If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Opening of "No-Food" pubs pushed out again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭newuser99999

bloopy wrote: »
    Does anyone know what the criteria is for reopening?
    How many cases per day and for how long?

Hasn’t been said. MM couldn’t even tell reporters today if they would be having another look at measures 3 weeks from today or 3 weeks from August 10th. He was stuttering like a fool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭jonbravo

Pubs open where I am secret knock and all haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,178 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Hasn’t been said. MM couldn’t even tell reporters today if they would be having another look at measures 3 weeks from today or 3 weeks from August 10th. He was stuttering like a fool.

He was stuttering and scuttering looking like a rabbit in the headlights and over at varadkar who was one step away from shrugging “I dunno...” when the hard questions were asked

Pathetic the two of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭zerosugarbuzz

https://www.earthcam.com/world/ireland/dublin/?cam=templebar

Sad night in Temple Bar tonight with everything still shut

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭Fuzzyduzzy

What time are bars and restaurants supposed to stay open until at the moment, I cannot see it in the guidelines?

In fairness, that’d probably a lot of it too. We’ve shown ourselves up as very selfish and not to be trusted to do the right thing. You’d only have to look as the lack of mask wearing in the past week or two, or the travelling around during the restrictions.

If people could be trusted to go to the pub, socially distance, and not act the twat then it would be a different story but so many won’t even do that and the pubs closed.
    jonbravo wrote: »

And, like clockwork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,609 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

Not his fault, Leo hasn't told him what he's allowed say.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,644 ✭✭✭✭briany

pgj2015 wrote: »
    if these pubs werent open, the lads im talking about wouldnt have went into town to the pub. therefore wouldnt have got drunker and met up with the strangers they invited back to the house they were staying in. the women they met were only in town because the pubs were open as well.
    also the stag party would be at home 2 hours away.

This is a tenuous argument you're putting forward. I will reiterate - the pub serving food can only be responsible for how it handles customers on their premises. If that's above board, then they're no more responsible for this stag party's drunken behaviour throughout the night than the off license the drink was bought from or the transport they use to get to town, or the shoes they put on in order to leave the house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,098 ✭✭✭Poorside

jonbravo wrote: »

Pubs open where I am as well, just call to let them know you're coming at a particular time and will be having something to eat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭bloopy

topper75 wrote: »
    A good question. We were asked to flatten the curve. We did. We were told it was about hospital capacity. There are 4 critical in our hospitals as I type.

People don't like lies and false promises. They are funny like that.

Eradication is impossible so open the damn pubs.

From speaking to people tonight, it seems that this lack of certainty is pushing quite a few of them from irritation to outright anger - even from some who have been completely playing ball since march.

And, like clockwork.

Secret knock though the wall , won’t say the owner even knows... some people... to jump to conclusion alround here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,575 ✭✭✭SteM

https://www.earthcam.com/world/ireland/dublin/?cam=templebar

Sad night in Temple Bar tonight with everything still shut

Most of those wouldn't have opened on the 10th anyway, not enough tourists around for them to fleece.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,098 ✭✭✭Poorside

From speaking to people tonight, it seems that this lack of certainty is pushing quite a few of them from irritation to outright anger - even from some who have been completely playing ball since march.

The lads that own my local have been trying to keep things going by selling growlers, which are great, and doing work that was needed to get the place ready and staying positive, I think tonight might have been a bridge too far. A fairly new bar, with great beer and no TV so it's all about the people in there, will be very odd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,852 ✭✭✭irishproduce

Do other countries with pubs open have a teacher's lobby as strong as those here?
    The government are hanging their hat on getting the schools open but the teachers and their unions are a tetchy and sensitive bunch. This morning they brought pay for new teachers into the debate again. Grubby. Add to this that schools are already more subscribed than other EU country comparators and you see why the government are watching their step.
    The government have to thread very carefully with the unions and teachers because one misstep and schools won't open and govt have a problem then.
    In that context, you can't blame the government. Who wants headlines that schools can't open because the government opened pubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,814 ✭✭✭joe40

There can't be any certainty. Nobody in the world really knows how this pandemic is going to pan out. Ireland isn't particularly heavy handed in how we're dealing with this, most countries are similar.

I have massive sympathy for people whose livelihoods are affected but people just wanting to get pubs back for their own enjoyment are not the priority right now.
    I love the pubs and look forward to opening when safe to do so.
    Get the schools sorted first the economy depends on that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,852 ✭✭✭irishproduce

Last count I saw was that in a population of 5 million we have 5 people in hospital with Covid. Assume pubs will never open until there are zero cases and zero in hospital with a virus that has stopped harming people.

Cases are well low enough at this stage.
    The govt plan now is the see how things go when schools open and what way the teachers react. If that goes ok, pubs will open quickly enough. I'd say early October.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

briany wrote: »
    This is a tenuous argument you're putting forward. I will reiterate - the pub serving food can only be responsible for how it handles customers on their premises. If that's above board, then they're no more responsible for this stag party's drunken behaviour throughout the night than the off license the drink was bought from or the transport they use to get to town, or the shoes they put on in order to leave the house.

what about my friend in his local sunday, there for 8 or 9 hours straight. its totally unfair to keep the wet pubs closed. im surprised they havent said that the wet pubs cant serve food, any publican with any cop on will just start serving food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,476 ✭✭✭MOH

joe40 wrote: »
    If numbers spike again then that may well happen. They may be shut down. A small minority of selfish people could make this lockdown longer than needed.
    BattleCorp wrote: »
    While the pub are ignoring the requirement to socially distance, so too are you.

This is why the pubs aren't being allowed to open.

I do feel sorry for publicans though. Easy for me to preach about rights and wrongs but I still have my wages coming in.
    murpho999 wrote: »
    Neither pub is right but Pub B is definitely a problem.

One person in there with the virus and everybody has it.

Whatever about rules and regulations why can't people themselves take responsibility and realise the risk they're taking and do the right thing.

This is why pubs are being kept closed.
    Up to now I've been pretty annoyed at places flouting the rules but at this point fair play to them. I'm sick of the whole blaming various cohorts of the public for the failure for the government to provide a coherent policy.
    Also, the outrage on this thread is funny to me as most people I'm in touch with are not surprised by today's decision and agree with it.

Also, the sanctomonius smugness on this thread is funny to me as most people I'm in touch with are sadly not surprised by today's decision and disagree with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,885 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Augeo wrote: »
    You reckon only 1700 ish have died in the last 6 months?
    No covid deaths in a day means no one has died at all?

You're viewpoint is ludicrous.

You know what’s ludicrous. The 1700 number. Out of those 1700 how many weren’t (a) very old, (b) so sick/old they were in care homes and (c) had serious underlying conditions.

How many do you think were healthy?

(Don’t forget to then subtract the ones the gov lied about AND the ones recorded as Covid deaths that clearly were not)

Do other countries with pubs open have a teacher's lobby as strong as those here?
    The government are hanging their hat on getting the schools open but the teachers and their unions are a tetchy and sensitive bunch. This morning they brought pay for new teachers into the debate again. Grubby. Add to this that schools are already more subscribed than other EU country comparators and you see why the government are watching their step.
    The government have to thread very carefully with the unions and teachers because one misstep and schools won't open and govt have a problem then.
    In that context, you can't blame the government. Who wants headlines that schools can't open because the government opened pubs.

Wrong ,kindergarten schools perhaps the rest won’t open its fallacy in believing they’ll hire 1000 teachers let alone pay nursing staff up to date since 2008 FGS.. unionisd credit streams will be a thing of the past when you envision Air/esb redundancy’s to come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭Mr rebel

ShooterSF wrote: »
    I am one of the biggest supporters of 24 hour licensing laws in the country. I go abroad to a particular foreign city where on Sunday night we all end up in a bar at 4am and I can order food, it's the dream..

It’s Berlin, isn’t it? It is party city open 24/7...love it there.

Mr rebel wrote: »
    It’s Berlin, isn’t it? It is party city open 24/7...love it there.

The way it should be here. our nanny state would have pubs and clubs closed at 9 pm if they could. dry $hites making our laws.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,765 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

So wheres the evidence that cases came from food pubs ??

The review will be the week of 24th Aug and that's the week of the big school openings so its hard to see the baxtards allowing pubs to open the following week

The VF will be bribbed with 'financial surviving packages'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,644 ✭✭✭✭briany

pgj2015 wrote: »
    what about my friend in his local sunday, there for 8 or 9 hours straight. its totally unfair to keep the wet pubs closed. im surprised they havent said that the wet pubs cant serve food, any publican with any cop on will just start serving food.

Food pubs which are willfully and consistently allowing patrons to stay far beyond the advised time should face consequences for that. But food pubs who take liberties does not necessarily mean that we might as well just bring back 'wet' pubs wholesale. It's an argument akin to saying, "This dam is leaking, so the whole thing should come down."

In theory, I would not in any way be opposed to 'wet' pubs opening up to serve customers who weren't taking the p*ss with regard to social distancing. Some pubs could probably manage it easily enough, and others (e.g. nightclubs) not so much. Arguing over this point, though would be subject to so much bias that I can see why the government wouldn't want the headache.

briany wrote: »
    Food pubs which are willfully and consistently allowing patrons to stay far beyond the advised time should face consequences for that. But food pubs who take liberties does not necessarily mean that we might as well just bring back 'wet' pubs wholesale. It's an argument akin to saying, "This dam is leaking, so the whole thing should come down."

In theory, I would not in any way be opposed to 'wet' pubs opening up to serve customers who weren't taking the p*ss with regard to social distancing. Some pubs could probably manage it easily enough, and others (e.g. nightclubs) not so much. Arguing over this point, though would be subject to so much bias that I can see why the government wouldn't want the headache.

It will be interesting to see how many of the wet pubs will open and just serve food. do the government think they will be too lazy to do so or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭Timistry

Asylum centers should be completely locked down since March - no movement out of the centres until a vaccine

Similarly there should be travel bans on a long list of countries since March

But no, instead we have pathetic headless chicken leadership and that’s why we are in this mess

Why should you lock asylum seekers down?
    And for such an inordinate period of time? (18 to 24 months). That is akin to a prison sentence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,325 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

How difficult can it be to bring in a couple of microwaves to the pub and stock up on microwave meals from the local supermarket so you can offer food?
    Or do a deal with the local chipper to supply the pub?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭Ray Donovan

I dunno, I'm a teacher and I'd love a few pints!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,202 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

MOH wrote: »
    Up to now I've been pretty annoyed at places flouting the rules but at this point fair play to them. I'm sick of the whole blaming various cohorts of the public for the failure for the government to provide a coherent policy.
    What's incoherent about it? It's a phased reopening, and they said from the start that we would be pausing reopening if cases have started to rise.

Now cases are rising, so we have to stop. There is a risk we might even have to roll back a bit if we don't stop the rise.

I think at this stage however the government should simply say that all our efforts are going into getting schools reopened. Stop dangling a carrot in front of businesses that there is a chance they might reopen shortly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,325 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

topper75 wrote: »
    A good question. We were asked to flatten the curve. We did. We were told it was about hospital capacity. There are 4 critical in our hospitals as I type.

People don't like lies and false promises. They are funny like that.

Eradication is impossible so open the damn pubs.

How quickly can people forget the scenes of devastation and chaos from Italy? It was only a few months ago. Stories about people over a certain age being banned from ICU treatment in order to concentrate on younger people who would have more chance of surviving?

How can you not understand that it is far easier and far less costly to try to keep a control of things by keeping the number as low as possible.

The UK became a shitshow because they kept the pubs open 2 weeks longer than they should have. Do you really think that that was worth it? Two weeks less in the pub might have saved thousands of lives and enabled them to open up on the other end much sooner.