If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Opening of "No-Food" pubs pushed out again

rob316 wrote: »
    Me and couple lads went out last night. Got a walk in at 7.30, ordered a pizza each and we didn't leave till 12.30. They didn't care about the time limit it was great.
    wally1990 wrote: »
    4 of the wife's friends went to the brog(voodoo upstairs) and there was absolutely no food order taken and no time limit enforced last night

They were in Clancys before that having their food and moved on after the time limit to the brog and they said nothing at all was enforced
    I wasn't going to name the pub I was in but you have.

There's no bookings, walk in only so no time limit

The above quotes are from CorkCity forum............. the are about last weekend. An pub (with a small food offering, small place anyway) that is on the ground floor, nightclub above.

As can be seen the guidelines are being flaunted on a bank holiday weekend.

Small rural pubs cannot open but this can carry on? Ignoring the unfair element public health is being put at risk.

From their facebook page........

"Open 7 days a week from 2pm.
    We supply the Beats and Street Kitchen Cork supply the Eats 🍔🌭🍗🍟

First come first served, no reservations are currently being taken. Walk-ins welcome. Please observe the social distancing protocols onsite.

PS stay tuned for exciting news about our Roof Garden in the next few days."

"Are you ready to take
    The Stairway To Heaven this weekend?

An Bróg has hijacked the Voodoo Roof Garden to accommodate all you hungry & thirsty people.

No reservations necessary, just speak to a host about seating"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭c68zapdsm5i1ru

bladespin wrote: »
    God help me but I have to agree on that, the whole mental health argument about pubs is ridiculous (bar maybe the publicans themselves), go for a walk, get out and meet people (2m apart of course lol), it can be done outside of the pub.

That said I can't comprehend why in this day and age they can't open the pubs with some sort of safety measure in place: maximum drinks, stay times etc.

They can but unfortunately some people won't adhere to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

Does anyone think pubs will open in 3 weeks though? Same time as the schools??

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭ThewhiteJesus

what has a school got to do with a pub ?

They can but unfortunately some people won't adhere to it.

The reality is that there are fook loads of pubs masquerading as restaurants that are flaunting the rules, unfortunately instead of those places being closed it has been decided that actual pubs should not open.
    At a guess I imagine it's because there are no resources to enforce the guidelines/rules and the industry to date along with many customers are showing that they can't be trusted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

For those that don't know me, I like to think myself as ....

C4VvLmv1QP5ArAxlwGB4cYY0op7kcgF9xPwP_Wnb3k3xxECXrIc9VWPHVceC-Wa16Wwc2WHJaqkGQTtjErJ-04RN9ZXu6bRRl6U

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,821 ✭✭✭weisses

For those that don't know me, I like to think myself as ....

C4VvLmv1QP5ArAxlwGB4cYY0op7kcgF9xPwP_Wnb3k3xxECXrIc9VWPHVceC-Wa16Wwc2WHJaqkGQTtjErJ-04RN9ZXu6bRRl6U

Old fragile white man who looks constipated ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,940 ✭✭✭PommieBast

Not a chance. It will either be start of November, or well into the new-year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,325 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

DeanAustin wrote: »
    Likewise, there are people out there without an income and not able to work. The callous "tough sh!t" attitude from some posters is repugnant. Just stop and imagine you have no money coming in for a minute. You have a mortgage and a couple of kids. Imagine the stress that those people must be under. That's not to mention the mental health effect of not working.

What's this bit about?

Anyone concerned about people losing their incomes would want to minimize the chances of the virus spreading. Therefore they would be in favour of keeping indoor places where random people congregate closed.

Particularly places where the people will be imbibing substances which tend to, how can I put it, make some people make less than optimal decisions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,800 ✭✭✭Benimar

bladespin wrote: »
    God help me but I have to agree on that, the whole mental health argument about pubs is ridiculous (bar maybe the publicans themselves), go for a walk, get out and meet people (2m apart of course lol), it can be done outside of the pub.

That said I can't comprehend why in this day and age they can't open the pubs with some sort of safety measure in place: maximum drinks, stay times etc.

I'd say the fact that some of those that are open can't (won't?) stick to the current measures didn't help their cause.

niallo27 wrote: »
    That is just a lazy easy reply that has been done to death in here.

Why?

People here are feigning concern for their poor local publican's bank balance when in reality they just lack the self control or imagination to be able to stay away from the drink or find other pastimes.

If it is not about the drink, and they are that concerned, the can set up gofundmes for their favourite publican, or else just send money to them to help them out. I think that that might be the best idea. The publican's bank balance stays in the black and the virus isn't unnecessarily spread and those people can have done their bit to help their community (or however else they seem to want to paint it)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

weisses wrote: »
    Old fragile white man who looks constipated ???

Less of the racism there please ...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭ThewhiteJesus

Why?

People here are feigning concern for their poor local publican's bank balance when in reality they just lack the self control or imagination to be able to stay away from the drink or find other pastimes.

If it is not about the drink, and they are that concerned, the can set up gofundmes for their favourite publican, or else just send money to them to help them out. I think that that might be the best idea. The publican's bank balance stays in the black and the virus isn't unnecessarily spread and those people can have done their bit to help their community (or however else they seem to want to paint it)

why are you frothing at the mouth over a pub, when we are allowing plane loads of yanks here every day ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,905 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

Had to drive through the city yesterday evening and out towards south dublin. Most pubs were open, even the ones that didn't serve food before.
    Went into my old local, they were cooking frozen pizzas for food, but only if u wanted one, otherwise just have a drink. Social distancing was observed very strictly.

Other old local was get apache pizza's in :)

So pubs are open if you want a drink, even where i live now, all the pubs around me are open and not implementing a time limit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,937 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

What's this bit about?

Anyone concerned about people losing their incomes would want to minimize the chances of the virus spreading. Therefore they would be in favour of keeping indoor places where random people congregate closed.

Particularly places where the people will be imbibing substances which tend to, how can I put it, make some people make less than optimal decisions.

My point is, you have to be a proper c**t to not have sympathy for pub workers and pub owners regardless of what side of the argument you fall on. These people are under unbelievable stress and pressure not of their own making. That doesn’t mean you have to think pubs should open but some posters don’t seem to be able to display any empathy for people whose livelihoods are being destroyed by a freak event.

I also don’t get the argument that “well such and such is being allowed in restaurant/pubs and rural pubs can’t open.” It’s not being allowed. The rules are clear. Those places are breaking those rules. The government can’t police this absolutely and you have to rely on people and business owners to show some personal responsibility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,937 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

why are you frothing at the mouth over a pub, when we are allowing plane loads of yanks here every day ?

Seen this posted a lot. Do we know how full the planes are and who is on them?

The narrative seems to be that plane loads of tourists are coming from Florida and Texas but I’ve not seen anything to support that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,162 ✭✭✭✭rob316

They didn't even give the pubs a chance. There is a world of difference between a rural pub and a super pub in the city centre.

Schools are no.1 priority yes but it doesn't sit right with me, that an entire industry is been held up as the scapegoat for cases rising when its not even open.

They could of given them something, phased opening hours atleast.

Whaddabout whaddabout yadda yadda :pac:

Just because some publican down in Clare or wherever posted that kind of shite doesn't make it true or mean it makes any sense.

Stop the yanks too if you want. At least if the pubs are closed, there's less chance of you mixing with them. Also less chance of attracting non-essential travellers over. If there are tourists coming over here in the middle of a pandemic, you can be fairly confident that they aren't the most conscientious (or smart) types............

The only people frothing at the mouth are those who were dreaming about their creamy pints who might have to do without for another couple of weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,404 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

The narrative seems to be that plane loads of tourists are coming from Florida and Texas but I’ve not seen anything to support that.

I think this is only partially true.
    It has been reported on the radio a few times that most of the people on flights from the US are actually Irish citizens returning home.

The minority are 'Yank' tourists coming here to spread the virus.

And a lot of the planes are far from full.

But this will not stop social media once it has an agenda to push.

It always seems to be appear solely in support of the pubs too.

Have a look to see how many of the same posters posted before the Summer, or are posting now, that the schools needed to open up because yanks were allowed to come in on planes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,354 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

hopefully the pubs just open, its a farce.

if i owned a pub and i was close to losing it, id be opening it now. the Guards might object at your annual licence renewal process but feck it, you would have lost it anyway.

absolute joke, couldnt get a drink last night ins words at 10.30 after a meal. ****ig joke.

NIMAN wrote: »
    I think this is only partially true.
    It has been reported on the radio a few times that most of the people on flights from the US are actually Irish citizens returning home.

The minority are 'Yank' tourists coming here to spread the virus.

And a lot of the planes are far from full.

But this will not stop social media once it has an agenda to push.

thats fine so, so there IS tourists coming to Ireland from the States, not that many, but its ok..

grand, thats sorted so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,404 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

copeyhagen wrote: »
    thats fine so, so there IS tourists coming to Ireland from the States, not that many, but its ok..

grand, thats sorted so.

Whether it's grand or not is another debate, personally I would rather not see them coming either until there are proper testing facilities and procedures at airports.

But to say that we are letting plane loads of covid riddled yanks into the country every day is not accurate. There are also tourists from other nations entering the country too, who don't seem to be getting the same vitriol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,905 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

hopefully the pubs just open, its a farce.

if i owned a pub and i was close to losing it, id be opening it now. the Guards might object at your annual licence renewal process but feck it, you would have lost it anyway.

absolute joke, couldnt get a drink last night ins words at 10.30 after a meal. ****ig joke.

If all pubs open they still be closing by 11 sure.

thats two pints sure :P

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,411 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

grand, thats sorted so.

You need to look at each argument individually, instead of bring unrelated subjects into it. Pubs can't support a reason for opening, so point out other problem area's (that no one seems to agree should be permitted) and cry, "why can't we?" It's bloody childish.

We all agree that foreign tourism should be limited/restricted. So we should open the pubs anyway? eh, no.

They didn't even give the pubs a chance. There is a world of difference between a rural pub and a super pub in the city centre.

Schools are no.1 priority yes but it doesn't sit right with me, that an entire industry is been held up as the scapegoat for cases rising when its not even open.

They could of given them something, phased opening hours atleast.

But sure look, you don't have to go far on the thread to see how people, and publicans, can't be trusted. Once an inch is given then a mile is taken.

In an ideal world, people would be responsible. But that's not going to happen. The only way to prevent it, unfortunately, is to just have a clean simple rule even if it makes some suffer somewhat unnecessarily.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Gods Gift

Some facts:

The pubs will NEVER re open.
    This lockdown/restriction yoyo will just go on and on and on ....

There is something more at play then just the virus here, govts want to destroy their societies.

Accept it, buy it - you'll sleep better.

Where can I subscribe to your newsletter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,770 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

Not a chance, and that is probably one of the most frustrating things for the pubs, it is hard to see when they will open at this stage as it feels NPHET and the government will always find a reason to keep them closed. In 3 weeks time it will be that we are opening the schools and can't open too much at once, 3 weeks after that hopefully they could open but surely there is going to be some sort of rise in numbers with the schools opening, so that could knock it 3 weeks again.

I can understand why on this occasion they have opted against opening the pubs, but it is deeply unfair that most pubs have not been given a chance to open and prove that they can enforce the rules that the food serving pubs are. They should have been allowed to open either on June 29th or July 20th. If they weren't allowed to open when daily cases were in their teens or even single digits at one point, it is hard to see when they will be allowed to open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭strathspey

My point is, you have to be a proper c**t to not have sympathy for pub workers and pub owners regardless of what side of the argument you fall on. These people are under unbelievable stress and pressure not of their own making. That doesn’t mean you have to think pubs should open but some posters don’t seem to be able to display any empathy for people whose livelihoods are being destroyed by a freak event.

I also don’t get the argument that “well such and such is being allowed in restaurant/pubs and rural pubs can’t open.” It’s not being allowed. The rules are clear. Those places are breaking those rules. The government can’t police this absolutely and you have to rely on people and business owners to show some personal responsibility.

I might have actually had some sympathy for publicans up until a month ago until they started interviewing some of them for tv and editorial pieces. In these interviews they actually think they are some matriarchs of society. This lockdown will put some manners on them for their sanctimonious manner.