Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid19 Part XVI- 21,983 in ROI (1,339 deaths) 3,881 in NI (404 deaths)(05/05)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Exactly. And judging by the amount out in my local green space they’re testing it as such too. They should be in studying if they’re that worried.
    Rain and cold coming next week so you can rest easy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭political analyst

https://www.nbcnews.com/health/health-news/doctors-report-uptick-surprising-coronavirus-complication-dangerous-blood-clots-n1190491
    Three weeks ago, critical care pulmonologist Hugh Cassiere encountered something he hadn't seen in 24 years of practicing medicine.

A 45-year-old man arrived at the hospital where Cassiere works, North Shore University Hospital on Long Island, New York, with fever and severe fatigue — well-known symptoms of the coronavirus — and went on to test positive for it.

But then the man developed a complication not usually associated with respiratory viruses: a blood clot in his leg that was so dangerous that doctors were forced to remove the leg below his knee. The development was totally unexpected, Cassiere said.
    Blood clots form when certain blood components thicken into a jelly-like mass. They can be life-threatening if they move to parts of the body like the heart, the lungs or the brain.

It's unknown whether the coronavirus itself causes blood clots or whether the body's massive inflammatory response to fight the virus is what damages blood vessels and blood cells.

Whatever the mechanism, it's wreaking havoc on the sickest COVID-19 patients and doctors' ability to treat them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

sterz wrote: »
    Bear a thought for those who had to sit it during the 2002 World Cup.

Or during the 1990 and 1994 World Cups.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

A non-consultant hospital doctor with absolutely no affiliation to the HSE. I am simply writing what I see on the ground

I am simply using Boards at the minute, because I cannot travel home to see my loved-one, and there is little to do at weekends

I just find it puzzling that you regularly praise the HSE, an organisation that most people, including those responsible for it, deem unfit for purpose and in need of radical improvement. I know a good many healthcare workers and none of them have a positive attitude to the HSE. Please understand, I am in no way referring to the doctors, nurses and other healthcare professionals who do a great job. I hope you get to see your family soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Hobgoblin11

or any other time , at least you had something to do in your down time , the kids today are being tortured and are torturing all

Dundalk, Co. Louth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭sterz

The US just flew past 53,000 deaths, 1001 so far today. Will probably pass 54k before the end of the day.

Trump's great 60k projection will be lucky to last out Monday.

Man, you really do get a kick out of any sort of increase, don't you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,544 ✭✭✭techdiver

ZX7R wrote: »
    Fever
    Cough
    Shortness of breath.

From Monday.

Cough
    Congestion
    Runny nose
    Sore throut
    Body aches
    Tiredness.
    Priority testing will be given to most at risk

No to be pedantic but the above is not enough currently for a test. You needs symptoms plus be in a high risk group or have come into contact with a confirmed case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,544 ✭✭✭techdiver

ZX7R wrote: »
    Fever
    Cough
    Shortness of breath.

From Monday.

Cough
    Congestion
    Runny nose
    Sore throut
    Body aches
    Tiredness.
    Priority testing will be given to most at risk

No to be pedantic but the above is not enough currently for a test. You needs symptoms plus be in a high risk group or have come into contact with a confirmed case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,245 ✭✭✭Gretas Gonna Get Ya!

The US just flew past 53,000 deaths, 1001 so far today. Will probably pass 54k before the end of the day.

Trump's great 60k projection will be lucky to last out Monday.

They're still doing reasonably well though. Numbers not hitting the crazy levels that some people on here were predicting (or hoping for).

Trump may come out with some mad stuff, but he did still make some smart moves during this. Closing borders and banning flights, against WHO recommendations was a wise move. Likely saved a lot of lives - although very hard to quantify how many!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,039 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

is_that_so wrote: »
    1800 GARDA!

1800 BANGERS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Hobgoblin11

They're still doing reasonably well though. Numbers not hitting the crazy levels that some people on here were predicting (or hoping for).

Trump may come out with some mad stuff, but he did still make some smart moves during this. Closing borders and banning flights, against WHO recommendations was a wise move. Likely saved a lot of lives - although very hard to quantify how many!

don't worry trump will quantify that for you when the election comes around

Dundalk, Co. Louth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,231 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

It was a leisurely jog past 53,000.

Happy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭sterz

It a leisurely jog past 53,000.

Happy?

I think just stating the number on its own is perfectly fine. No need to dress it up any other way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,171 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

For some perverse reason people have become obsessed with league tables and have forgotten that it's our own numbers that count. In addition, those same league tables are completely flawed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

I don't think you realise how lucky we are to have the HSE. Way better off than other countries.

You obviously have private healthcare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,476 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

JDD wrote: »
    How is our health system not breaking?

Italy has 12 times our population. 18k x 12 is 216,000. So we have the equivalent of 216k infected. Now, the Italian health system, in the north anyway, started to collapse at 120k infections.

How are we not going under with hospitalisations and acute care? Is it that we had the extra time to prepare? Is it that Italy had many multiples of 120k infected, but untested? Is it that we have had less hospitalisations for normal stuff because of four weeks of lockdown?

At the time Italy did not well measure all the infections, so they had many more.

But basically Italy had a huge crisis in Lombardia and significant pressure in Piedmonte Emilia and Veneto. Numbers in the south were modest and did not pressure the services unduly.

510879.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,393 ✭✭✭ZX7R

techdiver wrote: »
    I have already quoted my original post to include that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,231 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

I think just stating the number on its own is perfectly fine. No need to dress it up any other way.

3y43ys.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭speckle

or in the part of their school that didnt burn down a couple days before amidst the smell of smoke and cleaning fluids in cramped classrooms instead of a hall. aahh those were the days!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,245 ✭✭✭Gretas Gonna Get Ya!

Jim_Hodge wrote: »
    For some perverse reason people have become obsessed with league tables and have forgotten that it's our own numbers that count. In addition, those same league tables are completely flawed.

They're not completely flawed, they're somewhat flawed... but still useful.

It's human nature to be competitive and try to improve by comparing to other performances.

At the same time, when you're talking about human life... it should never be about bragging rights or ridiculing nations that are struggling. (The gleeful reporting of happenings in UK & US for example, which is quite disturbing tbh)

I think certain people are afraid to compare ourselves against anyone else, because it might shine an uncomfortable light on some of our failings and lack of competence in certain areas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,363 ✭✭✭Be right back

Thanks for the kind words re: my family. Thankfully, I have a super house-mate. He is a great support!

I do see the predicament from the different angles. The café where my house-mate works is shut at the moment. He is worried about his future. My partner's sister is going through chemo abroad. He cannot visit her. For my own sense of equanimity, I need to believe that normality will return soon. But I am glad up to this point that the restrictions were in place.

I guess that my expectations for the response was very low. I was expecting chaos. I was expecting a scene from Outbreak. What I was not expecting was a very synchronised and coordinated response. The HSE is listening to us. I did not expect that we would be well looked after. For example, after dealing with a Covid-patient, we get to take a shower. There is a nice mini bottle of shampoo and a hospital towel waiting for us. Furthermore, I did not expect such kindness from the public (a family-friend whose child is extremely ill wrote me a beautiful card). This awful crisis has definitely improved my perception of the government and HSE. I know that my medical colleagues say similar things in work.

I am no cheerleader, I have my own gripes. But I cannot criticise the HSE's response in this case

Nicely put and said, thank you.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,323 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

A vaccine may never happen. It has proved impossible to provide a vaccine for the common cold which is a corona virus.
    I love the sheer brazen confidence of ignorance. I really bloody do.

The common cold is caused in the majority of cases by a rhinovirus, NOT a coronavirus. Coronaviruses make up a small percentage of cases(along with a couple of other viruses).

A vaccine for the "common cold" has many problems. You're dealing with over a hundred different viruses for a start, so you'd have to hit each one of them. Then they mutate every cold season, so you'd need to be on top of that as well. And of course the common cold is highly unlikely to result in fatalities. It has a fatality rate of as near to feck all as you can get. Ergo little point is finding a vaccine or "cure".

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

polesheep wrote: »
    I just find it puzzling that you regularly praise the HSE, an organisation that most people, including those responsible for it, deem unfit for purpose and in need of radical improvement. I know a good many healthcare workers and none of them have a positive attitude to the HSE. Please understand, I am in no way referring to the doctors, nurses and other healthcare professionals who do a great job. I hope you get to see your family soon.
    A long-timer in the HSE I talked to is quite pleased with how it's gone and that people have really stepped up at all levels, but acknowledged that it has not been absolutely universal. What I've learned is that there are some seriously good people at the top end of it and they responded to the call here very well. How that might translate into the changes and improvements required is uncertain but perhaps the solidarity that could come out of this can help drive that a whole lot better.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

At the time Italy did not well measure all the infections, so they had many more.

But basically Italy had a huge crisis in Lombardia and significant pressure in Piedmonte Emilia and Veneto. Numbers in the south were modest and did not pressure the services unduly.

510879.png

Has any official explanation been put forward as to why this was/is the case? I mean when the deaths really started to skyrocket in those regions there were all sorts of stories about how it was due to different generations of Italian families living together in the same building/their touchy/feely culture etc. Surely there must be more to it than that as this should apply throughout the country even taking into account the differences in population density.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭dePeatrick

doylefe wrote: »
    Sorry lads your little lockdown adventure is coming to an end. People are voting with thier feet and willing to take the minimal risk that's involved in returning to normality.

What will you all do when this is over and you can't obsess over the stats and call the guards on your neighbours?
    When it's all over? It's just beginning for over 7billion people on this planet, but glad to hear somehow it's all over for you, drink bleach much? I did not call the Garda on my neighbours though they have given me every reason to do so, did you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭ihdxwz4a3pem9j

polesheep wrote: »

Thanks for the kind words re: my family. Thankfully, I have a super house-mate. He is a great support!

I do see the predicament from the different angles. The café where my house-mate works is shut at the moment. He is worried about his future. My partner's sister is going through chemo abroad. He cannot visit her. For my own sense of equanimity, I need to believe that some form of normality will return soon. But I am glad up to this point that the restrictions were in place.

I guess that my expectations for the response was very low. I was expecting chaos. I was expecting a scene from Outbreak. What I was not expecting was a very synchronised and coordinated response. The HSE is listening to us. I did not expect that we would be well looked after. For example, after dealing with a Covid-patient, we get to take a shower. There is a nice mini bottle of shampoo and a hospital towel waiting for us. Furthermore, I did not expect such kindness from the public (a family-friend whose child is extremely ill wrote me a beautiful card). This awful crisis has definitely improved my perception of the government and HSE. I know that my medical colleagues say similar things in work.

I am no cheerleader, I have my own gripes. But I cannot criticise the HSE's response in this case

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,293 ✭✭✭billybonkers

What restrictions are likely to be lifted on may 5th?

Extend the 2km, some people return to work, building sites?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,129 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

I know many won't care and will pass by.

I don't know how to say it, but I am glad my mother went to her reward before this CV all happened. She was an amazing woman and would have rebelled so much at the restrictions.

Sorry for the indulgence, what a mammy, may she rest in peace like so many others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,249 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Our labs can process 10,000 in a day but how many are actually being done daily?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,436 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

What restrictions are likely to be lifted on may 5th?

Extend the 2km, some people return to work, building sites?

Those three sound about right. I read something saying over 70s may be allowed visit parks during designated periods.