Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

John Waters & Gemma O'Doherty to challenge lockdown in the high Court

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,955 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

Yes it's true shes her own worst enemy, Waters though is an honourable man.
    I am more interested in whether the legislation is in effect legal than the personality of ODoherty. So should everyone else be.
    If the legal profession and especially the media class were doing their jobs it would be them asking these questions and not O'Doherty.

Waters is not an honourable man.....he is just as big a gobsh*t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,369 ✭✭✭Field east

What an absolutely shameful racist she is. From lurking on here it looks like she has a lot of support for her thoughts especially in the relaxation of restrictions thread.

‘Empty vessels make the most noise’ comes to mind. From what I can gather ‘on the grapevine’ people are quiet happy to abide by the restrictions because of their necessity - otherwise potential for dying/ serious long term health implications for oneself, family members, friends, neighbors, etc . And the potential for otherwise puking frontline staff under untoward pressure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,369 ✭✭✭Field east

Boggles wrote: »
    Why is a court entertaining this bollíx?

Surely the 2 of them should just be detained under the mental health act and put in a rubber room for 12 months.

NO , DO’nt. The country could end up with twins or worst still triplets!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

Curtailed how? I was under the impression that the restrictions could only take effect in the situation of war.

Not the case.

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=113172279&postcount=165

Curtailed how? I was under the impression that the restrictions could only take effect in the situation of war.

Not for the first time and wont be the last one of GOD and Waters followers havent a clue what they are talking about.

Field east wrote: »
    IMO, the garda acted 100% right - looking at the overall situation and beyond. Think about it. (1) The garda let her ,and the cameraman off with their rant which she uploaded. The more she said / was filmed the greater the chance that she broke the law and the information could be used as evidence in court - if someone wishes to sue her.
    (2) the guards could have arrested her / ground the car/ make more of a scene. But they only quoted the law to her and gave her no further ‘oxygen’ to ‘make her case’.

It’s of interest that RTE thought that the ‘fact’ that Sean o Rourke is going on Dancing with the stars’ and it worthy of making the RTE News Programme and that that interaction of GOD with the guards on some Dublin street did not must have been a very big disappointment to her. Also says something about what drives the RTE editorial team/ policy as to what should be reported and what should not be reported even though it might be more news worthy. It opened my eyes even further - apart from the ‘slant’ it might give. To some news items

Just reference your RTE comments, personally I’m happy she was given no more oxygen as she and her disciples would see it as legitimisation. For her, all she wants is to be a martyr. This would be close to the pinnacle for her, one below arrest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,228 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

O'Doherty is a political weathervane - she just goes whichever way the wind blows.

But Waters seems level-headed from what I know about him - he has been consistent in his criticism of family-law courts and the State's power over families, i.e. his opposition to the Children Amendment to the Constitution.

And again we have this pretense that Gemma O'Doherty is not far right.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,228 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    Has it never occurred to GO'D that the important questions she seeks to raise are completely lost in the total circus she engages in, shrieking like a fishwife at a public servant just doing their job, and throwing insults and thinly-veiled threats around like confetti?

Maybe people would be more concerned about the constitutional question if there wasn't so much (completely self-inflicted) distraction around it.

Of course it has occured to her. She wants the circus.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

O'Doherty is a political weathervane - she just goes whichever way the wind blows.

But Waters seems level-headed from what I know about him - he has been consistent in his criticism of family-law courts and the State's power over families, i.e. his opposition to the Children Amendment to the Constitution.

Waters is a c**t as well. Level-headed my ass....this is the sort of s**t coming from that special breed of a c**t

“I stopped being a journalist because of the LGBT campaign,” Waters announces. “We had a group back in our country, back in the War of Independence, the Black and Tans, you guys sent them over here to us.
    “I would prefer them to the people I met last year in the campaign. I would prefer them, bring them back. Bring back the Black and Tans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭fallen01angel

Long_Wave wrote: »
    The men of 1916 would be absolutely disgusted at the mob of Gemma haters who have taken over this country, brainwashed fools sitting on their hole at home on €350 dole perweek.

Herself and John Waters deserve nothing but contempt for their carry on,a dispicable pair that are well met. Anyone who defends them need to stop and take a long hard look at themselves.

I'm working away as normal thank God so not "sitting on my hole on €350 per week", does that make my opinion more valid?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭BENDYBINN

In fairness Gardaí rooting through shopping bags and Wexford county council using drones to spy on peoples houses is a bit much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 200 ✭✭world class wreckin’ cru

Long_Wave wrote: »
    The men of 1916 would be absolutely disgusted at the mob of Gemma haters who have taken over this country, brainwashed fools sitting on their hole at home on €350 dole perweek.

I'd be interested to know what it is you're doing that would make them proud?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭kowloonkev

BENDYBINN wrote: »
    In fairness Gardaí rooting through shopping bags and Wexford county council using drones to spy on peoples houses is a bit much.

Has the context of that actually been revealed? I don't think Gardai are searching everyone's shopping bags. So if you want to use a couple of exceptions to make a sweeping judgement then go ahead and join the tinfoil hat brigade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

And again we have this pretense that Gemma O'Doherty is not far right.

Waters used to have supporters who liked him because he was for things like Mens Rights and 1950s Catholicism which are very unpopular. Having him write columns about them made them a little more respectable.

Likewise GO'D and anti-immigrant views.

Now that GO'D is obviously mad and Waters is shagging her, they have become a liability to people with those views. Hence the people here saying Waters was a decent skin until just now, and that GO'D is just a sh1t stirrer and has no politics.

I saw that last night on RTE 1, drones FFS. They also used seismology and your friendly neighborhood Apple to track travel last week.. That is very untrustworthy in my opinion and I for one wont be getting a bloody contact tracing app!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,135 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

The worrying thing is giving them attention. Even for a laugh. This is how people like Alex Jones started. Everyone just laughs at them at the start, but idiots start to believe them and they gain numbers.

Incidentally, I know one of the guys protesting with her. His twitter is full of anti-gay stuff, calling Leo Varadkar a "bumboy" and that sort of stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,135 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Waters should have been arrested years ago for composing that Eurovision song.
    Talk about crimes against humanity!

He would have finished on zero points only one of the countries had technical difficulties and couldn't phone through so they had a back up country award points instead. So that back up country gave us our only points.
    I remember him on the radio going on about how amazing the song was. The guy is touched, it's crazy how newspapers paid him to write articles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

There is an area in Wexford full of holiday homes which have few to no people in them at the moment. The council are using drones to see that there is no increase in people in the area as there shouldn't be more people coming in. So what's the problem?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

rusty cole wrote: »
    I saw that last night on RTE 1, drones FFS. They also used seismology and your friendly neighborhood Apple to track travel last week.. That is very untrustworthy in my opinion and I for one wont be getting a bloody contact tracing app!

Smart phones have been tracking people's movement for years now and the data is widely available. That's how the likes of Google maps knows how long your journey will take and which is the fastest route. People as individuals aren't being tracked. The data is just being used to see an increase in footfall. Retail outlets have been doing that for decades.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Mr.S wrote: »
    **** off

Succinct and straight to the point.

Even if you were selfish enough to agree with their legal challenge to the state wide lockdown to counter the spread of a highly infectious sometimes fatal disease, how could you support or condone the shyte that o'doherty engaged in with those Gardai?

If she had her head anyway screwed on, wasn't a complete ar**hole looking for attention, all she had to do was tell the Garda that she was on the way to court and what her name was.
    And that would have been it, the Garda would have said thanks and on your way.
    Simple, very simple for anyone else that has been stopped at a checkpoint.
    It is being courteous and doesn't cost anything.

But no, she had to be a fooking tool about it and be awkward just for the sake of it.
    It is like the fookers in airports giving out to overstretched check-in staff about the fact flights are not running due to Icelandic volcanoe.

You are just being a c**t.

Oh and that term applies to both male and females.

I am not allowed discuss …

Any of the Garda I have met have been great to be honest, havent seen any of this mentioned?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭dam099

The Garda Commissioner has addressed this, there have been anecdotal reports of this happening but if it happened its obviously due to individual Gardai overstepping or being unclear on the regulations as he has publicly said its not permitted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,138 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

I'd be interested to know what it is you're doing that would make them proud?

living in ireland ...free?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mrs Shuttleworth

Nobody at all bothered by the fact that the legislation may be unconstitutional?

Absolutely.

And it doesn't matter a jot what those shouting "c*nt" at Gemma like a broken record think.

Ultimately a Court - whether in Ireland or Europe - will adjudicate on the validity of this legislation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,138 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Absolutely.

And it doesn't matter a jot what those shouting "c*nt" at Gemma like a broken record think.

Ultimately a Court - whether in Ireland or Europe - will adjudicate on the validity of this legislation.

gemma is doing the shouting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,853 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Shefwedfan wrote: »
    Waters is a c**t as well. Level-headed my ass....this is the sort of s**t coming from that special breed of a c**t

“I stopped being a journalist because of the LGBT campaign,” Waters announces. “We had a group back in our country, back in the War of Independence, the Black and Tans, you guys sent them over here to us.
    “I would prefer them to the people I met last year in the campaign. I would prefer them, bring them back. Bring back the Black and Tans.

Blue haired, white male hating feminist versus Irish hating, post traumatic stress riddled British soldier?

Not much of a choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

Wexford county council using drones to spy on peoples houses is a bit much.

What's wrong with flying a drone over a vacant property, to make sure it's vacant?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,643 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Effects wrote: »
    What's wrong with flying a drone over a vacant property, to make sure it's vacant?

Exactly

Some of the nonsense and garbage spouted from these eco warrior type civil liberty nuts...

Espousing this utterly unmanageable and out of control ideal that we should all be free to pick and choose what we agree and disagree with...

They are anarchists......masquerading as saviors....

The very same people be banging down the doors of the cop shops at the slightest bit of trouble that comes "their" way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭maestroamado

Waters used to have supporters who liked him because he was for things like Mens Rights and 1950s Catholicism which are very unpopular. Having him write columns about them made them a little more respectable.

Likewise GO'D and anti-immigrant views.

Now that GO'D is obviously mad and Waters is shagging her, they have become a liability to people with those views. Hence the people here saying Waters was a decent skin until just now, and that GO'D is just a sh1t stirrer and has no politics.

They are both in my opinion Gob****es and nothing to do with this case.
    Watters said he was campaigning for mens rights as was Bob and some female journalist Carol ??.
    Anyway a good friend of mine sent Watters and this Journalist a message.
    Neither of them replied.
    We are very famous in this country for being involved in good causes but all we really do is talk.

I am not really interested and do not understand any of this as there enough going on.
    There has to be something seriously wrong with the judiciary in this Country, the fact that this is dragging on Gardai and supporters on the streets in a time of lockdown is crazy.
    What's wrong with our system that we cannot deal in a proper manner without this nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭BENDYBINN

Effects wrote: »

Why should it be vacant?
    If I buy a property tomorrow I decide when I live I it........2days a year or 365 days . My business and nobody else’s.