Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of restrictions Part II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭dalyboy

moonage wrote: »
    Perhaps the best solution is to let the vulnerable remain cocooned while the rest begin to carry on with life as normal. Let the virus spread among the non-vulnerable who will recover and gain natural immunity. When there is enough community immunity the vulnerable are relatively safe.

The virus isn't going to be eradicated. Trying to keep the spread as low as possible is futile and counterproductive—that will just keep us in a perpetual state of suspended animation.

Quarantining the healthy is not the way to deal with an airborne respiratory virus that has the lethality of a bad flu season.

That’s the way we should have done it from day ONE. The healthy would have endured the “pandemic” the same as every other seasonal flu. The prize result would have been a functional economy and a lot of saved vulnerable lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭GazzaL

polesheep wrote: »
    Looking at neighbours meandering about the street chatting to each other makes it clear that the people themselves have decided to ease restrictions, so there's no point in stopping them from going back to work. It's not the first time in our history that the people of Ireland have had to force things while the government attempted to hold them back.

By next week, enough people will be breaking the restrictions that they'll have lost control.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,027 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

NewRed2 wrote: »
    Ah here. So you're talking about a factory with 200 staff out and 80 positive cases now?
    I said in my post that us self-employed who can maintain social distancing rules should be allowed back to work. And you come back with a story about 80 positive and 200 out. What factory was that? It sounds news worthy. Care to name it?

I think it is newsworthy, it needs to be reported on. It was flagged to a national paper. The story hasn't appeared.
    I'd like to name it but I'll get banned for doing it, I'd much prefer if the journalists grabbed the ball and ran with it. I've already said the county earlier. I'm surprised these kind of story's aren't being reported on but the media from the start agreed to not report anything that causes panic.
    I'll have a look in a bit and can I see the cluster on the locations map and you can figure it out your self from there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭SNNUS

easypazz wrote: »
    At least here there is 2 sides to the argument. There is nobody challenging the consensus in the mainstream media.

Claire Byrne gives tutorials on how to get a DIY haircut or how to wear a mask etc.

Tubridy just interviews people who have been on his programme about 5 times already.

RTE is shocking, government spin channel, at least Ivan Yates asks questions that you see here on Virgin Media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,333 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

This roling lockdown is too blunt a tool to employ now! It's time to focus, box clever.....!

Time to concentrate on our most vulnerable, support all care homes by providing them with PPE and 4 hour testing...Provide childcare for all health workers, and free testing for anyone who's job works with the public...

Issue definitive guidelines to all businesses NOW, so they can begin the process of safely reopening..

Stop all pointless Garda road checkpoints, take those personnel off the side of the road and their cars and back into the community so they can ensure all recommended safety measures are taken as people try and get used to some sort of normality..

Let people return to their doctor, dentist, and hospital appointment...

There was, though, encouraging news from the Czech Republic and Denmark, where phased exits from strict lockdowns implemented early in the pandemic are under way. In Denmark, daycare facilities and schools began reopening two weeks ago, followed by hairdressers and other small businesses on 20 April.

“There are no signs at all that the partial reopening has caused a bigger spread of infection,” said Christian Wejse, a scientist at the department of infectious diseases at Aarhus University. “At least there is no indication that we are heading into another wave. That has been the concern, but I can’t see that at all.”

The Czech health minister, Adam Vojtěch, said the country’s number of new cases had been below 100 for the past eight consecutive days and also reported that a staggered reopening of shops and services had not so far led to a surge in infections.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2020/apr/30/danes-and-czechs-say-easing-lockdowns-has-produced-no-covid-19-surge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,858 ✭✭✭✭road_high

At least here there is 2 sides to the argument. There is nobody challenging the consensus in the mainstream media.

Claire Byrne gives tutorials on how to get a DIY haircut or how to wear a mask etc.

Tubridy just interviews people who have been on his programme about 5 times already.

Yes and that’s why I love this thread- hope that I’m not the only one in a sea of craziness that thinks we can keep on paying out €350 per week to everyone indefinitely.
    I think there’s a big shock coming down the tracks- especially with all these endless extensions- surely an emergency budget becomes more and more inevitable as each week passes by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 467 ✭✭nj27

I probably won't go down alongside Dillinger or anything, but if the 2k limit isn't expanded by the 2 or 3 I'd need to go to my local park legally I'll be jogging there on Saturday regardless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭amadangomor

dalyboy wrote: »
    That’s the way we should have done it from day ONE. The healthy would have endured the “pandemic” the same as every other seasonal flu. The prize result would have been a functional economy and a lot of saved vulnerable lives.

Boris Johnson tried that and **** himself when he realised that the death toll would be astronomical if he continued.

Got himself landed in ICU with his cavalier attitude also.

Amazing the amount of malcontents these pages are attracting now. People need to relax and accept there will be restrictions for a while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

Boris Johnson tried that and **** himself when he realised that the death toll would be astronomical if he continued.

Amazing the amount of malcontents these pages are attracting now. People need to relax and accept there will be restrictions for a while.

Boris Johnson is overweight, possibly obese, and probably gave himself a heavy viral overload.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,786 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

The need for continued restrictions is pretty clear And obvious. Some of you need to put your greed and desire to have a pint aside for another while and remember that people are dying.

This is from today.

Within 10 days we went from 50 people in ICU to 140 people in ICU," he said. He added: "Currently, there are 106 patients in ICU. If a similar surge occurred on top of our current ICU figure, we would find it very difficult to manage the treatment of patients.

What better opening a week to late or a week to early?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭easypazz

Rubbish. Look at Sweden.

The reason things are dragging on here is they made a balls of it themselves spreading around the HSE>

We don't need to accept any more of this. People are entitled to challenge this failed policy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭dalyboy

SNNUS wrote: »
    RTE is shocking, government spin channel, at least Ivan Yates asks questions that you see here on Virgin Media.

I’ve noticed in the last few days a lot of reporters and respected people advocating an end to the madness. Elon musk , I. Yates, and shockingly earlier I was listening to Micheal McDowell agreeing that things had gone far enough and sanity needs to prevail. As for the RTÉ clowns ,,, nuff said..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,228 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

The need for continued restrictions is pretty clear And obvious. Some of you need to put your greed and desire to have a pint aside for another while and remember that people are dying.

This is from today.

Within 10 days we went from 50 people in ICU to 140 people in ICU," he said. He added: "Currently, there are 106 patients in ICU. If a similar surge occurred on top of our current ICU figure, we would find it very difficult to manage the treatment of patients.

People should be banned for saying it's about people wanting to go to the pub.

Secondly, a second wave would be nowhere near as fast as the first one as we would still be employing much of the social distancing.

This is from today.

A person is greedy for wanting to see their partner? A single parent is a greedy for wanting to see their child? A business owner is greedy for wanting to be able to provide for their family, provide jobs for their employees so that they can provide for theirs, pay suppliers so that they can provide for theirs, pay taxes to provide healthcare for the public?

The only people talking about pints are the pro-lockdown nutters who think €350 a week to sit on their holes is nirvana.

ICU numbers have been decreasing for weeks. If we saw a surge that doubled current numbers, we would still only be at 66% capacity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,680 ✭✭✭Penfailed

I read 20 kids in the uk got it.

Non story.

You obviously don't have kids.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,858 ✭✭✭✭road_high

dalyboy wrote: »
    I’ve noticed in the last few days a lot of reporters and respected people advocating an end to the madness. Elon musk , I. Yates, and shockingly earlier I was listening to Micheal McDowell agreeing that things had gone far enough and sanity needs to prevail. As for the RTÉ clowns ,,, nuff said..

Rte are utter ****e. All they do is repeat government press releases and regal ya with happy stories about Gardai delivering a birthday cake to bridie Murphy who is 90- no mention of the cost to the taxpayer or silly details like that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,764 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Lockdown me hole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,204 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

No, people don't need to relax they need to be told the plan for getting out of this, Varadkar better have something worthwhile to say tomorrow otherwise folks will say fook this and do their own thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 268 ✭✭Spencer Brown

road_high wrote: »
    Rte are utter ****e. All they do is repeat government press releases and regal ya with happy stories about Gardai delivering a birthday cake to bridie Murphy who is 90- no mention of the cost to the taxpayer or silly details like that

They are brutal and it's sad, it's time like these where you need a strong public broadcaster and they have failed just as they have on most things for years now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭easypazz

Penfailed wrote: »

What ever made you think that?

Are you suggesting we need to include into our COVID-19 strategy an illness that affected 20 people from a country of ~60million people, an illness that may not even by COVID related?

Did the 20 kids die?

Its a non story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,878 ✭✭✭bush

I'm using my own judgment from now on.

They are brutal and it's sad, it's time like these where you need a strong public broadcaster and they have failed just as they have on most things for years now.

They'll have their cap in hand again between advertising revenues drying up and people no longer being able to afford to pay their TV licences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭munsterlegend

polesheep wrote: »
    Looking at neighbours meandering about the street chatting to each other makes it clear that the people themselves have decided to ease restrictions, so there's no point in stopping them from going back to work. It's not the first time in our history that the people of Ireland have had to force things while the government attempted to hold them back.

Not sure where you are but where I am it’s still relatively quiet. Vast majority are obeying overtime restrictions.

GazzaL wrote: »
    A person is greedy for wanting to see their partner? A single parent is a greedy for wanting to see their child? A business owner is greedy for wanting to be able to provide for their family, provide jobs for their employees so that they can provide for theirs, pay suppliers so that they can provide for theirs, pay taxes to provide healthcare for the public?

The only people talking about pints are the pro-lockdown nutters who think €350 a week to sit on their holes is nirvana.

ICU numbers have been decreasing for weeks. If we saw a surge that doubled current numbers, we would still only be at 66% capacity.

When it’s being put ahead of people’s health where the risks are simply fatal then YES it is greedy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,764 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    Yes exactly

From 12th of March to 5th of May is 55 days

According to the Irish Times timetable it will be at least another 2 months if you don't live within 20km of your partner

That's up to 30th of June which is 111 days

How can the government expect any couple to stick to that?

111 days without getting your end away, thats deep into dangerous territory. Recent studies have suggested that men are at severe risk of exploding balls syndrome after 40 days and 40 nights of no poontang

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭bettyoleary

Penfailed wrote: »
    There are a number of countries that have reported this and it is being monitored closely.

When it’s being put ahead of people’s health where the risks are simply fatal then YES it is greedy.

It's not being put ahead of people's health though. You are some clown.

People should be banned for saying it's about people wanting to go to the pub.

Secondly, a second wave would be nowhere near as fast as the first one as we would still be employing much of the social distancing.

So as an advocate of a second wave being acceptable how many people do you think it is acceptable to dispense with the second time round? Out of interest?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

Not sure where you are but where I am it’s still relatively quiet. Vast majority are obeying overtime restrictions.

Dublin, an estate of mainly professionals, including three doctors. Everyone relaxed but, at the same time, maintaining social distance.

GazzaL wrote: »
    It's not being put ahead of people's health though. You are some clown.

No point it trying to discuss something with a person whose level of maturity, and ability to articulate a point of view can’t extend beyond a playschool insult.