Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Masks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,784 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

No: I will wait for the HSE to recommend
    Let's hope they have signs outside the shops.

No mask, No entry, No service.

and

someone to police it...... Not just Mary saying "OK I will let you in this time". The first bit of power that the downtrodden Mary has ever had in her life. She feels good.

Yeah let’s hope they do the same when our COVID test apps come in and then you’ve to prove you’ve gotten the vaccine.

No vaccine, no shops, no food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,255 ✭✭✭joeguevara

How is it being handled in those countries that have laws on face coverings in public preceeding COVID. Are there places with conflicting laws both preventing and requiring the use use of face coverings in public?

I was just reading about that as it occurred to me that it was not raised here. The cases that banned particular face coverings was where they made the person completely unidentifiable. So Covid like masks don’t appear to fall under this as half face masks were exempted. I do wonder why it isn’t a more frequent argument though.

And in most countries where bans are in place the legislation allows for exemptions based on the common good, presumably for a scenario like this.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,770 ✭✭✭GT89

It's people who are wearing that are creating more conflict and tensions than people without masks. People without masks are going about their business as normal and are then confronted by people with masks causing issues. Haven't seen or heard of any arguments created by non mask wearers.

Heard a bus driver over in England saying that it's people with masks causing arguments wirh people not wearing them and drivers for letting them on whilst non mask wearers are not causing any hassle towards drivers and passengers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,343 ✭✭✭dwayneshintzy

Yes: to protect myself and others
    How is it being handled in those countries that have laws on face coverings in public preceeding COVID. Are there places with conflicting laws both preventing and requiring the use use of face coverings in public?
    This is actually the case in HK; a (ridiculous) ban on face masks was brought in during the protests. When the third wave hit a few weeks ago, compulsive mask wearing was brought in for public transport and indoor areas (it's now extended to outdoor areas). The face mask ban is technically still on the books and wasn't overturned for these new measures.......it's just being ignored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,343 ✭✭✭dwayneshintzy

Yes: to protect myself and others
    GT89 wrote: »
    It's people who are wearing that are creating more conflict and tensions than people without masks. People without masks are going about their business as normal and are then confronted by people with masks causing issues. Haven't seen or heard of any arguments created by non mask wearers.

Heard a bus driver over in England saying that it's people with masks causing arguments wirh people not wearing them and drivers for letting them on whilst non mask wearers are not causing any hassle towards drivers and passengers.
    Have you a link for that bus driver?

And there are plenty of videos from around the world of people absolutely freaking out when being told that masks are required (be it shops, public transport or anywhere else). It's completely disingenuous for you to imply that isn't the case, or that these people freaking out are somehow justified.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

joeguevara wrote: »
    I would be interested in reading this (this is not a prove it post). I tried searching for an article but couldn’t find one. Would you be able to send it or post it.

https://qactus.fr/2020/08/03/q-scoop-le-juge-des-referes-condamne-la-ville-de-strasbourg/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,298 ✭✭✭xhomelezz

Yes: valved

It doesn't say too much.. Plus that pdf you can download is dated from may..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

xhomelezz wrote: »

My mistake. It was tweeted yesterday as if it was a new ruling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,237 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

Yes: homemade

That's absurd considering all the hard evidence of people arguing and shouting because they have been asked to wear a face covering.

You're just making stuff up. Grow up. Mask up. It's tiresome reading your waffle at this stage, when it's clear you're just looking for a reaction.

#IGNORE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,227 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Jim_Hodge wrote: »
    That's absurd considering all the hard evidence of people arguing and shouting because they have been asked to wear a face covering.

You're just making stuff up. Grow up. Mask up. It's tiresome reading your waffle at this stage, when it's clear you're just looking for a reaction.

#IGNORE.

We need schools to open up again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Tipperary animal lover

Yes: homemade

Say that to the wife of the French bus driver that was beaten to death for asking 3 lads to wear a mask, it's legal in uk on public transport to wear a mask so the f*ckwits not wearing them are in the wrong full stop .... there's the conflict abide by the rules and there will be no conflict, either that walk to your destination if ya don't want to wear a mask.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,631 ✭✭✭Tork

Yes: to protect others

That Qactus site is connected to QAnon. In other words, not a source to be trusted. https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/QAnon

https://www.newsguardtech.com/special-report-qanon/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,349 ✭✭✭fly_agaric

Jim_Hodge wrote: »

Hate wearing the blasted things. I didn't bother removing it after being in a shop yesterday. That was first time I did that + as walking home minding my own business I got a random head fake sneezing at me out the window of a passing vehicle (height of wit :pac:). My anecdote/sample of one suggests the irrational anger/annoyance re pandemic-era face wear may be mainly on one side of this issue!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,523 ✭✭✭circadian

Say that to the wife of the French bus driver that was beaten to death for asking 3 lads to wear a mask, it's legal in uk on public transport to wear a mask so the f*ckwits not wearing them are in the wrong full stop .... there's the conflict abide by the rules and there will be no conflict, either that walk to your destination if ya don't want to wear a mask.

Except most bus drivers couldn't care less about passengers without masks. It was other passengers having a go at a passenger without a mask despite not knowing if the person was medically exempt. Why do you want conflict so much why can't you just accept some aren't wearing masks and get on with you daily basis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,070 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Except most bus drivers couldn't care less about passengers without masks. It was other passengers having a go at a passenger without a mask despite not knowing if the person was medically exempt. Why do you want conflict so much why can't you just accept some aren't wearing masks and get on with you daily basis.

Because it's the law of the land.
    Buses aren't free for all zones.
    The bus driver could have just as easily been pulling them up for not paying, smoking, drinking, taking drugs or hassling other passengers.
    Scum are scum, this was just another way for them to demonstrate their thuggery.
    Society should not surrender to idiocy or thuggery.
    Doubtless the scum responsible weren't perfectly law abiding citizens other than this one instance.
    Welcome to the debate where you are defending scumbags who killed a bus driver and you are more bothered by the masks aspect than their despicable behaviour.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

odyssey06 wrote: »
    Because it's the law of the land.
    Buses aren't free for all zones.
    The bus driver could have just as easily been pulling them up for not paying, smoking, drinking, taking drugs or hassling other passengers.
    Scum are scum, this was just another way for them to demonstrate their thuggery.
    Society should not surrender to idiocy or thuggery.
    Doubtless the scum responsible weren't perfectly law abiding citizens other than this one instance.
    Welcome to the debate where you are defending scumbags who killed a bus driver and you are more bothered by the masks aspect than their despicable behaviour.

Where was I defending people that killed that bus driver in France? I didn't even mention it. All I'm saying that people with masks are more arguments in general than those without. Your talking completely through your ho? Your probably the type that would have a go at someone not wearing a mask. I see people coming into the shop on a daily basis without masks they are not causing any issues the arguments I have seen have been started by people wearing masks.

You sound like the type who'd be harrasing someone without a mask alright. Or if you saw people on a bus without masks you'd proably start hassling the bus driver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,227 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Where was I defending people that killed that bus driver in France? I didn't even mention it. All I'm saying that people with masks are more arguments in general than those without. Your talking completely through your ho? Your probably the type that would have a go at someone not wearing a mask. I see people coming into the shop on a daily basis without masks they are not causing any issues the arguments I have seen have been started by people wearing masks.

You sound like the type who'd be harrasing someone without a mask alright. Or if you saw people on a bus without masks you'd proably start hassling the bus driver.

At this stage I think you made more sense when you were blaming Soros.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭SimonTemplar

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3Gf-IyRwO6Y

People who break the law cause more conflicts in general. They tend to be thugs in general also. And when challenged respond with violence.
    Funny that.

The answer is not to surrender to thugs.

Funny you still havent condemned the actions of the thugs in France but are happy to spin the line we should give it to thuggery and law breaking.
    The thugs in France started the srgument.
    If you dont accept that we know which side of law v thuggery you stand on.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

There's a certain irony to suggesting mask-wearers are more argumentative while simultaneously attacking someone.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

Just spotted this in the Independent:
    The Taoiseach confirmed this week that face masks would become mandatory in shops and shopping centres from August 10
    Gardaí will be called “as a last resort” to deal with people who refuse to wear face masks in shops from next week, the Justice Minister has said.

Helen McEntee said the Government hoped law enforcement would only be needed in a small minority of cases, as has happened with rules about masks on public transport.
    https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/gardai-will-be-called-as-a-last-resort-if-shoppers-refuse-to-wear-masks-39428325.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭i_surge

I think Ireland has done a great job generally handling Covid.

Our biggest weakness is we have a mild dose of the freedom fighter flu. It is a new level of intellectual deficit that could only happen in America and it is tragic that we imported some of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

No: other
    i_surge wrote: »
    I think Ireland has done a great job generally handling Covid.

Our biggest weakness is we have a mild dose of the freedom fighter flu. It is a new level of intellectual deficit that could only happen in America and it is tragic that we imported some of it.
    Our success was from distancing, restrictions and eventually good testing and contact tracing. You can imagine it was something else if you wish just as you can imagine that sneering at people makes you somehow superior to them.

To quote Hemingway

“There is nothing noble in being superior to your fellow man; true nobility is being superior to your former self.”

You've a way to go!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭i_surge

is_that_so wrote: »
    Our success was from distancing, restrictions and eventually good testing and contact tracing. You can imagine it was something else if you wish just as you can imagine that sneering at people makes you somehow superior to them.

To quote Hemingway

“There is nothing noble in being superior to your fellow man; true nobility is being superior to your former self.”

You've a way to go!

Bollox

Is it noble to wilfully suffer the inferiority of others without complaint?

The paradox of tolerance applies here in full effect.

is_that_so wrote: »

To quote Hemingway

You've a way to go!

Sorry guys, but wouldn't call it succes. We kind of got away..so far.

Too long to shut down international travel.
    Lot of avoidable deaths in nursing homes, lot of healthcare workers infected - our testing wasn't good enough and it took too long to get masks policy updated.
    Some of the PPE orders from China were a joke, while Irish suppliers had their hands up asking how they could help.

On the other hand, I thought the actual lockdown was managed pretty well.

So given the context of this thread, I would have to rate them "better late than never" on masks.

i_surge wrote: »
    Bollox

Is it noble to wilfully suffer the inferiority of others without complaint?

The paradox of tolerance applies here in full effect.
    And of course you know better! And the mask drops so to speak. Find it quite baffling why people choose to obsess about the lives of others they don't give two hoots about normally.

We did get somewhat lucky, perhaps in our timing of decisions, but what we did we did pretty well. I'd call that a success.

odyssey06 wrote: »
    Too long to shut down international travel.
    Lot of avoidable deaths in nursing homes, lot of healthcare workers infected - our testing wasn't good enough and it took too long to get masks policy updated.
    Some of the PPE orders from China were a joke, while Irish suppliers had their hands up asking how they could help.

On the other hand, I thought the actual lockdown was managed pretty well.

So given the context of this thread, I would have to rate them "better late than never" on masks.

That's for sure, finally they recognised mask as a part of solution.