moonage wrote: » Perhaps the best solution is to let the vulnerable remain cocooned while the rest begin to carry on with life as normal. Let the virus spread among the non-vulnerable who will recover and gain natural immunity. When there is enough community immunity the vulnerable are relatively safe. The virus isn't going to be eradicated. Trying to keep the spread as low as possible is futile and counterproductive—that will just keep us in a perpetual state of suspended animation. Quarantining the healthy is not the way to deal with an airborne respiratory virus that has the lethality of a bad flu season.
polesheep wrote: » Looking at neighbours meandering about the street chatting to each other makes it clear that the people themselves have decided to ease restrictions, so there's no point in stopping them from going back to work. It's not the first time in our history that the people of Ireland have had to force things while the government attempted to hold them back.
NewRed2 wrote: » Ah here. So you're talking about a factory with 200 staff out and 80 positive cases now? I said in my post that us self-employed who can maintain social distancing rules should be allowed back to work. And you come back with a story about 80 positive and 200 out. What factory was that? It sounds news worthy. Care to name it?
easypazz wrote: » At least here there is 2 sides to the argument. There is nobody challenging the consensus in the mainstream media. Claire Byrne gives tutorials on how to get a DIY haircut or how to wear a mask etc. Tubridy just interviews people who have been on his programme about 5 times already.
There was, though, encouraging news from the Czech Republic and Denmark, where phased exits from strict lockdowns implemented early in the pandemic are under way. In Denmark, daycare facilities and schools began reopening two weeks ago, followed by hairdressers and other small businesses on 20 April. “There are no signs at all that the partial reopening has caused a bigger spread of infection,” said Christian Wejse, a scientist at the department of infectious diseases at Aarhus University. “At least there is no indication that we are heading into another wave. That has been the concern, but I can’t see that at all.” The Czech health minister, Adam Vojtěch, said the country’s number of new cases had been below 100 for the past eight consecutive days and also reported that a staggered reopening of shops and services had not so far led to a surge in infections.
dalyboy wrote: » That’s the way we should have done it from day ONE. The healthy would have endured the “pandemic” the same as every other seasonal flu. The prize result would have been a functional economy and a lot of saved vulnerable lives.
amadangomor wrote: » Boris Johnson tried that and **** himself when he realised that the death toll would be astronomical if he continued. Got himself landed in ICU with his cavalier attitude also. Amazing the amount of malcontents these pages are attracting now. People need to relax and accept there will be restrictions for a while.
SNNUS wrote: » RTE is shocking, government spin channel, at least Ivan Yates asks questions that you see here on Virgin Media.
lawrencesummers wrote: » The need for continued restrictions is pretty clear And obvious. Some of you need to put your greed and desire to have a pint aside for another while and remember that people are dying. This is from today. Within 10 days we went from 50 people in ICU to 140 people in ICU," he said. He added: "Currently, there are 106 patients in ICU. If a similar surge occurred on top of our current ICU figure, we would find it very difficult to manage the treatment of patients. What better opening a week to late or a week to early?
easypazz wrote: » I read 20 kids in the uk got it. Non story.
dalyboy wrote: » I’ve noticed in the last few days a lot of reporters and respected people advocating an end to the madness. Elon musk , I. Yates, and shockingly earlier I was listening to Micheal McDowell agreeing that things had gone far enough and sanity needs to prevail. As for the RTÉ clowns ,,, nuff said..
road_high wrote: » Rte are utter ****e. All they do is repeat government press releases and regal ya with happy stories about Gardai delivering a birthday cake to bridie Murphy who is 90- no mention of the cost to the taxpayer or silly details like that
Penfailed wrote: » You obviously don't have kids.
Spencer Brown wrote: » They are brutal and it's sad, it's time like these where you need a strong public broadcaster and they have failed just as they have on most things for years now.
GazzaL wrote: » A person is greedy for wanting to see their partner? A single parent is a greedy for wanting to see their child? A business owner is greedy for wanting to be able to provide for their family, provide jobs for their employees so that they can provide for theirs, pay suppliers so that they can provide for theirs, pay taxes to provide healthcare for the public? The only people talking about pints are the pro-lockdown nutters who think €350 a week to sit on their holes is nirvana. ICU numbers have been decreasing for weeks. If we saw a surge that doubled current numbers, we would still only be at 66% capacity.
KrustyUCC wrote: » Yes exactly From 12th of March to 5th of May is 55 days According to the Irish Times timetable it will be at least another 2 months if you don't live within 20km of your partner That's up to 30th of June which is 111 days How can the government expect any couple to stick to that?
lawrencesummers wrote: » When it’s being put ahead of people’s health where the risks are simply fatal then YES it is greedy.
normanoffside wrote: » People should be banned for saying it's about people wanting to go to the pub. Secondly, a second wave would be nowhere near as fast as the first one as we would still be employing much of the social distancing.
munsterlegend wrote: » Not sure where you are but where I am it’s still relatively quiet. Vast majority are obeying overtime restrictions.
GazzaL wrote: » It's not being put ahead of people's health though. You are some clown.