Opening of "No-Food" pubs pushed out again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

MrStuffins wrote: »
    The profit margin on those 7ups is much higher than the margin on the pints!

10 times as much 7up can be bought in the newsagent next door for half the price.

Who drinks pints of soft drinks? No one. You might have 2 at a push. It’s not going to cover fcuk all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,577 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Who drinks pints of soft drinks? No one. You might have 2 at a push. It’s not going to cover fcuk all.

You're the one saying they'll drink 7up, not me.

Whats the difference between 7-up, Coke or Fanta?? Same price.

Yup. Same profit margin for the pubs.

Still not seeing your point though. Why are you talking about 7up?

Yup. Same profit margin for the pubs.

Still not seeing your point though. Why are you talking about 7up?

Ah, you’ve trouble following a simple linear thread. Explains a lot.

I'm open to having a discussion here rather than throwing insults.

If you would like to explain your 7up line of thought, i'd be happy to hear it.

Otherwise i'm not sure what point you're making. The pubs i've been going to are selling the same alcohol they were before at the same price. I'm fond of an aul Guinness myself.

I'm open to having a discussion here rather than throwing insults.

If you would like to explain your 7up line of thought, i'd be happy to hear it.

Otherwise i'm not sure what point you're making. The pubs i've been going to are selling the same alcohol they were before at the same price. I'm fond of an aul Guinness myself.

Reading the thread would help you understand what’s going on in the thread. That’s what I normally do.

Also, there are no pubs open at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,885 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Every pub in the land has the opportunity to open today if they wish to.

If they don't wish to, punters will just go to the ones that are.

Sweet Jesus you don’t get it. Ignore button.

Reading the thread would help you understand what’s going on in the thread. That’s what I normally do.

Are you suggesting that the places that are currently open are only selling 7up? And no alcohol?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,553 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

I'm fond of an aul Guinness myself.

We know, you've repeated it time and time again the last few days

Are you suggesting that the places that are currently open are only selling 7up? And no alcohol?

Not once have I suggested that. Any restaurant I’ve been in has served alcohol

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 44,232 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Also, there are no pubs open at the moment.

youve repeated this a few times at this stage trying to be smart.....

pubs that serve food are open.... if you think "pub restaurant" is a more technically correct term feel free to use it.

some pubs are open and are serving food cooked off premises.

some pubs that dont serve food, and should not be open, are also open....

some pubs are using "serving food" as an excuse to be open and serve drinks to regulars with many tricks available to them (leaving a menu in front of them is the main one)

Not once have I suggested that. Any restaurant I’ve been in has served alcohol

Grand so. Looks like we're on the same page!

sydthebeat wrote: »
    youve repeated this a few times at this stage trying to be smart.....

pubs that serve food are open.... if you think "pub restaurant" is a more technically correct term feel free to use it.

some pubs are open and are serving food cooked off premises.

some pubs that dont serve food, and should not be open, are also open....

some pubs are using "serving food" as an excuse to be open and serve drinks to regulars with many tricks available to them (leaving a menu in front of them is the main one)

I honestly doubt, Pre-COVID, the poster above would have said "Sorry, this is not a pub" if he was having a few pints and spotted someone eating a Chicken Goujon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,840 ✭✭✭hetuzozaho

I was in one of my favourite pubs at the weekend, eating take away from down the road. I think calling it a restaurant is a bit of a stretch :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,115 ✭✭✭HBC08

hetuzozaho wrote: »

Ha! this is my local that I referred to a few pages back

HBC08 wrote: »
    Ha! this is my local that I referred to a few pages back

And can they do non alcoholic beers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,199 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

I think you are all dangling on the end of MrStuffins thread.

And can they do non alcoholic beers?

They're not doing them at the moment,just soft drinks,tea/coffee and homemade lemonade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,781 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

anyone listen or follow the angry bartender on facebook ??, podcast is on spotify

Its good and they do say some valid points, the main fella can be a little mouthy sometimes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

So what do the pubs want the government to do in a case were their customers are not interested in a premises following social distancing guidelines/table service / table cleaning etc, even if the food part is taken away.

First I don't think anyone has a problem with table cleaning, although that might explain those horrible feckers who come into a near empty pub and sit at the one table that hasn't been cleared yet :pac::pac:

There isn't much the government can do for them I guess. We have to take the virus seriously even if it leaves people like myself temporarily out of work. I was only answering the idea that places can open if they want, they just can't be arsed.
    I think if we get to a point where we can reopen pubs and lift or relax the time limit even with table service it might be workable? Though I have concerns there too about managing free tables/ reservations etc. when time limits aren't in place...

ShooterSF wrote: »
    First I don't think anyone has a problem with table cleaning, although that might explain those horrible feckers who come into a near empty pub and sit at the one table that hasn't been cleared yet :pac::pac:

There isn't much the government can do for them I guess. We have to take the virus seriously even if it leaves people like myself temporarily out of work. I was only answering the idea that places can open if they want, they just can't be arsed.
    I think if we get to a point where we can reopen pubs and lift or relax the time limit even with table service it might be workable? Though I have concerns there too about managing free tables/ reservations etc. when time limits aren't in place...

I suppose it's just that the story is often if there's just no food we could open. As you say there is more to it than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

They are bringing in legislation to be able to shut down pubs if they are not adhering to the guidelines.

This shows that the legislation isn't there in the first place. Garda currently have no power to shut down pubs.

If the legislation fails with the AG, pubs can surely stay or reopen without restrictions.

Garda turning up to pubs was all a con. It was to intimate. They have absolutely no power to shut anybody down unless they are breaking laws. And social distancing and €9 meals are not laws.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,961 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

They are bringing in legislation to be able to shut down pubs if they are not adhering to the guidelines.

This shows that the legislation isn't there in the first place. Garda currently have no power to shut down pubs.

If the legislation fails with the AG, pubs can surely stay or reopen without restrictions.

Garda turning up to pubs was all a con. It was to intimate. They have absolutely no power to shut anybody down unless they are breaking laws. And social distancing and €9 meals are not laws.

Eh and?? Was hardly a secret

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Justin Credible Darts

I can't help but feel that you're not so much motivated by people's suffering but more out of some strange sense of shame over, as put it, our "drunken Mick" reputation.

wow....the selfish one crying he cannot socialize during a global pandemic claiming people are suffering by not going to the pub.

dear god...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Justin Credible Darts

It was to intimate. .

don't you mean intimidate ?

Did anybody think they did?
    They could object to license being renewed as far as i understood.

Look at Michael McGrath when Varadkar says we're the only country in Europe not to have pubs open.

https://twitter.com/rtenews/status/1299403464049602566?s=19

Not for a second do I believe Varadkar is leading the march to open pubs but he definitely wasn't supposed to say that. There must be tensions in the camp.

HBC08 wrote: »
    Did anybody think they did?
    They could object to license being renewed as far as i understood.

I don't think there is a court in the land that would remove it considering no laws were broken

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

Listening to Doom master George Lee on the 6 o'clock, very obvious that the pubs are getting tee'd up for a hiding. The tut tut brigade are winning.

When you have doom stooges like Lee sitting up there mentioning high falooting statements like " the pub issue" or " the reality of cases increasing if the pubs reopen", he has a neck on him.