Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Masks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭ShyMets

I'm sorry but how are those problems not insurmountable??

How is anyone supposed to police every luas stop, every train station, buses are a bit easier like i said but there's issues regardless.

Gardai are understaffed, overtimes gone, they aren't going to be assigning officers to stations all day every day and even at that 1 or 2 officers wont be able to stop everyone.

If we had a transport police it would be much easier to implement.

How would you suggest luas and rail travel is addressed then if masks were introduced, who ensures compliance there? Keeping in mind most stations aren't even staffed anymore.

Your point about trains & Luas stops in a valid one. Its not something that would be easily policed.

As the poster mentioned, if masks were made mandatory the vast majority would compile.

But yes, there will be a small amount who wont. But if we even managed to get 95% of people wearing face masks this would greatly help to slow down the spread of the virus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,557 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

How is anyone supposed to police every luas stop, every train station, buses are a bit easier like i said but there's issues regardless.

How are the guards supposed to police every road in the country?

They don't.

The reality is the vast amount of road traffic offenses are not caught by the guards.

But never have I heard another suggest we should get rid of road traffic legislation on the back of that.

You are trying to focus on a what if negative, the vast vast majority of people are law abiding.

Our politicians and public officials have utterly failed the messaging on masks, it's their own fault because they were so wishy washy about it and continue to be, the only option for compliance at this stage is to make them mandatory.

They will be. It's only a matter time now, but of course a lot of response on this has been absolutely glacial.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 122 ✭✭Chicoso

I think we've missed the boat on the masks

There's little interest out there in wearing them , hard to see the government enforcing anything

They'll maybe pass the buk onto shops and buses to enforce ir

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,452 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Boggles wrote: »
    How are the guards supposed to police every road in the country?

They don't.

The reality is the vast amount of road traffic offenses are not caught by the guards.

But never have I heard another suggest we should get rid of road traffic legislation on the back of that.

You are trying to focus on a what if negative, the vast vast majority of people are law abiding.

Our politicians and public officials have utterly failed the messaging on masks, it's their own fault because they were so wishy washy about it and continue to be, the only option for compliance at this stage is to make them mandatory.

They will be. It's only a matter time now, but of course a lot of response on this has been absolutely glacial.

The overall point is you want mandatory mask wearing, my point is without enforcement to make it mandatory I don't buy into the theory that people will simply do as they're told.

If theres nobody to enforce the rule people will as they're doing now decide themselves if they want to wear one on public transport or not.

I accept your point but your yet to suggest how it could be enforced if made mandatory

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,933 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

Yes: to protect myself and others
    Chicoso wrote: »
    I think we've missed the boat on the masks

There's little interest out there in wearing them , hard to see the government enforcing anything

They'll maybe pass the buk onto shops and buses to enforce ir

Also the message from the start seemed to be... Well masks can only prevent the wearer from spreading the virus.. As if this were a bad thing
    The participants should have been wearing them at those daily press conferences +the Gardai should have been wearing them on duty
    The whole thing has left the public confused imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

No: I will wait for the HSE to recommend
    ShyMets wrote: »
    So the mood music from the Government would suggest that face coverings on Public Transport will become compulsory sooner rather then later. Which is a good thing.

I wonder will then go further and make them mandatory in other settings. Probably not going on past form.

But I do think that mandatory face coverings in enclosed public spaces would allow us to relax the 2 meter rule, which would make a big difference to most businesses

The buses couldn’t stick to social distancing when all the driver had to do was count to 17. How will they be expected to enforce masks 🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣

The buses couldn’t stick to social distancing when all the driver had to do was count to 17. How will they be expected to enforce masks ������������

It would involve the driver stopping people getting on to buses without face coverings.

If the driver follows the guidelines then its not an issue. If they don't, then that's a different story

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭ExMachina1000

It would involve the driver stopping people getting on to buses without face coverings.

If the driver follows the guidelines then its not an issue. If they don't, then that's a different story

Driver does not have the authority nor is being paid to.
    No legislation = No mandatory wearing of masks

Driver does not have the authority nor is being paid to.
    No legislation = No mandatory wearing of masks

Currently you are correct. I am talking about a situation were it is made mandatory and legislation is introduced if required.

If legislation is introduced it will be up to the Gardai to enforce. Bus drivers dont enforce mandatory government rules

If someone tires to board a bus without paying a fare the bus driver will deny them entry and ask them to get off. If they refuse then it becomes a matter for the Gardai.

I would see Mask wearing operating in the same way.

If someone tires to board a bus without paying a fare the bus driver will deny them entry and ask them to get off. If they refuse then it becomes a matter for the Gardai.

I would see Mask wearing operating in the same way.

No fare no ride has nothing to do with government legislation though. Those are company rules.

Face mask legislation has to be policed by Gardai. Bus drivers dont have authority. I think the policing of it is the reason nothing has been done. If it makes sense to stop the virus spread it would have happened already.
    You can't expect bus drivers to control it. They collect the money and drive the bus. That's all

The overall point is you want mandatory mask wearing,

What I want or don't want is moot.

The transport companies and unions want mandatory mask wearing.
    my point is without enforcement to make it mandatory I don't buy into the theory that people will simply do as they're told.

It's not a theory, it's a fact, the vast majority of people obey the law.

No fare no ride has nothing to do with government legislation though. Those are company rules.

Face mask legislation has to be policed by Gardai. Bus drivers dont have authority. I think the policing of it is the reason nothing has been done. If it makes sense to stop the virus spread it would have happened already.
    You can't expect bus drivers to control it. They collect the money and drive the bus. That's all

#igiveup

Make it a company rule, backed up by legislation. Simple.
    If it makes sense to stop the virus spread it would have happened already.

It is stopping the spread in various European countries cited by evidence backed scientific studies on this specific virus. Maybe read the thread.

Anything else you need help with?

Make it a company rule, backed up by legislation. Simple.

It is stopping the spread in various European countries cited by evidence backed scientific studies on this specific virus. Maybe read the thread.

Anything else you need help with?

"Make it a company rule"
    Government dont get to dictate to private companies on a whim. Bus drivers aren't police. Wont happen. Must be the gardai.

I'm not disagreeing. I'll rephrase. Since masks stop the spread of the virus why haven't mandatory wearing been introduced?
    Legislation. Gardai must police it not private companies or businesses. It's not their job nor do they the legal authority

" Anything else you need help with"

No need to be cheeky because rational folk dont agree with your guessing and random thoughts.

To summarise: no legislation- no garda enforcement- no mandatory mask wearing

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

Yes: valved

They can also choose who to let on the bus. No payment, no boarding. It can work the same with masks.

Not legally they cant.

You can stop someone travelling on the bus if they won't pay because its backed up by the law. Call the Gardai.
    You cant call the Gardai because someone wont wear a mask. There is no law. There is no legislation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,446 ✭✭✭Seanergy

I'm not disagreeing. I'll rephrase. Since masks stop the spread of the virus why haven't mandatory wearing been introduced?

Legislation. Gardai must police it not private companies or businesses. It's not their job nor do they the legal authority .

You are so wrong, it's supply, supply supply.

We need a government to pass Legislation.

Might wanna update your software or reboot.

Seanergy wrote: »
    You are so wrong, it's supply, supply supply.

We need a government to pass Legislation.

Might wanna update your software or reboot.

Supply definitely is a factor but you could have a billion masks on standby if there is no legislation and legal enforcement it doesn't matter

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

Not legally they cant.

You can stop someone travelling on the bus if they won't pay because its backed up by the law. Call the Gardai.
    You cant call the Gardai because someone wont wear a mask. There is no law. There is no legislation.

Can people not be an asshole in a pandemic? "There's no legislation, I feel so big, I don't have to wear a mask". Just wear a mask, it really isn't that hard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,198 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

Yes: homemade
    Can people not be an asshole in a pandemic? "There's no legislation, I feel so big, I don't have to wear a mask". Just wear a mask, it really isn't that hard.

You can be pro mask wearing and still point out the fact that there is no legislation to enforce it.

What I want or don't want is moot.

The transport companies and unions want mandatory mask wearing.

It's not a theory, it's a fact, the vast majority of people obey the law.

Again I'll ask who would enforce or police it ? All well and good suggesting it but you've yet to say how it could be made mandatory if your simply relying on goodwill of people to do it. People obey laws because of its enforcement.

So one last time who enforces the mandatory wearing on public transport ? That's the main issue here the enforcement piece

Jim_Hodge wrote: »
    You can be pro mask wearing and still point out the fact that there is no legislation to enforce it.

And as described yesterday said legislation is "legally difficult". Same soundbites that went out around mandatory quarantine

• Closed Accounts Posts: 779 ✭✭✭Arrival

Unfortunately ExMachina1000 is raising a true point which lots of assholes will stubbornly persist on and take advantage of when it comes down to it. Remember the dickhead who recorded himself in his car telling the Gard all about how there was no law to stop him going about his business during the lockdown? Same type of prick will do the same when it comes to masks

We're very soft touched in this country and some **** take advantage of this, and it's depressing knowing nothing changes for them even during a global crisis and one which impacts so many people. Small minded idiots just hate being told what to do, even if it makes perfect sense, because they feel insecure and threatened over having to submit so they feel cool and rebellious by going against what they're told. I wish people like this were flung into the Atlantic to be honest, we'd be better off without them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭xhomelezz

The biggest problem is that government is useless, cops have no power whatsoever in Ireland, I actually feel sorry for them. All that leads to these legislation debates. Strong government would point out the issues, guidelines, orders to keep this f... Covid-19 suppressed as much as possible and open the country. I'm sorry guys, but that crap on the news...we won't make masks mandatory, but we want you to wear them..:D Getting frustrated by all these things, sorry for the rant, but WTF

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭MipMap

Yes: homemade
    Since masks stop the spread of the virus why haven't mandatory wearing been introduced?

Mandatory wearing has been introduced in countless countries including the UK and our legal system is based on their model. Every single expert in the world and health management agency in the world now, finally accept, that masks stop the spread of the virus.

A blind man on a galloping horse would tell you that a repiratory virus, shared amongst humans when one of them spits it out of his nostrils or mouth and the other inhales it through his nostrils or mouth or takes it in the eyes will be, impeded massively in this process by placing a barrier over said nostrils and mouths of both individuals.

The fact that we had three clowns, Harris, Holohan and Varadkar,for two and a half months, rubbishing their use for political reasons and their obsession with their theories of "Anticipatory Behaviour" before they had to do an about-face cos there was no one left on the planet who agreed with them, is the reason why uptake is so low.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭NotMOL

Come on man do you seriously think that bus drivers would not be happy if everyone wore a mask on their buses? People using a mask is going to stop the driver from catching the virus. So I am 100% sure that the drivers simply will not let anyone board if they are not wearing a mask

The bus and rail unions already want masks mandatory https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/face-masks-should-be-compulsory-on-buses-and-trains-nbru-1002768.html

NotMOL wrote: »
    Come on man do you seriously think that bus drivers would not be happy if everyone wore a mask on their buses? People using a mask is going to stop the driver from catching the virus. So I am 100% sure that the drivers simply will not let anyone board if they are not wearing a mask

The bus and rail unions already want masks mandatory https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/face-masks-should-be-compulsory-on-buses-and-trains-nbru-1002768.html

You keep ignoring the fact that if there is no legislation then there is no legal authority. Makes no odds otherwise. Opinion doesn't matter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Aid if someeone gets on with a mask, then removes it. What happens?