Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IV - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,222 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

polesheep wrote: »
    But other workers either never stopped working or have returned to work.

Again RTFP before posting , I can't bear having to repeat the same thing over and over ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Breezin

Goldengirl wrote: »
    I thought they were talking about getting special ed schools running for July ? Not happening?

Not sure if adults with special needs are in that category. Didn't seem so by what the caller was saying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

Again RTFP before posting , I can't bear having to repeat the same thing over and over ...

You know full well that we were referring to working in the usual environment. So for teachers that would mean in school rather than from home.

Look around you, most workers are getting on with their work without worrying about social distancing. And still the numbers are dropping.

So where are these workers and what areas , d'you want to name them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭little bess

Healthcare staff don't routinely wear PPE. Teachers can wear masks.

Yes maybe they’ll have to wear masks. Healthcare workers should wear masks, which are part of ppe, if they’re going to be within 2 meter distance of any patient, according to the HSE.
    So perhaps the same for for school staff with students.

Rodin wrote: »
    They're not at the same risk as healthcare staff and by September that risk will be negligible.

Do you know that for certain?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Rodin

Do you know that for certain?

Death and taxes are the only 2 certainties.
    Sure it's negligible now.

There'll be no 2 metre distancing in September

So where are these workers and what areas , d'you want to name them?

For goodness sake just look around you. Shop workers happy to stand alongside a person and give directions to an aisle. The tree surgeon who trimmed my tree standing beside me to discuss the job. The mechanic who fixed my car leaning into the engine bay with me to show me something. Human nature being what it is, many if not most people are acting normally, unless they are suddenly reminded or instructed to social distance.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

NotMOL wrote: »
    I was in the city yesterday and I noticed that all the Centras, Spars etc are allowing people to sit inside and eat their food. I even saw 2 guards sitting down with a sambo and coffee in the Spar on George st.

I stopped in Spar myself to have a cake and coffee, it felt like I was human again and not some diseased creature.

One of my local service station/convenience stores has a notice stating that essential personnel are exempt from the restriction to eat in the indoor sit down dining area. Anyone not in that category who does it is flouting the regulations.

Doctors and nurses get less than half the annual leave of teachers, are on duty nights and weekends and couldn't hide at home during the crisis.

That's true.
    I don't think teachers were hiding though, they were working , as I said before about 2 pages back and other posters who are teachers have said.

Yes maybe they’ll have to wear masks. Healthcare workers should wear masks, which are part of ppe, if they’re going to be within 2 meter distance of any patient, according to the HSE.
    So perhaps the same for for school staff with students.

Healthcare workers wear masks at all times dealing with patients. By PPE, in a healthcare setting, most would assume more than just a mask.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,447 ✭✭✭Ginger n Lemon

One of my local service station/convenience stores has a notice stating that essential personnel are exempt from the restriction to eat in the indoor sit down dining area. Anyone not in that category who does it is flouting the regulations.

Only one?

What a rubbish point to make.

Gardai allowed OP to sit around them and eat, either Gardai dont know regulations themselves or you are a bit off the mark with what you think is "flouting the regulations".... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭The HorsesMouth

Benimar wrote: »
    2 metres lads, 2 metres! Add in screens, PPE etc.

Teachers only want the same protections, no more.

I'm a teacher and i disagree with you. There comes a point where social distancing is not doable. Children should not have to social distance end of story. I am more than happy to go back in September with no social distancing rules.

This country needs many more teachers like you. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭little bess

Healthcare workers wear masks at all times dealing with patients. By PPE, in a healthcare setting, most would assume more than just a mask.

Not necessarily, I’ve worked in healthcare too. Masks, gloves, apron for nursing. Only gloves most of the time, pre-covid of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,203 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

Look around you, most workers are getting on with their work without worrying about social distancing.
    I don't know where you work, but that's not the case - the vast majority of businesses have social distancing rules in place. It's not perfect, and mistakes will be made, but no responsible business will ignore health and safety. Of course it's not part of normal human behaviour which doesn't make it any less necessary.

No end of posts complaining that shoppers and shop staff are not maintaining 2m social distance yet you now say that they are. Which is it?

Nurses wear PPE when working with Covid-19 patients or in high risk areas, other than that they don't. As I already asked, are teachers especially delicate?

Nurses are maintaining distance from all patients, if they can't they wear masks , PPE as appropriate.
    Very wrong to say any worker should be exposed to trundle loads of people who don't maintain distance.
    Staff in shops need to be protected too .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Not good

Irish banks' provisions for bad loans biggest in Europe

Irish banks have set aside bigger buffers for potential loan losses due to the pandemic fallout than those in a swathe of European countries including the UK, France, Spain, Italy and Portugal.

https://www.independent.ie/business/irish/irish-banks-provisions-for-bad-loans-biggest-in-europe-39280058.html

Just highlights that we need to open up ASAP, stop this nonsense rubbish with child having 1 day of school per week (we are going backwards lol if this ever materialises) and get back on our feet. if we dont, we ll need to get our banks off our feet in addition... :mad:

A deeper issue here. FFs we are way too loose as a peoples with credit. You would have think we might have learned after the last big economic crash.

I know its a bit of a mood point but does Karen really need her PCP financed Hyundai which is really just a consistent debt rollover. Why can't people live within their means.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

Only one?

What a rubbish point to make.

Gardai allowed OP to sit around them and eat, either Gardai dont know regulations themselves or you are a bit off the mark with what you think is "flouting the regulations".... :rolleyes:

Why are you being so narky today bud? Regulations are regulations plain and simple as that. Whether they are enforced or not is a different matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,462 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

The Taoiseach has said the Government is working on all children going back to school full time in late August or September by working on "bespoke solutions".

He gave the example of the early years sector where social distancing only applies to adults and not children.

At a post-Cabinet media briefing, Mr Varadkar said the travel restrictions remain in place but they will be reviewed in two weeks time.

Nurses are maintaining distance from all patients, if they can't they wear masks , PPE as appropriate.
    Very wrong to say any worker should be exposed to trundle loads of people who don't maintain distance.
    Staff in shops need to be protected too .

I have said that they wear masks. I have also suggested that teachers could wear masks. I'm not saying that workers should be exposed, I'm relating what I have experienced when dealing with workers. Anyway, I've work to do myself. September is a long way off and things will likely have changed considerably.

You know full well that we were referring to working in the usual environment. So for teachers that would mean in school rather than from home.

So many people working from home are not working, according to you?!

Death and taxes are the only 2 certainties.
    Sure it's negligible now.

There'll be no 2 metre distancing in September

Again your certainty , when scientists and doctors still can't say that , is astounding!
    Must be the power of wishful thinking.

Yes, indeed .
    Be sure now to tell your principle , your fellow colleagues and your union that won't you, and make sure to sign a disclaimer , good lad !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,793 ✭✭✭Benimar

Which is fine.

And if a teacher didn't want to go back with no Social Distancing rules, would you have a problem with that?

Because if not, then the kids will be back but some of the teachers won't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,793 ✭✭✭Benimar

Yes, indeed .
    Be sure now to tell your principle , your fellow colleagues and your union that won't you, and make sure to sign a disclaimer , good lad !

To be honest, this thread is a cesspit. People congratulating others for being willing to breach Public Health advice.

Thankfully, it appears that amongst those actually planning the return in the education sector, there isn't the madness you see in this thread.

So many people working from home are not working, according to you?!

How on earth did you take that from my post? I have no doubt that teachers have been working throughout all of this, but the schools have not been open and that is what is being discussed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭skelly22

In all honesty, I have never seen children playing outside and social distancing. Unless they are being restricted by their parents, they are going at it as usual. And so they should!

Couldn't agree more. Who the f*** wants to see kids social distancing?!?! Is there even one stat that suggests they should??

Which is fine.

And if a teacher didn't want to go back with no Social Distancing rules, would you have a problem with that?

Because if not, then the kids will be back but some of the teachers won't.

This is absolutely bizarre. We are talking as if every child is infected and every child will climb on top of the teacher...........

We have thousands unemployed teachers who i am sure will take the opportunity gladly. Person who is afraid to go in can just cocoon until he/she is vaccinated. 203 euros per week say hi

To be honest, this thread is a cesspit. People congratulating others for being willing to breach Public Health advice.

Thankfully, it appears that amongst those actually planning the return in the education sector, there isn't the madness you see in this thread.

:D:D:D:D:D

Child having 1 day per school - is not madness?

"blended online learning" for other 4 days? all alone? thats alright, except for its not.

Friday comedy indeed