Opening of "No-Food" pubs pushed out again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,144 ✭✭✭Dickie10

where is that big warehouse with all the beds? thats not in ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,885 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

KaneToad wrote: »
    Where are you getting this information from? Specifically the bit about the virus weakening?

Look at Sweden's stats lately and we're all aware of their approach.

sweden-cases.png

sweden-deaths.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

KaneToad wrote: »
    Where are you getting this information from? Specifically the bit about the virus weakening?

https://www.reuters.com/article/us-health-coronavirus-italy-virus/new-coronavirus-losing-potency-top-italian-doctor-says-idUSKBN2370OQ

• Closed Accounts Posts: 336 ✭✭nw1dqsv7amx026

HBC08 wrote: »
    "This shows that the legislation isn't there in the first place. Garda currently have no power to shut down pubs.

Well up to this point it seems you thought it was legislation so I'm not sure you have a good understanding of the situation.

Apologies if this has already been discussed.

While I disagree with most of the government approach, I agree that pubs can't open although tbh that hardly affects me. And yes they were foolish at the start of the pandemic proving the issue with alcohol and behaviour.
    So, what is the current legislation and has any new legislation been brought in to cover this?
    I recall a publican opening several weeks ago in protest and being shut down very fast by the guards.
    So why is new legislation needed.

Dickie10 wrote: »

I can go up the road to the University of Limerick and take a photo of their empty pop up hospital if you like, or one of the MANY around the country.

I don't think it is but the Citywest Convention centre was set up to be used.

While I disagree with most of the government approach, I agree that pubs can't open although tbh that hardly affects me. And yes they were foolish at the start of the pandemic proving the issue with alcohol and behaviour.
    So, what is the current legislation and has any new legislation been brought in to cover this?
    I recall a publican opening several weeks ago in protest and being shut down very fast by the guards.

I remember the incident. He said he was "advised" by Garda to shut. They didn't actually shut him down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,451 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

They weren't shut down as such, they were warned and heeded the warning.
    Now the guards have the powers to shut down
    https://www.rte.ie/news/coronavirus/2020/0828/1161777-coronavirus/

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

Nobody is dieing anymore. The Virus has weakened. Winter Flu is more deadly than the strain going around. The emergency is over. It ended 2 months ago.

I don't think this is what is happening and I don't think it's over, not in Ireland anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,770 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

A disgraceful package for the hospitality industry announced this evening.

Absolute crumbs for the industry

there was never going to be a large package for them as we just can't afford it, we have lots of extra things we need to pay for due to covid and we have infrastructural projects for example that need doing and are about to get rolling.
    I'm grand actually, I've been able to invest in my hobbies while the pubs have been closed, but what I can't abide is people like yourself hiding behind caring for others when all you're really about is snobbery and wanting your own way.

you are obviously thinking of another poster as the one you are replying to doesn't fit your description.
    certainly, like some of us he is a bit baffled by the outrage because one can't go to a wet pub when they can still go to a pub all be it one that serves food, therefore not really being deprived of the ability to use the pub service.
    Nobody is dieing anymore. The Virus has weakened. Winter Flu is more deadly than the strain going around. The emergency is over. It ended 2 months ago.

and we are where we are because of the minimal restrictions that have been imposed.
    SusieBlue wrote: »
    Cork was one of the covid-19 hotspots during the surge, I believe we had the second largest amount of cases in the country at that time, with only Dublin having more cases.

It was on the front page of our local newspaper today that there hasn’t been a covid-19 related death in the city and county in over ELEVEN weeks.
    The last recorded death here was in early June, just under 3 months ago.

So the ‘people are dying’ manipulative guilt trip BS just isn’t cutting it anymore.

whether it is cutting it or not is irrelevant, it is the case that people are still dieing all be it in low numbers, all thanks to the restrictions that were implemented, to keep things at a managible level and allow us to open up.
    if you want to get back to normality, i certainly do, then following guidelines and restrictions is the only way to make that happen quickly, by railing against everything, one is simply dragging things out longer then they need to go on for.
    stating bs about facts or just going no no i don't like it, is not going to do anything as the government are going to continue with the policy of keeping the wet pubs closed until it is safe enough for them to reopen.
    so do your bit, help us all get out of this quicker.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

Personally I would think that in Italy most people who were vulnerable to this have already died and that explains their numbers. And they have herd immunity to some extent.
    I hope that is the case here and what we are now seeing is the effects of immunity but I don't think that's the case. I think the virus has been suppressed here and we aren't finished with it.

I can go up the road to the University of Limerick and take a photo of their empty pop up hospital if you like, or one of the MANY around the country.

are they still ready to go and laid out like this? personally i think schools will go back to normal and they wont shut again, perhaps wishful thinking as i am a secondary teacher but i think they wont be a source of problems no matter how hard some sections hope they will. hopefully they dont panic and start shutting all

odyssey06 wrote: »
    They weren't shut down as such, they were warned and heeded the warning.
    Now the guards have the powers to shut down
    https://www.rte.ie/news/coronavirus/2020/0828/1161777-coronavirus/
    Guards will have the powers if Stephen Donnelly takes his pen out.
    Don't think he needs anybodies permission?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,326 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Could be good news coming, positive sign from MM today..

It is also understood Mr Martin sought for a plan to re-open pubs in the short term to be examined and developed and that was agreed.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-40039676.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,620 ✭✭✭The White Wolf

@ end of the road, local pubs being open as opposed to a random pub being open are two very different things. Don't pretend not to know the difference.

if you want to get back to normality, i certainly do, then following guidelines and restrictions is the only way to make that happen quickly,
    by railing against everything, one is simply dragging things out longer then they need to go on for.

You said a lot that I disagree with but these three bits I would like you explain.

How does following government guidelines get us out of this faster?

In every scenario, I see the only way out is one of three ways.

A vaccine, immunity by infection (quickly or slowly) or perhaps really good therapeutics.

I genuinely don't t see an endgame with the Irish guidelines?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

whether it is cutting it or not is irrelevant, it is the case that people are still dieing all be it in low numbers, all thanks to the restrictions that were implemented, to keep things at a managible level and allow us to open up.
    if you want to get back to normality, i certainly do, then following guidelines and restrictions is the only way to make that happen quickly, by railing against everything, one is simply dragging things out longer then they need to go on for.
    stating bs about facts or just going no no i don't like it, is not going to do anything as the government are going to continue with the policy of keeping the wet pubs closed until it is safe enough for them to reopen.

Far more people are dying of other things, yet that fact doesn’t seem to get any attention.
    Cancer, strokes, and other diseases haven’t gone away. People are still dying from them.
    My cousin was scheduled to have a smear test to detect cervical cancer at the end of March and was only just offered a rescheduled appointment for the end of October.
    That’s absolutely disgraceful and unacceptable.

It’s been just over 23 weeks, or 6 months, since the first round of restrictions were introduced and I have been doing my bit, as have the majority of Irish people.
    I have done what was asked of me and then some. I have made many sacrifices, I have lost my job and I don’t have much more left to give.
    You won’t win any support by pontificating about how people need to ‘do their bit’, it’s just insulting really considering the sacrifices that most people have made.
    I firmly believe that coronavirus isn’t the worst thing or even the most serious thing that can happen to a person in their life.

We are the only country in the whole of Europe that still isn’t allowing wet pubs open. We weren’t the hardest hit, our numbers are still quite low for a population of just under 5 million and our death rate is negligible at this stage.
    It isn’t unreasonable or selfish to be frustrated at the bizarre nonsensical approach the government have been taking lately. What do our government know that other governments don’t?
    Why is it safe to go to a pub for a drink in Milan, a city that is was arguably decimated by coronavirus back in March, but not Cork, where there has been less than 20 cases this month and no deaths in over 11 weeks?
    It makes absolutely zero logical sense and that’s why people here are questioning it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Gods Gift

Wet pubs is a terrible expression. Reminds me of those wet markets in Asia.

Gods Gift wrote: »
    Wet pubs is a terrible expression. Reminds me of those wet markets in Asia.

I absolutely hate it too. My face implodes from cringe every time I hear it.

Could be good news coming, positive sign from MM today..

It is also understood Mr Martin sought for a plan to re-open pubs in the short term to be examined and developed and that was agreed.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-40039676.html

Well i would hope they are thinking of opening them at some stage. thus they need some plan for them. i think micheal martin loooks as though he is getting rightly fed up of the whole covid thing, i think as we get further into autumn and schools open with no issues the government will start putting pressure on NYPHET to let pubs open. The longer this goes on into Autumn the elephant in the room begins to loom ominus , Christmas. A christmas without pubs could well do for the government they would be dubbed the government that cancelled christmas by the population. a huge amount of media talk around december is given over to discussions on food/drink and socialising. you can wipe all of that out under the guidelines currently. so what will change regarding numbers bewtween now and say november 20th ? imo very little, perhaps probably numbers stay around 150/day. deaths likely as they are negligibe. so what to do..... would they choose to cancel christmas , which in effect under current guidelines is exactly what would happen. Thats why i think moves are already afoot to get pubs open by early october.

if not then... when? unless they jit the nuclear winter button and leave them til january. would NYPHET being to panic if its coming up to near february and they fear paddys day drinking? basically NPHET want wet pubs to never open, or irish people to give up binge drinking. neither are possible

perhaps the time is coming for our elected government to politely thank NYPHET for their time and work and send them on thier merry way.

class I never really got the nurses front line people doing dancing and singing n **** , and then saying there are bodies on the floor and they are exhausted after 2 weeks straight work

Jesus bodies on the floor, this must have been a seriously packed hospital. Where in Ireland was this???

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Gods Gift

wet fanny is a far better one

Moist.
    Wouldn’t work either.

You said a lot that I disagree with but these three bits I would like you explain.

How does following government guidelines get us out of this faster?

In every scenario, I see the only way out is one of three ways.

A vaccine, immunity by infection (quickly or slowly) or perhaps really good therapeutics.

I genuinely don't t see an endgame with the Irish guidelines?

the whole idea behind the government's plan was to get us to a stage where we could reopen and live with the virus and keep things at a managible level.
    so the more that follow the restrictions, the slower it spreads, the more we can manage things, and we can reopen fully recognising that yes the virus is here but we can manage it.
    SusieBlue wrote: »
    Far more people are dying of other things, yet that fact doesn’t seem to get any attention.
    Cancer, strokes, and other diseases haven’t gone away. People are still dying from them.
    My cousin was scheduled to have a smear test to detect cervical cancer at the end of March and was only just offered a rescheduled appointment for the end of October.
    That’s absolutely disgraceful and unacceptable.

It’s been just over 23 weeks, or 6 months, since the first round of restrictions were introduced and I have been doing my bit, as have the majority of Irish people.
    I have done what was asked of me and then some. I have made many sacrifices, I have lost my job and I don’t have much more left to give.
    You won’t win any support by pontificating about how people need to ‘do their bit’, it’s just insulting really considering the sacrifices that most people have made.
    I firmly believe that coronavirus isn’t the worst thing or even the most serious thing that can happen to a person in their life.

We are the only country in the whole of Europe that still isn’t allowing wet pubs open. We weren’t the hardest hit, our numbers are still quite low for a population of just under 5 million and our death rate is negligible at this stage.
    It isn’t unreasonable or selfish to be frustrated at the bizarre nonsensical approach the government have been taking lately. What do our government know that other governments don’t?
    Why is it safe to go to a pub for a drink in Milan, a city that is was arguably decimated by coronavirus back in March, but not Cork, where there has been less than 20 cases this month and no deaths in over 11 weeks?
    It makes absolutely zero logical sense and that’s why people here are questioning it.

they don't get mentioned because they aren't highly infectious diseases that need public health restrictions across the board to manage.
    they are illnesses that can thankfully be treated in a lot of cases but sadly in others not so.
    it was the government who decided to suspend screenings, a decision i didn't agree with either.
    whether people support whatever is on them, but by not following what is asked of them they are just going to make things worse for us all by potentially causing more restrictions to be imposed on us.
    any country which has wet pubs open has the ability to shut them down if clusters develop, the uk has already done it, we are just avoiding the hassle by keeping the wet pubs closed due to the potential risks and the fact that really they just aren't a priority for us right now compared to the likes of schools and all else.
    the government approach isn't nonsensical as it's based on the evidence as put to the government for which they then make the decisions. did they screw up at times, absolutely, every country did as we could only learn on the job, there was no rehersal for this.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

perhaps the time is coming for our elected government to politely thank NYPHET for their time and work and send them on thier merry way.

Hi we're NPHET, we don't give two flying sh1ts if the economy tanks, our only goal is to stop the virus, we don't care about the economy, peoples mental health, business, families or any of that old rubbish we just wanna stop the virus at all costs even if they FAR outweigh the negatives, oh and we're answerable to nobody!

Well i would hope they are thinking of opening them at some stage. thus they need some plan for them. i think micheal martin loooks as though he is getting rightly fed up of the whole covid thing, i think as we get further into autumn and schools open with no issues the government will start putting pressure on NYPHET to let pubs open. The longer this goes on into Autumn the elephant in the room begins to loom ominus , Christmas. A christmas without pubs could well do for the government they would be dubbed the government that cancelled christmas by the population. a huge amount of media talk around december is given over to discussions on food/drink and socialising. you can wipe all of that out under the guidelines currently. so what will change regarding numbers bewtween now and say november 20th ? imo very little, perhaps probably numbers stay around 150/day. deaths likely as they are negligibe. so what to do..... would they choose to cancel christmas , which in effect under current guidelines is exactly what would happen. Thats why i think moves are already afoot to get pubs open by early october.

if not then... when? unless they jit the nuclear winter button and leave them til january. would NYPHET being to panic if its coming up to near february and they fear paddys day drinking? basically NPHET want wet pubs to never open, or irish people to give up binge drinking. neither are possible

i think you are hugely over estimating about how much of the population actually care about pubs.
    the reality is that times have changed, the pub is no longer the centre of the universe for many, hundreds of them have closed and will continue to close.

i think you are hugely over estimating about how much of the population actually care about pubs.
    the reality is that times have changed, the pub is no longer the centre of the universe for many, hundreds of them have closed and will continue to close.

Said like pubs are closing on mass due to other factors, remember they were FORCIBLY closed since March.

the whole idea behind the government's plan was to get us to a stage where we could reopen and live with the virus and keep things at a managible level.
    so the more that follow the restrictions, the slower it spreads, the more we can manage things, and we can reopen fully recognising that yes the virus is here but we can manage it.

And there's the contradiction.

You're using the words faster and slower, if we follow government guidelines.

This has always been my problem with government guidelines. I believe they are kicking the can down the road and the more we follow their guidelines the longer it will take us to get out of this.

Said like pubs are closing on mass due to other factors, remember they were FORCIBLY closed since March.

those which closed before covid certainly closed due to other factors.
    for the ones that closed during covid, covid was more a hastening of the inevitable for some i should think.
    how many which closed due to covid which would have continued to be viable businesses long term but for covid probably cannot be quantified.

I agree with you on this one but they need to know their future.