Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid19 Part XIX-25,802 in ROI (1,753 deaths) 5,859 in NI (556 deaths) (21/07)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,112 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

There is plenty of evidence vaccines for one virus creates an immune response to help protect you against others. Having and recovering from other cold and viruses which are very similar also does the same, so the theory is more than plausible. While your analogy is ridiculous.

Yes, that's been mentioned as regards the BCG for TB .
    But the common cold which is a Corona virus would not protect against SARS. Too different .
    Now maybe if you had had SARS Covid 1 ....;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭ChelseaRentBoy

I'd like to see spot checks on house parties by the Gardai and revenue/social services. If improper adhering to social distancing rules don't apply then anyone in receipt of pandemic payment should have it removed with immediate effect.

We need to get tough with these idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 949 ✭✭✭Renjit

Trump visited a medical centre today and wore a mask. Not sure if it’ll do much, but a small gesture like this may in fact have a big impact to at least some of his followers

https://twitter.com/ap/status/1282068566737670144?s=21

Too little, too late :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭ShineOn7

Trump visited a medical centre today and wore a mask. Not sure if it’ll do much, but a small gesture like this may in fact have a big impact to at least some of his followers

I'm thinking that was Secret Service directive to him and he hadn't got much choice

As an aside, from looking at pic it looks like he went for a filter under the cloth for an extra layer of protection. He hasn't got the intelligence to do that himself, which leads back to it been a Secret Service directive

(PS: We're all now on a Special List for mentioning "Secret Service", "Protection" and "Trump" all in the same thread)

He visited a mask factory a few months ago and refused to wear one, even picking up finished masks and ended up contaminating sterile stock.

That's hilarious

That's actually quite a big gesture

Yes can't believe I thanked a Trump the Good post! :)
    Have to say something to balance it , like , About Bloody Time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 524 ✭✭✭DevilsHaircut

A decent thread here in reply to that

The tweet you posted neatly illustrates why Irish people holidaying in Europe are putting our gains at risk.

https://twitter.com/Care2much18/status/1282004486135980032

Yeah that’s the general theory, and even if it doesn’t confer immunity to this strain of it, coronaviruses in their nature come in varying waves with seasonal influence so that should impact it. Like most other things (long term effects, length of immunity, etc) it’s all a waiting game and observing what happens. It’s why Sweden is an interesting example, of course they’ve suffered many deaths compared to neighbours so I’m not saying it was the correct approach, but nothing close to the levels predicted have happened there.

Yes , the data from Sweden will be very interesting after all this, but what a way to go about it .
    It would be the only positive for them really if they were actually immune to a second wave , after this awful death ride they have been on , and all the other countries who are doin g so badly .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,858 ✭✭✭JJayoo

14 day incidence rate makes the figures look better....

Anyhow we either have vaccine or herd immunity and no vaccine is gonna be rolled out in next few months so be careful and keep those who are vunerable safe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭ChelseaRentBoy

Virus is out of control now in southern United States but yet Disneyland opened its doors back up today in Florida.

Mad country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 909 ✭✭✭coastwatch

Looks photoshopped onto him.
    I think this is part of strategy to blame (and then fire) Dr.Fauci, who is now more trusted than Trump.
    https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/2020/jul/10/trump-fauci-covid-19-coronavirus-cases

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

The tweet you posted neatly illustrates why Irish people holidaying in Europe are putting our gains at risk.

https://twitter.com/Care2much18/status/1282004486135980032

This tweet is crazy, I knew flu put a strain on hospitals each year but had no idea of the actual extent in actual numbers

https://twitter.com/care2much18/status/1282004491714342912?s=21

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,766 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

Travel letter template from Reddit.
    Dear

I have concerns regarding the reports of American tourists entering and travelling around Ireland without any restrictions (by reports, none of them are isolating) This is an insult to the people in this country who went into lockdown, thousands losing their jobs and yet we done it willingly in order to protect the citizens of this country. Allowing visitors from the most infected country in the world to arrive on our shores is an absolute disgrace and more importantly it again puts our frontline workers in danger. The government needs to step up to the mark and either ban American tourists or put more stringent measures in place.

Kind regards

Send it to your local TDs.
    https://www.whoismytd.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,161 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

This tweet is crazy, I knew flu put a strain on hospitals each year but had no idea of the actual extent in actual numbers

I'm missing what the point of that tweet is??? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,439 ✭✭✭sideswipe

Virus is out of control now in southern United States but yet Disneyland opened its doors back up today in Florida.

Mad country.

That was a Micky Mouse decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 524 ✭✭✭DevilsHaircut

igCorcaigh wrote: »
    Any thoughts on this reply?

50% of people not susceptible plus another 30% already exposed = approaching herd immunity in UK?

https://twitter.com/CatrionaColllns/status/1281733145851822080?s=19

The source of the claims here is not the tweeter but Karl Friston of UK Independent SAGE (the alternative to SAGE).

However, the claims remain bollocks.

I believe there is a 'paper' to come, but Friston is a neuroscientist, whose current big theory is 'free energy of the brain', or something.

Flu comparisons still after 4 months of this?

Seriously?

Depending on the country's data you read, Covid is:
    • 5-10 times more contagious than Flu
    • 5-20 times more fatal than Flu

edit: In some cases, when a country's CFR with it is 5%, it's as much as 50 times more fatal than Flu

Flu's mortality rate is 0.1% in Ireland. It's easy Maths to figure out

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 12,516 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

The source of the claims here is not the tweeter but Karl Friston of UK Independent SAGE (the alternative to SAGE).

However, the claims remain bollocks.

I believe there is a 'paper' to come, but Friston is a neurologist, whose current big theory is 'free energy of the brain', or something.

Aha! Thank you. I should have done my own detective work. Just sounding it out with the community here. Cheers DH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

ShineOn7 wrote: »
    Flu comparisons still after 4 months of this?

Seriously?

Depending on the country's data you read, Covid is:
    • 5-10 times more contagious than Flu
    • 5-20 times more fatal than Flu

Agree, this is far more serious than flu. I’m just saying I’m surprised that flu puts that many people in our hospitals each season. Not commenting on the comparison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,225 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

Taoiseach and Minister for Foreign Affairs in one constituency. Better let on ye're all in Cork South Central for maximum effect.. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,533 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

(by reports, none of them are isolating)

how do you know that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,872 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

sideswipe wrote: »
    That was a Micky Mouse decision.

It's a goofy thing to do alright.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 12,516 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

Agree, this is far more serious than flu. I’m just saying I’m surprised that flu puts that many people in our hospitals each season. Not commenting on the comparison.

Yeah, flu is very serious for older people. I keep on nagging my Dad to get the vaccine every year, but he never does.

Old man's friend, they used to call it. Takes you relatively quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,766 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

(by reports, none of them are isolating)

how do you know that?
    We know that because of the American tourists being interviewed arriving at the airport. That's not really debatable.

I think he's being fairly selective in comparing those figures tbh. Guess flu period is over more concentrated period. There is a vaccine for it but the country doesn't have restrictions every year because of it so not sure it's an accurate comparison

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,548 ✭✭✭Martina1991

igCorcaigh wrote:
    I guess it might be reasonable to suggest that shared sequences between different coronaviruses might confer some degree of immunity to covid-19 virus... I get the logic, just don't know how plausible it is.

Prof M or Martina, any views?
    I wouldnt have any concrete opinions on that but it could be possible to be of some benefit.

Like WUG said
    Yeah that’s the general theory, and even if it doesn’t confer immunity to this strain of it, coronaviruses in their nature come in varying waves with seasonal influence so that should impact it. Like most other things (long term effects, length of immunity, etc) it’s all a waiting game and observing what happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,533 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

We know that because of the American tourists being interviewed arriving at the airport. That's not really debatable.
    where is this ? I listened to newstalk no-one said they wouldn't quarantine https://www.newstalk.com/podcasts/highlights-from-the-pat-kenny-show/almost-10000-new-cases-texas-flight-arrives-dublin-dallas (shouldn't have travelled here anyway though)

Fairly incredible how Taiwan with population of 23m has handled coronavirus. Only 6 deaths and last one on 11th May.

Guess they benefit being an island and also learned lessons from SARS in 2004. Know they're not a member of WHO because of China but would be good if WHO could learn lessons how they handled it.

https://twitter.com/StevenTDennis/status/1282027395625754626

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

Eod100 wrote: »
    Fairly incredible how Taiwan with population of 23m has handled coronavirus. Only 6 deaths and last one on 11th May.

Guess they benefit being an island and also learned lessons from SARS in 2004. Know they're not a member of WHO because of China but would be good if WHO could learn lessons how they handled it.

https://twitter.com/StevenTDennis/status/1282027395625754626

Yeah they treated it for what it was.
    An initial sharp lockdown would have allowed us to get back to normal. Imagine we could be in croker now?

Our strategy of allowing anyone in means that staying home was a waste of time. Cases will build until a critical mask and we’ll be asked to ‘lockdown’ again. Kids won’t be able to go to school etc. Staycation more likely to get infected than staying home.

Would love to spend the money I usually spend on a two week sun holiday at home down the country. There isn’t a hope I’d rent a cottage if there were a chance of US family were quarantining in it. Wouldn’t trust using the same teaspoon tbh.

We’ve made a sacrifice and now are locked out from domestic tourist activities due to the non zero risk of interacting with someone coming from a high risk country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

17/18 was a very bad flu season in Europe/US so nothing typical about it at all..I think excess deaths in UK and Italy that winter were the highest since WW2. So, I think he picked a particular year for this post to mkae it more dramatic.