Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IV - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

I think that in bold really gives out how you think.

Relative safety?

And you dont want me to accuse you of living in fear? come on now.

I think its obvious what this thread comes down to now, now that all restrictions except on pubs are lifted come Monday. Get busy living or get busy staying safe.

Do you want 25% of the population who would be at higher risk to lock themselves away indefinitely? Now they don't have do as the risk is quite low, if they choose to that is their own prerogative, but they can now get on with life with the rest of us. A Swedish or southern US strategy would have left people at continued high risk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,447 ✭✭✭Ginger n Lemon

- Not all nursing homes were affected, mainly private ones because they rotate agency staff. The onus was on the businesses that run those nursing homes. Yet they take no blame.
    - We went into lockdown quiet early, there was only 20 daily cases when we entered lockdown on March 5th. Most countries waited for alot more cases.
    - Reopening, things are going well, our cases aren't jumping like other countries.

We didnt even shut down schools before 12th of March?

Temple bar was going strong until 23rd of March?

We did not enter lockdown early. And remember, you had 20 cases on 5th of March because your testing capacity was like 500 people per week. :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,356 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Lisbon back in lockdown of sorts now. Depressing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,892 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

WHO also said that banning travel from China in January was a bad idea.

WHO also posted 3% mortality for covid in March.

Have you been following WHO this entire time? oh boy :rolleyes:

Yep they based the travel ban based on Sars and previous pandemics. Do you want us to close the world down everytime a region has a pandemic?

Do you want 25% of the population who would be at higher risk to lock themselves away indefinitely? Now they don't have do as the risk is quite low, if they choose to that is their own prerogative, but they can now get on with life with the rest of us. A Swedish or southern US strategy would have left people at continued high risk.

What is this aboslute shi*e about 25% vulnerable population?

Are you telling me that we had 1,700 vulnerable die out of 1,250,000? Is this really how you think??? WOAH no wonder you are all so supportive of our govts actions :D:D:D you lot saved over a million lives it seems staying at home watching netflix? Have we been applauding the wrong crowd? :rolleyes:

MadYaker wrote: »

Portugal here I come

We didnt even shut down schools before 12th of March?

Temple bar was going strong until 23rd of March?

We did not enter lockdown early. And remember, you had 20 cases on 5th of March because your testing capacity was like 500 people per week. :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

But if we shut things down earlier you be giving out.

We had low cases when the temple bar incident happened. The people were asked to behave and they couldn't, hence there is a perfect example why pubs can't open, as we can't behave unless its enforced on us

Yep they based the travel ban based on Sars and previous pandemics. Do you want us to close the world down everytime a region has a pandemic?

Damn. I never laughed so hard.

No, no i want to keep borders opened for all the beautiful people of Wuhan, China. Lets welcome their planes. Lets listen to WHO :D:D:D :rolleyes:

But if we shut things down earlier you be giving out.

We had low cases when the temple bar incident happened. The people were asked to behave and they couldn't, hence there is a perfect example why pubs can't open, as we can't behave unless its enforced on us

We cant behave unless its enforced? So house parties have been enforced onto us? :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

What is this aboslute shi*e about 25% vulnerable population?

Are you telling me that we had 1,700 vulnerable die out of 1,250,000? Is this really how you think??? WOAH no wonder you are all so supportive of our govts actions :D:D:D you lot saved over a million lives it seems staying at home watching netflix? Have we been applauding the wrong crowd? :rolleyes:

I am sorry, I was going to reply but your post is incoherent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭skelly22

Spain warning of a return to "State of Emergency". They only came out of 3 months of this yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭GocRh

There's quite a bit of exaggeration on the media (panic gets more clicks I guess).
    Lisbon is implementing localised containment measures, not any different from what we've seen in other countries that have reopened (i.e. South Korea).

That's the new norm - localised and targeted restrictions. I'd expect the same to happen in Ireland once our economy reopens.
    FYI bars and restaurants have been allowed to reopen in Lisbon since mid-May. What happened isn't by any means an explosion of cases.

I am sorry, I was going to reply but your post is incoherent

Please dont.

There is some rubbish nonsense notion of 25% of Irish population (thats 1,200,000 people) being "vulnerable" to covid. I dont want to entertain this trolling of epic proportions any further.

If we have 25% of population with heart disease, cancer, lung disease, then god help us. If you are blindly counting over 65s as vulnerable - you need to do some serious research.

We cant behave unless its enforced? So house parties have been enforced onto us? :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Another example of we can't behave,. Sadly we didnt deploy the army to handle these people

GocRh wrote: »
    There's quite a bit of exaggeration on the media (panic gets more clicks I guess).
    Lisbon is implementing localised containment measures, not any different from what we've seen in other countries that have reopened (i.e. South Korea).

That's the new norm - localised and targeted restrictions. I'd expect the same to happen in Ireland once our economy reopens.
    FYI bars and restaurants have been allowed to reopen in Lisbon since mid-May. What happened isn't by any means an explosion of cases.

Thats every day now since we flattened the curve in 1st week of May. Does the job though, people are googling German R number with great curiosity every day etc. Sad. Very sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

GocRh wrote: »

It's illegal partying at the root of this outbreak, one with 1,000 people.

https://www.reuters.com/article/us-health-coronavirus-portugal/some-lisbon-nightlife-back-under-curfew-after-illegal-partying-idUSKBN23T2J5

Another example of we can't behave,. Sadly we didnt deploy the army to handle these people

What is this I dont even know..

Please dont.

There is some rubbish nonsense notion of 25% of Irish population (thats 1,200,000 people) being "vulnerable" to covid. I dont want to entertain this trolling of epic proportions any further.

If we have 25% of population with heart disease, cancer, lung disease, then god help us. If you are blindly counting over 65s as vulnerable - you need to do some serious research.

Now you have managed to make a point but - 11.7% over 65, 25% obese, Estimated to be 797,000 people with Hypertension, 470,000 people with Asthma, heart disease, strokes, cancer patients, COPD...........all these would not necessarily die with covid, but do have greater risks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭GocRh

is_that_so wrote: »
    It's illegal partying

Exactly, people were not following restrictions that were already in place, so the govt decided to take more drastic measures.

Meanwhile in Dublin, plenty of people (200+) were having takeaway drinks in South William Street this Sunday, no one respecting the 2 metre distance. A Garda car drove by and did nothing.

If we had nice weather like Lisbon we'd certainly be seeing even larger gatherings!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Birdie Num Num

Please dont.

A little knowledge is a dangerous thing. Many people that have underlying issues are not in danger of dying of those underlying issues. Some people are diagnosed with chronic illness which they can very much live with and live long. Such a diagnosis is far from a death sentence but may need to be managed by medication. In many cases the medication can be the suppressant of the immune system not the condition itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,397 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

Thats so much in rubbish in bold even you know it. Why dont you quantify? Show us "some" figures? What is this "some" nonsense?

Jesus Christ, get out of the bubble of this thread you live in and meet with reality. So many people are suffering long term effects after having the virus.

But you, detached from reality, I guess by choice, call it as nonsense? And it's hilarious you ask for figures and quantification, because when you're often given it, you dismiss them as they're not from the right source for you and contradict your ill advised opinions.

Hurrache wrote: »
    Jesus Christ, get out of the bubble of this thread you live in and meet with reality. So many people are suffering long term affects after having the virus.

But you, detached from reality, I guess by choice, call it as nonsense? And it's hilarious you ask for figures and quantification, because when you're often given it, you dismiss them as they're not from the right source for you and contradict your ill advised opinions.

One of the known long term effect is lung damage. The capacity of the lung decreases. I know of two people who were strong runners, had the virus last March and still slowly recovery, mainly walks at the moment, they can't run

Jesus Christ, get out of the bubble of this thread you live in and meet with reality. So many people are suffering long term affects after having the virus.

Still no numbers.

Covid hasnt even been around for 6 months, you call it long term effects? its quite obvious you dont know what long term means. :rolleyes:

One of the known long term effect is lung damage. The capacity of the lung decreases. I know of two people who were strong runners, had the virus last March and still slowly recovery, mainly walks at the moment, they can't run
    Yeah, I'm aware of debilitating effects like that, also many get severe bouts of tiredness and lethargy lasting days. Some research also highlighting brain damage.

But I guess because we didn't put this in bold and have specific figures, it's not true, or it doesn't make some people take their head out of their sand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,894 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

Jayesdiem wrote: »
    That’s outrageous to say, even more so given non- or partial-lockdown countries pretty much had the same results as us and hundreds, maybe thousands of lockdown-breaking protests resulted in.......birdsong.

It's getting more and more difficult to discern satire from deliberate misinformation or lack of knowledge.

CoViD-19 is three to four times as contagious as seasonal influenza¹ and in Ireland has killed over six times as many in the last four months² as seasonal flu does in a bad year³.

¹ https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Basic_reproduction_number
    ² https://www.gov.ie/en/news/7e0924-latest-updates-on-covid-19-coronavirus/#the-latest-news-as-of-545pm-on-monday-22-june
    ³ https://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/health-family/flu-season-is-upon-us-here-s-everything-you-need-to-know-1.4039201?mode=amp

Yeah, I'm aware of debilitating effects like that, also many get severe bouts of tiredness and lethargy lasting days. Some research also highlighting brain damage.

But I guess because we didn't put this in bold and have specific figures, it's not true, or it doesn't make some people take their head out of their sand.

For completeness sake I hope you agree that many (50%+) of people who have tested covid positive did not feel a thing and didnt even know they had covid. I believe latest HSE testing result is that 70% of new cases were asymptomatic, first week of June results anyways.

It's getting more and more difficult to discern satire from deliberate misinformation or lack of knowledge.

CoViD-19 is three to four times as contagious as seasonal influenza¹ and in Ireland has killed over six times as many in the last four months² as seasonal flu does in a bad year³.

¹ https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Basic_reproduction_number
    ² https://www.gov.ie/en/news/7e0924-latest-updates-on-covid-19-coronavirus/#the-latest-news-as-of-545pm-on-monday-22-june
    ³ https://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/health-family/flu-season-is-upon-us-here-s-everything-you-need-to-know-1.4039201?mode=amp

Your facts are the wrong facts therefore they can be ignored until they invent alternative facts

For completeness sake I hope you agree that many (50%+) of people who have tested covid positive did not feel a thing and didnt even know they had covid. I believe latest HSE testing result is that 70% of new cases were asymptomatic, first week of June results anyways.

Row, row, row back you go and swiftly change direction, merrily, merrily......

Still no numbers.

Covid hasnt even been around for 6 months, you call it long term effects? its quite obvious you dont know what long term means. :rolleyes:

Because its a respiratory disease, they know the type of lasting effects if can have on some people.

Row, row, row back you go and swiftly change direction, merrily, merrily......

Truth hurt doesnt it? 70% + asymptomatic. do not feel a thing. There is not even 1 hour "effect" of covid on them, not even 10 minutes. Let alone your imagination of "long term".

Now row back to the fantasy land where 3 months is "long term".