Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXII-30,360 in ROI(1,781 deaths) 8,035 in NI (568 deaths)(10/09)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,512 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Pat Kenny and Luke O Neil going on about all the pharmaceutical products that are being released. They are trying their best to keep this thing going until the Pharma companies make their money off it. Luke O'Neill predicting we will all have a box of swabs to use daily in our houses every day. Gas how they think normal people can afford this, many not even working anymore.

Pat and Luke are keeping a once in a generation pandemic going so big pharma can make money?

Okay then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

I can only see one ICU death in August. Is there anywhere we can see the admissions over the same period. Seems like icu recovery is a lot higher than it has been. Age profile of icu cases was always much lower than deaths, so that’s not the explanation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭GooglePlus

odyssey06 wrote: »
    Normality already returning...
    Ireland collected far more income tax in August than it had expected early in the coronavirus pandemic, beating forecasts for the fourth successive month and
    helping keep the year-on-year decline in the overall tax take to 2.3% in 2020 so far.

That's great but people still have disposable income and are still riding the wave of our past prosperity. The real economic shock from this will be further down the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

This obsession about numbers is a little troubling and a bit sad really. Looking in from the outside I can't help but draw the conclusion that quite a few in Ireland (if this thread is anything to go by) have lost all perspective and seem to wallow in the misery.

It's like looking at auld lads and ladies obsessing over the death announcements in the local papers every morning to see who is dead. The weather, death and C19 related deaths is the new small talk.

Every other country in Europe is moving on. Time for Ireland to wake up and get out on with it. Enough already.

Did this 23 year old actually end up in ICU or are RTE wheeling out crisis actors?

Heart and lung failure. Direct result of Covid. Who to believe.

Fair play to him sharing his experience.

https://twitter.com/FergalBowers/status/1301429981705318402?s=20

In short Owen got very sick , has recovered and is back at work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,254 ✭✭✭Marty Bird

]Did this 23 year old actually end up in ICU or are RTE wheeling out crisis actors?

It really is a crazy virus my brothers father in law tested positive a couple of months back he is 90 and he had no issues.

🌞6.02kWp⚡️3.01kWp South/East⚡️3.01kWp West

• Closed Accounts Posts: 544 ✭✭✭Hawthorn Tree

It's like looking at auld lads and ladies obsessing over the death announcements in the local papers every morning to see who is dead.

:D It is.

I haven't watched one of those HSE press conferences since April but I know people that are glued to them on a daily basis!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Gerry Hatrick

This obsession about numbers is a little troubling and a bit sad really. Looking in from the outside I can't help but draw the conclusion that quite a few in Ireland (if this thread is anything to go by) have lost all perspective and seem to wallow in the misery.

It's like looking at auld lads and ladies obsessing over the death announcements in the local papers every morning to see who is dead. The weather, death and C19 related deaths is the new small talk.

Every other country in Europe is moving on. Time for Ireland to wake up and get out on with it. Enough already.

Have you seen the figures coming out of Spain, France and Italy recently. Everyone else most certainly isn't moving on.

Marty Bird wrote: »
    ]Did this 23 year old actually end up in ICU or are RTE wheeling out crisis actors?

It really is a crazy virus my brothers father in law tested positive a couple of months back he is 90 and he had no issues.

You should contact RTE and inquire would they like to highlight a positive story, I can guess the response though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

Pat Kenny and Luke O Neil going on about all the pharmaceutical products that are being released. They are trying their best to keep this thing going until the Pharma companies make their money off it. Luke O'Neill predicting we will all have a box of swabs to use daily in our houses every day. Gas how they think normal people can afford this, many not even working anymore.

Did it ever occur to you that if there are new testing techniques that everyone will be working because that will effectively eliminate the virus? The cost of these tests is less than not having people working.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,077 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

Varadkar playing a blinder

Story out there now that he wanted the pubs open

If they open pubs he gets the credit for the pubs reopening

If the pubs don't reopen Martin and FF get the blame

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,651 ✭✭✭RocketRaccoon

So my wife has just text me to say her workplace(a factory) now have messages on their notice boards and TVs that masks are NOT to be worn in work, this is despite the fact that 2 workers have tested positive in the last 4 days. Surely this isn't allowed, the masks wouldn't effect the job being done so I cannot see the reasoning. The 2 workers were in the factory up until the day before they got their positive results.

KrustyUCC wrote: »

Varadkar is behaving as if he is in opposition, he under advice from Nphet closed the pubs. I suspect if he were still Taoiseach he would be in no rush to reopen them. He is attempting to become more populist than SF and that takes some doing tbh.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

So my wife has just text me to say her workplace(a factory) now have messages on their notice boards and TVs that masks are NOT to be worn in work, this is despite the fact that 2 workers have tested positive in the last 4 days. Surely this isn't allowed, the masks wouldn't effect the job being done so I cannot see the reasoning. The 2 workers were in the factory up until the day before they got their positive results.

That's horrible. These large workplaces should be done for endangering their staff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,564 ✭✭✭OscarMIlde

About 750 died of cancer in August yet they have shut down a lot of cancer testing.

We haven't shut down cancer testing. Cancer Molecular Diagnostics in St. James's has been fully functional throughout this period.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,651 ✭✭✭RocketRaccoon

That's horrible. These large workplaces should be done for endangering their staff.

Over 700 staff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

Have you seen the figures coming out of Spain, France and Italy recently. Everyone else most certainly isn't moving on.

That is exact proof that everyone is moving on hence the increase in testing and positives.

Increase in positives is absolutely inevitable as economies open up. This needs to be accepted if we are to 'move on'. Ireland seems to a bit slow in accepting this.

These are the HSE guidelines. If your wife thinks there is a breach she can contact the HSA. I would be interested to know the reasoning behind your wife's employers dictate and is social distancing adhered too.

https://www2.hse.ie/conditions/coronavirus/face-masks-disposable-gloves.html

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

Over 700 staff

That's alot. Such a large workplace, so if people get sick, how will the hospitals cope? Isn't this what it's meant be about not to put pressure on the hospitals?

It's beyond me how masks aren't mandatory in all indoor settings. This shouldn't be allowed to happen.

It was pretty telegraphed TBF.

Pubs cannot open before schools, get the schools open first and then the pubs.

Politics before science always ends in tears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,077 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

Varadkar is behaving as if he is in opposition, he under advice from Nphet closed the pubs. I suspect if he were still Taoiseach he would be in no rush to reopen them. He is attempting to become more populist than SF and that takes some doing tbh.

All true

Still he's clever with his strategic leaks to the Indo

When the government falls FG will be in a far better position than FF the way things are going

All true

Still he's clever with his strategic leaks to the Indo

When the government falls FG will be in a far better position than FF the way things are going

Possibly, but many will see Varadkars behaviour as cynical game playing.
    Running with the hare and running with the hounds.
    He is a vacuous individual whose only interest is self promotion based on what way the wind is blowing.
    His behaviour in recent referendum back this up.
    Coveney as much as I dislike him is a more honest and genuine person.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 Erranged

Wtf is it with starting the program everyday with it

Also Luke O'Neill is too laddish with the presentation

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

From 17th of September and the 'tree fiddy' gets cut back, MM will be the face of that too, LV is playing the game so well. I don't see the government lasting 6 months personally, FF will be wiped out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭Non solum non ambulabit

Erranged wrote: »
    Wtf is it with starting the program everyday with it

Just twice a week

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 Erranged

Devils advocate

If they don't reopen

He's seen as ineffective and weak

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,058 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

There are inherent dangers with masks, good to see some employers being proactive and saying no to this dangerous practice. I assume they looked at CCTV and went Jesus Christ this madness has to stop, they probably touched the front or their masks and put that viral load on everything they touched.

pc7 wrote: »
    From 17th of September and the 'tree fiddy' gets cut back, MM will be the face of that too, LV is playing the game so well. I don't see the government lasting 6 months personally, FF will be wiped out.

General Election during a pandemic?

That would be a brave thing to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,879 ✭✭✭mightyreds

pc7 wrote: »

I'm not into politics at all and most of my family wouldn't be looking at the daily going on either but I can see it in them anytime I'm talking to immediate or extended family , the message is Leo played a blinder and MM is making a balls of it and messing up all Leo's great work. So its working on the people not keeping a close eye