure doesn't fit their narrative does it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭CruelSummer

To be fair, I think Ronan Glynn is a much better communicator than our current Government. I do empathise that he’s had to take over at the same time as Leo & Simon changed hands with Martin & Donnelly. He’s more quietly spoken than Dr Tony, so between poorer communications on the Government side & a quieter personality of CMO - the messages are not being translated well to the public. Coupled with the fact the restrictions they’re introducing are completely daft, recipe for disaster.
    How on earth Martin & Donnelly thought waffle answers at national press conferences during a Pandemic would suffice is beyond me.
    On reflection during this time, one vital question will need to be asked - are the Government continually deferring to NPHET to make decisions & give themselves ‘cover’. Therefore throwing the people of Ireland & its businesses under the bus to protect themselves. Or are NPHET working on the assumption they are currently in charge & dictating policy all across Government departments.