Tell us about your new improved government regulations compliant cycle part II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,363 ✭✭✭Jim Gazebo

Most of my riding the last few weeks has been on country roads - no footpath - and the number of people who have no idea of how to walk on these roads has been staggering. 50% walk on the wrong side. Some are in groups spread right across the road. There's 2 women I meet regularly who walk on opposite sides of the road, and then every time they see me, there is a confused swapping sides/dance-like thing they do where one of them is now always in the way. Now whenever I meet them on the road, I try and vary my route to miss them on the next loop.
    Today I saw maybe 8 or 9 cyclists but when I looked at the fly-bys on strava, there were dozens so a lot of walkers are logging their walks now

I noticed this too, people need to be taught to walk on the correct side and cross to open side at tight bends. It's incredible that people don't know this. Seen a lot of long cycles on Strava over the weekend where I am tbh. I just hope that they aren't being noticed as an excuse to extend lockdown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,453 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Met a lad from the club 3 times last week. All at least 30km from where he lives and he was wearing club colours!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,712 ✭✭✭triggermortis

Wet and miserable out this morning. Was planning longer but rode past the house and couldn't resist getting out of wet and cold gear and getting the feeling back in my toes and fingers.
    Decided to use the good bike as the winter one wasn't fully built back up - really should have taken the time to do it
    After greasing my headset the other day, I have now noticed that the bars are ever so slightly off to one side and my OCD meter is in the red, so this needs to be sorted before I can ride again - after I give it a good clean of course...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,485 ✭✭✭positron

Eamonnator wrote: »
    Yes, the lane goes as far as the rugby field. You can turn right into the fields, and walk around the edges of the fields, it brings you out at the roundabout at the school.
    Originally that lane continued onto the Beamore Road. The hedges are still there, but completely overgrown and boggy and marshy in places.

Last few weeks, especially with the dry spell, you could walk to the end of the lane, go thru the rugby field, walk thru vairous fields and get to the side of the lane onto Beamore Road. That field has been ploughed since so that might not be possible now.

It is indeed a beautiful little gem of an area, however... I see there are houses coming up with entrance to the lane.

It's mad they seem to be building those houses around some of the bungalows further down the road. Thats going to be some change in view for those living there. Wonder if they offered to buy them out?

I know if it was me I'd not have been happy with a what effectively is your house being moved to an urban area from what was pretty much a rural setting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Wet and miserable out this morning. Was planning longer but rode past the house and couldn't resist getting out of wet and cold gear and getting the feeling back in my toes and fingers.
    Decided to use the good bike as the winter one wasn't fully built back up - really should have taken the time to do it
    After greasing my headset the other day, I have now noticed that the bars are ever so slightly off to one side and my OCD meter is in the red, so this needs to be sorted before I can ride again - after I give it a good clean of course...

Cleared up nicely this afternoon. I went out about 7am and a noticeable difference in foot traffic and car traffic (must be because of Operation Fanacht)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,699 ✭✭✭thesimpsons

Definitely more cars and trucks on the roads this week. Also found the new found love shown towards cyclists seems to have disappeared. Last few weeks I had been increasingly noticing the extra space motorists left when overtaking. This morning it was back to angry motorists, a gombeen reving the engine at traffic lights behind me and generally not half as nice a cycle as last few weeks. Noticing increasingly cyclists going well out of their 2km limits too. Meanwhile I'm continuing to mentally log every pothole and stray leaf in my never ending loops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,691 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Noticing increasingly cyclists going well out of their 2km limits too.

Quick question, how can you tell if a stranger on a bicycle is well out of their 2km limit?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 315 ✭✭thelawman

Tenzor07 wrote: »
    Quick question, how can you tell if a stranger on a bicycle is well out of their 2km limit?

Check a Strava segment they went on, if their details are public you can see the details of the ride they did. There is a guy local to me who does 100k rides 4 times a week. Well beyond 2k radius,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭shaka

thelawman wrote: »
    Check a Strava segment they went on, if their details are public you can see the details of the ride they did. There is a guy local to me who does 100k rides 4 times a week. Well beyond 2k radius,

I wouldn't mind a fella going a km or 2 past the 2km to make a loop that stays close but some people are going miles beyond it. I've seen a guy pass my house in gear from a club a good 40 km away. Text a buddy who races for them and he said he wasn't surprised, Garda have been on contact with their committee already.

Going to draw more negative press to cyclists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭shaka

BTW got 31 km in yesterday doing loop the loops locally, sick of the same bloody signs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,691 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

thelawman wrote: »

I was asking how the OP knew, not the Strava Spies....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,699 ✭✭✭thesimpsons

Tenzor07 wrote: »

I never said they were strangers. While they are not friends, I know some of the cyclists and know that they shouldn't be in my 2km zone at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭Bot1

****ty old wet 15km cycle this morning.
    Please reassure me that I'm not the only one sticking to this 2km restriction?
    Some of the fellow strava users I'm clicking on look to be doing well outside the 2km limit!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭Type 17

Bot1 wrote: »
    Please reassure me that I'm not the only one sticking to this 2km restriction?

Another 2km'er here - getting a bit boring, but on the plus side, my wife has realised that going out six days a week for only 15-20km is actually making her fitter than her previous once a week for 40+km.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,227 ✭✭✭fat bloke

Type 17 wrote: »
    Another 2km'er here - getting a bit boring, but on the plus side, my wife has realised that going out six days a week for only 15-20km is actually making her fitter than her previous once a week for 40+km.

It can be good training alright, though you'd really miss the one long 100k+ spin a week - great for keeping the ol' weight in check. I'm out nearly every day for between an hour and an hour and a half and I find it really pours petrol on the ol' appetite, generally speaking.

I'm finding it helpful to mix it up (also it helps having a decent hillclimb within my allowed radius). The last two days I was doing longer out of the saddle repeat intervals - 10 to 12 minutes or so. It's good for the upper body. Then I tried a Pantant out of the saddle but down on the drops - Jaysus, it was really hard! Same wattages as before but different muscles I suppose because of the different position - more bent over so more glute action, and more weight on the arms and shoulders as well. - Going to try and do a bit more of it, it's a great workout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,728 ✭✭✭✭ted1

fat bloke wrote: »
    It can be good training alright, though you'd really miss the one long 100k+ spin a week - great for keeping the ol' weight in check. I'm out nearly every day for between an hour and an hour and a half and I find it really pours petrol on the ol' appetite, generally speaking.

I got in trouble last week for saying I was out for 80 minute and the post deleted.

Anyway is it worrying that I’m doing the same Laps around killiney hill on a daily basis and hitting PBs? Or is my hill game improving daily. Usually 450m over 20km.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 54,497 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

fat bloke wrote: »
    I'm out nearly every day for between an hour and an hour and a half and I find it really pours petrol on the ol' appetite, generally speaking.
    ah here, can people not read the mod notes mentioned in the thread title? you know the government advice unless you've been living under a rock.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 54,497 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

anyway, i've been getting out for 15-18km most days, but to wring the best out of it i've been taking on a very gentle 'hill' two or three gears higher (lower? i can never remember) than usual, so i empty the tank before getting home. i can still feel it in my legs now.
    i.e. i'd usually take it at 50-19, but i now take it at 50-14 or 50-15 (14 today), and by gum does it make a difference.

for those familiar with it, its from the tolka at the church in glasnevin, up washerwoman's hill, onto ballygall road and beneavin road. we're not exactly blessed with climbs in D9/D11.

I've seen some lovely bikes while out for my walk over the last couple of days (202km for the month on foot, 37km on the bike) :(

None taking the piss that I could tell but one that stuck out was a lovely blue Fuji with a name and Italian flag on the frame on the seat post end of the top tube :confused:

They aren't an Italian brand and doubt they used them ever for a national team so maybe just a personalization ?

Oh the other one I drooled over was a lovely full sus Specialized S-Works ridden by a man of mature vintage who looked like he belonged on it.

just my usual 17km loop this morning, but it could have ended messily as i was going downhill through drumcondra. a woman came running out of a side road at full tilt, looked at me, and just kept going right across in front of me.
    amusingly, a minute or two earlier, i'd been waiting at the lights at the collins avenue/swords road junction, and clipped in expecting the light to turn green for me. it took probably another four seconds to go green, but the instant i clipped in, the motorist in the car sitting beside and just behind me floored it through the junction. just missed the last car coming through with right of way from the other direction.
    do motorists now trust cyclists so much that they think we act as proxies for lights?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 44,440 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

do motorists now trust cyclists so much that they think we act as proxies for lights?
    Maybe just another of the MGIF afflicted!

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

Maybe just another of the MGIF afflicted!

I learn a lot on this forum.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 16,135 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

18k of a couple of local loops up Stocking lane as far as Mt Venus and back around via Tibradden Road and Taylors lane. Beautiful crisp morning and looking forward to the 5km limit which gets me up to the Viewpoint Point, Kilmashogue, Masseys and the Hellfire club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,116 ✭✭✭bazermc

Phoenix park closed. In case anybody heading that way or thinking of.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,198 ✭✭✭wanderer 22

smacl wrote: »
    looking forward to the 5km limit which gets me up to the Viewpoint Point, Kilmashogue, Masseys and the Hellfire club.

Very jealous of this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

couldn't wait for tomorrow, did a 5k loop today...stopped at checkpoint and waved on

Was out for a bit with our 6 year old this evening. Fella up ahead in his 30's I'd guess riding a bicycle shaped object from the 00's in good condition in terms of the frame and tyres but the chain, cassette and chainrings were caked in rust to such an extent he had to ride out of the saddle to get any kind of forward momentum in his lowest gear. Herself couldn't resist asking "Dad whats wrong with that man's bike, it's very slow" :pac:

all, as we're now in a brave new dawn of being allowed exercise up to 5km from the house, and there has been no use of the word 'brief' in any of the advisories i've seen, the 1 hour limit on cycles is no more.
    as you might expect, we'll ask you not to take the piss by posting cycles which clearly breach the 5km limit now expected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,741 ✭✭✭Effects

Does that mean you can cycle all day, as long as you're within 5km radius?