Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IV - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,644 ✭✭✭RoryMac

Did I catch it wrong or did Tony Holohan just say when asked about the 1m or 2m just say it was up to people themselves to decide what they felt was a safe environment??

He certainly didn't say 2m was still in place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,601 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

kind of shows how out of touch they were when they announced the first roadmap/phases

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭TheDoctor

PTH2009 wrote: »
    kind of shows how out of touch they were when they announced the first roadmap/phases

Simply a case of under promising and over delivering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,278 ✭✭✭TaurenDruid

You say "out of touch", I say "erring on the side of caution."

They were listening to the experts (and still are), and the experts were saying - quite rightly! - "We really don't know enough about this yet, but if numbers keep growing the way they are, we're screwed. We absolutely must flatten the curve."

Most other European countries did that too, and hey, it's working.

A couple of countries said no, it'll be grand, "herd immunity!", "keep the economy going at all costs!" and, well...

===
    boards.ie default cookie settings now include "legitimate interest" for >200 companies, unless you specifically opted out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,462 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Taoiseach Leo Varadkar and Chief Medical Officer Tony Holohan have said they will review the limits on indoor and outdoor gatherings in July and August but that gatherings of more than 5000 won't take place before 31 August.

Mr Varadkar said there was no date set for changing these measures but they would be reviewed every two to three weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,729 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

Laughing at the weddings though with the 2 metre rule in place. LOL.

tumblr_p8sqr3a6uV1toamj8o1_500.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,729 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

Heckler wrote: »
    Sam McConkey on the Last Word now saying it 1 in a million chance of picking up covid19..

there was a one in a million chance back at the start of march too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,168 ✭✭✭ronano

Have travel restrictions been lifted or likely to be lifted by 29th June? Can't see mention of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,555 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

there was a one in a million chance back at the start of march too...

There was, but most responsible people are more conservative in their behaviour now.

It is like the snow, the first time you have people spinning wheels and sliding off the road, the second time they have snow socks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

i have been critical and ranting a bit in this forum but I'm a lot happier today now..finally some progress

although my heart sank at this

He said citizens need to continue to act responsibly and that until there is a Covid-19 vaccine, we will be living a very different kind of life.
    from RTE.

But I won't let it ruin the bit of positivity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

BTW . The indoor rule of 50 people, does that mean the 2m rule is now scrapped for things like pubs/restaurants if they stay at 50?

ronano wrote: »
    Have travel restrictions been lifted or likely to be lifted by 29th June? Can't see mention of it

A review next week I believe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,790 ✭✭✭Benimar

paw patrol wrote: »
    BTW . The indoor rule of 50 people, does that mean the 2m rule is now scrapped for things like pubs/restaurants if they stay at 50?

Yes and no. For restaurants it’s 1m as long as everyone is seated and the other precautions are in place.

That still has to be maintained. The limits are in conjunction with the other advice.

As Simon Harris put it, if your premises had a capacity of 50 before, then you cannot now have 50 people and manage to stay compliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭NotMOL

You say "out of touch", I say "erring on the side of caution."

They were listening to the experts (and still are), and the experts were saying - quite rightly! - "We really don't know enough about this yet, but if numbers keep growing the way they are, we're screwed. We absolutely must flatten the curve."

Most other European countries did that too, and hey, it's working.

A couple of countries said no, it'll be grand, "herd immunity!", "keep the economy going at all costs!" and, well...

Except when the road map was created our curve had already been flattened

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,601 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Anyone else feel all today's announcements were a little sudden esp with the 29th June been only 10 days away

I'm happy about the places opening but mentally not ready yet too go back so quick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭acequion

Anyone else feel all today's announcements were a little sudden esp with the 29th June been only 10 days away

I'm happy about the places opening but mentally not ready yet too go back so quick

Well I'm certainly ready. More than ready. I'll be off like a shot to get my hair done and to have a meal in a restaurant. Obviously I'll be doing that responsibly and respecting restrictions, if through gritted teeth as this new normal is a horrible world. But at least we're getting back out into that world.

And it's high time people were ready. Going to the hairdresser and having a meal out is what they've been doing in other countries for weeks now. And without the drama.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,153 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

Was anything mentioned about hospital visits?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭TheDoctor

Most places should be easily able to prepare with 10 days notice.

Certain shopping centre stores were opening on 10 August and on 5 June were told they could open in 10 days. Very few wouldn't have made the new date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,069 ✭✭✭Dickie10

it seems from everywhere i have read that ordinary non food pubs once they obey the rules can open june 29th? thats good for rural ireland particularly, and most rural pubs have huge big premises and not too many to cater for so normal life will resume for these places. you would really have to wonder outside of a few token visits in city centre pubs how much inspection will be done in pubs and restaurants. i think its responsibillity of owners and patrons, most like any rules that apply in pubs such as underage drinking or lads being known to drink and drive, every pub has higher and lower moral compass and patrons the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Birdie Num Num

acequion wrote: »
    Well I'm certainly ready. More than ready. I'll be off like a shot to get my hair done and to have a meal in a restaurant. Obviously I'll be doing that responsibly and respecting restrictions, if through gritted teeth as this new normal is a horrible world. But at least we're getting back out into that world.

And it's high time people were ready. Going to the hairdresser and having a meal out is what they've been doing in other countries for weeks now. And without the drama.

If drama is not your thing, you’re in the wrong thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭The HorsesMouth

Despite the great news today I might be coming across a bit pessimistic here but...
    The 50/100 numbers for indoor events like weddings and events includes the staff and any suppliers on the day. So that brings the actual guest list down.
    Also I've noticed that aquadome in tralee and waterworld in bundoran have decided to close up shop for the season.
    You'd wonder how that bodes for the likes of centre parcs etc opening up this summer.

paw patrol wrote: »

Tony Holohan was asked a direct question tonight if the 2m was still in place when restaurants opened on the 29th or was it reduced to 1m and he didn't give a straight answer. He talked about people having responsibilities for their own actions and judging the environment and if it was safe. So looks like that's gone

RoryMac wrote: »
    Tony Holohan was asked a direct question tonight if the 2m was still in place when restaurants opened on the 29th or was it reduced to 1m and he didn't give a straight answer. He talked about people having responsibilities for their own actions and judging the environment and if it was safe. So looks like that's gone

He gave a very poorly worded answer in fairness, but Harris said the 1m applies for restaurants still in a follow up question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,278 ✭✭✭TaurenDruid

Benimar wrote: »
    He gave a very poorly worded answer in fairness, but Harris said the 1m applies for restaurants still in a follow up question.

1m; or 2m?

===
    boards.ie default cookie settings now include "legitimate interest" for >200 companies, unless you specifically opted out!

It was a very direct and specific question on the 1m or 2m he answered which would make me wonder why he didn't give a simple answer.

And Harris is exactly known for his attention to detail. Surprised I haven't seen more discussion online to clarify it

1m; or 2m?
    It was a very direct and specific question on the 1m or 2m he answered which would make me wonder why he didn't give a simple answer.

And Harris is exactly known for his attention to detail. Surprised I haven't seen more discussion online to clarify it

I think he just fcuked up the answer.

He was trying to say that it’s not as simple as saying everything is 2m or 1m. My reading of the documents that have come out is that 2m is still the norm, but can be reduced to 1m of other precautions are taken ie: everyone seated, less than 2 hours together etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 621 ✭✭✭Sheepdish1

TheDoctor wrote: »
    Most places should be easily able to prepare with 10 days notice.

Certain shopping centre stores were opening on 10 August and on 5 June were told they could open in 10 days. Very few wouldn't have made the new date.

I think they need to open back up to try and get some sort of trade in while we are still in the summer, if another wave happens in the winter months and we have to lockdown again it would mean that trade for all winter months would be gone too. At least this way if that happens there will be few months of trade if things needs to be tightened up again. If we left it until August or even mid July it would cost us so much more in terms of social welfare and loss of revenue. It didn’t take many admissions for our ICU’s to become overwhelmed but I would be optimistic a treatment will have been found by the winter months if it does hit here again !

I think he just fcuked up the answer.

He was trying to say that it’s not as simple as saying everything is 2m or 1m. My reading of the documents that have come out is that 2m is still the norm, but can be reduced to 1m of other precautions are taken ie: everyone seated, less than 2 hours together etc.

Not having a go at you but it couldn't have been a simpler question to answer, it was literally "with restaurants opening on June 29th will they still have to comply with the 2m restriction or will it be reduced to 1m?"

If it's not a simple answer it should be or it will lead to noncompliance as there will be confusion about the rules.

I'm guessing the distance will be reduced to 1m after next Thursday's cabinet meeting and he didn't want to say 2m this week and 1m next week but that's just a hunch

Not having a go at you but it couldn't have been a simpler question to answer, it was literally "with restaurants opening on June 29th will they still have to comply with the 2m restriction or will it be reduced to 1m?"

If it's not a simple answer it should be or it will lead to noncompliance as there will be confusion about the rules.

I'm guessing the distance will be reduced to 1m after next Thursday's cabinet meeting and he didn't want to say 2m this week and 1m next week but that's just a hunch

But I suppose the answer is that the restaurants can pick either. 2m and no additional measures or 1m with time limits etc.

As there will be a max capacity of 50, some larger restaurants might now stick to 2m and not have to hunt people out after 105mins.

EDIT: either way, it’s not less than 1m!

But I suppose the answer is that the restaurants can pick either. 2m and no additional measures or 1m with time limits etc.

As there will be a max capacity of 50, some larger restaurants might now stick to 2m and not have to hunt people out after 105mins.

EDIT: either way, it’s not less than 1m!

According to Tony we can decide ourselves if we're comfortable with the environment