If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Opening of "No-Food" pubs pushed out again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,202 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

This seriously worries me. There's no logic in it if it isn't just a test run for an attempt at killing nightlife through social engineering. The government has always hated that sector with a passion (the fact that clubs have to pay a few hundred quid every individual night they stay open past 12 is an indication of that) and I can see them making some excuse to make these measures permanent.
    I don't think a conspiracy theory that the government are using a pandemic, and all the negative reaction they are going to get, just so they can "kill nightlife through social engineering" is going to run. Sorry.

If pubs and restaurants are adhering to the rules, then an 11pm close won't be a problem. Nobody heads out to get a meal at 12 midnight. The rules are there to try and control the spread of a virus, if pubs are breaking those rules it's a problem for both society and the pubs/restaurants which are trying to do the right thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,800 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

hmmm wrote: »
    I don't think a conspiracy theory that the government are using a pandemic, and all the negative reaction they are going to get, just so they can "kill nightlife through social engineering" is going to run. Sorry.

If pubs and restaurants are adhering to the rules, then an 11pm close won't be a problem. Nobody heads out to get a meal at 12 midnight. The rules are there to try and control the spread of a virus, if pubs are breaking those rules it's a problem for both society and the pubs/restaurants which are trying to do the right thing.

Do shift workers just not exist in your world? What time of the day someone is eating makes absolutely no difference to how likely they are to contract or spread COVID.

Plenty of people eat out after 11. If they didn't, nothing would be open at that time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Leftwaffe

I'm not an epidemiologist at all so I wouldn't know, but does it make much of a difference closing at 11 Instead of 12 in regards to controlling the spread of the virus?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 880 ✭✭✭Scoondal

hynesie08 wrote: »
    What did the guards say when you rang them?

Ah come on.
    Thefts, assaults, burgalaries or murders aren't what we are talking about.
    Why waste Garda time because someone had a beer ?
    Ridiculous.

Do shift workers just not exist in your world? What time of the day someone is eating makes absolutely no difference to how likely they are to contract or spread COVID.

Plenty of people eat out after 11. If they didn't, nothing would be open at that time.
    Ah come on now, you know this wasn't introduced because the government were worried about shift workers. This was introduced because of people sitting in pubs or restaurants for the evening getting off their head on drink, and significantly increasing the risk that all attempts at social distancing would go out the window.

Non food pubs were gearing up for opening 20 July. Stock bought, everything painted, staff ready. Opening postponed until 10 August. Today, they were just half ready. Now, thy've given up. Why bother anymore ? Close the business and let the banks take the the loss. Stay on Pandemic Unemployment Payment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,325 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Wow. I’m lost for words.

Yeah fück those publicans, the people they employ and the communities they help to hold together.

I agree with part of your statement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

Mr rebel wrote: »
    It’s Berlin, isn’t it? It is party city open 24/7...love it there.

Right country anyway ;)

Ah come on now, you know this wasn't introduced because the government were worried about shift workers. This was introduced because of people sitting in pubs or restaurants for the evening getting off their head on drink, and significantly increasing the risk that all attempts at social distancing would go out the window.

So normal people are hit because a few people got drunk in Dublin ? Huh ?

Scoondal wrote: »
    So normal people are hit because a few people got drunk in Dublin ? Huh ?
    Pubs and restaurants exist outside Dublin also. It's lazy to push the Dublin argument, this virus is popping up all over the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Let pubs set up their tables 2 meters apart, each table is only allowed 4. No mingling at the bar counter. No hockeying back the pints or pub crawls.

Actually as I write this I know why our pubs are closed and probably nowhere else's is. Irish people can't be trusted to not pub crawl or hockey back pints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭howareyakid

Oranage2 wrote: »
    Let pubs set up their tables 2 meters apart, each table is only allowed 4. No mingling at the bar counter. No hockeying back the pints or pub crawls.

Actually as I write this I know why our pubs are closed and probably nowhere else's is. Irish people can't be trusted to not pub crawl or hockey back pints.

Yet some people seem to be hockey-ing back the pints and going on pub crawls already with the gastro pubs and food-serving pubs that are open!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,885 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

I agree with part of your statement

That’s a disgusting attitude to have. I know of several small country pubs who’s sole existence is to serve the community. Successive governments have torn the guts out of these communities and the local pub serves as the only place to meet, to celebrate, to commiserate. Trust me, they’re not in it for the money.

And then there’s the likes of you with your vile opinions of “this doesn’t affect me”... so let them suffer, lose their businesses held for generations, let them loose everything, and don’t even tell them what’s going on.

Vile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

I remember when the nightclubs (or any licenced premises) had to serve food whether or not anyone wanted it.
    Nightclubs usually some form of curry / chips with a sausage. The price of the meal was included in the entry fee.
    Until the government deemed it unnecessary.
    Now the rule is we are required to pay for it if we are going to a pub for 105 minutes, so that it can be disguised as a restaurant.
    OR
    because we need food for an hour and 45 minutes worth of drink taken.
    So either they are expecting people and pubs to abuse the 105 minutes rule, or they believe that we can't act or behave rationally after 105 minutes of sitting in a pub without food. But we don't need food late at night any longer, because drinking at that hour of the night...?
    Every pub should be open or shut.
    If people are going to drink for 105 minutes with or without food, they are pretty much going to end up in the same state.
    Imho, if they weren't required to purchase food, and the pub staff were left to ensure that they adhered to the rules, there may be a lot more people drinking responsibly.
    Some people may be thinking if they have to order food, they may as well get in the extra drinks.
    Is there any other Country in Europe that believes the public or the landlords can't ensure safety without making sure they have to order a meal in the short time that they are allowed on the premises?
    It seems to me that a better way would be to ensure that distancing measures are put into place (partitions etc.) and the very real threat of having licences suspended/revoked would have a better effect. Also allowing people wider choice of places to go to that they believe might be safer, while keeping local businesses working.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,217 ✭✭✭Neowise

As opposed to going to Tesco, Dunnes etc, loads of people in close contact last weekend in Nutgrove

The HSE tells us that to become a close contact of an onfected person, you have to have spent more than 15 minutes of face-to-face contact within 2 metres of the infected person in any setting.

How come you had the oppurtunity to be observing loads of people for the 15 miniutes it takes for them to become close contacts with each other?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,800 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

And as I keep saying, the 90 minute rule is there for that reason. The time of day is entirely irrelevant. There's absolutely no COVID-related logic to an 11PM curfew.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,504 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

All the pubs pulling the piss at the moment with hours and food wouldn’t bode well for that being stuck to.

1000%...

It would last a week if that... publicans by their nature and personality are just interested in maximizing profits, fûck the risks.

Strumms wrote: »
    See how many suicides take place if deaths start rising through the roof.

Laws and restrictions are not out of a communism playbook. That’s a ridiculous thing to say . They are out of an ‘ohh shît, we are in an unprecedented situation never before seen in the history of the planet, let’s do our best’ playbook.

Another one throwing out the ‘mental health’ line, classy...

People need to suck it up, be part of the solution as opposed to the problem,

Not unprecedented, to name just a few;

Plague of Justinian: A.D. 541-542
    The Byzantine Empire was ravaged by the bubonic plague, which marked the start of its decline. The plague reoccurred periodically afterward. Some estimates suggest that up to 10% of the world's population died.

The Black Death: 1346-1353
    The Black Death traveled from Asia to Europe, leaving devastation in its wake. Some estimates suggest that it wiped out over half of Europe's

population.

Flu pandemic: 1889-1890
    In the modern industrial age, new transport links made it easier for influenza viruses to wreak havoc. In just a few months, the disease spanned the globe, killing 1 million people. It took just five weeks for the epidemic to reach peak mortality.

Spanish Flu: 1918-1920
    An estimated 500 million people from the South Seas to the North Pole fell victim to Spanish Flu.

Asian Flu: 1957-1958
    The Asian Flu pandemic was another global showing for influenza. With its roots in China, the disease claimed more than 1 million lives. The virus that caused the pandemic was a blend of avian flu viruses.

glasso wrote: »
    Wont be opening then.

So just cos the UK may consider it necessary to have pubs closed when schools are open Ireland should just disregard that...

Right

Ireland should consider what it needs to do on its own merits, not copy what some other country is doing, especially a country that is failing badly at protecting its own citizens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

What if you are working til 10/11pm?

Surely youd have had your dinner during the day...?

theguzman wrote: »
    I lost a friend two months ago to alcoholism, 3 guys in my area are dead from Alcohol since March, no one died from other banned substances however. Irish people cannot be trusted to handle Alcohol responsibly so severe regulation is needed.

2 months ago was June 5th.
    Pubs that serve food reopened June 29th.
    Pubs been closed since march 15th.

Is it possible, do you think, that maybe if the pubs were open, then these people would still be alive?

Would it also be possible, that painting all 'Irish people' with the same brush is being a tad racist?

Did you know that liberty for irish citizens is promised in the Irish constitution.

Generalising about Irish people.
    This is why ordinary pubs can't open.
    People like Orange2 painting Irish people as the same.
    NO. City people do their crowd thing. We do our "where's Jimmy tonight" thing.

Neowise wrote: »
    The HSE tells us that to become a close contact of an onfected person, you have to have spent more than 15 minutes of face-to-face contact within 2 metres of the infected person in any setting.

How come you had the oppurtunity to be observing loads of people for the 15 miniutes it takes for them to become close contacts with each other?

Would you please stop asking sensible questions here ? No one is interested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,885 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Would you please stop asking sensible questions here ? No one is interested.

It also begs the question of how in the name of Jesus can you catch this in a shop where face masks are now mandatory where you literally walk past the odd person keeping unsocial distance. I’m not staring into anyone’s face for 15 mins at a shop and if they’re wearing a mask well I’m bloody well not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

As I said, I know of a pub near me that was doing the "3rd party" trick of sending the punters across the road to the fast food van.
    It was rightfully stopped by the guards.

People can hardly seriously think that that was the intention of the rule - that it was ok if the punter heads down the road to buy a burger and chips from a van, or goes a bit down the street for a chicken fillet roll from the local centra?? The ones trying to get away with that are taking the piss. The exemption for meant to be for those that had customers that needed food.

I think that I would have to propose now that all bars and restaurants be allowed open, but that sale of alcohol be banned. Then let's see if these restaurant bars still all open to provide their food service.

Thats a total straw man argument because neither of the scenarios I outlined involved going down the road for a chicken fillet roll on the way to the pub for a picnic.
    One involved pizzas being served to the table in the pub from a 3rd party vendor and the other had an on-site chip van with outdoor seating.
    No sending anyone across the road or to other businesses. So not quite the same as your scenario at all.
    Maybe their customers needed food too, how do you know they didn’t?
    They are breaking no rules and no regulations and it’s quite shameful that you are begrudging them this when they have been targeted and treated appallingly these last few months.

As I’m sure you’re quite aware, the margins from selling alcohol are essential in the overall running of a business. Most simply could not afford to stay afloat if they were unable to trade on such a large portion of their business.

You are someone who clearly has little regard or concern for the pub trade, that’s fine, you aren’t obliged to give them your business.
    But they employ people who need their jobs back, not to mention the other industries whose businesses exist to support them. Their suppliers are all counting on them being open too.
    There’s a lot at stake here even if you refuse to acknowledge it.
    Your overall attitude shows little concern for public safety or the virus, you are simply using it as justification for encouraging one industry being made into a scapegoat just because you don’t like them, and that’s quite pathetic.

Generalising about Irish people.
    This is why ordinary pubs can't open.
    People like Orange2 painting Irish people as the same.
    NO. City people do their crowd thing. We do our "where's Jimmy tonight" thing.

That's gas, and there you are generalizing about city folk...

You say "Irish people can't be trusted .."
    That is a generalised statement. Ould Mick in Cloonclochamain just wants a couple of pints and sing song before he goes home to his lonely house.
    We don't do "hockeying" or "pub crawls".

Your anti Irish thoughts should result in you being banned.

It's anti-social behavior of Irish people's dependency on alcohol and the need to go to the pub. Instead of auld Mick always going to the pub how about he suggests to his mates a nice evening game of outdoor Boules. Instead on Tommo, Robbo and the lads heading the pub to get smashed and looking for the ride, they could organize a book club. Same for Mary and Anne, instead of hitting the pub every friday they could arrange a seniors zumba class.

And how can I be anti-Irish when I am Irish? Im not even against the pubs, I just feel it's unhealthy as a country to have such a dependency on the pub and alcohol.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

7 days a week?

Anyway, it’s just the same as making the same argument as to what people to work until 3am every day did before any of this? Tough titty.
    They went to the early houses.

I went to the early houses. :(