Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XX-26,644 in ROI (1,772 deaths) 6,064 in NI (556 deaths) (08/08)Read OP

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

froog wrote: »

Grand if they want to be the guinea pigs for everyone else a few months in advance!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭Scoondal

Well at least you didn't disagree with yourself!

I agree that my opinion is common sense.

Jim_Hodge wrote: »
    More so than in pubs however. I'd take the chance on proper adherence in schools over pubs, after some of the flaunting of regulations in the food pubs so far. I'd also value kids getting an education before having my much missed pint.

What flaunting Jim though? The pubs I've been to generally apply the social distancing rules, serve the food and nothing mad going on? If there is flaunting of the regulations, I would have thought the most common was for those on the last shift - staying a bit longer as no more customers were coming in, which I don't see as being of particular risk.

Scoondal wrote: »
    I agree that my opinion is common sense.

Absolutely correct. 6 cases in a week out of a population of 543,000. Small tourist businesses finished.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,252 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I'm no Varadkar fan but him and Harris communicated fantastically. Everything was described in detail and explained properly. We're getting lots of mixed signals here.
    Like I still cannot understand why the outdoor gatherings weren't increased for sport...

I wouldn't agree with this entirely.

I think Vradkar, Coveney and Harris were good at getting the message across once things became realer than real around March. But, while the circumstances of the situation were difficult, I think the simplicity of the message they had to deliver was more clear cut. Lock it down. Stay at home. Don't go out. Black and white. There was no time frame to give either. It was just happening now and it would eventually end, in theory, sometime in the future.

Right at the beginning this was primarily thought of as just a clear and present danger to public health. People just wanted to be told what to do in the most simple and basic terms.

And their message didn't have to deviate from the public health advice: their message was the public health advice.

Even Vradkar said it's easy to lock a society down, but much more challenging to open it up again. And it obviously is. Once people aren't scared out of their wits the message you have to deliver becomes a lot more complex. It isn't just a blunt, close it all down and don't go anywhere. It becomes a question of what can open, why can it open, how come we can't do this and we can do that? And then there's all the competing voices trying to get heard at once - what about this sector or that sector etc, etc, etc.

It becomes fcking messy. And you have to dance and feel your way through it. And people are now most concerned about all that other stuff they didn't care about in March. And they want definite answers and dates from a totally unknown, brand new and dynamic situation.

The message becomes more complicated, when the situation becomes more complicated. And while I think there's no question Vradkar is a far better communicator than Micheal Martin, I think he had an easier task. No colition partners to worry about, a population who just wanted to be told what to do, a situation that required simple public health advice, muted opposition voices etc, etc, etc.

And as it turns out I don't think Vradkar and co were perfect either. After that first flush, they were AWOL for weeks on end, the only man delivering any message was Tony Holohan. When things were really bad in early April, Vradkar certainly wasn't out day after day briefing the media. FF haven't been great at times, commications wise, but Leo and Simon had less lateral thinking to do and conviently hid behind the CMO for weeks - so I wouldn't say they were flawless in their own right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,203 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

fritzelly wrote: »
    Nope - but in Europe there has and that dictates policy in Ireland :confused:
    We have the same virus in Ireland as the rest of the world. Pubs are clearly high risk, and there is plenty of examples around the world showing outbreaks traced to pubs.

How were they debating until a couple of days ago whether to open up all pubs without food, only to conclude not to today and also pull the restaurants/pub restaurants back to 11pm?
    Because case numbers have clearly begun to rise (7 day average).

Spain by the way announced 8,500 new cases over the weekend. Much of their new outbreak has been traced back to pubs & clubs, and clearly they have a significant problem now.

hmmm wrote: »
    Because case numbers have clearly begun to rise (7 day average).

Spain by the way announced 8,500 new cases over the weekend. Much of their new outbreak has been traced back to pubs & clubs, and clearly they have a significant problem now.

Yeah, but a couple of days ago they hadn't decided, and the hour earlier 11pm thing is ott for a minor increase in cases imo.

Well, they clearly decided because they had to make a decision - what were you expecting them to do? The easier decision would have been to allow pubs to open, but they'd probably then be explaining to the public in a few weeks why schools couldn't reopen.

I didn't hear the rationale behind the 11pm thing, but if there is supposed to be a 90 minute limit it shouldn't affect pubs and restaurants who are operating within the rules. I assume it is targeted at places which aren't. Personally I think it would be better if those places were shut down in a very public manner to get the message across.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,252 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

hmmm wrote: »
    Well, they clearly decided because they had to make a decision - what were you expecting them to do? The easier decision would have been to allow pubs to open, but they'd probably then be explaining to the public in a few weeks why schools couldn't reopen.

I didn't hear the rationale behind the 11pm thing, but if there is supposed to be a 90 minute limit it shouldn't affect pubs and restaurants who are operating within the rules. I assume it is targeted at places which aren't. Personally I think it would be better if those places were shut down in a very public manner to get the message across.

I think we've all heard the "we booked a table for seven and we were still there at half twelve" stories. I think if you were maybe the last booking of the evening in some places - a lot of places - it wasn't unusual to be left to it and the time you might have to leave was ill-defined at best. That wishy washyness was definitely being exploited, particularly at weekends. I suppose the thinking is having a definite set time might cut down on this.

But, then again, the question is enforcement. It's all well and good having all these rules and pumping us full of PR about "Garda Presence" and the spectre of pubs losing their licence, but it doesn't mean anything if it doesn't amount to reality.

We all know the rules regarding "restaurants" have been bent, broken and in some cases done away with altogether. I could list off dozens of pubs where all this is going on. It's a joke having these rules if they blatantly aren't going to be followed. And they blatantly aren't being followed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

Arghus wrote: »
    I think we've all heard the "we booked a table for seven and we were still there at half twelve" stories. I think if you were maybe the last booking of the evening in some places - a lot of places - it wasn't unusual to be left to it and the time you might have to leave was ill-defined at best. That wishy washyness was definitely being exploited, particularly at weekends. I suppose the thinking is having a definite set time might cut down on this.

But, then again, the question is enforcement. It's all well and good having all these rules and pumping us full of PR about "Garda Presence" and the spectre of pubs losing their licence, but it doesn't mean anything if it doesn't amount to reality.

We all know the rules regarding "restaurants" have been bent, broken and in some cases done away with altogether. I could list off dozens of pubs where all this is going on. It's a joke having these rules if they blatantly aren't going to be followed. And they blatantly aren't being followed.

11pm limit might also be because it's not just the pubs and restaurants that are guilty, it's also the people that decided to stay longer than they should. Any responsible person would be keeping an eye on their watch to leave when they are supposed to or before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 949 ✭✭✭Renjit

I wouldn't agree with this entirely.

I think Vradkar, Coveney and Harris were good at getting the message across once things became realer than real around March. But, while the circumstances of the situation were difficult, I think the simplicity of the message they had to deliver was more clear cut. Lock it down. Stay at home. Don't go out. Black and white. There was no time frame to give either. It was just happening now and it would eventually end, in theory, sometime in the future.

Right at the beginning this was primarily thought of as just a clear and present danger to public health. People just wanted to be told what to do in the most simple and basic terms.

And their message didn't have to deviate from the public health advice: their message was the public health advice.

Even Vradkar said it's easy to lock a society down, but much more challenging to open it up again. And it obviously is. Once people aren't scared out of their wits the message you have to deliver becomes a lot more complex. It isn't just a blunt, close it all down and don't go anywhere. It becomes a question of what can open, why can it open, how come we can't do this and we can do that? And then there's all the competing voices trying to get heard at once - what about this sector or that sector etc, etc, etc.

It becomes fcking messy. And you have to dance and feel your way through it. And people are now most concerned about all that other stuff they didn't care about in March. And they want definite answers and dates from a totally unknown, brand new and dynamic situation.

The message becomes more complicated, when the situation becomes more complicated. And while I think there's no question Vradkar is a far better communicator than Micheal Martin, I think he had an easier task. No colition partners to worry about, a population who just wanted to be told what to do, a situation that required simple public health advice, muted opposition voices etc, etc, etc.

And as it turns out I don't think Vradkar and co were perfect either. After that first flush, they were AWOL for weeks on end, the only man delivering any message was Tony Holohan. When things were really bad in early April, Vradkar certainly wasn't out day after day briefing the media. FF haven't been great at times, commications wise, but Leo and Simon had less lateral thinking to do and conviently hid behind the CMO for weeks - so I wouldn't say they were flawless in their own right.

Why do I read your posts in the old man's voice? Probably your avatar. Where is it from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,049 ✭✭✭Polar101

I agree in general, but the current government has had the plans for reopening made for them already - all they have to do is try to follow them. And I'd say Martin is afraid they're going to make balls of all the effort made by everyone so far, by making a wrong move. That's why they're being cautious, and while it might be a sensible approach, it also comes out as indecisive and lacking in leadership.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,528 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

The fact that we still have a lower 14 day incidence of infection than Germany, Iceland or Denmark should maybe be a clue that we are going to have to accept we are going to get 40-50 infections per day for the foreseeable and just get on with it.

Why not compare us with Finland or even Italy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,896 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

owlbethere wrote: »
    Why are restaurants/gaestro pubs being ordered to put people out by 11pm?

Have there been any positive covid cases traced back to restaurants/pubs here in Ireland?

On Saturday or Sunday there was positive cases at Sheridan's pub and restaurant in Milltown, County Galway.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,317 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

On Saturday or Sunday there was positive cases at Sheridan's pub and restaurant in Milltown, County Galway.

Friday they closed because of 1 case linked to a worker who had no contact with the public, is it genuinely too much to ask for the truth.......

Ireland has a vaccine. It's food. If you into a bar ... just give them food. Simple.

Lighten up, not everyone knows every detail about every case.

City Enters Phase 4 Of Pretending Coronavirus Over
    https://local.theonion.com/city-enters-phase-4-of-pretending-coronavirus-over-1844037065

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

Does anyone know why casinos have to remain closed?

It's not exactly Las Vegas here and from my limited time in casinos here, it's not a place they serve alcohol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,725 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

It's not exactly Las Vegas here and from my limited time in casinos here, it's not a place they serve alcohol.

Imagine how many common surfaces are involved; how many common playing table items change hands and how often. Chips, cards, dice, etc.

Not been to any here but I cannot see how the roulette, or card tables be open. The slots every 2nd or 3rd one would have to be off and then have to be cleaned after every person using it. Gyms have to be booked and then even then they have to leave a space between bookings to clean the equipment.
    Really can't see booking working for casinos

Overheal wrote: »
    Imagine how many common surfaces are involved; how many common playing table items change hands and how often. Chips, cards, dice, etc.

That can be said about anything though, so many surfaces people touch. If only there was a way to contain respiratory droplets from people, so that things don't get covered in viral particles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,725 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

That can be said about anything though, so many surfaces people touch. If only there was a way to contain respiratory droplets from people, so that things don't get covered in viral particles.

I can't think of too many other scenarios where you exchange items that frequently. Like the playing deck of cards. Someone infected gets some viral load on a card, the deck gets passed around - unless you're sanitizing between every hand and aren't touching your mucous membranes in-between your chances of getting transmission aren't negligible. Even plates and silverware at a restaurant won't change hands as frequently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,687 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Sure they're saying now that surface particles aren't a big factor in the spread. Even if it was, its easy enough to greatly reduce the risk with frequent hand washing.

I can't think of too many other scenarios where you exchange items that frequently. Like the playing deck of cards. Someone infected gets some viral load on a card, the deck gets passed around - unless you're sanitizing between every hand and aren't touching your mucous membranes in-between your chances of getting transmission aren't negligible. Even plates and silverware at a restaurant won't change hands as frequently.

That's true

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    Sure they're saying now that surface particles aren't a big factor in the spread. Even if it was, its easy enough to greatly reduce the risk with frequent hand washing.

So if surface particles isn't an issue, why keep them closed? I'm not a gambler. Surely making masks mandatory will help not just in retail settings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

I have to say It’s good that the government hasn’t thrown caution to the wind regarding the opening of pubs (and other indoor gathering businesses) .

That doesn’t mean I don’t feel for the individual business owners. That said it comes down to numbers. The vitners are vocal and tell every who’ll listen that the remaining pubs being closed equates to 25000 jobs. I don’t necessarily take them at their word as those jobs probably include the people on one hour a week who provide ‘entertainment.’ Even if that figure is accurate it’s tiny compared to alternative damage if schools unable to open. If you are one of those people then that decision is horrible for you personally and I feel for you.

The fact is the alternative is just worse. There are ~ 1 million school going kids (primary and secondary). There’s 1.38 kids per family (2016). How many people wouldn’t be able to work and how much would that cost the economy compared to the 25000 jobs in pubs? A ****load more.

This is the calculus being applied and it’s not pretty but the alternative is clearly worse. That doesn’t mean the gov couldn’t have communicated better. They should explain the decision in cold hard facts. (In fairness to MM he is saying school, schools schools) Could ad money , money , money to that message as that’s what schools allow most families to go and make while kids are being educated.I’m not a fan of the cabinet meetings / grandstanding and Leo leaks. The writing was on the wall. Delaying these decisions and creating an event around it makes people really feel like sheep wondering what gate they’ll open next. Come out and tell the people as soon as you know and be decisive and easier for people to get on board.

Bumpy road ahead with autumn / winter ahead. I hope we can keep cases to a minimum so that schools can operate and business and people can earn. I’d recommend switching off from this stuff and focus on your immediate family If the constant news cycle is bothering you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭BringBackMick

Imagine basically Ronan Glynn is our Taoiseach.

A man in his late 30s with no experience of public life or its consequences.

Health officials cannot lead government.

Normal life cannot continue with this stasis.

Hundreds if not thousands of Irish die each year from cancer, is there a story on the news?

Life is a tragedy. We need to get the hell on with our lives and stop this madness.

Protect the weak and old.

Don't go have massive chin wag with your granny or gramps in their face.

We all have a time, but this is just an added risk and to deny our children education and us a life due to a small risk of developing bad symptoms is inhumane.

The consequences of our militant reaction will be paid for decades to come.

Places like Germany etc are living with this disease, life continues with masks and appropriate social distancing.

We need to cop the fcuk on and start fixing the damage this has done. Certainly our actions have created more damage than the disease. No doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,104 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

I can't think of too many other scenarios where you exchange items that frequently.

Cash, it's exchanged frequently every day, Covid doesn't seem.to be attracted to it. :confused: