Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IV - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,696 ✭✭✭Penfailed

s1ippy wrote: »
    Just not the case at all.

Ah sure lookit, who cares about facts?!

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,627 ✭✭✭Micky 32

Penfailed wrote: »
    Ah sure lookit, who cares about facts?!

Which facts? The genuine facts or the boards armchair expert facts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,746 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

Micky 32 wrote: »

great soundbite though nonetheless:D

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

The chances of catching the virus are MORE likely than winning the lottery. Those facts.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭AUDI20

'It's literally like' burning your house down because the washing machine is leaking .

The lockdown was never the answer. There was an easily identifiable demographic most at risk that should have been targeted. Sensible precautions amongst the rest of the population would have been more than enough to control spread. If a cost/benefit analysis is ever carried out it will show that the billions we have lost through this nonsense could have been far better spent and saved far more lives than what we decided to do. We are currently on-course to flush €2billion down the toilet this year on PPE - what a fcuking horrific waste of finite resources.
    Do you really understand how contagious and dangerous this virus is, from your posts you think its only as bad as a simple cold. Lockdown was always the answer as all other Countries had to lockdown as well, Lockdown here wasn't as restricted as some of the Lockdowns in other's like Italy, Spain and even China. just 16 in ICU and the now very low cases daily just proves how successful the lockdown has been to suppress the virus. The Ukraine for example came out of lockdown very quickly and their numbers have shot up dramatically in the last few days with 950 recorded cases yesterday and we all know now what happened with Swedens approach. As for PPE gear, its absolutely necessary for our frontline workers and money well spent. We seen what happened with Sensible precautions early on with people flocking to Beauty Spots, Beaches and Holiday Homes resulting in extra power of enforcement given the the Garda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,790 ✭✭✭Benimar

Genuine fact: odds on winning the Irish Lotto are 1 in 10,737,573 based on pure maths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 788 ✭✭✭SNNUS

Even Sam McConkey who was ultra cautious has stated that it's one in a million
    chance of contracting the virus now and to crack on with life.. So stop hiding
    behind yer couch and get out there!

https://www.rte.ie/news/coronavirus/2020/0620/1148611-coronavirus-reaction/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭Jackman25

Benimar wrote: »
    Genuine fact: odds on winning the Irish Lotto are 1 in 10,737,573 based on pure maths.

What are the odds of a non-healthcare or meat factory worker getting it now (and not in contact with either of above either)?

Not quite lottery, but must be very high.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭crossman47

SNNUS wrote: »
    Even Sam McConkey who was ultra cautious has stated that it's one in a million
    chance of contracting the virus now and to crack on with life.. So stop hiding
    behind yer couch and get out there!

https://www.rte.ie/news/coronavirus/2020/0620/1148611-coronavirus-reaction/

Read what he said in full. One in a million outside of known chains of infection. These chains will get longer now as people mix more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭PixieValentine

'It's literally like' burning your house down because the washing machine is leaking .

The lockdown was never the answer. There was an easily identifiable demographic most at risk that should have been targeted. Sensible precautions amongst the rest of the population would have been more than enough to control spread. If a cost/benefit analysis is ever carried out it will show that the billions we have lost through this nonsense could have been far better spent and saved far more lives than what we decided to do. We are currently on-course to flush €2billion down the toilet this year on PPE - what a fcuking horrific waste of finite resources.

We locked down when the scenes in Italy were beyond terrifying and we had no way to know that wasn’t going to be us next. Was it the right move? Maybe, maybe not. We know not everything about the way we did things was right, and there was certainly things that could have been done differently and better, but I think maybe we won’t know for sure for years exactly how we should have handled it. We know lockdown helped though. It helped the hospitals not to collapse. It helped save lives. Yes, it had a cost. A big one. One no government in the world, certainly not ours who prided themselves so on the economy and then basically swung a sledgehammer at it, would have chosen to bring on us if they didn’t feel like there was no other option. We did what we did to try to save lives and avert disaster on a scale that would have been far more horrifying and devastating if the virus had gone out of control and ravaged Ireland.

And I’d argue that you’re not home and dry just by protecting the easily identifiable at risk population. That’s one of the things that’s terrifying about this virus- that it’s incredibly contagious and we still know SO little about it. For plenty it’s ok, if they get it they’ll recover, but then, there’s the people who on paper should be ok, shouldn’t be at any great risk, who are young/healthy/whatever, and still end up deeply ill. Wasn’t there something about a 2-week-old baby dying from it in the UK who had no other conditions just recently? I don’t know if there’s been an update to that story, if it turned out there was underlying complications they didn’t know about. Apologies if that’s the case, as it then isn’t an example of what I’m saying. But that’s not the only story like that. Young and healthy people have gotten very ill, and have died, from this virus. It’s not just the elderly and the people who have other conditions. It’s more complicated than that.

And we definitely didn’t “flush money down the toilet” on PPE. Speaking as someone who has numerous frontline doctors and nurses in my family, I am incredibly grateful for the money spent and the efforts gone to, to try and equip our healthcare workers with the protection they need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭The HorsesMouth

https://www.rte.ie/news/2020/0620/1148615-coronavirus-weddings/

This is mad! How is anyone supposed to plan this in advance. You're going to have a situation there where hotel scrimps on staff to get more bums on seats.
    Why couldn't they have put a lower number e.g 40 or 80 guests and presume staff is roughly 10 or 20 .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 788 ✭✭✭SNNUS

crossman47 wrote: »
    Read what he said in full. One in a million outside of known chains of infection. These chains will get longer now as people mix more.

And...? Seriously the fear mongering still goes on.. I don't know if you are happy or sad that the virus is diminishing..

The chances of catching the virus are MORE likely than winning the lottery. Those facts.

Ah, the pick and choose facts. I gathered by your post that you were reffering to all fact(s) that are being discussed on the thread.

Benimar wrote: »

I wasn’t reffering to one fact, i was reffering to all the facts on this thread. Btw i don’t believe you have more chance winning the lotto for what it’s worth.

Ah, the pick and choose facts. I gathered by your post that you were reffering to all fact(s) that are being discussed on the thread.

No. That's part of the problem with the thread. People are seeing things that aren't there.

If you see the post I quoted and the post that they quoted, it's about the lottery thing.

No. That's part of the problem with the thread. People are seeing things that aren't there.

If you see the post I quoted and the post that they quoted, it's about the lottery thing.

But lets be honest, we all know deep down it goes further than that. “ who cares about facts” has a wider meaning.

'...We all know...' Except you don't. I was being specific. You read more into it, or took it out of context...or whatever.

Nah, going by your posting history i know the truth. There’s a difference between the word “fact” and “ facts” ;-). Anyway regarding the facts, goes for both sides of the bickering the armchair experts on boards should be taken with a pinch of salt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,945 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

If it goes to 1m, people won't respect it.

Much easier to observe 2m.

I say, keep it for as long as possible

Nah, going by your posting history i know the truth. There’s a difference between the word “fact” and “ facts” ;-). Anyway regarding the facts, goes for both sides of the bickering the armchair experts on boards should be taken with a pinch of salt.

Ah here, you know the truth...yeah. There's little point in me saying any more on the matter in that case. I'll bow out of this strand of the conversation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭NotMOL

If it goes to 1m, people won't respect it.

Much easier to observe 2m.

I say, keep it for as long as possible

Do you know how small 1m is? Even before the virus you were probably at least 1m away from people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Not to speak for them, but that posters post appeared to be tongue in cheek to me.

Also, we're still 9 days away from any changes. We remain the only country in the EU with internal national travel restrictions, hotels closed, bars closed, restaurants closed, hairdressers/beauticians closed, churches closed. Literally the only country. https://reopen.europa.eu/en/map/IRL

So while the further speeding up is obviously very welcome, it doesn't change the fact that we are weeks and weeks and weeks behind literally every other EU country. Irrefutably.

The sniping at anyone who is annoyed at Ireland being such a massive outlier is unfair and goading for the sake of it.
    Some posters never learnt the virtue of patience and the need for acceptance of things we cannot change. We've learnt new things about ourselves too in this and not all of it is good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭Heckler

I have no doubt at all that the lockdown and precautions taken stopped this virus from getting out of control. Now its pretty much dead in the water so rightly so restrictions are being lifted. And in fairness from day one the govt. said they would accelerate the easing if things went well and they are doing that.

Probably there will be an increase in cases as people get out and about but lessons learned in the last 4 months means it will be containable and controllable.

I've being working throughout and have had dark days worrying like pretty much everybody else. But its over now. From my experience being out and about while a lot were staying home my faith in humanity is restored quite a bit. People are fundamentally good and a lot of patience and goodwill was evident from most I've see and encountered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭crossman47

SNNUS wrote: »
    And...? Seriously the fear mongering still goes on.. I don't know if you are happy or sad that the virus is diminishing..

I'm very glad its diminishing. But I can't understand people railing against the fact we had to lockdown. Its like those who said, after January 2000, that the whole Y2K issue was a con because planes didn't fall out of the sky. They didn't because precautions were taken. We were right to have one and seem to be exiting at about the right pace but each of us must still be extremely careful in case we get the virus and pass it on to vulnerable people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭acequion

Heckler wrote: »
    I have no doubt at all that the lockdown and precautions taken stopped this virus from getting out of control. Now its pretty much dead in the water so rightly so restrictions are being lifted. And in fairness from day one the govt. said they would accelerate the easing if things went well and they are doing that.

Probably there will be an increase in cases as people get out and about but lessons learned in the last 4 months means it will be containable and controllable.

I've being working throughout and have had dark days worrying like pretty much everybody else. But its over now. From my experience being out and about while a lot were staying home my faith in humanity is restored quite a bit. People are fundamentally good and a lot of patience and goodwill was evident from most I've see and encountered.

I'm not sure I'd share your heartening belief that people are fundamentally good. The pandemic revealed a lot about people, some good, some far from good and nowhere was that more evident than here on line.On an internet forum the veneer of civility /sociability is often stripped to a minimum and you get the real person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,892 ✭✭✭✭road_high

acequion wrote: »
    I'm not sure I'd share your heartening belief that people are fundamentally good. The pandemic revealed a lot about people, some good, some far from good and nowhere was that more evident than here on line.On an internet forum the veneer of civility /sociability is often stripped to a minimum and you get the real person.

The “I’m alright jack” selfish was apparent to me but I knew it was there just never had to experience so widely before. All started in early March with the panic buying of food and bog roll. So long as I’m grand then who cares about anyone else?
    Right the way through these perma panicked people were the most vocal in terms of lockdown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭snowcat

road_high wrote: »
    The “I’m alright jack” selfish was apparent to me but I knew it was there just never had to experience so widely before. All started in early March with the panic buying of food and bog roll. So long as I’m grand then who cares about anyone else?
    Right the way through these perma panicked people were the most vocal in terms of lockdown.

People are sheep. There was nothing so evident then when the lockdown was announced, hoarding toilet roll and household cleaner. It was stupid. It was obvious a face covering would protect the spread of the virus but we had our masters saying it would not. It was farsical watching people with 48 toilet rolls in their trolley and no face coverings. People need to use a bit of cop on at times.
    As for wearing one now. The mind boggles. You have a greater chance of being mugged by a knife wielding rat then getting Covid in Lidl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,203 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

acequion wrote: »
    We've seen an amazing response by the public to the appeals to social distance - there's been a few gobdaws throughout this who think they are above it all, but in general people have stepped up. On the one hand most people know they could be affected by the virus personally, but in general most people have done what they did because of concern for other people in their community and families. It's been great to see.

And yes it has revealed a lot about people. It has caused me to have a think about certain business relationships where the people involved have been loudly critical of measures to control spread, and on the other hand will cause me to give more custom to some others. We found out who stepped up for our communities when the chips were down.

It's not over yet of course. Some people folded after a week or two, but most are still doing their bit to keep a bit of distance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,414 ✭✭✭Pete_Cavan

crossman47 wrote: »
    I'm very glad its diminishing. But I can't understand people railing against the fact we had to lockdown. Its like those who said, after January 2000, that the whole Y2K issue was a con because planes didn't fall out of the sky. They didn't because precautions were taken. We were right to have one and seem to be exiting at about the right pace but each of us must still be extremely careful in case we get the virus and pass it on to vulnerable people.

Very few were railing against the fact we had to lockdown but many rightly questioned the speed at which we were lifting restrictions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,255 ✭✭✭joeguevara

Can someone answer a question for me that has been wrecking my head from the start of lockdown and anyone I ask doesn’t have a clue. Why was Burger King allowed to stay open for the entirety of lockdown but every single McDonalds closed?