Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XX-26,644 in ROI (1,772 deaths) 6,064 in NI (556 deaths) (08/08)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,430 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

We're at the stage now where we just need to get on with this, wear a mask (which I see v high compliance with btw) and keep your distance and everyone will be grand.

I agree mask wearing is increasing

I think we need to get the younger ones who mass gather and house parties etc., plus proper quarantine on incoming travel under control

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,139 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    75% of cases aged under 45

At least that is some good news from it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭MerlinSouthDub

Christ almighty how many times does it need to be explained the 40 cases cover a 72hr period.

The reporting on Tuesdays is different in the last 4 weeks.
    16 positive tests in the last 24hrs not 40.

16 positive tests today. 55 over Saturday and Sunday. So positive tests numbers per day are down 40% since the weekend. If things keep going like this, the virus will be gone by next week.

ðŸ˜

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,767 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

I know its 40 new cases annonunced today and anyone who dare suggest this isnt good news is mocked??

Why can we not get to zero,yet??
    The 7 day average has reduced to 18 this week, which indicates cases are decreasing.

We can't get to 0 because nobody has got to 0, we're not special.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,031 ✭✭✭xabi

I know its 40 new cases annonunced today and anyone who dare suggest this isnt good news is mocked??

It’s NOT 40 cases today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭Santy2015

With the school announcement yesterday ( I’ll take it as a positive move) only 10 people in hospital with Covid. Average cases at 18 and 1 death every 7 days. The government need to move onto phase 4 from the 10th of August. It’ll give the country a boost and with cases,hospitalisations stabilising, high compliance for hand washing, sanitation of Hands, coughing/sneeze etiquette and face coverings. No reason not to move on and live with this until we’ve a vaccine/treatment which I’m very confident will happen before year end for the at risk groups.

polesheep wrote: »
    Control. Basically anything they tell the people not to do is more likely to be obeyed if the numbers are made out to be scary.

So give them 2 days of high figures to scare them and 5 days of low so everyone slips back again? Really, it’s a quirk in the way the numbers are compiled in all likelihood. I would imagine test centre results from the weekend are not being reviewed until Monday, therefore don’t appear until Tuesday, rather than than tinfoil hat nonsense

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

What is the matter with them adding a few days of cases and announcing them together?

Makes no sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,201 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Okay but it's a single number(which is slightly inflated) which like a single low number is as helpful as a chocolate teapot. Who's been mocked ? You certainly haven't and aren't but several posters have pointed out why the 40 cases number is misleading.

I don't think the goal was to ever get it to zero. It was to flatten the curve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,500 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Again taking one days numbers in isolation and blowing them out of proportion and context is of zero use. The daily 7 day moving average has been static at between 15-20 for the last 5 weeks at this stage. That's positive - taking one day and panicking is just pointless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

40 new cases announced today....seems obvious the cases are increasing and anyone who dare suggest that this isnt a good thing is mocked

Fcuking joke of a msg board for anyone,who dare qs the preveiling taught

It has been explained repeatedly why the number is so high. You seem intent on dismissing the explanations given, any particular reason why?

40 new cases?

Was only 12 sunday.....to me.thats near out of control

We're fcuked id say.....will it be 100 plus by weekend?

16 positive tests in the past 24hours. I don’t know which is worse. Those who see any increase as armageddon or those who see the Tuesday numbers as a conspiracy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭what the hell!

Lads don’t feed Blaaz the troll.

Santy2015 wrote: »
    With the school announcement yesterday ( I’ll take it as a positive move) only 10 people in hospital with Covid. Average cases at 18 and 1 death every 7 days. The government need to move onto phase 4 from the 10th of August. It’ll give the country a boost and with cases,hospitalisations stabilising, high compliance for hand washing, sanitation of Hands, coughing/sneeze etiquette and face coverings. No reason not to move on and live with this until we’ve a vaccine/treatment which I’m very confident will happen before year end for the at risk groups.

They do but I've an awful feeling they won't fully do it.

Christ!!!! We cannot get to zero!!! We’ll never be at zero for flu or colds and it’ll be the same with Covid! These experts must be changing their curtains on a regular basis with the amount of twitching and pulling!!
    https://twitter.com/astaines/status/1288166343985029120?s=21

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

Can we recognise that it looks like they're trying to scare people now?

The thing I don’t get is, if it was intentional, why is it so recognisable as a pattern. Surely they could just scrape the top few cases off each day and slowly start raising the numbers later. It seems like it’s a “quirk” to the weekend and some validation method that doesn’t get done over the weekend. They should spell it out for people, or at least report cases with an updated “case by date of swab” chart with 2 colours.

40 new cases announced today....seems obvious the cases are increasing and anyone who dare suggest that this isnt a good thing is mocked

Fcuking joke of a msg board for anyone,who dare qs the preveiling taught

Tell us your thoughts when tomorrow’s numbers come out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,461 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

NPHET minutes discussing local / regional restrictions as being the method to be implemented if required in the event that a particular area becomes an issue
    https://twitter.com/newschambers/status/1288166337454497794?s=19

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    They do but I've an awful feeling they won't fully do it.

Yep my guess is phase 3.5 which is the exact but slightly different

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Christ!!!! We cannot get to zero!!! We’ll never be at zero for flu or colds and it’ll be the same with Covid! These experts must be changing their curtains on a regular basis with the amount of twitching and pulling!!

McConky is my favourite, he changes his opinion as often as he does his underpants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭redmgar

So give them 2 days of high figures to scare them and 5 days of low so everyone slips back again? Really, it’s a quirk in the way the numbers are compiled in all likelihood. I would imagine test centre results from the weekend are not being reviewed until Monday, therefore don’t appear until Tuesday, rather than than tinfoil hat nonsense
    This is true, they dont store up numbers to have 5 or 6 days and then a really large one to scare people. And there would be no reason for them to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,461 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Oranage2 wrote: »

They'll not have much choice really, cases still at the same level, if you dont move onto phase 4 on 10th August when do you ?

With nightclubs the exception

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭MerlinSouthDub

If we did get to zero, then we'd all think we could go back to normal life. We'd get relaxed about it, and then they're would be a massive surge when the virus popped up again somewhere. It's actually better that we're still getting cases, people still worry about it, and people are still careful.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

Localized restrictions isn't going to work. You can't close a town in Ireland, the country is too small for that and people will just go off to the next town or county.

Oranage2 wrote: »

Nightclubs are a no no. Pubs will have to open. There will be disobedience by ‘wet pub’ owners and to be honest this is happening already. I see it in my own town. One is serving pints from a hatch and doing home deliveries of cocktails and pints the other one is a sports bar that the side door is open and it’s blatant to be fair. Plenty of Gardai around my town.

They'll not have much choice really, cases still at the same level, if you dont move onto phase 4 on 10th August when do you ?

Well the government have started it with the delaying on phase 4 so it not hard to see why some might be wondering will they make a gradual phase 4 over a couple of weeks. I know I probably sound daft but with the pausing of phase 4 it's in my head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭fr336

We can't get to 0 because nobody has got to 0, we're not special.

Did NZ not manage it for a day or two :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,430 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

niallo27 wrote: »
    At least that is some good news from it

How so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,548 ✭✭✭Martina1991

So give them 2 days of high figures to scare them and 5 days of low so everyone slips back again? Really, it’s a quirk in the way the numbers are compiled in all likelihood. I would imagine test centre results from the weekend are not being reviewed until Monday, therefore don’t appear until Tuesday, rather than done tinfoil hat nonsense
    Swabs from test centres are processed by the NVRL. Before the pandemic they weren't open for routine testing at weekends. Then they threw all resources they could to Covid testing.

Tests are still being processed 24/7 but maybe some administration supports have been rolled back until Mondays again. Cillian DeGascun would be the man to ask.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭redmgar

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    Well the government have started it with the delaying on phase 4 so it not hard to see why some might be wondering will they make a gradual phase 4 over a couple of weeks. I know I probably sound daft but with the pausing of phase 4 it's in my head.

The vinters are such a powerfull lobying group that its a cert that there will be no further delays to pubs opening, from an economical perspective of jobs being at risk also.