If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Opening of "No-Food" pubs pushed out again

Idbatterim wrote: »
    This virus effects the old mostly and the situation is being exacerbated by the old politicians, nphet and civil servants. Couldnt give a toss about the young, youngish and unemployed because of it....

The young don’t give a toss about older people dying so you wouldn’t blame them for not being worried about their jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭bloopy

Scoondal wrote: »
    Ah come on.
    Thefts, assaults, burgalaries or murders aren't what we are talking about.
    Why waste Garda time because someone had a beer ?
    Ridiculous.

Because a bucketload of people are salivating at the thought of all the new regulations they can use to report people on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,305 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Oranage2 wrote: »
    It's anti-social behavior of Irish people's dependency on alcohol and the need to go to the pub. Instead of auld Mick always going to the pub how about he suggests to his mates a nice evening game of outdoor Boules. Instead on Tommo, Robbo and the lads heading the pub to get smashed and looking for the ride, they could organize a book club. Same for Mary and Anne, instead of hitting the pub every friday they could arrange a seniors zumba class.

And how can I be anti-Irish when I am Irish? Im not even against the pubs, I just feel it's unhealthy as a country to have such a dependency on the pub and alcohol.

Tbf you are talking out of your hoop everytime you use the term 'irish people' it's ignorant, makes you look ignorant. If you are Irish then you are generalising about yourself and the folks who thanked you too.

But I guess you are different though.... Like not Irish then? Or just different in general thus negating your bland broad statements..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,937 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

I think it's interesting how polarised this discussion has become for some posters. From, "the government are trying to take away our liberty" to "Irish people can't be trusted with alcohol and f**k the pubs anyway". It's fairly poisonous.

The government have made a decision, based on medical advice, to keep pubs closed. You may not agree with that decision but to assume that it's based on some Machiavellian motivation is just sad and pathetic really. I've absolutely no doubt that the government would love to open the country in the morning but they are taking tough decisions for what they believe is the public good. Fine if you disagree but please stop assuming their motivation to suit an agenda or viewpoint.

Likewise, there are people out there without an income and not able to work. The callous "tough sh!t" attitude from some posters is repugnant. Just stop and imagine you have no money coming in for a minute. You have a mortgage and a couple of kids. Imagine the stress that those people must be under. That's not to mention the mental health effect of not working.

This is a sh!t situation. It's not bloody fair. But it's not anyone's fault. It's a virus that can't be reasoned with or negotiated with and the government are obliged to take what they believe to be the least worst option. I don't envy them one little bit.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 875 ✭✭✭mean gene

all out by 11-wouldnt be surprised if the national anthem was brought back and put on at 1130 and we all go to sleep

NANNY STATE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭votecounts

votecounts wrote: »
    Don't think the pubs will reopen because of the emphasis on schools. Anyone willing to start a new thread NO FOOD PUBS REOPENING 31ST AUGUST:)
    could be later as a lot of the schools won't be able to reopen as they are not for fit for purpose regarding SD
    Knew I should have started a Thread

Are we the only country in the world with an alcohol culture that still has pub and clubs closed? they are open in the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭LegallyAbroad

Fann Linn wrote: »
    Or perhaps people can't understand how you're safe if ye eat a meal in a pub as opposed to not. Or ye can wander round IKEA for 4 or 5 hours but can't do the same in a pub.

If people can't understand this, they haven't either thought about it for 20 seconds or aren't particularly bright.

mariaalice wrote: »
    Are we the only country in the world with an alcohol culture that still has pub and clubs closed? they are open in the UK.

And the UK is a mess.

They've had multiple outbreaks due to pubs and now have entire cities on lockdown again.

Seems like a poor trade off.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭ThewhiteJesus

a once proud nation turned into PC's uncle Tom.

Who is PC and why have we turned in to his uncle, Tom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,755 ✭✭✭whippet

I love my pint as much as the next man - I don't drink at home; it's just not the same. I love being able to pop down to my local at 10pm on Friday drink 4 pints; catch up on the local news and talk nonsense with whoever happens to come in to the pub.

I am heading out west for a week and I must say I'm gutted that I won't be able to have a couple of quick pints when the kids are gone to bed as I would normally have on holidays.

However; I do support the government on their decision yesterday - for me schools are the priority; I have two kids who are lost without school and making them happy is more important than my few pints on a Friday evening.

I was down the southwest last weekend and with out a doubt the liberties being taken by some establishments circumnavigating the time / food limits would make me certain that trying to have some form of regulation of punters in pubs would be next to impossible. For every pub that will enforce the necessary public health measures there would be one which wouldn't give a monkies and pay total lip service to it.

How can you separate groups of people from interacting when drink is involved.

Its only a couple of more weeks (maybe more) without having to go to the pub - surely people can handle that for the greater good.

However - I do fear for the pub sector. So many great pubs have already finding being viable a struggle pre-covid ... so the government needs to work with this sector. Getting creative on VAT / Duty on on-premises sales, grants for upgrading facilities and payroll assistance etc to ensure that when this mess is all over we will still have these pubs. I am living in a rural location and the pub is the center of the community along with the GAA club.

They've had multiple outbreaks due to pubs and now have entire cities on lockdown again.

Seems like a poor trade off.

I know that, I am just wondering are we the only country with pubs still closed not if its a good idea or not. I won't be going to any pub at the moment.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Gods Gift

I’m resigned to the fact that there’ll be no pubs open this year. Coming into flu season they’ll think it’s too risky.
    I know of 3 shabeens not to far from here, very busy last weekend. A lot of the older people pissed off with the operators.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,840 ✭✭✭hetuzozaho

They are 100% permanent. All these sneaky underhanded laws suit the establishment. They’re not going away. They’re not magically coming back.

Getting a bit conspiracy theory now!

I know that, I am just wondering are we the only country with pubs still closed not if its a good idea or not. I won't be going to any pub at the moment.

you need to compare across our European neighbors .. and of those the UK are really the only ones with a comparable Pub sector and we don't really want to do what they are doing.

Most of the rest of Europe the vast majority of trade in 'pubs' is related to eating a meal - they are more like restaurants.

So we can't compare our pubs to mainland European pubs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭I see sheep

And the UK is a mess.

Some parts of the UK are doing fine, some are still bad.

E.g. from 1st - 28th July in the North East - 227 cases in a region on 2.7 million - Is basically as low as you're going to get imo.

"a terrible war imposed by the provisional IRA"

Our West Brit Taoiseach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,351 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

DeanAustin wrote: »
    I think it's interesting how polarised this discussion has become for some posters. From, "the government are trying to take away our liberty" to "Irish people can't be trusted with alcohol and f**k the pubs anyway". It's fairly poisonous.

The government have made a decision, based on medical advice, to keep pubs closed. You may not agree with that decision but to assume that it's based on some Machiavellian motivation is just sad and pathetic really. I've absolutely no doubt that the government would love to open the country in the morning but they are taking tough decisions for what they believe is the public good. Fine if you disagree but please stop assuming their motivation to suit an agenda or viewpoint.

Likewise, there are people out there without an income and not able to work. The callous "tough sh!t" attitude from some posters is repugnant. Just stop and imagine you have no money coming in for a minute. You have a mortgage and a couple of kids. Imagine the stress that those people must be under. That's not to mention the mental health effect of not working.

This is a sh!t situation. It's not bloody fair. But it's not anyone's fault. It's a virus that can't be reasoned with or negotiated with and the government are obliged to take what they believe to be the least worst option. I don't envy them one little bit.

Remember when Leo went against the advice from NHPET and opened things quicker?

2 months later and there is 5 people in hospital with covid-19.

Absolutely scaremongering and fear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Some facts:

The pubs will NEVER re open.
    This lockdown/restriction yoyo will just go on and on and on ....

There is something more at play then just the virus here, govts want to destroy their societies.

Accept it, buy it - you'll sleep better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,374 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Gods Gift wrote: »
    I’m resigned to the fact that there’ll be no pubs open this year. Coming into flu season they’ll think it’s too risky.
    I know of 3 shabeens not to far from here, very busy last weekend. A lot of the older people pissed off with the operators.
    Who are the older people pissed off with? The people running illegal shabeens?
    Well they could do something about it rather than giving out to each other maybe?

Imo the pubs will open in September. I don't think the government can delay them much longer they are already pretty behind other countries.

Absolutely scaremongering and fear.

of course :cool:

Why would a government politician want to close down lucrative sectors of the economy - - this is an evolving situation the government needs to react to real time data and observations from what is happening around Europe and the rest of the world.

I don't expect them to get it right all the time but I am confident that they are doing what they feel is right as a balance between public health and the economy.

The fact that there is now almost three time more people in hospital with Covid-19 than there was last week is a clear indicator that the virus is still spreading ... as long as the trends are showing increasing infection rates we can't expect relaxation of the guidelines

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,374 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Some facts:

This lockdown/restriction yoyo will just go on and on and on ....

There is something more at play then just the virus here, govts want to destroy their societies.

Accept it, buy it - you'll sleep better.
    The pubs will never reopen?....lol

Absolute nonsense. Why would the government want to do that?

Some will definitely not reopen due to going bust etc but that is a totally different discussion.

Go on -- i'll bite

Tell me what else is at play here ? who is 'their' ? What would the government get from destroying them? have you any evidence to back it up ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

listermint wrote: »
    Tbf you are talking out of your hoop everytime you use the term 'irish people' it's ignorant, makes you look ignorant. If you are Irish then you are generalising about yourself and the folks who thanked you too.

But I guess you are different though.... Like not Irish then? Or just different in general thus negating your bland broad statements..

Relax I didn't use Irish people in a generalizing manner, it was used so I didn't have to Particularize. And what I said certainly isn't ignorant, the world perception of Irish people are people who are fond of their alcohol. I can confirm this also as a person born in Ireland to Irish parents that certainly in my circles alcohol was a major problem even though at the time none of us saw the problem with it. If you're proud that Ireland is seem a nation of drinkers then that's a problem.

Again I'd like to reiterate, I've no problems with pubs, I just think it being the only form or socializing and entertainment for many people is unhealthy and dangerous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,325 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

SusieBlue wrote: »
    Your overall attitude shows little concern for public safety or the virus, you are simply using it as justification for encouraging one industry being made into a scapegoat just because you don’t like them, and that’s quite pathetic.

What a load of shite. Fake news

Sure I heard that Michael Ryan from the WHO broke down crying about pubs not being open in Ireland. Because he knows that opening the pubs is really the only way to protect public safety

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭bladespin

Oranage2 wrote: »

Again I'd like to reiterate, I've no problems with pubs, I just think it being the only form or socializing and entertainment for many people is unhealthy and dangerous

God help me but I have to agree on that, the whole mental health argument about pubs is ridiculous (bar maybe the publicans themselves), go for a walk, get out and meet people (2m apart of course lol), it can be done outside of the pub.

That said I can't comprehend why in this day and age they can't open the pubs with some sort of safety measure in place: maximum drinks, stay times etc.
    Untitled Image

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,325 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

I agree with part of your statement
    That’s a disgusting attitude to have. I know of several small country pubs who’s sole existence is to serve the community. Successive governments have torn the guts out of these communities and the local pub serves as the only place to meet, to celebrate, to commiserate. Trust me, they’re not in it for the money.

And then there’s the likes of you with your vile opinions of “this doesn’t affect me”... so let them suffer, lose their businesses held for generations, let them loose everything, and don’t even tell them what’s going on.

Vile.

Right on dude. I'll not make the mistake of agreeing with any parts of your statements in future.

Maybe we should just pack all the old grannies and grandas into the RDS. Inject them with corona, lock the doors and come back in 2 weeks and pull out the ones that survived. Then you could go back to be able to having your pint 3 weeks earlier given that it means that much to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,142 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Right on dude. I'll not make the mistake of agreeing with any parts of your statements in future.

Maybe we should just pack all the old grannies and grandas into the RDS. Inject them with corona, lock the doors and come back in 2 weeks and pull out the ones that survived. Then you could go back to be able to having your pint 3 weeks earlier given that it means that much to you.

That is just a lazy easy reply that has been done to death in here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

Some facts:

Eh......?