Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IV - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,466 ✭✭✭VonLuck

is_that_so wrote: »
    For your county! In some counties that's the same as a 20km radius!

Ah my bad. I misread county as country! Didn't even realise county restrictions were even being discussed so my brain jumped to reading "country".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Stark wrote: »
    Says "county", not "country". So not much better than the 20km limit. Probably worse in my case as my 20km radius included parts of Kildare, Meath and Wicklow.

Sucks for the poor ****ers in Louth.
    Now you'll be able to go to Dundalk, Ardee, Drogheda and Carlingford! The excitement of it all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 801 ✭✭✭frillyleaf

VonLuck wrote: »
    Ah my bad. I misread county as country! Didn't even realise county restrictions were even being discussed so my brain jumped to reading "country".

Mine did too. I read it as country not county

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭JDD

Says "county", not "country". So not much better than the 20km limit. Probably worse in my case as my 20km radius included parts of Kildare, Meath and Wicklow.

Sucks for the poor ****ers in Louth.

I'd hate to be living in Bray. You could be walking to the shop and breaking the county rule.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

What a day we are having.

Feels like we are playing roulette and putting all our money on red 4 times in a row and winning

"Minister Heather Humphreys has said limited international air travel will return in the coming weeks as Ireland looks to negotiate 'air bridges' with countries who have suppressed Covid-19.

Ms Humphreys said it is a "challenging time for everyone" particularly those in the aviation industry as the "virus has no mercy", but that international travel will commence within weeks."

https://www.independent.ie/life/travel/international-travel-to-return-within-weeks-via-air-bridges-as-phase-two-of-lockdown-rolls-out-39262248.html

At this rate, at about 2 o clock today we could hear announcement about coppers and diceys re opening dates being brought forward.

It was interesting that yesterday a Portuguese minister was able to tell us that we would be able to fly to Portugal soon, while our own minister was saying that there would be no flying. I have a strong suspicion that, once again, the EU has stepped in to save the Irish people from gombeen Irish politicians. There may have been some very interesting calls in the past few days from Brussells.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

The good thing we will have is free choice. So if people feel the need that they want to volunteer for further lockdown tempeh can just stay indoors.

well unfortunately we don't . we are all restricted because of the fear of some
    crossman47 wrote: »
    The problem is some of us want to go out and about, but safely. Unfortunately there are idiots who think this is just another flu (despite all the evidence) and are quite capable of causing other people to get very ill.

the evidence is that is pretty much is a flu albeit it dangerous for people already sick.

Anyway (repeating myself) there are only 780 active cases in ireland.. there is no sickness anymore...there are only 36 serious cases at present.
    there are no ground to restrict anything really at this stage - maybe foreign travel ..i could possibly accept. 36 serious cases and we are all confined like lepers. I just dont get your reasoning

If people are worried they should stay at home. People like me , I'd rather live my life freely and assume all the risks that come with that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 917 ✭✭✭MickeyLeari

it may look like that on the outside regarding Paul reid,
    But on the inside that's not the case at all.
    The man would sell his granny

He already sold her a few times already.

It's about fcuking time the Government have decided to govern. It feels they've had to be dragged kicking and screaming into this

The 20km limit was completely nonsensical. And the forced closure of some retail units completely unjustified considering how food shops and off-licenses have remained open throughout.

It's also time to scrap the 2m rule.

Dr Tony will need to be prised away from the levers of power and I've no doubt there'll be a kickback from the fear-mongers and the lads getting their €350 a week.

We've already done untold damage to the economy with this hysterical overreaction. Now it's time to face down the bunker-dwellers.

I very much doubt that bit in bold. I'm more inclined to believe that there were calls from Brussells.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

Cabinet has agreed that as part of the accelerated restriction lifting people will be allowed to travel anywhere within their own counties

is_that_so wrote: »
    For your county! In some counties that's the same as a 20km radius!

Jaysus Guard, I always thought Achill was in Galway. Sorry about that

VonLuck wrote: »

Great, so I can go to West Cork over 100km away but still can’t go to my Mother’s house in Kerry which is 70km away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,878 ✭✭✭facehugger99

bb1234567 wrote: »
    Cabinet has agreed that as part of the accelerated restriction lifting people will be allowed to travel anywhere within their own counties

Jesus Christ - that's just fcuking mental.

What a bunch of clowns we have in charge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Lia_lia wrote: »
    Great, so I can go to West Cork over 100km away but still can’t go to my Mother’s house in Kerry which is 70km away.
    You can just "get lost"!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭storker

Is there a sort of mania setting in with some anti-lockdown posters? Hopefully they won't be disappointed later

The setting in period for that has long since disappeared in the rear-view mirror. About the same time as the insults started to be flung in the direction of dissenters and progressed from "curtain-twitchers" to "finger-pointers" ending up (inevitably) with "nazi". :rolleyes:

"What did you do during the lockdown, dad?"
    "Well son, I bitched about it day in, day out on an internet forum and called people names if they disagreed. You should have seen me son, I was magnificent...changed the the world, I did..."
    "Johnny's dad learned some new skills."
    "I didn't have time for that, son, I was too busy fighting the good fight."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

polesheep wrote: »
    It was interesting that yesterday a Portuguese minister was able to tell us that we would be able to fly to Portugal soon, while our own minister was saying that there would be no flying. I have a strong suspicion that, once again, the EU has stepped in to save the Irish people from gombeen Irish politicians. There may have been some very interesting calls in the past few days from Brussells.

Your not wrong

storker wrote: »
    The setting in period for that has long since disappeared in the rear-view mirror. About the same time as the insults started to be flung in the direction of dissenters and progressed from "curtain-twitchers" to "finger-pointers" ending up (inevitably) with "nazi". :rolleyes:

"What did you do during the lockdown, dad?"
    "Well son, I bitched about it day in, day out on an internet forum and called people names if they disagreed. You should have seen me son, I was magnificent...changed the the world, I did..."
    "Johnny's dad learned some new skills."
    "I didn't have time for that, son, I was too busy fighting the good fight."

Such as how to twitch a curtain without being seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭storker

Such as how to twitch a curtain without being seen.

Thanks for proving my point. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,349 ✭✭✭SPDUB

Paul Reid was critical in pointing out the obvious on the 2m rule.
    2m rule wouldn't be a problem in outpatients departments if they didn't schedule everyone for the same time and gave us actual individual appointment times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Breezin

Some in Cork can travel anywhere in Cork, and someone in Louth can travel anywhere in Louth. Where is 'the science' in that?
    These people are making it up, literally, as they go along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,202 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Virus respects county borders. Though further scientific research is needed to determine if it follows administrative county borders or GAA county borders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,153 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

I can see the theory behind it but it won’t work in practice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 713 ✭✭✭manniot2

Lads the guards will not be checking what county you are from - this is free travel within the country except in name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Breezin

Virus respects county borders. Though further scientific research is needed to determine if it follows administrative county borders or GAA county borders.

Get back to your own Riding now! :mad:

Its far more likely that the government has been in talks at a European level about air bridges but could not talk about it in advance of agreements being made and cabinet approving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 608 ✭✭✭vid36

The county boundary is in addition to the 20km. You can travel 20KM from your home and any distance in your county.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭the kelt

Lia_lia wrote: »

I know theres still going to be a couple of anomalies but to be fair if they allow people to travel within their own counties from next week it is a positive compared to the stupid 5k/20k limit and its what most other countries around europe have had the foresight to do.

In fact couple that news where we are actually following what european countries are doing and the news about opening air bridges being a possibility it may be the case that our European buddies have put a call in to say "ah here lads whats the story here, we aint paying ye to be locked up for the summer, get with the plan"

As of next week its a trip to Kilmore Quay for the for the nicest fish and chips in the entire country and a walk along the cliffs and rocks at Hook Head.

Ye see its the simple things really :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,347 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

I would have always been more in the lockdown critical department. I still think lockdown was probably not required and there was an element of overreaction. Some of it was probably outright hysteria.

However a government is responsible for the well being of their 5m people. Easy for me to drive from the backseat when all I have to do is moan not being responsible for anything.

Yes we were slower and yes we played the fear card and at times it wasn't pretty listening. But I find it hard to see how people are still trying to lambast the government at this point.

Fvck it really feels good to see some hope on the horizon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭shivermetimber

So from Dublin we'll be able to go all the way up the coast to Balbriggan but won't be able to to go to Dunboyne, Leixslip, Bray etc. Lol

manniot2 wrote: »
    Lads the guards will not be checking what county you are from - this is free travel within the country except in name.

Completely unenforceable - there are many instances where in order to get from one area in a county to another, you would need a large detour to avoid crossing a different county

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,139 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

storker wrote: »
    Thanks for proving my point. :)

So your on an internet forum complaining about people being on an internet forum.