Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Random Wrestling Thoughts (Part 2)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,968 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Is Ember Moon still injured or with wwe?

She's still with WWE and I think she's had surgery on her injury but she said on WWE backstage on fox that she's not sure if it's career ending or not which would be a shame.

My own random thought as I'm here. Why have WWE not pushed ruby riott at all ? I know she was injured but she's back. At a time when it seems all the ****ehawks are getting called out, you have someone like her who is a brilliant wrestler and unless I've missed something is a grade A human being.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,197 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    She's still with WWE and I think she's had surgery on her injury but she said on WWE backstage on fox that she's not sure if it's career ending or not which would be a shame.

My own random thought as I'm here. Why have WWE not pushed ruby riott at all ? I know she was injured but she's back. At a time when it seems all the ****ehawks are getting called out, you have someone like her who is a brilliant wrestler and unless I've missed something is a grade A human being.

Not Charlotte Flair enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,968 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Not Charlotte Flair enough

Neither were Becky and others including Sasha banks but they still have gotten a run of varying degrees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,012 ✭✭✭✭briany

I've seen wrestlers react to Twitter criticism with some variation of calling the critics a basement-dwelling mark. That'd be fine, unless they're also responding to Twitter praise with a glowing few lines on the supportiveness of same fans.

That kind of double standard is a bit annoying, and makes certain wrestlers look like simple egotists who resort to a cheap defence mechanism whenever their work receives criticism.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 15,959 Mod ✭✭✭✭Furious-Red

Neither were Becky and others including Sasha banks but they still have gotten a run of varying degrees.

I dont think they were expecting Becky to blow up imo after her attacking Charlotte so they just ran with it(similar to Daniel Bryan).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,023 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

Yeah in NXT and even when they got called up, the 4 Horsewomen of NXT were pretty much Charlotte, Bayley, Sasha and the other one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,522 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Could be anything really. Not blonde enough, not part of the Four Horsewomen, not attractive enough (Not that i'm saying she's unattractive or anything just that WWE might have a problem with her punk look). They really only seem to want to push a select few females while the rest are kind've ignored. It would be nice to see Ruby getting a push and have someone fresh for a change.

They'd be able to create an Irish faction now but I think it would be cringeworthy. Would end up looking like the Un-Americans or The League of Nations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,931 ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

I always wanted a LWO shirt, this is practically the same shirt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,836 ✭✭✭SureYWouldntYa

It looks like something from a gift shop in Temple Bar

Dont think its worth the money €40.50 with shipping

It was probably a paddy's day novelty

Best time to order off wwe shop is when any show is on TV. Always 2 for 1 etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

I like it and I'd get a knock off version of it instead of giving the WWE any money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,990 ✭✭✭✭Lithium93_

Haven't gotten any WWE merchandise in 12 years. The Edge tshirt I did get faded after 2 washes. Any wrestling tshirts gotten since have been from Pro Wrestling Tees.

I can imagine a **** Irish version of the NWO (an Irish jig version of the NWO theme)

Doing heel promos

'Years of oppression, been ordered and kicked around, houses and land all taken away. This time we're setting it right we're here to take it back and take over'

'We built all of America and all we get is looked down upon. No thanks. If it wasn't for us you'd all be in hell hole but I guess 'insert city' is a hell hole'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Pentecost

Yeah I always liked Ruby. They seemed to be fairly high on her before she got injured, and they could do with new faces in the women's title picture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,012 ✭✭✭✭briany

People give WWE huge stick for being a bland product, but the last 15 years has made it impossible to be anything else. And even with that, these scandals emerge from behind the scenes that force them to play it safe and clean up their act even more, be it steroid abuse, drug abuse, rape and bullying. You couldn't even approach an AE era level of spontaneity these days as someone is bound to say or do something dumb that would potentially sink the company due to a massive social media campaign and subsequent loss of advertisers and TV time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,483 ✭✭✭The White Wolf

Pentecost wrote: »
    Yeah I always liked Ruby. They seemed to be fairly high on her before she got injured, and they could do with new faces in the women's title picture.

The fed Ruby to Ronda just before she got injured and very much had the role of elevated jobber to the stars. Quite embarrassing treatment really given two of those stars fecked out to have a kid.

She absolutely deserved, and still does, much better. What has she been doing since being jobbed to Liv Morgan a few weeks in a row?

I can see the non in-ring diva thread becoming “problematic” in the current climate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,591 ✭✭✭bennyl10

Omackeral wrote: »
    I can see the non in-ring diva thread becoming “problematic” in the current climate

It is almost certainly problematic.

That’s nothing to do with the current climate. The fact it specifies non in ring talent for women?

Ya it’s borderline creepy.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 31,026 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

I was about to agree with you, but then remembered that a lot of the pictures in it come from the women's own Instagram accounts. They're sharing the photographs/videos themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

This has been talked about multiple times before. Boards PW has precisely 0 women posters. That’s in a time where I’ve never known a period in wrestling where more women have both followed the product and engaged in the discussion about wrestling. You can try spin that however you want but there’s no way it’s not damning. Reddit has been absolutely ossified, not just in wrestling but elsewhere too, for those kind of threads. They don’t belong in 2020, the world has moved on. It’s not wrong to be attracted to people, it’s the most natural thing in the world and literally how we’re all here, but sharing your masturbation material publicly is mank, basement-dwelling carry on. I have zero interest in what some lonely neckbeard cracked one off to last night, if someone tried talking to me about that in the real world I’d just leave the room and avoid that person forever. Most people feel the same. Go find a corner of the Internet especially for that if that’s what you’re into, it’s not appropriate out in public.

The only reason Boards doesn’t get the same grief is because Boards is slowly drifting into irrelevance so nobody even cares what’s said or done here anymore, they just ignore it. That’s sad because Twitter has its own issues and life’s big issues can’t be discussed/understood/summed up in 280 characters, while Reddit is just a bunch of kids playing to the gallery for upvotes. But Boards hasn’t adjusted to the times and so we’re left with ‘an effective way people can discuss their interests’ married with ‘populated by people/behaviour that drives people away from it’. So while nobody is going to stop you if mods aren’t cracking down on it and people aren’t naturally growing out of that attitude, you’ll see it in stuff like 0 women posters and other users just abandoning ship altogether. Which is exactly what’s happening.

leggo wrote: »
    This has been talked about multiple times before. Boards PW has precisely 0 women posters.

Put some respect on JP Liz’s name.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 23,037 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

This has been talked about multiple times before. Boards PW has precisely 0 women posters....

You don't know how many female posters there are. Rightly so people will point to Liz as her name highlights her gender but I don't think posters have to state their genders as it isn't relevant what their gender is. Your description of the posters who do post in that thread however could be considered as being highly offensive. You might not care if you offend those people but it is not as if they only post in that thread, many of them are very valued members of the PW community so cut it out.

If people have objections to something report it. For instance if enough people had a problem with that thread and reported it maybe things would be changed or say if a couple of people reported your post I just quoted (which they did) I will act and warn you over it. I'm not a heavy handed mod but I try to not ignore warning signs such as multiple reports and I hope you don't ignore the warning sign that is a mod directly addressing you now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,013 ✭✭✭✭jaykhunter

Agreed BH. Leggo, that's a lot of vitriol for Sunday morning. May be a good time to step away from the internet for a few days and enjoy the sunshine.

I host the Yearly Awards here. The diva’s thread won thread of the year on multiple occasions which means that the majority here like it. So I mean either everyone’s wrong or...

Also, who is posting the glamour shots uploaded onto the women’s Instagram accounts? Is it... the women themselves? Women are allowed to have agency over their actions. Creep shots and filthy comments about what you’d like to them aren’t ok. Saying they’re stunning, hot or beautiful is absolutely fine. A lot of the content is out there for people to look at for that reason.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,934 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

I was about to agree with you, but then remembered that a lot of the pictures in it come from the women's own Instagram accounts. They're sharing the photographs/videos themselves.
    But Boards hasn’t adjusted to the times and so we’re left with ‘an effective way people can discuss their interests’ married with ‘populated by people/behaviour that drives people away from it’. So while nobody is going to stop you if mods aren’t cracking down on it and people aren’t naturally growing out of that attitude, you’ll see it in stuff like 0 women posters and other users just abandoning ship altogether. Which is exactly what’s happening.

Its hard to respond to this either specifically as a mod or a poster. I'm also well aware that I'm coming at this from an angle where as a guy, I'm open to the fact I could be exposing my ignorance on the issue. Given BH and Jay have responded already, I don't want this to look like mods lumping on, so this post really is more as a poster than mod. Cause I think there's a fair point being discussed (provided people can stay away from attacking posters and stick to the discussion in a calm manner).

And it's probably going to be some random thoughts plugged into a single post.

With that specific thread, I do find it can be a tad creepy. I've never been one of "those" guys who enjoys talking with other guys about women, in that manner. "Hey lads, let's all have a discussion about the size of this woman's boobs!" The "locker room talk" has never been something I've been massively comfortable with.

On the other hand, it's a fair point to raise that the vast majority of the posts in such threads are professional photoshoots and pictures that the women involved share themselves. And its hard to deny that guys and girls enjoy looking at pictures of whatever they are attracted too. Wrestling, and the entertainment industry in general, is massively driven by titillation and sexualisation.

I don't think it's a "boards.ie" issue only; I think there's an arguement that Reddit (as an example) separates those sorts of things off more. The nature of Reddit, as opposed to the nature of Boards.ie, is that there's 100 sub-reddits dedicated to various aspects of wrestling alone.

So yeah, you've got "Squared Circle", where there's more serious discussion of news, spoilers, events. You've also got dedicated sub-reddits to the various men and women, and if you think the thread on here is creepy, some of the people posting in those go so far beyond that, it's scary. You've got "stans" on Twitter who are obsessed to a level of being stalkers. You've got instagram accounts where people are sending dick pics around. This isn't a massive defense of boards.ie. It's more that internet culture, by and large, exposes a lot of creepy elements. Its an internet level issue, not just one specific to here.

With regards the thread in question, I can't say I have much interest in participating. But I also think that if there's some that want to, within certain reason, then it's not nessecarily up to me (as a mod) to police to THAT extent. (Now, leaks should be a no-no. Candids too, too an extent. Professional photoshoots and stuff though, that the wrestlers involved have put themselves voluntarily into the public sphere is a different issue though, at least in my opinion).

Now, thats not a hill i'd die on at all. If there was a massive thought to bin the thread, I'd as happily bin it. It's not that such a thread adds much at all.

And I'll happily apologize if anyone feels that is facilitating poor behaviour that leads to larger problems. I'll happily apologize if a consensus forms that a thread like that turns people off the forum as a whole.

I'd just currently be of the opinion that while i'm not massively comfortable talking like that about people like that, I don't think an over-sterilization of the internet is possible or sensible. In fact, I'd worry trying to argue to that level actually can hinder the overall issues, because all it does is goes to an extreme that it will turn people off recognizing the genuinely horrific issues before us. It's the same as the banning of certain episodes of Faulty Towers; it's going to such an extreme in dealing with the issue that it blows right past what the issues actually are, and puts people off actually engaging positively.

Infernum wrote: »
    But, one thing that always bugged me about the Royal Rumble is how eliminated participants are given freewill to re-enter the ring to assault and eliminate the person that eliminated them. How/why would that even make sense in kayfabe?

Vader did it in 96 and his eliminations were nulled. They're inconsistent with the rules. What I'll say is illegitimate eliminations can be good for pushing storylines outside of the winner like Michaels/Angle and HBK/Jericho.

Another one they're inconsistent with is DQs. Finlay got disqualified for using a shellaleigh in 2008

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Pentecost

My two cents is that the thread is pretty much dying a slow death anyway it's nowhere near as busy at it was. I think, and I'm guilty myself no doubt, that it was quite a shallow discussion at times but I don't think the intention was ever to be creepy or obsessive.

These are beautiful and confident women who as said above publicly posted the vast majority of the pictures themselves. I don't see the harm in talking about who you like or don't like, provided it doesn't cross a line. For the record I'd have no issue with a similar thread on male wrestlers either if there was similar interest in it.

I tend to think the forum as a whole and the mods in particular know when that line is crossed and don't encourage it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

jaykhunter wrote: »
    Agreed BH. Leggo, that's a lot of vitriol for Sunday morning. May be a good time to step away from the internet for a few days and enjoy the sunshine.

You’re kinda applying motive where there is none, feel free to use your mod abilities if you can to see that it’s not a thread I follow, have posted in or (if you can see as much) even clicked on. So to assume I’m angry with it or anyone who uses it would be false. I actually enjoyed writing that particular post because it’s farcical that that place still exists so laying out that farce was kinda fun.

Apologies if I’ve overlooked the one woman who posts here, no disrespect intended. But still lads come on... “No women post here!” “Uh, we have one!” That hardly changes the point. If anything if you actually do see that as a success it’s even more tragic than acknowledging the clear issue at hand.

The reality is this **** and failure to address it is killing off the entire board. You’re seeing it in the pitiful lack of women posters and the abandonment rate for regulars. Interest and engagement in wrestling has shot up in Ireland in recent years. Boards.ie’s Google search optimisation is still top notch. The entire country has the Internet in their pockets now so, because of the latter point, knows boards exists but consciously chooses to ignore it. It’s not lack of exposure that’s killing it, it’s user behaviour, attitude and the reputation that comes with that. That’s the standout dip on this forum because general conversation etc tends to be quite a decent standard. And if anything the fact that there isn’t an outrage about it with everything else going on just shows how much boards has fallen in relevance, it’s gone from being *the* place in Ireland to discuss wrestling to being a punchline or something people get nostalgic about like it doesn’t even exist anymore.

Put simply, if there was a ‘Racist Jokes’ thread would you allow it? This is the same. It’s something that was okay once that isn’t anymore because the world has evolved, and it offends people to the point of just quitting altogether: watch the pushback and unanimous support for that anytime someone makes an off-colour comment. Users already feel this way, you’re missing the conversation the entire wrestling world is having all week if you don’t see that. Cop on and update your values to fit in 2020 lads instead of pretending to worry about my Sunday plans, nice one.

You’re kinda applying motive where there is none, feel free to use your mod abilities if you can to see that it’s not a thread I follow, have posted in or (if you can see as much) even clicked on.

Then how do you know what's even in it? Or the tone of it. Or if ''basement dwelling losers'' are actually really discussing what they jack off to?
    Put simply, if there was a ‘Racist Jokes’ thread would you allow it?

What's that got to do with wrestling? Why would it be here? The thread we're discussing features wrestlers and wrestling personalities.
    This is the same.

How is it? I thought you don't follow, post in or click on the thread?
    It’s something that was okay once that isn’t anymore because the world has evolved, and it offends people to the point of just quitting altogether

You're the only one coming off as offended here. Honestly.
    watch the pushback and unanimous support for that anytime someone makes an off-colour comment. Users already feel this way. Cop on and update your values to fit in 2020 lads instead of pretending to worry about my Sunday plans, nice one.

Or... you worry about your own values and stop telling people what they should feel. And maybe stop telling the mod team how to do their jobs while you're at it. 2 out of 3 of them deemed your post out of order. For once, just accept it. If you can't, then maybe the ol' board isn't for ya anymore, y'know, with it not reflecting your values and all. Something to think about maybe.