If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Opening of "No-Food" pubs pushed out again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭SteM

Do grown-ups still use the word 'gubbermint'? Hard to take any post that uses this word seriously whether it makes a good point or not tbh.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

joeguevara wrote: »
    It is interesting that a couple of months ago loads of people were saying that the government were in bed with the vintners and will do anything to open pubs. Now they will do anything to keep them closed. From an economic point of view it makes more sense to keep schools closed and open up bars clubs hotels etc fully. Vat is received. Tax from wages received. People off the Covid payment etc.

Tds aren't on holidays. Clinics are open. Dail is closed but government are there. Listen I don't have any love for FF/FG but hopefully they will be able to make appropriate decisions based on up to date medical data.

I am not a political Bot or anything. All TD's want their 6 weeks off.

Any publican who is looking to keep business going his knocking out Pizza at this stage, either that or they have enough money and they are in hibernation until this blows over. I was in a country pub last Wednesday evening and there was 40 in it and no one eating , the tables were set mind you. Fair play to the owners, they recognise that they need to survive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,132 ✭✭✭Dickie10

would anyone care to think what would happen if we still have this situation at christmas time? would make for a very odd christmas. no sport to attend , no pubs open . hard to believe what it will be llike. i supose if things dont open back up to normal level by mid october, you would get very hard to see them opening that close to christmas. christmas time is not really aa time people go out for food that uch, its mostly a drinks only time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,341 ✭✭✭joeguevara

hynesie08 wrote: »
    I believe they have both, the resteraunt license means they can open during the day without a dj, the theatre licence means they can open late without having to keep a kitchen open....

What would the theatre licence permit? I have seen nothing in any guidelines about theatre/performance venues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,553 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

What would the theatre licence permit? I have seen nothing in any guidelines about theatre/performance venues.

Theatre licence permits the selling of alcohol while there is a "performance" such as DJ, event of any sort really, its how they operate at night without a bog standard pub licence.

By day restaurant licence allows them to operate without any "performance" as another poster mentioned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,612 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

Theatre licence permits the selling of alcohol while there is a "performance" such as DJ, event of any sort really, its how they operate at night without a bog standard pub licence.

By day restaurant licence allows them to operate without any "performance" as another poster mentioned

It also used to allow later opening hours, but I believe they got rid of that in 2008. I didn't even think pubs could get theatre licenses anymore...... But then technically it's not a pub......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,553 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

It also used to allow later opening hours, but I believe they got rid of that in 2008. I didn't even think pubs could get theatre licenses anymore...... But then technically it's not a pub......

Just goes to show the whole licencing system needs to be changed and modernised, it was included in the programme for government so at least its on the radar

Yes I read that about 2008 change and as far as I know individual late licensing is required per event. If alcohol sales are as important as the event it is probably not appropriate at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,772 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Dickie10 wrote: »
    would anyone care to think what would happen if we still have this situation at christmas time? would make for a very odd christmas. no sport to attend , no pubs open . hard to believe what it will be llike. i supose if things dont open back up to normal level by mid october, you would get very hard to see them opening that close to christmas. christmas time is not really aa time people go out for food that uch, its mostly a drinks only time.

Yeah its scary and with all the ****e everyone has been through this year, you would hope Christmas time would be the escape from that and everyone could have fun

All Ireland hurling and football scheduled for December 13 and 19. Hopefully with fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭sitkaspruce

All Ireland hurling and football scheduled for December 13 and 19. Hopefully with fans.

hopefully with Kilkenny knocking seven shades of sh1te out of tipp in the final

Tall tales is a different thread. Hahaha

Be a cracking final and tipp getting 2 in a row would be a great early Christmas present.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,772 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Waterford winning Liam would be an awesome awesome christmas gift :D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 916 ✭✭✭MickeyLeari

Maybe by Christmas 2024 we will be used to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Seamai

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Waterford winning Liam would be an awesome awesome christmas gift :D:D:D

I'm from Cork and would really love to see that too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,202 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

The only good thing is that by Christmas we should know if we have vaccines which work (and the odds are looking good), so the message will be "hang on, try not to catch this thing, and we'll be vaccinating everyone in 2021".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,885 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

hmmm wrote: »
    The only good thing is that by Christmas we should know if we have vaccines which work (and the odds are looking good), so the message will be "hang on, try not to catch this thing, and we'll be vaccinating everyone in 2021".

Vaccinating everyone you say? And how are they going to do that now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,576 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Jaysus, don't start!

• Site Banned Posts: 5,279 ✭✭✭political analyst

Instead of whinging, why don't publicans who never served substantial meals take legal advice?

If they took a court case and won (and yes, I know it's a hypothesis with a very long shot!) then what people think wouldn't matter because there'd still be enough people wanting to visit to have a few pints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭I see sheep

MrStuffins wrote: »
    Jaysus, don't start!

It's a fair point though. I'd say about 1/4 of people I've discussed this with say no chance they will take the vaccine.

"a terrible war imposed by the provisional IRA"

Our West Brit Taoiseach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,328 ✭✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

Start with the most vulnerable and work from there....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,576 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

It's a fair point though. I'd say about 1/4 of people I've discussed this with say no chance they will take the vaccine.

Id be surprised if the poster was suggesting that the Govt. round everyone up and vaccinate them.

Let that 1/4 opt out of being vaccinated. Whatever they want!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭gabeeg

They could issue the vaccinated with some sort of certification. Perhaps something like a bracelet.

And if you don't have a bracelet, you're not allowed in the pub/restaurant/whatever.

Hopefully it won't come to that as you'd hope there isn't that many utter morons out there

They could issue the vaccinated with some sort of certification. Perhaps something like a bracelet.

And if you don't have a bracelet, you're not allowed in the pub/restaurant/whatever.

Hopefully it won't come to that as you'd hope there isn't that many utter morons out there

Instead of whinging, why don't publicans who never served substantial meals take legal advice?

If they took a court case and won (and yes, I know it's a hypothesis with a very long shot!) then what people think wouldn't matter because there'd still be enough people wanting to visit to have a few pints.

I'd say they are considering it but they are on the back foot. Courts can't interfere with legislation due to separation of powers. Even if they could it would be difficult to argue that they have no option but stay closed as it stands. Timing is an issue as the court will say that they haven't exhausted the reopening process. But the biggest issue is that both vintners organisations are toothless and inept. The larger publicans who usually take legal issues into their own hands are mostly open so no incentive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,202 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

I was trying to give the OP a bit of hope.

Let me rewrite it. "By the end of the year we should know if we have vaccines which work. If enough people took these vaccines, we could be back to normal in mid to late 2021. However due to the hard work by anti-vaxxers to spread false stories about vaccines, it will probably be 2023 or 2024 when the pool of survivors can get back to a somewhat normal life in whatever is left of the economy."

MrStuffins wrote: »
    Jaysus, don't start!

Sorry it's probably the wrong thread in fairness. Just don't assume everyone will be willing to take a vaccine. I would say at least half the people I talk to will absolutely refuse one, unless of course the government go full tyrannical.

I'll leave it at that. Pub thread.

gabeeg wrote: »

And they said Nazi Germany would never happen again.

Nobody ever says that.

gabeeg wrote: »
    Nobody ever says that.

Why stop there, no digital cert or no "bracelet" as the other poster suggested = no entry into shops, no entry to restaurants, no entry into pubs. Shur make it: No bracelet = no job, no travel, no medical treatment etc.

You're enslaving yourselves. Wake up.