Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IV - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 268 ✭✭Spencer Brown

I know, right?

Imagine being so selfish, not wanting a loved one to die unnecessarily. Or to die yourself. The absolute ****ing greed of them, putting you to the inconvenience of wearing a mask on a bus or luas or in a crowded shop?! Just so they don't have to die. How ****ing selfish is it, wanting to live, if it means you can't have your two weeks in Benidorm.

Jesus ****ing Christ. Listen to yourself.

How many times does it have to be repeated. This is how the world works, it's precisely why we don't spend our entire budget on health. It's always a balancing act.

Not to mention the fact that people will also die if the economy tanks and we don't have the resources to spend on healthcare and other services.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,202 ✭✭✭✭Stark

How many times does it have to be repeated. This is how the world works, it's precisely why we don't spend our entire budget on health. It's always a balancing act.

Not to mention the fact that people will also die if the economy tanks and we don't have the resources to spend on healthcare and other services.

The poster he's replying considers it too much of an imposition to even put a mask on while on the bus. Not much "balance" there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,277 ✭✭✭TaurenDruid

Stark wrote: »
    The poster he's replying considers it too much of an imposition to even put a mask on while on the bus. Not much "balance" there.

This. Apparently it's "selfish" to want people to wear a mask, on the bus or in a shop, even though it will save the lives of vulnerable people.

===
    boards.ie default cookie settings now include "legitimate interest" for >200 companies, unless you specifically opted out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,878 ✭✭✭facehugger99

I know, right?

Imagine being so selfish, not wanting a loved one to die unnecessarily. Or to die yourself. The absolute ****ing greed of them, putting you to the inconvenience of wearing a mask on a bus or luas or in a crowded shop?! Just so they don't have to die. How ****ing selfish is it, wanting to live, if it means you can't have your two weeks in Benidorm.

Hate to break it to you - you're going to die.

Best to get on with enjoying life while you're still alive.

Turn off George Lee and Dr Tony and go out and live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,337 ✭✭✭CruelSummer

Where on Earth are the new government? They’re basically allowing Tony run the country. This is a joke. At least Leo stood up to them in the end and reopened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,203 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

I know, right?

The lack of awareness and empathy is unreal.

He wants to go on holiday, and feels he is being pressured into not doing it by someone who is trying to prevent a loved-one from becoming seriously ill. Most people who have thoughts like that have the cop-on to keep their mouths shut.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,543 ✭✭✭Dante7

Where on Earth are the new government? They’re basically allowing Tony run the country. This is a joke. At least Leo stood up to them in the end and reopened.

Hildegarde Naughton was on The Tonight Show last night and when asked about Ireland's plan, she said she didn't know. All this "Do Not Travel" media onslaught is to buy them time as they have no plan to deal with travel. They have no adequate procedures in place to prevent an infected person returning from Iraq or Pakistan or Brazil, so they just issue a blanket ban.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

I know, right?

They are still acting selfishly according to the criteria they use to accuse others of the same thing. That was my point.

But on the bigger point, life is going back to normal and that will mean that vulnerable people will have to remain very vigilant until a vaccine is found. Just as they do in flu season. The herd will only be held back for so long. It is human nature.

Stark wrote: »

I don't actually. If we were to see very high and climbing rates of infection I would have no problem wearing a mask on a bus. The fact is we have almost zero community infection and we are taking steps to move away from restrictions.

This. Apparently it's "selfish" to want people to wear a mask, on the bus or in a shop, even though it will save the lives of vulnerable people.

You know very well that I spoke of restrictions in general when referring to selfishness. But, I suppose you'll do what you do...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,339 ✭✭✭Allinall

polesheep wrote: »
    I don't actually. If we were to see very high and climbing rates of infection I would have no problem wearing a mask on a bus. The fact is we have almost zero community infection and we are taking steps to move away from restrictions.

You do realize that the wearing of masks is to prevent a climbing rate of infection, not a reaction to it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,142 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

Hate to break it to you - you're going to die.

Best to get on with enjoying life while you're still alive.

Turn off George Lee and Dr Tony and go out and live.

Though you were banned?

Allinall wrote: »
    You do realize that the wearing of masks is to prevent a climbing rate of infection, not a reaction to it?

Then why were they not mandatory previously? Dr Holohan has come around to promoting masks and opposing travel because he is desperate to cling to the power that he has been given over the populace. We need a strong government to wrest back power to where it belongs.

Ah here! Your having a laugh aren’t ya!
    Wear the mask to stop the spread of infections not because of the rate of infections!!
    You quote that we are taking steps to move away from restrictions as if you care about the steps, while at the same telling us if infections go up you’ll wear a mask on a bus when masks are already mandatory on a bus when we have low community infections.
    Ffs make up your mind!

Then why were they not mandatory previously? Dr Holohan has come around to promoting masks and opposing travel because he is desperate to cling to the power that he has been given over the populace. We need a strong government to wrest back power to where it belongs.

I think you belong in the conspiracy thread.

tom1ie wrote: »
    Ah here! Your having a laugh aren’t ya!
    Wear the mask to stop the spread of infections not because of the rate of infections!!
    You quote that we are taking steps to move away from restrictions as if you care about the steps, while at the same telling us if infections go up you’ll wear a mask on a bus when masks are already mandatory on a bus when we have low community infections.
    Ffs make up your mind!

You aren't being very clear.

tom1ie wrote: »
    I think you belong in the conspiracy thread.

Perhaps I do, but there can be no denying that the levers of power are not entirely in government hands, where they belong.

You aren't being very clear.

How so?

Perhaps I do, but there can be no denying that the levers of power are not entirely in government hands, where they belong.

The government doesn’t have the medical expertise to deal with a pandemic.
    NPHET do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭skelly22

Indeed.

Holohan at the wheel, unobstructed. Utterly depressing.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,673 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Dante7 wrote: »
    Hildegarde Naughton was on The Tonight Show last night and when asked about Ireland's plan, she said she didn't know. All this "Do Not Travel" media onslaught is to buy them time as they have no plan to deal with travel. They have no adequate procedures in place to prevent an infected person returning from Iraq or Pakistan or Brazil, so they just issue a blanket ban.

As time goes on, this is probably a factor for sure. Im scratching my head at Ireland opting out of the EU agreement today on the safe list (thus leaving our borders open to all countries) while preaching to people not to travel.

Other EU countries have additional steps such as automated temperature tests, contact tracing apps etc.

As it stands, our borders are open with no checks on incoming arrivals bar a voluntary quarantine, and free movement for people travelling from NI.

But no holidays for the Paddies. :rolleyes:

faceman wrote: »
    As time goes on, this is probably a factor for sure. Im scratching my head at Ireland opting out of the EU agreement today on the safe list (thus leaving our borders open to all countries) while preaching to people not to travel.

Other EU countries have additional steps such as automated temperature tests, contact tracing apps etc.

As it stands, our borders are open with no checks on incoming arrivals bar a voluntary quarantine, and free movement for people travelling from NI.

But no holidays for the Paddies. :rolleyes:

It’s such a slap in the face for hard working families who have put thousands into their holidays. Being asked to throw that money down the toilet during these times & after such a stressful lockdown? And going against the ECDC and others too?
    And all the while the Germans and others travel no bother & actually have a plan that won’t destroy their economy + their citizens mental health.
    More importantly however, the Irish economy will be destroyed by this move long term. Many businesses here need good connectivity and international travel to remain here. Not to mention how many jobs & airlines will go bust. Other countries will look far more appealing with their borders managed and well controlled.

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-8475107/Easyjet-sack-5-000-staff-close-three-bases.html

Coming soon to Ireland...and this is with the U.K. actually planning on reopening some travel over the summer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 917 ✭✭✭MickeyLeari

I agree with masks in certain circumstances and happy to wear one flying and in airports and in public transport etc.

But I also agree that the previous Govt and the CMO made an absolute mess of the messaging on this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,447 ✭✭✭Ginger n Lemon

GocRh wrote: »
    While Mr. Holohan wants Irish people to stay in Ireland, the HSE can't even be arsed to do a proper job of ensuring social distancing requirements in our hospitals.

Vast majority of cases are from a hospital setting, according to NPHET's own data - far larger than travel and you don't see Holohan making a big deal of it!

Meanwhile in St. Vincent's hospital:

'Carried out in St Vincent's public hospital, it found that compliance with wearing face masks was as low as 14pc.
    When asked if they were following the two-metre physical distancing rule, only 31.4pc of staff said they were complying.'

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/health/just-one-in-seven-staff-wearing-face-masks-at-hospital-39327208.html

Wow. Even our nurses arent wearing masks.

Damn. Yeah lets ban all foreign travel, thats where the issue lies :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,878 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Wow. Even our nurses arent wearing masks.

Damn. Yeah lets ban all foreign travel, thats where the issue lies :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

That €2billion we're spending on PPE this year is looking like money well spent.

But sure let's focus on people heading off for 2-weeks holidays instead.

It's actually amusing how easily influenced a lot of people are by RTE and that goon Holohan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,447 ✭✭✭Ginger n Lemon

People promoting masks - where do you live?

I went to city center today, 2 people out of 40 wearing a mask on my train. nobody wearing a mask on the train back. There were 4 people per train carriage, in same space you could fit 80 people.

Tons of Gardai standing around convention center today, 0 masks there also. Another example of waste of taxpayers money.

Shops around IFSC - no masks to be seen.

But, I did wear a mask, at the barbers today and I took it off after 15 mins. They checked my temperature at the start, got my contact details, made me sanitize my hands, all of the good stuff. I took it off during the haircut though as, frankly, its fkin woeful. It is NOT comfortable. I have no idea how do people wear them for hours, barber was giving out as well, he has to wear the bloody thing the entire day. Finds it very difficult to breath, so did I.

When people post "I agree with masks and dont mind wearing them" have you actually wore one for more than 10 mins in enclosed space? I felt horrible 15 mins in a barbers with door opened to the street for some more fresh air other than air con. It is genuinely not easy to breath. I wont mention the ludicrous look...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,947 ✭✭✭0gac3yjefb5sv7

I went to city center today, 2 people out of 40 wearing a mask on my train. nobody wearing a mask on the train back. There were 4 people per train carriage, in same space you could fit 80 people.

Tons of Gardai standing around convention center today, 0 masks there also. Another example of waste of taxpayers money.

But, I did wear a mask, at the barbers today and I took it off after 15 mins. They checked my temperature at the start, got my contact details, made me sanitize my hands, all of the good stuff. I took it off during the haircut though as, frankly, its fkin woeful. It is NOT comfortable. I have no idea how do people wear them for hours, barber was giving out as well, he has to wear the bloody thing the entire day. Finds it very difficult to breath, so did I.

When people post "I agree with masks and dont mind wearing them" have you actually wore one for more than 10 mins in enclosed space? I felt horrible 15 mins in a barbers with door opened to the street for some more fresh air other than air con. It is genuinely not easy to breath. I wont mention the ludicrous look...

It's not that uncomfortable. Get used to it or get a better mask.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,130 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Has our new Taoiseach made a statement on the matter yet?

He better say something definitive very soon, or he will lose more of his gruaig.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,673 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

I wear them in the shops/stores/malls. Not those disposable ones though, I have a few fabric ones with a sleeve for filters. Once you get one with a the right fit, you get used to them. Its disappointing to see so little take up of mask wearing in Ireland, even more disappointing that the government has less care given there is no imputus to make them mandatory despite the overwhelming scientific evidence of the difference they make