Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IV - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

You do know that we test less than 20,000 people per week right?

In May it was 40,000.

So has spread slowed down or we just test less, or both?

You can only say spread has slowed down if you test entire nation every week and see reduction in number of positive tests.......

If noone gets tested this week for covid you do realize new cases = 0? That doesnt mean the spread has slowed down or covid has gone away

At one point 10% plus of people were testing positive, now its 1%

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

As much as you, me and probably every average Joe dislike Trump he did ban travel from China as early as January. When WHO was telling him that it isnt advisable.

Its a bit like saying how many of those 1,600 dead we wouldve saved if we closed our borders? I believe planes from China and Northern Italy kept landing in Dublin Airport in March, April. So, yeah, not good.

Yes for once I agree with you and even thanked your post. :eek: The Irish government definitely should have closed the borders and stopped foreign travel in early March. Explains why the virus got a foothold here as quickly as it did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,270 ✭✭✭Elmer Blooker

This.

Fear has been beaten into people for months now from our very own CMO all the way through the media. How people like Gerry Kileen are getting air time is a disgrace.
    Fear, fear and more fear!
    I have heard 'vaccination' and 'masks' mentioned thousands of times over the past three months but NOT once have I heard these experts mention the importance of a healthy diet to boost the immune system,

As much as you, me and probably every average Joe dislike Trump he did ban travel from China as early as January. When WHO was telling him that it isnt advisable.

Its a bit like saying how many of those 1,600 dead we wouldve saved if we closed our borders? I believe planes from China and Northern Italy kept landing in Dublin Airport in March, April. So, yeah, not good.

40,000 people arrived in the US on direct flights from China in the two months after the "travel ban". Not to mention that anyone who arrived on an indirect flight were not even checked. The China travel ban did nothing.

https://www.axios.com/coronavirus-trump-china-travel-ban-45a2da12-8063-4ad9-ba28-61cdeb1ce0b3.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,393 ✭✭✭ZX7R

No I`m not saying that at all but I don`t think he is an alarmist doom monger as many seem to believe.

A come on your a regular poster on the weather forum as am I even there we were giving out about his doom and gloom reporting on the weather ,a gust of wind that's global warming ,a bit of rain,that's biblical flooding caused by global warming.
    The only times he is positive about reporting good news he is usually wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,627 ✭✭✭Micky 32

ZX7R wrote: »
    A come on your a regular poster on the weather forum as am I even there we were giving out about his doom and gloom reporting on the weather ,a gust of wind that's global warming ,a bit of rain,that's biblical flooding caused by global warming.
    It’s becoming more clear that most of the hardcore lockdowners and doomsters on here are the ones that frequent the climate change threads. I think the agenda is more than the virus. You should see them on social media patting covid on the back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,892 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

Fear, fear and more fear!
    I have heard 'vaccination' and 'masks' mentioned thousands of times over the past three months but NOT once have I heard these experts mention the importance of a healthy diet to boost the immune system,

All eating take aways!!!

Micky 32 wrote: »
    It’s becoming more clear that most of the hardcore lockdowners and doomsters on here are the ones that frequent the climate change threads. I think the agenda is more than the virus. You should see them on social media patting covid on the back.

And what agenda would that be bud?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭acequion

hmmm wrote: »
    Covid is the biggest threat.

You think it's all "fear". I disagree, as do most of the population. Instead of calling for everything to re-open as quickly as possible we need to acknowledge the reality, stop disparaging people for fearing this disease, and put systems in place which will give people confidence they can reasonably go about their lives while reducing risk.

Stop talking about "getting back to normality" for a start. It's not happening until we have a vaccine or a treatment.

What are you basing your "most of the population" on?

Now you could be right and if you are it just proves what posters are saying, that we are indeed a very fearful, overcautious population. I completely agree with the posters who compared us with other European countries and their observations would be the same as mine. We Irish are too fearful and far too subservient to whoever we perceive as the boss. I see the fear all around me. In my job, in my family, among my friends and it really distresses me for their sake as they're suffering due to their fear. There is an excellent Spanish proverb which translates to, "a life lived in fear is a life half lived."

Where other Europeans differ is that they don't confuse caution and fear, nor do their authorities use the latter to manipulate them. Caution is sensible as we emerge from this pandemic, fear paralyses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,627 ✭✭✭Micky 32

Well from what i gather on the social media platforms some are loving the lockdown because it keeps most cars off the road and planes out of the sky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,739 ✭✭✭storker

Jackman25 wrote: »
    Link to any poster other than the swiftly banned troll who posted that who thinks this please?

Or maybe just cop on to yourself and stop trying to smear people that don't agree with you.

Disgusting but unsurprising post from you.

Wow you have a low threshold. Here's disgusting:

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=113357466&postcount=8414

...along with anyone who gave it a like. (All now on my previously-empty ignore list.)

Micky 32 wrote: »
    Well from what i gather on the social media platforms some are loving the lockdown because it keeps most cars off the road and planes out of the sky.

Hardly ever on Facebook or Twitter myself so I`ll take your word for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,447 ✭✭✭Ginger n Lemon

storker wrote: »
    Wow you have a low threshold. Here's disgusting:

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=113357466&postcount=8414

...along with anyone who gave it a like. (All now on my previously-empty ignore list.)

Has it ever occurred to you that the likes were for the following?

Schools and educational institutions should be opened ASAP.

That was on bloody 6th of May. and poster was correct - all of schools and universities shouldve been opened up ASAP.

Thats what I liked the post and in all fairness poster was spot on with that statement. Now we have anti social behaviour in Cork likes of which has never been seen before, Gardai acting like wet blankets and minister for education failing to confirm whether back to school in September will go ahead for ALL students.

But i guess you only see what you look for.

Has it ever occurred to you that the likes were for the following?

Schools and educational institutions should be opened ASAP.

That was on bloody 6th of May. and poster was correct - all of schools and universities shouldve been opened up ASAP.

Thats what I liked the post and in all fairness poster was spot on with that statement. Now we have anti social behaviour in Cork likes of which has never been seen before, Gardai acting like wet blankets and minister for education failing to confirm whether back to school in September will go ahead for ALL students.

But i guess you only see what you look for.

I guess you haven`t been in Cork too often if you believe that as there has been antisocial behaviour among certain elements in Cork just the same as in the rest of the country long before the virus ever appeared.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,517 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

Just wondering are door to door sales allowed now again with restrictions lifting? You know the companies trying to get you to sign up to their service on your doorstep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,036 ✭✭✭growleaves

Who knows, but Extinction Rebellion are looking for something akin to an economic shutdown to reduce carbon emissions.

I'll be opposing such a shutdown, even if extreme weather events and climate model projections convince the many to support it.

I'll also be opposing techno-surveillance, to monitor carbon emissions per person, and whatever other wicked schemes are being dreamt up by allegedly 'well-meaning' people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,462 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Popular Dublin restaurant going with 1m between tables, would expect alot of other restaurants to go with 1m regardless of the current guidelines

https://www.firesteakhouse.ie/about/welcome-back-protocol/

I guess you haven`t been in Cork too often if you believe that as there has been antisocial behaviour among certain elements in Cork just the same as in the rest of the country long before the virus ever appeared.

So you are saying things are f*ed now, but they were bad in the past so all is fine?

'This is as bad as I've ever seen': Anti-social behaviour escalates in Cork neighbourhood of The Glen

https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/this-is-as-bad-as-ive-ever-seen-anti-social-behaviour-escalates-in-cork-neighbourhood-of-the-glen-1004305.html

I personally can confirm that i see A LOT MORE YOUTH out smoking, drinking and a lot of loud music especially in parks in my area anyways, than before covid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭VonLuck

Indeed it looks like Leo is finally starting to see sense. Perhaps it was the huge deficit in May that helped to bring him around.

Or, you know, it was what he said along. That the number of cases would be monitored and restrictions reviewed on an ongoing basis.

Some people will claim that it was him succumbing to pressure but this could have easily been the plan all along. When the cases are low enough, speed up relaxation of measures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,266 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

After the faux sympathy for that woman being laughed at unsuprising to see the regulars resorting to standard form. The concern never lasts :pac:

Popular Dublin restaurant going with 1m between tables, would expect alot of other restaurants to go with 1m regardless of the current guidelines

Thats very smart actually, say 1 metre minimum and let Gardai come with measuring tape trying to get you to move those tables just 50cm-1metre more.

But with new cases in single digits it will really go to 1 metre officially by 29 June

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,393 ✭✭✭ZX7R

Sunny Dayz wrote: »
    Just wondering are door to door sales allowed now again with restrictions lifting? You know the companies trying to get you to sign up to their service on your doorstep.

I would not be sure.
    But it would be covered under return to work as you would not be able to work from home once you can keep the two meters distance from everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,349 ✭✭✭gipi

Sunny Dayz wrote: »

One crowd were back at my door yesterday!

If any restaurants, or other similar businesses for that matter, ignore the 2m distance regulation without being given the green light to do so from government then surely their insurance cover would be invalidated in the event of a claim whether directly covid related or not?

gipi wrote: »
    One crowd were back at my door yesterday!

Did you tell the caller to keep his/her distance from you?;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,462 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

If any restaurants, or other similar businesses for that matter ignore the 2m distance regulation without being given the green light to do so from government then surely their insurance cover would be invalidated in the event of a claim whether directly covid related or not?

Its a guideline not a rule and fully expect that guideline to be dropped down to 1m before they reopen anyway

If any restaurants, or other similar businesses for that matter, ignore the 2m distance regulation without being given the green light to do so from government then surely their insurance cover would be invalidated in the event of a claim whether directly covid related or not?

If they put a sign on the front door - eat here at your own risk, surely that covers that?

A bit like what a lot of places do with "Management will not accept any responsibility for lost or stolen personal items left unattended"

Govt regulation also says every table has to be sanitised every 30 minutes, govt regulation says a lot of nonsense basically. :rolleyes:

Thats very smart actually, say 1 metre minimum and let Gardai come with measuring tape trying to get you to move those tables just 50cm-1metre more.

But with new cases in single digits it will really go to 1 metre officially by 29 June

Can I get a loan of your crystal ball when you`re finished with it as you seem to be able to predict with certainty what will happen on 29th June?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

If they put a sign on the front door - eat here at your own risk, surely that covers that?

Not a chance :D You can't dodge health and safety rules by putting up a sign. And who the hell would eat in an establishment with a sign like that haha :pac:

ShooterSF wrote: »
    Not a chance :D You can't dodge health and safety rules by putting up a sign. And who the hell would eat in an establishment with a sign like that haha :pac:

I would, better than stuffing myself with takeaway for months on end

But i do see the funny side of the sign :D:pac: