Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid19 Part XVI- 21,983 in ROI (1,339 deaths) 3,881 in NI (404 deaths)(05/05)Read OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

George Lee and euro CDC catching up with what was posted on this thread weeks ago.

https://twitter.com/georgeleerte/status/1255846637164990464?s=21

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

George Lee and euro CDC catching up with what was posted on this thread weeks ago.

Imagine how many people got infected from stair railings and public transport handles/polls if it stays on stainless steel for that long

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭Gynoid

Re how long the virus stays on packaging I had this exchange with himself this morning. He turned up with a big pack of loo roll under his arm.
    Look what I found. (Him. Triumphant.)
    Is the packet wiped down? (Me. Careful.)
    Sure, it's been in the shed for ages. Look it's from Tesco. When was the last time we were in Tesco.
    Uh, about 5 years ago, was it? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,221 ✭✭✭giveitholly

wakka12 wrote: »
    Imagine how many people got infected from stair railings and public transport handles/polls if it stays on stainless steel for that long

If that is the truth and I am not questioning it then how come the amount of cases we have aren't in the hundred thousands and surely our health system would of been overwhelmed about a month ago?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,203 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

We need people with proper science backgrounds informing the public.

There is a big difference between how long a virus can still be detected on a surface, and how long it is capable of infecting you.

Most cold viruses can be detected on surfaces for days, but decrease in infectiousness pretty rapidly.

If that is the truth and I am not questioning it then how come the amount of cases we have aren't in the hundred thousands and surely our health system would of been overwhelmed about a month ago?

Maybe because we have been mostly at home this past month and mostly careful?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,768 ✭✭✭timsey tiger

Our community transmission is still out of control. This means our testing and contact tracing are not where they need to be for us to responsibly come out of our so called lockdown.

I got lambasted for this a few days ago on here. This in the Irish Times today:

[URL="Coronavirus: Contact tracing taking ‘too long’ and app should be considered, GP says"]Coronavirus: Contact tracing taking ‘too long’ and app should be considered, GP says[/URL]

Dr Glynn, who is the Professor of General Practice at the Graduate Entry Medical, University of Limerick, said the issue of the virus in nursing homes and residential care homes was being tackled, but the issue of community transmission was still a concern as for every person identified there were still 10 to 20 that had not been identified.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,221 ✭✭✭giveitholly

Gynoid wrote: »
    Maybe because we have been mostly at home this past month and mostly careful?

But up to the weekend before St Patricks everywhere was packed,and the virus was in the country,so how come about 2-3 weeks after that our health system wasn't over run?

Maybe because small amounts of people had the virus then? It starts always with 1. And then the numbers slowly increase at the beginning, and then they increase faster as more have it to spread, and then in this case there are restrictions to slow the numbers, and the numbers decrease. This is what we are doing.
    It is because it needs just 1 that when restrictions are removed case numbers increase again, slowly at first and then etc etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭keynes

CMO was asked at end of briefing did they have any idea where the community cases are still occurring, Holohan said not definitively but wouldn't give any idea of where they are occurring, what work sectors, anything? is contract tracing analysis being done https://www.pscp.tv/rtenews/1RDGlQQXLQVJL

Ascertaining in which sectors its most prevalent is surely crucial information before opening up again. Are there disproportionately more teachers, construction workers, airline attendants, retail workers, waiters etc? Nobody seems to have any idea. This would provide crucial guidance on what measures businesses should be taking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,851 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

keynes wrote: »
    Ascertaining in which sectors its most prevalent is surely crucial information before opening up again. Are there disproportionately more teachers, construction workers, airline attendants, retail workers, waiters etc? Nobody seems to have any idea. This would provide crucial guidance on what measures businesses should be taking

Apart from retail workers in supermarkets most of those categories of workers are not working at the moment so prevalence couldn't be established from current data.

The approach would need to be opening up the lowest risk categories (i.e. those with the lowest person to person contact + greatest social distancing), monitor and evaluate before opening up any further and be prepared to backtrack very quickly if numbers start to climb again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,342 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

Yeah you went in and edited the post afterwards.

Actually you could say I did as I corrected by saying technically it's the Republic or Ireland and then they only responded to replies then. Also I see no editing which would show up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭bb12

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,535 ✭✭✭boardise

Strazdas wrote: »
    I think the pandemic lends credence to the whole Greta Thunberg thing and climate change movement. Her point all along was that climate change has the capacity to cripple the global economy (in a variety of different ways) and to kill hundreds of millions. Perhaps one outcome of this year that people will take climate change a lot more seriously and treat it with great urgency.

GT - I bet an Ocean plastic dump

Devil- I 'll see and raise the coral reefs disappearing

GT- I'll see and raise the polar ice caps melting

Devil- See you and raise Rainforest destruction

Gt - I'll see that and raise you a flu pandemic

Devil - I'm out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,548 ✭✭✭Martina1991

seamus wrote:
    I'd be skeptical about claims of success just yet. Antibody tests don't require the same kind of stringent approvals that vaccines do. It's basically as non-invasive as a pregnancy test.
    The Abbott antibody tests are performed in labs only. They require blood samples, not just a finger prick.
    seamus wrote:
    This is good news, but tentatively. Abbott is a highly respected brand and their test is for use in high-volume lab scenarios. So the quality controls will be high, the standards will be high.
    I would still be very sceptical about any manufacturers claims. Abbott have had tests recalled in the past.

Manufacturing kits or reagents is no good if the hospital labs dont have Abbott analysers to run them on.

These analysers can be as big as a small car. Unless our labs already have Abbott analysers, i cant see many installing them for just one test. They take up a lot of room and cost a fortune.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,026 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

This virus always seems to push the envelope in terms of what researchers claim or think. With 16 hours airborne and remaining viable, in one study, it would be sensible to assume it's probably longer then 3 hours.

Which I posted some time ago, so still not caught up yet.

bb12 wrote: »

So Obama shut it down and Trump opened it back up. Wow ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,342 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

bb12 wrote: »

Plenty of labs all over the world do research on risky viruses. Nothing new there.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 20,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sam Russell

Technically it's the Republic of Ireland

No, that is the name of the football team.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,458 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Any more of the Ireland/ROI/NI crap and threadbans (or worse) will follow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,130 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

Strazdas wrote: »
    I think the pandemic lends credence to the whole Greta Thunberg thing and climate change movement. Her point all along was that climate change has the capacity to cripple the global economy (in a variety of different ways) and to kill hundreds of millions. Perhaps one outcome of this year that people will take climate change a lot more seriously and treat it with great urgency.
    I'd see it the opposite.
    You can lend airtime to these people but when reality hits, the economy suffers so people cannot just blindly adopt this green peddled nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭celt262

There are two health care workers near me who have got it and recovered thankfully and none of there families have got it.

I find it very hard to understand that this highly contagious disease could avoid others living under one roof.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,026 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

A Third of U.K. Coronavirus Hospital Patients Die, Study Suggests
    https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2020-04-30/a-third-of-u-k-covid-19-hospital-patients-die-study-suggests?srnd=premium-europe

That is really grim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,997 ✭✭✭✭bilston

wakka12 wrote: »
    Jaysus, that would put deaths in the Madrid area at over 14,000, about 0.22% of the entire city population, more than 1 in every 500 residents

What percentage of the population of Madrid would be expected to die in a 10 week period normally?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,149 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

When a vaccine is developed, how do you stop countries that produce it keeping it for themselves?

celt262 wrote: »
    There are two health care workers near me who have got it and recovered thankfully and none of there families have got it.

I find it very hard to understand that this highly contagious disease could avoid others living under one roof.

Were they tested, maybe they had it and were asymptomatic? Fair dues to them if they didn't spread it on.

Gael23 wrote: »
    When a vaccine is developed, how do you stop countries that produce it keeping it for themselves?

I don't think this will be an issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭celt262

Were they tested, maybe they had it and were asymptomatic? Fair dues to them if they didn't spread it on.

In one of the houses there was one of them tested because they had Asthma and had some breathing problems but tested negative.

I know one of them locked herself in her room for the whole time and just had food brought to her but still she would have been around the house for days before she showed symptoms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Rob A. Bank

Hong Kong... 1,038 Coronavirus cases and 4 deaths.

7.5 million people living literally on top of one another and crowded into an area slightly larger than County Dublin. (Pop. density 7140 per Km2). Very little warning about the Pandemic and surrounded by the country which was the epicenter of the infection.

Ireland... 20,253 Coronavirus cases and 1,190 deaths.

4.9 million people living in a country with one of the lowest population densities in Western Europe (Pop. density 72 per Km2). Over 2 months warning about the pandemic and the disastrous effects of the virus clearly evident from the tragic Italian experience.

Yeaa.. we are doing great… if you are to believe what the government and HSE sycophants peddle here. :rolleyes:

We still allow entry of ‘day trippers’ from the UK and elsewhere, free roaming around the country and immune to the 2 km rule, without screening and strict quarantine. We still refuse to make masks mandatory in spite of increasing scientific evidence for their usefulness in limiting presymptomatic and asymptomatic spread of the virus.

Our ‘experts’ are still behaving like this is a TB outbreak, grimly clinging to the old notions about droplet spread from the 1930s, while the deaths and case numbers steadily increase. In fairness to them it was a new virus and there were gaps in the knowledge when it hit these shores initially. However ignoring new evidence and refusing to change tack, while this deadly virus spreads even more widely, is both immoral and unethical IMHO.

Is it arrogance, control freakery or just plain pig headedness that will not allow them to admit they were wrong about screening and quarantining arrivals here and face mask use ?

For God’s sake… just copy exactly what Hong Kong is doing and stop this effing virus in its tracks before even more damage is done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

This was from 18th of March. Links are there for those interested to checkout. See what I did there.
    Thinking of venturing out to supermarket. Article from BBC summarises my main concerns.
    droplets could be in air for 3 hours after a cough
    can survive on plastic up to 24 hours
    can survivce on carboard.

I'm not spreading panic as I guess the BBC isn't trying to do that either.
    I try to be a hyper realist and it gives me comfort when I'm real about that situation and face it knowingly. So here's what I'm going to do to confront that reality.
    wear a respirator mask
    wear gloves
    wear goggles
    immediately take off clothes which I wore in supermarket
    leave items outside and disinfect packets and packaging I take into house.

Feel free to call me mental but evidence is mounting
    "Like many respiratory viruses, including flu, Covid-19 can be spread in tiny droplets released from the nose and mouth of an infected person as they cough. A single cough can produce up to 3,000 droplets. These particles can land on other people, clothing and surfaces around them, but some of the smaller particles can remain in the air. There is also some evidence that the virus is also shed for longer in faecal matter, so anyone not washing their hands thoroughly after visiting the toilet could contaminate anything they touch."

Their study, which has been published in the New England Journal of Medicine, shows that the virus could survive in droplets for up to three hours after being coughed out into the air.
    https://www.cdc.gov/niosh/topics/aer...erosol_101.pdf

https://www.bbc.com/future/article/2...st-on-surfaces

https://www.journalofhospitalinfecti...046-3/fulltext

Also this from the 6th of March. Doing my best Nostradamus impression.
    FFS most "antibacterial hand" is >60% alcohol which kills everything.

Its fungicidil. (mushrooms), antibacterial, antiviral.

Failing that use bleach based solution to disinfect surfaces. Don't drink it.

Soap is amazing and your new best friend.