If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Opening of "No-Food" pubs pushed out again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭LegallyAbroad

A lot of public health experts and epidemiologists on this thread happy that their expertise in such matters is greater than NPHET.

Either that are people want a pint so badly that they don't care about public health advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

We did a bit of a tour around the west coast over the weekend. Every single pub we visited not only allowed us to stay past the 1.5hr time but encouraged us to do so. The only pubs I saw closed (and boarded up) were the ones in rural villages that would probably host 5 or 6 people max on a weekday. I feel so badly not only for those publicans but those clients who needed that spot as a safe haven, somewhere to drop off midweek and blow off a bit of steam, maybe even sit in silence, ponder some thoughts, right the wrongs of the word and toddle off home happy out feeling soothed from within.
    It’s those who I feel the most sorry for. The auld fella who just needs one pint of a Wednesday to feel good as new, who can’t be dealing with this 9euro shlt and whose pub can’t manage to bring it in anyway. Who enjoys sharing all his problems with the barman and watching the match on the channels he can’t afford at home.

The pub isn’t just a place for young ones to get tarted up and sloshed. They’ll do that anyway together and at house parties. It’s the already isolated who I really feel for. For some, it’s all they know. It makes no sense and it’s incredibly unfair when you realise that by and large, pubs are already open and thriving across the county as long as you have a €9 sandwich in front of you. And, by and large - the ones who will suffer the most are the small town pubs who see a significantly reduced footfall than the ones who have been open a month, and so are less of a threat to any spread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,868 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

MOH wrote: »
    Up to now I've been pretty annoyed at places flouting the rules but at this point fair play to them. I'm sick of the whole blaming various cohorts of the public for the failure for the government to provide a coherent policy.

What coherent policy are you looking for?

The virus is a constantly changing situation and they react to it as it changes.

It's not just a case of here's a policy for the next 6 months. It's reviewed every few weeks as numbers change and decisions are made them

Also, the sanctomonius smugness on this thread is funny to me as most people I'm in touch with are sadly not surprised by today's decision and disagree with it

There's no smugness here. I like many people miss the pub. But I want to be able to just drop in without an appointment and any worries.

If my local opened up tomorrow I'd most likely not go in as I don't see how social distancing would work physically in the place and also when alcohol is thrown into the mix it will add extra danger.

It's tough on the trade but I think it has to be done and I think the majority of people support it.

How difficult can it be to bring in a couple of microwaves to the pub and stock up on microwave meals from the local supermarket so you can offer food?
    Or do a deal with the local chipper to supply the pub?

Because finding loopholes and playing games with rules is not the right thing to do.

It's restaurants that are officially open , not pubs.

Also, regulations and safety rules around food, its storage, preparation and serving are very strict here and you can't just simply microwave meals and serve them.

Who would want that rubbish anyway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭GooglePlus

Thankfully Ireland has strict food health and safety measures in place that must be met before food can be served on the premises.

You won't see a pub getting a food licence off the back of a microwave and a few quick cook meals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,346 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

A lot of public health experts and epidemiologists on this thread happy that their expertise in such matters is greater than NPHET.

Either that are people want a pint so badly that they don't care about public health advice.

Or perhaps people can't understand how you're safe if ye eat a meal in a pub as opposed to not. Or ye can wander round IKEA for 4 or 5 hours but can't do the same in a pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,325 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

The pub isn’t just a place for young ones to get tarted up and sloshed. They’ll do that anyway together and at house parties. It’s the already isolated who I really feel for. For some, it’s all they know. It makes no sense and it’s incredibly unfair when you realise that by and large, pubs are already open and thriving across the county as long as you have a €9 sandwich in front of you. And, by and large - the ones who will suffer the most are the small town pubs who see a significantly reduced footfall than the ones who have been open a month, and so are less of a threat to any spread.

Ideally, no pubs should be open.

However some pubs came out with this excuse that because they serve food, they are an essential service to their customers.
    In the main, that is probably bullshit. But there would be some places for which it is true. And it is unfortunately a plausible excuse for others.

So they needed a way to try to ensure that they could limit it as much as possible to pubs that genuinely served food. So they decided that the only way that they could do that was to have a minimum price of food - this was in order to prevent publicans claiming that a packet of peanuts was good enough.

What you are seeing in people just charging 10 Euro for a sandwich is a publican taking advantage of an exception in order to keep his bank balance up. You cannot blame the government for that. That is the publican. The exemption is supposed to be there so that people who depended on a particular premises for getting fed would be able to do so. Others are just abusing it.

Personally, I think they should have tried to see if they could impose a closing time of 9pm for every "pub restaurant".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

GooglePlus wrote: »
    Thankfully Ireland has strict food health and safety measures in place that must be met before food can be served on the premises.

You won't see a pub getting a food licence off the back of a microwave and a few quick cook meals.

some wet pubs are just buying food from chippers close by. you dont need any special new licence to serve food in a pub.

Fann Linn wrote: »
    Or perhaps people can't understand how you're safe if ye eat a meal in a pub as opposed to not. Or ye can wander round IKEA for 4 or 5 hours but can't do the same in a pub.

Because you're in a pub that is open as an operating restaurant, so you're going for a meal not booze. You're only supposed to stay for 105 minutes.
    The idea is not that the meal keeps you safer. Why do people keep arguing this.

Ikea is also supposed to observe social distancing but you're unlikely to get the virus by passing people, especially if wearing a mask which will be mandatory from Monday.

However sitting a in a pub with people in the same location for hours is riskier and then consumption of alcohol on top of that would lead to more risks.

For me it's very simple to understand.

I don't know about that. I heard of a pub that opened up because he was able to get a fast food van to park across the road. There was never any food sold in the pub before. The publican thought that having the van parked across the road was somehow good enough for him to satisfy the restrictions.

Guards eventually stopped him and now he is apparently serving some kind of prepacked food inside.

He is still open by all accounts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,326 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

murpho999 wrote: »
    What coherent policy are you looking for?

One based on common sense, aka why are you safer with a pizza and a pint than just a pint. It has nothing to do with any science, it's made up nonsense. I'd love to see the vitners give 2 fingers to the Government and call an end to this bull****.

You know what’s ludicrous. The 1700 number. Out of those 1700 how many weren’t (a) very old, (b) so sick/old they were in care homes and (c) had serious underlying conditions.

How many do you think were healthy?

(Don’t forget to then subtract the ones the gov lied about AND the ones recorded as Covid deaths that clearly were not)

Lol

I replied to someone who reckoned all deaths were being put down as covid

Shock horror a disease effects the old and/or sick..... Wow

One based on common sense, aka why are you safer with a pizza and a pint than just a pint. It has nothing to do with any science, it's made up nonsense. I'd love to see the vitners give 2 fingers to the Government and call an end to this bull****.

Go home monkey. You're too drunk at this stage :p

You are misunderstanding the rule. You are not safer with a pizza. Nobody is saying that. They do not want pubs to open. Pub are non-essential. Restaurants are however more essential (for some people). So pubs who serve food were allowed to open in order to be able to sell that food.

So if you are going to a pub, you are supposed to be going because you need a meal. You are entitled to have a pint with your meal as per licensing laws. But the pub has an exemption to open because you "need" food.

You're not supposed to be just going out for pints and then trying to tick a box with a 10 Euro sandwich that you buy and fuck into the bin because you don't want it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,885 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

This is NOT about people wanting a few pints. It’s about the government destroying our economy and livelihoods. Not one single solitary shít does the government give about you or your business. They’re still on the same wages, in some cases they get MORE! This is control plain and simple.

The best way to preserve livelihoods and jobs is for everyone to act responsibly and follow guidelines - not to be ignoring them or trying to look for "loopholes" to take advantage of.

But yourself a cheap bottle of whiskey in your local Tesco and knock yourself out on your couch if you have that much of a goo on you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,757 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

The pubs will get there financial supports from the government to keep then quite and as much as that is good but little **** is given to customers who use the pub for social aspects (with some who hard worked all there lives)

Here in Waterford we haven't had case's in days thankfully

The best way to preserve livelihoods and jobs is for everyone to act responsibly and follow guidelines - not to be ignoring them or trying to look for "loopholes" to take advantage of.

But yourself a cheap bottle of whiskey in your local Tesco and knock yourself out on your couch if you have that much of a goo on you.

Nobody is on here crying about not being able to get a pint. So no I’ve no interest in getting a bottle or whiskey and drinking it at home either. It’s not about pints. It’s about people’s livelihoods.

Go home monkey. You're too drunk at this stage :p

You are misunderstanding the rule. You are not safer with a pizza. Nobody is saying that. They do not want pubs to open. Pub are non-essential. Restaurants are however more essential (for some people). So pubs who serve food were allowed to open in order to be able to sell that food.

So if you are going to a pub, you are supposed to be going because you need a meal. You are entitled to have a pint with your meal as per licensing laws. But the pub has an exemption to open because you "need" food.

You're not supposed to be just going out for pints and then trying to tick a box with a 10 Euro sandwich that you buy and fuck into the bin because you don't want it.

Your making a lot of assumptions there. Not one of them based on any guidelines, we have never been told what we should do and think when we walk in the door of a gastro pub.
    When I walk in the door of a pub it's for pints, if there's a cover charge with wings I'll pay it.

So the government just want to destroy the economy?

They don't care about people but offer extensive financial support or businesses but offer restart programmes, packages erc.

What control are they after? You think it's anti-drink thing?

You don't think everything that has been done in last 6 months is for public health?

Why would a government want to destroy an economy? For what benefit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,522 ✭✭✭kona

The best way to preserve livelihoods and jobs.

Lol well see in 4 weeks time, i dont know about you but theres alot of people me included.... F.ucked.

Your making a lot of assumptions there. Not one of them based on any guidelines, we have never been told what we should do and think when we walk in the door of a gastro pub.
    When I walk in the door of a pub it's for pints, if there's a cover charge with wings I'll pay it.

You're supposed to walk in, sit at a socially distanced table and order a meal from your table and have an alcoholic beverage if you wish to accompany it.

You're supposed to be off the premises within 105 minutes.

How is that not clear?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭GooglePlus

pgj2015 wrote: »
    some wet pubs are just buying food from chippers close by. you dont need any special new licence to serve food in a pub.

No but you do to cook it on the premises, that was my point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,346 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Because you're in a pub that is open as an operating restaurant, so you're going for a meal not booze. You're only supposed to stay for 105 minutes.
    The idea is not that the meal keeps you safer. Why do people keep arguing this.

Ikea is also supposed to observe social distancing but you're unlikely to get the virus by passing people, especially if wearing a mask which will be mandatory from Monday.

However sitting a in a pub with people in the same location for hours is riskier and then consumption of alcohol on top of that would lead to more risks.

For me it's very simple to understand.

It's not working like that however. On the Galway thread they've actually named pubs were fast food and pizzas can get ye in the door. In Ballygar east Galway a pub was raided which was wedged over the weekend with people in it from all the neighbouring villages and yet there are still no spikes in numbers.

Where were they this last week? Abbatoirs and direct provision centres.

So the government just want to destroy the economy?

They don't care about people but offer extensive financial support or businesses but offer restart programmes, packages erc.

What control are they after? You think it's anti-drink thing?

You don't think everything that has been done in last 6 months is for public health?

Why would a government want to destroy an economy? For what benefit?

For our civil liberties.

The 11 o clock closing for one. I’ll say it now, you’ll see plenty of news articles over the next week or so saying what a great idea this is and it should be kept. Wait and see. That’s just one small thing. Governments take all of your civil liberties away and give you only a few back and you’ll be glad of it. Do you still think it’s about “flattening the curve”? That was the first lie. That didn’t work. Face masks 5 months into a “pandemic” then... give me a break. It’s so dangerous face masks are mandatory from ... Monday. So dangerous.

Nobody is on here crying about not being able to get a pint. So no I’ve no interest in getting a bottle or whiskey and drinking it at home either. It’s not about pints. It’s about people’s livelihoods.

Well if you want to protect people's livelihoods, we need to minimize non-essential contact.

So stay away from pubs. It's quite simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,375 ✭✭✭Heckler

I was in town on sunday night (Cork city). Was drinking but not in a pub/restaurant. If you think this food with your drink is making a difference you're delusional. The place was filthy with people scuttered. I went to get smokes around 9.30 and every centra, spar and offie had such a queue out side I'd have been waiting an hour. And they weren't there for the ham sambos. Stocking up on booze and back to house parties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,553 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

No but you do to cook it on the premises, that was my point.

No you don't. Multiple local pubs queried it with Gardai and HSE and told no bother do it if you want.

Tenner on the way in and a pizza gets delivered from the takeaway next door.

Been on going for weeks all over the country

Fann Linn wrote: »
    It's not working like that however. On the Galway thread they've actually named pubs were fast food and pizzas can get ye in the door. In Ballygar east Galway a pub was raided which was wedged over the weekend with people in it from all the neighbouring villages and yet there are still no spikes in numbers.

Where were they this last week? Abbatoirs and direct provision centres.

Ok stuff like that, does it make it right?
    Where's the personal responsibility?

Just because there's not been a spike in numbers in Ballygar does not mean there would not be in more populated areas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭newuser99999

Well if you want to protect people's livelihoods, we need to minimize non-essential contact.

So stay away from pubs. It's quite simple.

Are house parties not non-essential contact? How is sitting in a restaurant “essential” and going to a pub isn’t?

Ok. You can contact Danny Healy Rae and discuss whether the virus knows you are having a sandwich with your pint or not if you think that the reason they allow pubs with food is because the sandwich gives you magical protection or something like that.

You mean the magic protection like sticking on a Garda uniform or being a politician gives you. There hasn't been any NPHET or government press briefing where they've been wearing Masks yet if I want a pint of milk I need to wear one.
    If it wasn't real it sure looks like a hoax with all the do as I say don't do as I do malarkey going on.