Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part III - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,156 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Whether people are saying it outwardly or not is one thing — but their behaviour is what’s most telling. More cars on the roads, more people out for walks, shops opening up, people out (distantly) exercising together and some people pushing the 5k ridiculous boundary. Some people won’t say it outward but most are fed up and can see this for what it is and their behaviour is what is telling. I was chatting to one of my friends earlier and said how i feel on the whole thing and she said “thank god you said that. We thought we were going mad here”

See it for what it is? What is that?

People are out and about a lot more, I wouldn't dispute that. But that's not against the restrictions as they currently stand. It's understandable.

But some of the rhetoric here along the lines of Tony Holohan being out to destroy the country, the lockdown being total nonsense and the coronavirus being grand really? No, that's in plentiful supply in this thread, but not much elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,621 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Colibri wrote: »
    Are death certs showing up as Covid-19 even if the person doesn't die *from* coronavirus but has it at time of death or is this a Facebook theory?

I asked a few pages back but I can't see responses

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EXgt8CtX0AE2SiZ.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Are death certs showing up as Covid-19 even if the person doesn't die *from* coronavirus but has it at time of death or is this a Facebook theory?

As far as I know they are recording all those who die with Covid as Covid deaths, even if they didn’t die as a result of the illness. Open to correction on this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,978 ✭✭✭growleaves

Yes in some countries

https://www.realclearpolitics.com/video/2020/04/08/dr_birx_unlike_some_countries_if_someone_dies_with_covid-19_we_are_counting_that_as_a_covid-19_death.html

https://www.telegraph.co.uk/global-health/science-and-disease/have-many-coronavirus-patients-died-italy/amp/

Ireland too apparently but I've no link.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭skelly22

mr zulu wrote: »
    Absolutely, I have being staying inside since last March, but I think enough is enough with this long drawn out affair.

Get on yer bike!

As far as I know they are recording all those who die with Covid as Covid deaths, even if they didn’t die as a result of the illness. Open to correction on this.

You are correct.

It minimises the death toll even further.

Less than 100 perhaps could be still alive today if Covid did not exist if you closely interpret ICU stats, ie those strong enough to recive ICU treatment who subsequently died

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,681 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Oh boy. Tony H would be fuming, countries opening borders? what the hell is this. THIS SATURDAY. We arent even in phase 1 yet until Monday...

Why would he be fuming? We were more relaxed. Didn't even close our borders.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,093 ✭✭✭prunudo

RTE seems to have turned into an offical Government news outlet not daring to question anything about the restrictions.

I noticed that the other night that they reported Irish water telling us to conserve water as domestic useage was up 25%, no **** sherlock, everyone is locked up in their homes the last 7 weeks. And not a mention of the lack of usage from all the offices and business that are closed.

Kids out playing on the green here where I am. About 10 of them in total. It’s a sight that would have pissed me off no end in March but I’m so happy to see it this evening. And before anyone asks, we have a green here and each family has ribbons down where the other kids can’t pass but they can race each other and chat and laugh. I’ve missed hearing the laugher and screams. Poor things have been one of the most to suffer out of this and looked on as “vectors” and dirty virus carriers when there’s nothing to suggest they’re anything of the sort. Long may their playing and laughter continue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭JoeExotic81

However I don't want to be told in 4 moths time sorry martingriff back in to your house as that would kill me. Things are started to open up, thing will be moved and we will move forward

You best prepare to be killed so. This thing is here to stay, until next year at the very least.

What most of us seemingly in here want is some sign of our "government" working towards life including the virus, instead of the current shutdown of life until the virus magically goes away.

If we're in full on lockdown for no apparent reason, numbers down to a handful, all the curves flattened into oblivion, R number somewhere up Tony's hole, then prepare yourself for similar crazyness in August, September, October, when our hopeless leaders sh!t themselves when a few hundred new cases crop up. They're instilling little if no hope right now. Stay in the bunkers lads, can't be making the HSE do what they're paid to now can we.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,248 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Kids out playing on the green here where I am. About 10 of them in total. It’s a sight that would have pissed me off no end in March but I’m so happy to see it this evening. And before anyone asks, we have a green here and each family has ribbons down where the other kids can’t pass but they can race each other and chat and laugh. I’ve missed hearing the laugher and screams. Poor things have been one of the most to suffer out of this and looked on as “vectors” and dirty virus carriers when there’s nothing to suggest they’re anything of the sort. Long may their playing and laughter continue.

Absolutely . The kids are struggling with this and need to play out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,718 ✭✭✭robbiezero

VonLuck wrote: »
    Everyone that's saying that "the people have had enough" or something similar, where exactly are these people? I know that my circle of friends, work colleagues and family are generally accepting of the current measures. They may not be happy with them, but are putting up with it. I also don't see much dissent on other social media platforms or from journalists, for the most part.

Is the general public actually that annoyed with the restrictions or is this just some sort of bubble within boards?

How many of them are out of work?

Most of my friends are pretty sanguine about the restrictions at this point, breaking some of them as needs be, both friends and work colleagues visiting parents where they feel it necessary etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,718 ✭✭✭robbiezero

St Annes Park this evening was more packed that I have seen it at any time in last 3 months. Plenty groups of kids and teenagers, older people keeping their distance etc.
    I haven't seen a Garda car in it in a week.
    Good to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,204 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

You best prepare to be killed so. This thing is here to stay, until next year at the very least.

What most of us seemingly in here want is some sign of our "government" working towards life including the virus, instead of the current shutdown of life until the virus magically goes away.

If we're in full on lockdown for no apparent reason, numbers down to a handful, all the curves flattened into oblivion, R number somewhere up Tony's hole, then prepare yourself for similar crazyness in August, September, October, when our hopeless leaders sh!t themselves when a few hundred new cases crop up. They're instilling little if no hope right now. Stay in the bunkers lads, can't be making the HSE do what they're paid to now can we.

Yep and not a mention of the fact that many of the places forced to shut will probably never open again the longer this madness goes on.

robbiezero wrote: »
    St Annes Park this evening was more packed that I have seen it at any time in last 3 months. Plenty groups of kids and teenagers, older people keeping their distance etc.
    I haven't seen a Garda car in it in a week.
    Good to see.

Yet some people on this thread still baffled at the thoughts that people are fed up and moving on :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 305 ✭✭MrDavid1976

Newspapers leading with deaths above 1500 and 450 new infections. Project fear.

The death stat is fascinating.
    1500 died from Covid, god bless, RIP etc.

But the 7000 that normally die during this period get no remememberance from the media.

How on earth did some large hospital not report 300 cases since March in a pandemic emergency situation . Seriously ??

I notice this every evening when I turn on Virgin Media for the press briefings. Sometimes I’ll be a bit late and tune in in the middle of the briefing but the banner on screen will always read the total dead and total cases instead of those released for that day. I usually have to come on here and read the threads to see how many new cases and how many deaths. I guess it’s just more dramatic and adds to the general feeling of fear they want the public to feel.

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    How on earth did some large hospital not report 300 deaths since March in a pandemic emergency situation . Seriously ??

Cases not deaths. Still some manager losing their job if it was the private sector

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭skelly22

SusieBlue wrote: »
    There are currently 4 inpatients in CUH in Cork with covid-19, with one of those 4 in ICU. There were also no reported new cases in the hospital in the previous 24hr period.
    This does not justify locking down the city & county, let alone the whole country.
    If Cork has the third highest number of cases & community transmission, then surely many of the smaller counties must be reporting 0, day after day.
    Why are we not being given a clearer breakdown?

A half empty hospital & compromised, dangerous health service for the sake of 4 patients. It’s farcical.
    I am so angry after seeing this this.
    How anyone can still argue in favour of our suicide mission of easing restrictions with a straight face is beyond me.

Begs the question alright - Why?? Hardly surprising there are so many sceptics with so many questions.

Another hair cut for me by my husband is on the cards ! Never thought I would write those words

Cases not deaths. Still some manager losing their job if it was the private sector

Sorry yes i meant cases

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,681 ✭✭✭Penfailed

So should we wait until July 20th to get a haircut?

Why wait? I got mine cut last week. Clippers are a handy job. I'll save money in the future as I'll only have to get my hair cut properly every third time or so.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,670 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Penfailed wrote: »
    Why wait? I got mine cut last week. Clippers are a handy job. I'll save money in the future as I'll only have to get my hair cut properly every third time or so.

Went to my barbers shed last week, feeling great since!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

Think of all the blonde women, lads.*
    Myself and @retro:electro are badly stuck, we need to see our hairdressers.
    By the 20th of July I’ll be a sandy brown colour all over with white blonde ends. Not a good look. I urgently need the attention of a professional.
    It’s a critical issue of utmost importance.

*this is in jest, before I get accused of wiping out the elderly for a fresh cut & highlights :pac:

By the 20th of July I’ll be a sandy brown colour all over with white blonde ends. Not a good look. I urgently need the attention of a professional.

*this is in jest, before I get accused of wiping out the elderly for a fresh cut & highlights :pac:

Can you knock on my door and bring me with you

Typical attitude on this thread.

Send granny to an early grave in the name of covering up a few grey hairs!!

Wife was ready to kill Leo two weeks ago when she realised there would be no hairdressers till July.
    “No dear, you can’t notice the grey at all, really”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,623 ✭✭✭Micky 32

Typical attitude on this thread.

Send granny to an early grave in the name of covering up a few grey hairs!!

Speaking of grannies, a 113 year old woman in Spain ( i think) beat Covid-19.