Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IV - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭td2008

I am too poor and dont have IT subscription (not that I would get it if had money, they write rubbish articles about 2nd waves every week)

But below looks promising as a headline?

Programme for government: Carbon tax increases but no hikes in income tax or USC
    Fianna Fáil, Fine Gael and the Greens agree draft with Martin set to become next taoiseach

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/programme-for-government-carbon-tax-increases-but-no-hikes-in-income-tax-or-usc-1.4279318?mode=sample&auth-failed=1&pw-origin=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.irishtimes.com%2Fnews%2Fpolitics%2Fprogramme-for-government-carbon-tax-increases-but-no-hikes-in-income-tax-or-usc-1.4279318

Can someone confirm/deny if no income tax increases or USC?

On income tax and USC, the final document says:

“There will be no increases in income tax or USC rates.”

“In budget 2021, there will be no change to income tax credits or bands. From budget 2022 onwards, in the event that incomes are again rising as the economy recovers, credits and bands will be indexed linked to earnings. This will be done to prevent an increase in the real burden of income tax, to prevent more low-income workers being taken into the tax net because of no changes to the tax system and to ensure there is no increase in the number people having to pay higher income tax and USC rates.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭road_high

The penny is starting to drop.

A sledgehammer across the head would t get it through to Rte. #stayhomestaybankrupt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,462 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

road_high wrote: »
    Sharon Ni Bheolain RTE News-re Aer Lingus cuts- "this is pretty dramatic stuff..." yes you dumb cushioned public servant- when a business is doing 5% of normal business you can expect massive job and pay cuts :rolleyes:

It was like the unions are after playing a game of chicken with AerLingus and have lost and lost badly. It's no shock really

I’d say the company is just in dire straits regardless of the unions

• Closed Accounts Posts: 917 ✭✭✭MickeyLeari

Is the State supporting this strategy with the Covid payment and the travel advice. The State is on the hook for what pay there is and EI can then just legally wind down the company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,462 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

road_high wrote: »
    I’d say the company is just in dire straits regardless of the unions

Oh yeah it is but they put to them a range of emergency measures that could be implemented to avoid cutting wages down to 30%

End this ridiculous lockdown and get people back flying without this 14 day quarantine nonsense! And get these people back to work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,427 ✭✭✭mooseknunkle

Waterford hasn't had a positive case in 8 days ,and at 154 total cases the lowest in country..so what do the Gardai do?,go around to all the business's trying to make a living and tell them they cant have tables outside until the 29th :rolleyes:

https://waterford-news.ie/2020/06/15/al-fresco-coffees-banned-until-june-29/?fbclid=IwAR2eUM2B-VwVPxblWxkjgbDJ6wzzkMe9_k4JjubnMTshZFS1MRzkcYjFFWI

Waterford hasn't had a positive case in 8 days ,and at 154 total cases the lowest in country..so what do the Gardai do?,go around to all the business's trying to make a living and tell them they cant have tables outside until the 29th :rolleyes:

https://waterford-news.ie/2020/06/15/al-fresco-coffees-banned-until-june-29/?fbclid=IwAR2eUM2B-VwVPxblWxkjgbDJ6wzzkMe9_k4JjubnMTshZFS1MRzkcYjFFWI

Where is the political leadership here? All hiding behind this complete bull****e. The Gardai have really gotten on my wick throughout this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭GocRh

jay0109 wrote: »
    I knew the airports were always open but I was under the impression that was for Irish nationals returning and non Irish leaving here to go home. But to listen to Liveline today and hear that Brazilians are still coming into Ireland to start language school courses (aka take u full time employment) was a bit shocking.
    Of all the places right now to be letting people in from, Brazil!

Crazy stuff indeed. I don't understand why there are no official entry restrictions... Schengen countries have only allowed citizens and residents to enter for months now, and yet anyone can try to enter Ireland!
    What's the point of quarantine if we allow people from countries with significant covid cases to get on a flight and spend hours in custody in Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭Santy2015

Watching CBlive there.. they had a good slot at the start about vaccine and treatments for COVID-19 and then they end the show with this drivel. Can’t go one show without being negative. Full of crap!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,491 ✭✭✭dalyboy

Santy2015 wrote: »
    Watching CBlive there.. they had a good slot at the start about vaccine and treatments for COVID-19 and then they end the show with this drivel. Can’t go one show without being negative. Full of crap!!

Byrne can’t possibly be as dumb as she’s portraying herself. She actually said earlier “antibody testing is inaccurate because if you’ve had covid you can certainly get it again” ..... ahh Claire wakey wakey ... !!! It was scientifically confirmed 4 weeks ago that if you have the covid antibodies you WONT get it again. Talk about keeping the ignorant public misinformed and fearful.

The government saying they won’t increase tax or USC reminds me of when we were told a bailout wasn’t needed and then got bailed out a few weeks later.

We’ve already heard awful news coming from Debenhams, Bewleys, Zara, Monsoon and mothercare.

Bad news coming out now from Aer Lingus. Bad noises from AIB over the last few months.

Sales figures and footfall massively down in shops. Social distancing making it impossible for some businesses.

Things are going to get very bad over here. Feel like the government are trying to downplay it at the minute so we take the virus seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,729 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

read my lips, no new taxes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭Santy2015

The government saying they won’t increase tax or USC reminds me of when we were told a bailout wasn’t needed and then got bailed out a few weeks later.

We’ve already heard awful news coming from Debenhams, Bewleys, Zara, Monsoon and mothercare.

Bad news coming out now from Aer Lingus. Bad noises from AIB over the last few months.

Sales figures and footfall massively down in shops. Social distancing making it impossible for some businesses.

Things are going to get very bad over here. Feel like the government are trying to downplay it at the minute so we take the virus seriously.
    They need to end restrictions on the 29th of June. Save some of the summer, get those people back to work and hopefully get a bounce. It’s shocking what’s happening on Patrick’s Street in cork and around the country.
    How many lives are going to be affected in the aftermath of covid?? A lot more then what has been the case already. Poverty will increase and a lot more people will suffer from mental illness due to pressures of work and home.
    End the lockdown and try our best to get back on our feet. The well-being of this country and its people need to come before a virus. We need to live beside it and stop being so terrifying it. The curtain twitching brigade want doomsday but they’ll be waiting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,278 ✭✭✭TaurenDruid

dalyboy wrote: »
    Byrne can’t possibly be as dumb as she’s portraying herself. She actually said earlier “antibody testing is inaccurate because if you’ve had covid you can certainly get it again” ..... ahh Claire wakey wakey ... !!! It was scientifically confirmed 4 weeks ago that if you have the covid antibodies you WONT get it again. Talk about keeping the ignorant public misinformed and fearful.

Got a link for that? Cos I just searched for that and can't find anything of the sort. Lots of "we're not sure if this is a reactivation or a reinfection" and "more research needed", but no "you can't get covid a second time." I mean, if that were the case, great - and Bojo and Cummings herd immunity would be the way to go, probably. But that's not what appears to be the case.

Please don't spread misinformation about this.

===
    boards.ie default cookie settings now include "legitimate interest" for >200 companies, unless you specifically opted out!

Covid is dead and buried. ZERO deaths today. The biggest problem we as a nation now face is the 2M social distancing and huge negative ramifications it results in. Personal well-being , educational , social , economic and spending morale have crashed to basement level. There is no way there’ll be a significant upsurge while 2M’s remains. It’s the hallmark of negativity day in & day out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 788 ✭✭✭SNNUS

Shannon airport is now destroyed, Aer lingus may not return, United have axed their route, swissport to lay off half their staff, no bar restaurant or duty free or other services, yet so many thought a €350 a week prolonged lockdown would not have any consequences...

Got a link for that? Cos I just searched for that and can't find anything of the sort. Lots of "we're not sure if this is a reactivation or a reinfection" and "more research needed", but no "you can't get covid a second time." I mean, if that were the case, great - and Bojo and Cummings herd immunity would be the way to go, probably. But that's not what appears to be the case.

Please don't spread misinformation about this.

Maybe you should tell these guys to stop spreading misinformation too.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.sciencenews.org/article/coronavirus-covid19-reinfection-immune-response/amp

https://www.google.com/amp/s/m.hindustantimes.com/world-news/two-studies-indicate-reinfection-may-not-happen/story-1Ht03z9oAKxBzYR4W5Fn7M_amp.html

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.bostonglobe.com/2020/05/20/nation/two-studies-suggest-that-covid-19-antibodies-provide-immunity/%3foutputType=amp

Claire Byrne stood corrected by an expert medical panel member when she attempted to misinform the public (same public that pay her wages btw)
    You can email the show and tell them you have evidence of the contrary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,222 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

dalyboy wrote: »

Really ? Not confirmed that you won't get it again..

That research has been discussed previously.
    It shows that some immunity may be developed in response to the virus , but not how long the immunity lasts , as of yet , or if it protects against the virus in the community.

"Reinfection " as they are discussing is previously infected people still shedding strands of RNA of the dead virus . It was research in response to some recovered patients apparently testing positive after being tested clear .This shedding can go on for a good few weeks after recovery.

The positive in this is that if people can develop antibodies to the virus, it is hoped that if a vaccine is discovered , it can at least give some immunity , even if short term like , for example , the current flu vaccine .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,971 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

SNNUS wrote: »
    Shannon airport is now destroyed, Aer lingus may not return, United have axed their route, swissport to lay off half their staff, no bar restaurant or duty free or other services, yet so many thought a €350 a week prolonged lockdown would not have any consequences...

I think people who thought there were no consequences were very much in a tiny minority. However those who accepted consequences of lockdown did so from an intelligent, thoughtful and understanding standpoint. Understanding that it WILL fück up the economy, but understanding that it’s going to save tens of thousands of lives. That’s the REALITY !

as a country and people we are taking a proper kicking, but ultimately our strength will be our compassion, bravery, lives saved, families and loved ones together... we might end up taking an economic kicking but we WILL be back, well, and ready to restart, rebuild, fight, fix and WIN....

Hell of a great job so far, discipline = success.

Tune out the money monkeys and the greed gobblers...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,892 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

SNNUS wrote: »

If Shannon airport has anything to offer, the airlines will return. Things will get back to normal but not over night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,888 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Strumms wrote: »
    Understanding that it WILL fück up the economy, but understanding that it’s going to save tens of thousands of lives. That’s the REALITY !

Maybe you should try 'understanding' that a fcuked up economy is going to cost tens of thousands of lives.

So we will go to 7.5% unemployment this year from practically zero and by end of 2021 we back to 1% unemployment.

Economy will contract by 8% and expand by 6% in 2021.
    If u think this is an f**k economy then you have missed the last big three proper recessions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭VonLuck

Outside seating for businesses are not permitted and they are enforcing the laws. How can you be annoyed with the Gardaí because of that?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,888 ✭✭✭facehugger99

So we will go to 7.5% unemployment this year from practically zero and by end of 2021 we back to 1% unemployment.

If u think this is an f**k economy then you have missed the last big three proper recessions.

And if you think that's what's going to happen you should stick with the fairy stories.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

That is a very optimistic scenario, the v shaped recovery is highly unlikely to happen.
    The economy will start to unwind over the next few months as government support is pulled but we won't have the option of live exports this time around so things will most likely be much worse than the last recession

That is a very optimistic scenario, the v shaped recovery is highly unlikely to happen.
    The economy will start to unwind over the next few months as government support is pulled but we won't have the option of live exports this time around so things will most likely be much worse than the last recession

Medtech sector is booming and will continue to boom and this impacts hundreds of thousands of Jobs directly and indirectly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

Medtech sector is booming and will continue to boom and this impacts hundreds of thousands of Jobs directly and indirectly

Much bigger sectors of the economy are struggling and will continue to do so

IT is booming, medtech is booming, accounting booming, construction still going strong.

Everyone I talk to are busier than ever with work.