Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

John Waters & Gemma O'Doherty to challenge lockdown in the high Court

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,955 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

BENDYBINN wrote: »
    Why should it be vacant?
    If I buy a property tomorrow I decide when I live I it........2days a year or 365 days . My business and nobody else’s.

What exactly was the drone for? I havent seen anything about this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭Ethereal Cereal

walshb wrote: »
    Exactly

Some of the nonsense and garbage spouted from these eco warrior type civil liberty nuts...

Espousing this utterly unmanageable and out of control ideal that we should all be free to pick and choose what we agree and disagree with...

They are anarchists......masquerading as saviors....

The very same people be banging down the doors of the cop shops at the slightest bit of trouble that comes "their" way.

yea, ok :rolleyes:
    One of these things is not like the other, can you tell?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,307 ✭✭✭Allinall

Why should it be vacant?
    If I buy a property tomorrow I decide when I live I it........2days a year or 365 days . My business and nobody else’s.

Not according to the law of the land.

Sorry I can't find anything on drone been used? can someone point me to what you are talking about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭fatalll

rusty cole wrote: »
    I saw that last night on RTE 1, drones FFS. They also used seismology and your friendly neighborhood Apple to track travel last week.. That is very untrustworthy in my opinion and I for one wont be getting a bloody contact tracing app!
    Well if you have a smart phone of any sort, you are already traced, because you agreed to the terms when you started the phone for the first time and most apps want access to stuff they shouldnt need but unless you dont acccept but the particularr app wont install then.

All phones can be tracked, any google device/windows etc are all tracked. Bit late in the day to be complaining about been tracked.

Even all my Alexa devices are listening in, me roaring at kids to get out the door!! all valuable information.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,878 ✭✭✭bush

rusty cole wrote: »
    I saw that last night on RTE 1, drones FFS. They also used seismology and your friendly neighborhood Apple to track travel last week.. That is very untrustworthy in my opinion and I for one wont be getting a bloody contact tracing app!

Better bin your phone now if your worried about being tracked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭BENDYBINN

bush wrote: »
    Better bin your phone now if your worried about being tracked.

In fairness a drone hovering round your house is taking tracking to a new level...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

In fairness a drone hovering round your house is taking tracking to a new level...

Empty holiday home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,269 ✭✭✭TaurenDruid

"In fairness"(*), that isn't happening, so you're grand.

What did happen is one county council apparently used a drone to check on levels of activity in holiday home/caravan park developments. Presumably they'll be back to check on the level of activity over the BH weekend. And on to the cops to say "Hey, there's a load of people in X place who weren't there last week."

Which would be evidence of unnecessary travel. Which would be in breach of the temporary law brought in to protect you and your loved ones - a point you seem to be missing.

(*) Starting a post with "In fairness" or ending it with "case closed!" does not mean you win the argument, despite what people online seem to think.

===
    boards.ie default cookie settings now include "legitimate interest" for >200 companies, unless you specifically opted out!

What did happen is one county council apparently used a drone to check on levels of activity in holiday home/caravan park developments. Presumably they'll be back to check on the level of activity over the BH weekend. And on to the cops to say "Hey, there's a load of people in X place who weren't there last week."

Which would be evidence of unnecessary travel. Which would be in breach of the temporary law brought in to protect you and your loved ones - a point you seem to be missing.

(*) Starting a post with "In fairness" or ending it with "case closed!" does not mean you win the argument, despite what people online seem to think.

Has it happened, the only thing I seen was a Sun article that said they could use drones. Nothing that they are actually using them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,943 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

Shefwedfan wrote: »
    Has it happened, the only thing I seen was a Sun article that said they could use drones. Nothing that they are actually using them

It showed it happening on Rte news yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mrs Shuttleworth

And a point you seem to be missing is that when Simon Harris drafted the legislation (and noted by Drew Harris who made no attempt to remedy the position) that they all knew the regulations wouldn't apply to persons with a primary residence outside the State should they choose to enter Ireland.

Pull the other one in telling me these laws are to protect public health.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,454 ✭✭✭EyesClosed

And a point you seem to be missing is that when Simon Harris drafted the legislation (and noted by Drew Harris who made no attempt to remedy the position) that they all knew the regulations wouldn't apply to persons with a primary residence outside the State should they choose to enter Ireland.

What are the laws for if not public health?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,637 ✭✭✭brightspark

Many laws when initially legislated have loop holes, that doesn't mean that the intent of the legislation is wrong.
    Time was obviously critical in producing this legislation, better to have it cover 90% of circumstances than none.

What other reason could there be for the legislation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭BENDYBINN

Who decides a house is a “holiday home”?
    The local nosey Parker, maybe Mr twitchy curtains?
    Do people go round lookin in windows and takin notes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭Edgarfrndly

Somewhere that's not your place of residence for the majority of the year, probably.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,820 ✭✭✭plodder

The Simon Harris regulation has to work with the confines of the law passed by the Oireachtas, and that can't be fixed until we get a new government. They knew this apparently when drafting the regulation, but it was overlooked when they drafted the legislation. Nothing can be done about it until there is a new Seanad able to pass new primary legislation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭rosser44

Do you own a house? Because if you did you would know the answer to the question.

Its the house you normally live in.

You decide if a house is a holiday home, when you declare a property your principle private residence for capital gains tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,723 ✭✭✭storker

EyesClosed wrote: »
    What are the laws for if not public health?

Because tyranny!

(Or something.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,523 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

This isn't the conspiracy forum :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,985 ✭✭✭political analyst

Level headed my ass, he must be bat **** crazy to stand beside or be associated with that deluded, unstable, abusive, racist woman. She needs medical help and he must be not far from needing it also because if he was level headed he would kick her to the kerb faster that you can say “I am your master”.

But do you not think he has made valid points in the past about family-law courts and the way in which separated parents have been treated?

I believe he has, but I don't see the connection between that and this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,985 ✭✭✭political analyst

storker wrote: »
    I believe he has, but I don't see the connection between that and this.

It means he has more credibility than O'Doherty, who only started making derogatory remarks about travellers after Peter Casey was doing well in the opinion polls before the presidential election.

I don't see how that gives him a pass.If he had any credibility resulting from that single issue, I'd say he's just tossed it overboard.

Revenue.

Well - you, in conjunction with Revenue. You are paying your LPT and/or tax on your rental income on this holiday home of yours, yeah?

===
    boards.ie default cookie settings now include "legitimate interest" for >200 companies, unless you specifically opted out!

Ok, then, I'll bite. What are these laws for, then?

===

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,063 ✭✭✭Markcheese

It's kind of irrelavent which house / caravan you consider home , if you were there when this kerfuffle started ,you're supposed to stay there ... So if your "home address" is by the beach In Kerry but youre still in your city pad in Dublin ... You should stay in Dublin ..( and vice versa ) according to the garda commissioner a couple of weeks back .

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭Truthvader

Jesus. Has anyone seen the clip of Gemma on youtube being an rude entitled ignoramus to a Guard. Unbelievably this delusional creature put up the clip herself. Some more able than me should copy it on here.

What an absolutely vile creature

And her silly court case is shunted to the top of the list as people die trying to protect us.

A toxic self obsessed viper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,244 ✭✭✭swarlb

Truthvader wrote: »
    Jesus. Has anyone seen the clip of Gemma on youtube being an rude entitled ignoramus to a Guard. Unbelievably this delusional creature put up the clip herself. Some more able than me should copy it on here.

What an absolutely vile creature

And her silly court case is shunted to the top of the list as people die trying to protect us.

A toxic self obsessed viper

Have you not read the original post.... ??