Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IV - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

Disagree = scaremongering - ye are ridiculous at this stage lads

Have an actual close read of the forum lad!

Covid causes you to lose limbs. People will need lung transplants. People will suffer from organ failure. 2nd wave is coming in Autumn... strap yourselves in! Record number of cases in Zimbabwe.

It’s embarrassing stuff at this point.

For whatever reason, people are dying for this illness to be much more serious than it. They just can’t accept that the death toll is WAY lower than anticipated and most people recover fairly quickly.

On a more serious note, below is very very worrying (it is not an estimate, it is factual data btw)

"Covid-19 welfare payment numbers fall but huge number still need Government support

However, areas where the return to work got underway a few weeks ago, including construction, continue to have a large number of employees availing of the payment.

There were 39,700 construction employees receiving a payment last week, down from 45,500 from a week earlier.

The number of wholesale and retail workers needing the payment fell by 9,600 in the week, as shops started to reopen, but the total number of retail workers on the scheme remains at an elevated level, at 63,600.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/business/covid-19-welfare-payment-numbers-fall-but-huge-number-still-need-government-support-1006764.html

Construction sites re opened 18th of May. We are now 23rd of June and still 40k construction workers receive 350 a week?? surely should be all back working?

There is a positive trend week on week as restrictions have been lifted - when this trend slows down is when we need to be worried. It was never going to lift off overnight. Large multinationals have suspended the majority of capital expenditure globally due to cash flow issues and that is having a knock-on effect unrelated to the particular restrictions we have in place here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,447 ✭✭✭Ginger n Lemon

Covid causes you to lose limbs. People will need lung transplants. People will suffer from organ failure. 2nd wave is coming in Autumn... strap yourselves in! Record number of cases in Zimbabwe.

For whatever reason, people are dying for this illness to be much more serious than it. They just can’t accept that the death toll is WAY lower than anticipated and most people recover fairly quickly.

:D So true. it is only on this thread i found out what is Haikkodu, its an actual place in Japan! :pac:

Challenge what you disagree with with facts instead of shouting scaremongering like its the Salem witch trials. People may still disagree with you, but you will have more credibility

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Absolutely, but there's a clear push from some posters to play down the effects of the virus as much as possible while talking up the other effects to a similar degree. People want to just put it all behind us, which is understandable but just not realistic.

Of course there a push to play down the effects of a virus we were told would have taken 120k lives in Ireland by now.

Thank god some posters have an ability to see the wood from the trees and apply common sense and critical thinking.

Its no more dangerous to those healthy enough to not be in a nursing home or hospital than any other seasonal illness.

I spend a considerable amount of time in a large pharmaceutical in Mayo, contractors have resumed work over 2 months now.

With a workforce of over 3k, I would of expected to have had to hold a few Guards of honour for fallen comerades by now, going by what folk were told would happen of course

:D So true. it is only on this thread i found out what is Haikkodu, its an actual place in Japan! :pac:

Hokkaido. Haikkodu sounds like the practice of reciting short poems while practising Judo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,397 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

Are you getting frustrated that people here aren’t eating up your scaremongering?

If anyone is afraid of reality, that's all down to yourselves.

If you want to be in a cosy group of people who throw out incorrect comments and don't want to be faced with the actual contradictions, like with what's happening now, it's a private newsgroup you're looking for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

I think what has happened in Germany with that meat factory and the resulting re-imposition of restrictions could be a sign of things to come across Europe. As long as the virus is around, pockets like that are likely to emerge.

We have as we were asked to "flattened the curve" substantially. Even one month ago, four cases and zero deaths seemed impossible. Localised lock-down of areas with small pockets will be tolerated and much better understood and accepted by everyone. In March, despite early assertions by the CMO, it quickly became apparent that the virus was rampant in the community. This is no longer the case and given the majority of people's trained behaviours surely won't happen again.

If a meat plant in Clonmel becomes rampant, a 20km radius could be shutdown for say two weeks initially and if the picture is clearer after two weeks, then lift again. Surely this is the new way forward. A second nationwide lockdown will not be tolerated nor is it anyway practical. Life has to move on at some stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭Jackman25

Hurrache wrote: »

If you want to be in a cosy group of people who throw out incorrect comments and don't want to be faced with the actual contradictions, like with what's happening now, it's a private newsgroup you're looking for.

The reality is that its down to a handful of cases per day in this country and your average Joe has almost no chance of contracting it.

Jackman25 wrote: »
    The reality is that its down to a handful of cases per day in this country and your average Joe has almost no chance of contracting it.

So why are people afraid of it so?

If they claim it's anything to do with what I've posted, and I've posted nothing about advocating or continuing a lock down, they're making themselves afraid, or just being lazy and thrown out worthless phrases so they don't have to deal with contradictions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 917 ✭✭✭MickeyLeari

Absolutely, but there's a clear push from some posters to play down the effects of the virus as much as possible while talking up the other effects to a similar degree. People want to just put it all behind us, which is understandable but just not realistic.

Indeed but it is typically (not always) in response to petrified nonsense on the other side. All in - there seems to be very little middle ground. The reality in life is that the truth is somewhere in between.

Disclaimer, I'm posting this because I think it's amusing, not because I'm trying to 'spread fear', so for the easily frightened, look away now.

Djokovic organised a tennis tournament a while back. He opposed Covid-19 protocols in tennis, saying at the time he'll probably avoid playing in the US due to the protocols.

So he organised one in Serbia and Croatia, defending having the stands packed with spectators with no social distancing. They went out clubbing.

Himself, 3 other players, 1 pregnant wife, so far have all tested positive for it. Somewhat schadenfreude given how vocal he was about it beforehand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,894 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

There is little evidence at all to suggest that you are going to lose limbs to Covid. Did that even happen?
    There is little evidence to suggest you are going to have chronic lung issues.
    Nick Cordero, 41 year old American actor with no known underlying health issues ore CoViD-19 infection
    https://www.washingtonpost.com/nation/2020/04/20/nick-cordero-leg-coronavirus/

Ground glass type opacities in the lung are well documented. The same micro clots can cause liver, kidney, heart or brain damage. While severe complications are not very common, neither are they very rare. Even people with very mild symptoms can experience ongoing reduced lung capacity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭NH2013

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/make-way-for-summer-government-taskforce-says-non-essential-air-travel-ban-should-be-lifted-on-july-1-39308901.html

Government taskforce recommends the removal of the recommendation against non-essential air travel to other countries from the 1st of July.

While I'm in favour of the lifting of restrictions I do feel that it should only be to countries with similar levels of infection per capita, ruling out the USA and Brazil for the next month or two and probably ruling out the UK for another month until their numbers continue on the downward trend, but quite happy to see a tailored approach being taken on a country by country basis based on risk and not just the previous blanket ban.

Disclaimer, I'm posting this because I think it's amusing, not because I'm trying to 'spread fear', so for the easily frightened, look away now.

Djokovic organised a tennis tournament a while back. He opposed Covid-19 protocols in tennis, saying at the time he'll probably avoid playing in the US due to the protocols.

So he organised one in Serbia and Croatia, defending having the stands packed with spectators with no social distancing. They went out clubbing.

Himself, 3 other players, 1 pregnant wife, so far have all tested positive for it. Somewhat schadenfreude given how vocal he was about it beforehand.

The fact he's not in hospital on a ventilator makes that a non story, he's got a mild illness that he wasn't afraid of contracting.

Also look up schadenfreude, its you that suffering from it.
    The fact someone wanted to continue life as normal not sit indoors indefinately and then contracted Covid isnt a case of schadenfreude, someone that suggests it serves him right on the other hand . . . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

HSE services returning on a phased basis.
    It said it has committed to publishing a strategic framework document, outlining its overall approach and phased resumption of services, taking into account the Covid-19 environment in which services will need to work.

https://www.rte.ie/news/health/2020/0623/1149157-hospital-services-to-return-on-a-phased-basis-say-hse/

The fact he's not in hospital on a ventilator makes that a non story, he's got a mild illness that he wasn't afraid of contracting.

This is brilliant. Is it an automatic response at this stage to swipe away any story mentioning someone catching the virus, even ones that are posted for levity?
    I did warn you to look away.

And eh, yeah, I posted a certain word for an obvious reason, which seems to have gone right over your head. I'll give you a hint to its meaning, it's doesn't mean it serves someone right, maybe your dictionary is broke, or got the virus.

The constant selective ignorance from your guys is a great source of amusement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,203 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

They're terrified. You can feel their fear. Unable to accept reality.

Terrified of wearing a mask. A mask, a tiny bit of material?
    Telling everyone how mild this is, even though they know it isn't. Trying to bend reality to placate their fear.
    Terrified of being asked to do something for the community rather than themselves.
    Pointing and laughing at other people like teenagers. We know it's all fake.
    Terrified to actually be seen to do something which most other people are doing because they would have to acknowledge they are not actually different, or smarter, or better.

Someone who isn't fearful will not be afraid to wear a mask, or help other people in their community, or make changes to their lifestyle.

, it's doesn't mean it serves someone right, maybe your dictionary is broke, or got the virus.

No its taking pleasure in other peoples misfortune.

He had misfortune to contract Covid, you took pleasure in using it to bolster a weakening argument.

There's a few poster's here guilty of it, your not alone to be fair to you

Nick Cordero, 41 year old American actor with no known underlying health issues ore CoViD-19 infection
    https://www.washingtonpost.com/nation/2020/04/20/nick-cordero-leg-coronavirus/

Ground glass type opacities in the lung are well documented. The same micro clots can cause liver, kidney, heart or brain damage. While severe complications are not very common, neither are they very rare. Even people with very mild symptoms can experience ongoing reduced lung capacity.

So 1 case then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭Allinall

No its taking pleasure in other peoples misfortune.

He had misfortune to contract Covid, you took pleasure in using it to bolster a weakening argument.

There's a few poster's here guilty of it, your not alone to be fair to you

It wasn’t misfortune.

It was stupidity.

hmmm wrote: »

Telling everyone how mild this is, even though they know it isn't. Trying to bend reality to placate their fear.
    Terrified of being asked to do something for the community rather than themselves.
    Terrified to actually be seen to do something which most other people are doing because they would have to acknowledge they are not actually different, or smarter, or better.

Someone who isn't fearful will not be afraid to wear a mask, or help other people in their community, or make changes to their lifestyle.

I think the people that are most afraid are the ones that continually supported the lockdown and some still don't want restrictions lifted. The ones that doubt that people are actually recovering. The ones that post stories of 1 man who lost his leg.

A lot of people want the restrictions lifted because we are not afraid of the virus. We understand its mild but dangerous for elderly people in poor health. We need to get back to normality and do what we can to shield those elderly people in poor health.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

you took pleasure in using it to bolster a weakening argument.

What on earth are you talking about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,203 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

We understand its mild but dangerous for elderly people in poor health. We need to get back to normality and do what we can to shield those elderly people in poor health.
    There we go. You know full well that this can affect people who are not "elderly and in poor health". Why are you so afraid to acknowledge that?

Allinall wrote: »
    It wasn’t misfortune.

It was stupidity.

Those who get infected with Covid are stupid?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭skelly22

You've clearly been convinced that wearing a mask is going to save lots of lives in your community. Good for you. I haven't. Quite the opposite, no matter how many photo-shopped photos of Simon Harris wearing one get sent my way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭Allinall

Those who get infected with Covid are stupid?

If they’re not taking reasonable precautions, then yes.

Just to note. I didn’t say he was stupid.
    I said what he did was stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,462 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Just got an email from AerLingus with their offers for routes restarting 1st July. Looks like they're going ahead anyway with trying to get back up and running

There we go. You know full well that this can affect people who are not "elderly and in poor health". Why are you so afraid to acknowledge that?

It CAN but generally doesn't. Backed up by actual stats.

How many Irish people under 60 have died? Less than 100?

How many under 40? Less than 20?

In a population of almost 5M.

I probably have more chance of drowning in my own bath.