Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Big Brand names whose products are way overrated

• Registered Users Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭kingtiger

jonnny68 wrote: »
    iPhones are superior to anything else when this could not be further from the actual facts.

careful you will rile up the cultists

• Registered Users Posts: 935 ✭✭✭giles lynchwood

Any American made professional loubspeaker

• Registered Users Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

It’s like buying Pepsi, Diet versions, or own brand cola. Why bother? Just buy proper Coca Cola and drink less of it.

Because Pepsi is better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭FVP3

kingtiger wrote: »
    careful you will rile up the cultists

Most iphone users are normal people. The cultists are all on the Android side., which is why they think APPPLE IS THE WORLSE COMPNY EVRE. It's a combination of being poor and stupid, and untechnical. A potent mixture of ass crackery.

For instance the guy who "snorted through his nose" about Apple having better security or privacy than Android isn't going to be convinced by any argument, and doesn't really understand that Apple's model is selling hardware and google's business model is selling you.

In fact the only reason I have an Android phone ( a second phone) is so I can use some things on it that iOS disallows. I think Apple goes too far with privacy. .

• Registered Users Posts: 2,932 ✭✭✭mikemac2

Gillette mach formula one super turbo charged razor 2020

I remember paying 18 euro for a pack of Mach 3 blades which was a tidy sum to me as a broke student

Get a brush, soap and old skool razor and a blade will cost about 5 cent. Gillette even make these but don't advertise that at all.

Why advertise packs of blades at 5 cent a blade when you can sell your other advanced blades at 18 euro a pack

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,112 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Levis jeans, gone to sh1t. Haven't bought any in years since the last 2 pairs didn't last p*ssing time.
    Yup. I am as we speak wearing a pair of UK made 501's I bought in the 90's. The button holes frayed a bit so I re sewed them. Job done. No rips, tears.

These days the trick is to check the label to see where they've been made. Turkish and Japanese are still nice quality(though the latter are pricey and you have to get them online). American ones can be good depending on model. The ones from Pakistan, Vietnam, China and the like are pure dirt and that's what tends to be on shop shelves in this neck of the woods. .

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    Black and decker, Total sh1te
    Used to be brilliant in the 80s have 3 drills by them older than myself and a few other things still working grand.

i thought it was the other way around..as in they were sh!te in the 80's but the current range are much better, my 2 yr old B&D cordless drill & sander have been flawless

• Registered Users Posts: 6,620 ✭✭✭Feisar

Wibbs wrote: »
    Yup. I am as we speak wearing a pair of UK made 501's I bought in the 90's. The button holes frayed a bit so I re sewed them. Job done. No rips, tears.

These days the trick is to check the label to see where they've been made. Turkish and Japanese are still nice quality(though the latter are pricey and you have to get them online). American ones can be good depending on model. The ones from Pakistan, Vietnam, China and the like are pure dirt and that's what tends to be on shop shelves in this neck of the woods. .

A general breakdown as to what happened to clothing quality.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,215 ✭✭✭Archeron

Oreos. There seems to be an evil campaign to make us eat them. They release the cookie, nobody likes it. Then they stick them in chocolate bars, and nobody likes them. I'm half expecting to open a tin of peas one of these days and and find an oreo floating around inside.

We don't like Oreos, accept it and feck off with your cookie muck. May they go the same way as sunny d as soon as possible.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,620 ✭✭✭Feisar

mikemac2 wrote: »
    Gillette mach formula one super turbo charged razor 2020

I remember paying 18 euro for a pack of Mach 3 blades which was a tidy sum to me as a broke student

Get a brush, soap and old skool razor and a blade will cost about 5 cent. Gillette even make these but don't advertise that at all.

Why advertise packs of blades at 5 cent a blade when you can sell your other advanced blades at 18 euro a pack

Even to compare a similar product, Aldi sell Lacura ADZE 5 every bit as good as Gillette.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭ShatterAlan

I agree 100%.
    I can't believe I did not think of Budweiser straight away. I think they survive purely on aggressive marketing and product placement in films/tv series.
    It tastes like diluted dishwater with gas added.

And Anheuser-Busch was bought out by Belgian outfit InBev. One would think that the Belgians would have improved the recipe. Nah. Same watery crap that gives you a blinding hangover that makes even your hair hurt.

I was in the US in September and went to a bar that only had the domestic crap like Bud and Miller on draught. I settled on a Bud and it just reminded me of how low my standards were when I used to live there. Like you said AB just seem to sponsor everything and get the masses to drink their piss.

Bud and Coors are the McDonalds / BK of the beer world.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,992 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

And Anheuser-Busch was bought out by Belgian outfit InBev. One would think that the Belgians would have improved the recipe. Nah. Same watery crap that gives you a blinding hangover that makes even your hair hurt.

I was in the US in September and went to a bar that only had the domestic crap like Bud and Miller on draught. I settled on a Bud and it just reminded me of how low my standards were when I used to live there. Like you said AB just seem to sponsor everything and get the masses to drink their piss.

Bud and Coors are the McDonalds / BK of the beer world.

Never understood why anybody would like Budweiser, pîss. Ok taste is subjective but still. With the absolute multiple of beers now available and on draft too, I just wonder if they are selling Budweiser as much as say the last number of years.

There was a tiny little place in Temple Bar called El Grito that did properly good Mexican food. They moved to Mountjoy Square, and I heard it's still very decent. Even Mexicans raved about it.

Good to know.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Strumms wrote: »
    Never understood why anybody would like Budweiser, pîss. Ok taste is subjective but still. With the absolute multiple of beers now available and on draft too, I just wonder if they are selling Budweiser as much as say the last number of years.

I blame the Vitners, all that shîte like Carlsberg, Budweiser etc was all you could get. At least there’s some but of choice there now.

It must be inedible if bland Brennans is better.

Trust me...it's pathetic. I know Brennans is a crappy doughy sliced pan...but when fresh it makes a decent sandwich especially a toasted rasher number. We all know Ann's hot bread shop kick out some killer bread. What I'm saying is that for a big name product like Brennan's....which is yes not great but it smashes WonderBread which probably has a shelf life of a few years it's so full of sugar and preservatives.

The Americans just DON'T do good staple basic products. And when I say staple that also applies to cars, motorbikes, power tools not just food, booze and clothing. They produce some great products ...but these are generally not mass consumption items. Ping golf equipment is way up there...from what I gather (not a golfer).

• Registered Users Posts: 13,664 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Whatever about bottled bud here ( it's not too bad really) bud in the US is horrible piss.

howyanow wrote: »
    Did you mean Doughbros in Galway?
    For me Sano best in Dublin but I have not tried Romanos yet.

Yes...maybe that was the name. Started up as a pop-up methinks.

Simple, thin-crust, fresh. Not like these big obnoxious inch deep, soggy, salty, rubbery-cheese laden cow-pats the size of a dustbin lid you get from Dominos.

Years ago I complained that my mighty Mac didn’t look anything like the picture on the menu in my local supermacs

The Eastern European girl serving me looked startled and called over the shift manager

He roared at me “this is the EXACT same burger as on the menu now GET OUT”

I will never forget his pompous sneering attitude.

I left the store and didn’t return until I was 18 maybe 4 years later and that was because it was the meet up point for a friends birthday. The shift manager had long gone but I honestly had anxiety the night before that he would be there.

You should have pulled out the machine gun from your hold-all bag and calmly stated that you would like some breakfast....addressing him by his name tag.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,992 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

razorblunt wrote: »
    I blame the Vitners, all that shîte like Carlsberg, Budweiser etc was all you could get. At least there’s some but of choice there now.

Was a time and you strolled into a bar and you’d see the following taps and I’m using my local from memory...

Guinness x3
    Budweiser x2
    Carlsberg x1
    Heineken x2
    Beamish x1
    Bass x 1
    Smithwicks x 1
    Bulmers x1
    Harp x1

Now from memory again, been a while but...

Guinness x3
    Budweiser x1
    Carlsberg x1
    Heineken x2
    Smithwicks x1
    Bulmers x1
    With
    Becks x1
    Sierra Nevada x1
    Peroni x1
    Galway hooker x1

• Registered Users Posts: 11,913 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Not like these big obnoxious inch deep, soggy, salty, rubbery-cheese laden cow-pats the size of a dustbin lid you get from Dominos.

Tell us what you really think:pac:

Heinz

I recently dined on that peasant evening snack of choice, beans on toast. I was disappointed with how it tasted. I looked down at the plate, dismayed to see the beans looking sadly up at me in a watery insipid sauce. They tasted bland as well. 'How many times have I told herself not to be buying the cheap Lidl or Aldi beans', says I to myself when I stopped short at the empty can on the kitchen bench. They were not a German discount half-price rip-off. They were Heinz, they of the holy grail of tomato ketchup.

Fast forward to yesterday. I scoffed at the Batts 'organic' tomato sauce that was purchased in Lidl. I tasted it and was blown away, just the right consistency tasting quite startlingly at first, of cloves (the standard ketchup spice) and garlic, before something hot and peppery chimes in, cayenne perhaps, to leave your tongue tingling gently. It is beautiful on the tongue with looks to match thick and creamy and bright red. I searched in the cupboard and found a bottle of Supervalu own label ketchup and Heinz ketchup, the supposed market leader and did a blind taste test with all the members of my incarcerated household. Batts came tops with everyone. Heinz came last.

What has happened Heinz?

Sounds like "herself" :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Was a time and you strolled into a bar and you’d see the following taps and I’m using my local from memory...

Guinness x3
    Budweiser x2
    Carlsberg x1
    Heineken x2
    Beamish x1
    Bass x 1
    Smithwicks x 1
    Bulmers x1
    Harp x1

Now from memory again, been a while but...

Guinness x3
    Budweiser x1
    Carlsberg x1
    Heineken x2
    Smithwicks x1
    Bulmers x1
    With
    Becks x1
    Sierra Nevada x1
    Peroni x1
    Galway hooker x1

I really like that Galway Hooker stuff. It's very tasty if you fancy a change from the stout, and it's low enough in alcohol that you can have a good rattle of them without having to be carried out of the pub.

They're selling their sh!t product to people who don't know any better. People who think that you're a commie or a leftie if you try different things. I've been in beverage barns in the US and they've had crates of great beer like Bitburger, Spaten, Krombacher, Staropramen stacked up to the ceiling and still the mullet-heads will march in and purchase suitcases of Bud and Busch like they're on autopilot and the price isn't much different. ... maybe $3 or $4 for a case. Given the higher alcohol content and better product they are just buying sh!t.

anewme wrote: »
    Tell us what you really think:pac:

Was I a tad forthright? :p

To the mix I would add BIC corporation.....big name and makers of disposable razors.

JEEEEEEEZUS CHRIST.

I challenge any man with maybe 3 or 4 day's stubble to use one of those effing things to shave. Your face, jaw and neck will be a blood-speckled mess and still feel like sandpaper.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,862 ✭✭✭ozmo

Archeron wrote: »
    Oreos. There seems to be an evil campaign to make us eat them..

Agree- but the genuine USA ones are quite nice- crunchy not oily like the EU made ones we get here. Over sweet, vegetable oil and powdery- yuk..

Twinkles though - so hyped yet really awful - so artificial.

Id like add Heineken to the list - amazing when I was in Netherlands what ever way they make it, just meh when made locally here.

“Roll it back”

• Registered Users Posts: 10,619 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

To the mix I would add BIC corporation.....big name and makers of disposable razors.

JEEEEEEEZUS CHRIST.

I challenge any man with maybe 3 or 4 day's stubble to use one of those effing things to shave. Your face, jaw and neck will be a blood-speckled mess and still feel like sandpaper.

Don’t use them, myself, I go with the Gillette Mach 3 blades but I have used Bic razors in the past. They are “single use” only but they are incredibly good at what they are supposed to do.

The blade, itself, is exceptionally sharp. If you’re left with cuts all over your face you are, clearly, rushing the shave and that is something you cannot do with a Bic. And that’s on you.

A steady hand and time are the only things you need to have a good shave with a “disposable” blade.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Don’t use them, myself, I go with the Gillette Mach 3 blades but I have used Bic razors in the past. They are “single use” only but they are incredibly good at what they are supposed to do.

The blade, itself, is exceptionally sharp. If you’re left with cuts all over your face you are, clearly, rushing the shave and that is something you cannot do with a Bic. And that’s on you.

A steady hand and time are the only things you need to have a good shave with a “disposable” blade.

Sensible advice, Emmet. One of my young lads bought me one of those safety razors for Christmas a few years back. The type you replace the blade on after every 2 or 3 shaves. The sort of thing your grandad would have used.

Time is the main factor in insuring a good shave with them. Not talking half an hour here, but just a little bit longer than you would with a Gillette yoke. Get a great auld shave with them I must say. Would suggest a newbie doesn't attempt to tackle the undercarriage with it though. That's very sound advice, and comes from bitter experience.

It's worth paying a premium for Apple devices because they are the last major tech company who still give half a damn about personal privacy. It's the tech equivalent of the overton window.

Not in the slightest. The major difference is Android allows the user to decide their own security.

The argument with the FBI was over allowing access to their systems for free in reality. Oh they claimed it was privacy but it was really money. Android has law enforcement access licenses. Apple charge for limited amount access codes meaning most police forces will only use it in serious cases.

End result? If you have an Android you night get your stolen phone back, if you have an apple you might get to buy it back at a police auction. :)
    FVP3 wrote: »
    Whatever phone Apple produced in 2010 was way ahead of the competition at the time. I mean my personal iPhone 7 beats the crap out of most Android phones, and I get to use a lot of phones at work.

What are you comparing to? The Samsung S7 that was released 6 months earlier or the s8 that was released 6 months later?

iPhone 7 had pretty much no advantage over either system and when you compare it to a phone with similar spec like I dunno, the redmi note 3 the I phone cost far more.

So yes, apple is ridiculously hyped but apparently the advertising department are genuinely brilliant because they sell a lot.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,395 ✭✭✭NSAman

Mr.S wrote: »
    I don't get the Dyson hate, ours works perfectly and it's a godsend :eek:

I thought the same, until I couldn’t get a few attachments for it and changed to another brand....shark...

having just hoovered the house I tried out the new Shark... the difference is MASSIVE....it may look clean but the crap left behind by Dyson was shocking.